Never used the tram yet but about to next week.
Grant you, the easy trip to the centre of town is definitely a plus.
Printable View
It’s been in the same place for a few years now. The problem you have is that the taxi driver doesn’t want to pick you up in the designated pick up area due to the fact that it costs £4 to enter that area, and it increases based on how long you wait. It’s not just taxi drivers that don’t want to go in there, everyone tries to pick up in the drop off area, resulting in the shambles we currently have.
Trying to put on a tight pair of socks after having a shower.
YouTube - now that you have to listen to loads of ads and half the stuff is deleted.
The moneymen buy out every good thing that comes out .... then ruin it.
Arnold clarke. Just booked in for an mot and got a new bulb before i went. Asked the boy if he could fit it before doing the test and was claiming it was a big job full bumper off etc (its a 12 plate corsa) laughed at him and ssid its a clip matw.he was a being a bit of a arrogant dick. I went out and fitted it myself in 3 minutes. Funny i never seen same guy when i went back in. Any mot failures will be taken elsewhere now!! Pr!k
Depends of the model of car - some of them take half an hour or so to change the bulbs. Maybe the guy made a genuine mistake?
Needing fingers like ET and having to break your arm in 3 places to change a bulb in a car:greengrin
Oh i know that. I used to be an apprentice mechanic and the old alpha 147 i think was was a half day job. Radiator and half the frontbof car needed tsking off for a bulb. .....i never told them uswd to work for arnold clark and explained it was easy i was just in a bit of a rush to get somewhere. Anyway its been failed on then light alignment and wanted 50 quid to correct it. Told them ill take it elsewhere.
I can top that. I used to have a mini that had run flat tyres and I had a slow puncture. After getting fed up of constantly blowing the tyre up I nipped into Kwik Fit. Asked for a tyre and the guy quoted me £130. I asked for something cheaper and he told me it had to be run flats. I told him I didn't want run flat and asked again for something cheaper. He told me I'd need to inform my insurers as I was changing to a non OE tyre. I told him he was talking ***** and took it to a local family owned tyre and exhaust place, told the guy there the story and he burst out laughing. 20 mins later I had a £45 tyre fitted to my mini and KF have never had a m penny from me since
Totally agree but it could well be a person who is not properly trained in mechanical aspects but had heard of certain models that are a bit of a nightmare to work on.
Which leads me to another pet peeve - having to take your car to KF to get an inner tube fitted and find out that tyre fitters today haven't got a 'kin clue about the basics!
Trying to get own the stairs from the FF upper at half time and some cretin decides to stop in the middle of the stairwell and check his phone - walloper!
People who exercise in totally inappropriate public places.
I was driving up the Bridges on Saturday and a guy was jogging up the road. As I stopped at the lights outside Byron this guy dropped on to his front and started doing press ups as bemused pedestrians dodged around him. I came out the car park on New Street about 15 minutes later and drove down the Royal Mile, outside the Kilderkin I spotted the same guy doing burpees as a woman with a pram had to bump on the road to get past him.
It's not the 1st time I've seen people behaving like this lately, just screams of 'look at me, look at me' behaviour. There's not a shortage of parks in Edinburgh to run and exercise in.
When a team with most possession and in control of the game that's tied then gets a soft undeserved penalty and the commentators go on to suggest that the team in control of the game deserved to lead anyway, despite the penalty being totally unjustifiable.
No they didn't deserve to lead because they hadn't yet scored a deserved merited goal :grr:. Just because they were the team pressurising doesn't mean a soft penalty is justified and deserved.
It can be really annoying when commentators utter complete nonsense.
Have you seen the stupid road design atthe end of Albert street joinign to Leith walk?
The new 'cycle path' has right of way so any cars have to stop. First thought I had is its a bit of a busy corner with pedestrains at the bus stop etc its only a matter of time before someone is knocked over.
However in the last week I have had 3 joggers who for some reason were in the cycle lane and as I slowed to make sure there was no bikes assumed this meant they could continue their run and basically ran infront of my moving car. One guy even made a hand gesture at me as though I was in the wrong :faf:
I was at our local park with my wee girl a couple of weekends ago, there was a dad leapfrogging the picnic tables and another doing pull ups on a climbing frame, they started to try and outdo each other without making it look like it using all the children's play equipment. It was hilarious and pathetic at the same time, a few other parents were also laughing, it was like a Will Ferrell movie.
That insist on using the address Edinburgh, Midlothian.
Edinburgh has not been in Midlothian for 40 odd years. Update your local knowledge!
I'll hold my hands up to this, in the past I commuted from Corstorphine to Portobello, heading East I'd stick to the road as it was awkward and time consuming to cross over on to the cycle path then off again at the other end, heading west I'd jump on to the cycle path but it wasn't worth it due to the pedestrians ignorant of it being a (clearly marked) cycle path and I'm not the type to barrel through,,,,
Nowadays it matters not a jot as the limit is 20mph so as long as I keep my feet spinning I'm not getting in anybodys way!
People who actually believe what they read via the media and take it as gospel. I personally have first hand experience of numerous stories and misquotes that are so far from the truth it is unreal.
Drivers who tailgate. They're a menace to drivers like myself who like to drive at a moderate speed. I'm seeing more and more crazy drivers on the road who seem to think they're in formula 1 racing cars and want to drive recklessly and without due care and attention. Slow down folks especially van drivers who are driving like Jackie Stewart on viagra. Lets have a bit more calm when driving please.
I don't mind people driving at a sensible speed but sensible is the operative word. I got caught behind a lady the other day doing 28mph on a road with a 60 limit. This was daytime, clear and dry conditions and no risk of ice etc. I'd argue if that's the speed you are comfortable at on a straight road in near perfect conditions it's probably time to consider if you should be driving.
Very fair points. The lady you refer to shouldn't be doing such a low speed compared to the limit and could be deemed to be almost as dangerous as some of the want to be racing drivers I referred to in earlier posts. There is a case for some of the speed limits being too low however that's the remit of the politicians and I merely try to drive within them but appropriately. I've seen some real idiots driving recently and they're not only in danger of hurting themselves but those who adopt a more careful approach to driving.
Getting on a bus and being stuck behind someone who wants a Metro, but no the Metro at the top of the pile, that's obviously contaminated with something. Just to be safe, they dig down to the middle of the pile...while blocking everyone else from getting past.
On the bus theme, folk who stand there on the lower deck against the support pole for the wheelchair space that also has the wheelchair level stop button.
Inevitably their bag or arse or something ends up pressing the stop request button and rarely do they realise so we're all treated to the bell going off incessantly until someone tells them.
When the Mrs asks what's happening in a film or tv show that you've seen exactly the same bits of as she has. Or "who's that?" when a new character is introduced.
The here we go thread on the main forum, tedium!
At the barbers, and the guy finishes up by brushing my face with a black brush.
Thanks for passing on the debris from the last customer's greasy fizog, mate.
Actually, I'm sure he sterilises all the equipment regularly.
Aye right.
You may be happy crawling along at a slow speed but it’s not your job to regulate everyone else’s speed. Can I suggest that you pull to the side and let everyone past as you are clearly in no hurry to get where you are going.
If you could also only take to the roads between 2am and 4am that would do everyone a big favour too.
I'm rarely in a hurry to get where I'm going as I've left enough time for my journey. Because of that I don't need to exceed the speed limit. Anybody that does is a dick.
My favourites are the ones who pass me to instantly pull into the space I've left between me and the car in front. They're never happy when I explain that I left that space because my brakes aren't working as they should.
Tailgating does my head in too.
If I'm driving at the speed limit or speed limit + a wee bit, anyone that tailgates me can GTF and may sometimes be treated to me having a good heavy prod at the brake pedal or slowing right down to a crawl where it's impossible for them to overtake.
... or people that tailgate you when you're overtaking on a dual carriageway. You get past the car(s) you're overtaking and pull in to the inside lane, only for them to pass you, cut in about 2 feet from your front bumper then slow down. :wtf:
Muppets, travelling at reasonable speed, giving you time to safely come out at a junction, who suddenly put the foot down till they’re up your erchie, flashing like lunatics.
Christmas decorations and the total and utter fannies who have them up from early November. Christmas is now becoming a three month "religious festival". There are a few houses in my wee town who have had theirs up for more than a week now. This is nothing to do with Christmas, Christianity or even religion but just a big look at me. Knobheeds.
The little *******s who unsuccessfully tried to bump their taxi fare down at drylaw tonight. When they finally paid up they through a brick at the window as I was driving off. Luckily it hit the top of tge door or I would have ended up seriously injured. Still faced with the bill to get the damage fixed. That’s the last straw for me, no one should have to deal with that **** at work.
Feeling pretty low right now.
Cheers b. I’m thinking of selling up and moving on to something different. I don’t normally let this kind of thing bother me, but when I got out and seen how close the brick came to my window, it hit home how lucky I was.
Im having a few beers tonight, and I’m looking forward to the game tomorrow. These idiots aren’t worth ruining my weekend over.
Hope your well mate.
Do you know what annoys me the most is that the first 2 taxi drivers refused to take them. I hate judging people on how they look. Some of the nicest people I’ve met at work have looked a wee bit dodgy. I can guarantee that most of the young guys from down that way are decent honest people. It’s ****s like the 3 I had today that spoil it for everyone.
You know what annoys me. Incidents like these could kick off a campaign that says no taxis will go to that area of town. This means that a few erchies cause pain and tribulation for everyone. You can apply that to the new alcohol law, the 20mph speed limits, the list is endless. We all are forced to take the punishment due solely to the dregs.
I remember there being a thread on here about the young guys down there. I think it was silverhibee that started it. They don’t care, and they know that there’s pretty much no comeback for whatever they do.
It’s probably the final straw for me, but I still believe that most people in that area are decent people.
Jakey *******s. It’s crap when something like that happens but is it really the final straw?
Coincidentally, I had my side window put in a few days ago by kids throwing rocks. No repair bills for me and I was getting paid while I was sitting about waiting for back-up to arrive. Food for thought brer. :hmmm:
Washing machine door lock delay.
You hear the washing machine beeping to say it has finished and nip through thinking I'll quickly empty this.
You try the door but it doesn't open. You wait 2 seconds and try again but it still doesn't open.
You try again 5 seconds later thinking it will open now , but no.
This time you decide to stay bent over , wait 2 seconds and nearly go radge when it still doesn't open.
Then you hear a click. Try again and it opens but now I can't be arsed emptying it so I'll just shut the door and pretend i didn't hear it :greengrin
******* machine
Folk who say things like 'there's nothing but football, football, football on TV' or 'it's all just reality rubbish'.
Most people have at least 15-20 channels these days. Add to that the various streaming services and other media platforms available and I'd suggest if you can't find anything other than football and reality shows then you aren't looking very hard
Folk who sit in the outside of a motorway at 60 mile an hour. Nowhere near overtaking anyone and won't move in. Oh but there's a car a mile ahead doing 59 mph so I'd better stay in the outside lane.
The twats in McDonalds who canny get orders right, ask for a Beef feast and get a chicken burger, ask for an additional large fries and they forget that too. Ask for no ice in my juice (its cold enough) and it comes rammed full of the stuff! :rolleyes:
Ticketmasters really poor website, its overcomplicated when trying to buy tickets. The See Tickets site is so much better.
People not pronouncing their T’s, especially on the TV.
There are a couple of adverts right now that make my blood boil. One is on the radio for KFC and the other is on telly for something where it sounds like young girls speaking like the “yoof” but they just sound ignorant and uneducated. It’s actually off-putting as far as the product is concerned
Unemployed people, particularly of the long term variety who insist on calling it "pay day" when they get their money.
You don't work, so how can it be pay day?:grr:
Morrissey.
Undoubtedly a supremely talented man in his day. Now he's just an ignorant, sad old man
Hes still making good, occasionally great music. But he's clearly decided to make increasingly inflammatory statements to provoke reactions. I kind of like it that he doesn't give a **** what people think of him, even if supporting UKIP and the Israeli apartheid state puts me and him on opposite sides politically.