Jog my memory R.E Benji ? wasnae at Hampden v Hearts was it ?
Sowunmi and his brothers were crap for Hibs imo
Printable View
It was, my mistake. Perhaps we can just pretend it was the game he scored the winner and went riot inciting mode in celebration! Yeah they were pish. That game in Dumfries followed by the the game v huns were Charlie Adam scored the 2 free kicks are my only memory of them, one of them at least. Wonder whatever happened to them?
Willie Mac bought him from Falkirk for 20K on a Tuesday morning, November 1969. He made his debut that evening against Airdrie where he got a brace in the 3-1 win. He got another brace in his next home match against Dunfermline and his consecutive run of home goals lasted one more match. The 1-1 draw with Motherwell, the scene of the famous shoot magazine photo of Peter Marinello, standing on a snow-covered Easter Road, with the line markings, being the only part of the pitch that had been cleared of snow [with grass visible on either side of the lines, obviously] :big grin:
Another Ayr connection. Hibs' new manager, Eddie Turnbull, deemed him surplus and let him join his recent ex-teammate, Eric Stevenson, at Ayr.
I knew Willie McFarlane had bought him and he had scored pretty soon after we had bought him. I mind of being at the match when he scored and it was a night match. Couldn't mind who it was against though. I remember he scored against Falkirk in the first 10 seconds probably about 1971 I think we were winning 2-0 they brought it back to 2-2 and Joe Baker scored a diving header for the winner. I liked Johnny Graham and Joe McBride they left Hibs too soon.
Pretty sure that Johnny Graham scored against Falkirk in second game of a quarter final league cup game we were down 2-0 and just could not find the other goals that our play deserved that night. he was a good player for Hibs, Joe McBride senior was one of the best goalscorers I ever seen live. We dumped both due to the whim of Tom Hart. So its not that unusual for Hibs to be messed around by owners, we have history.
Right enough Billy, funny how the auld grey matter plays tricks, can still see in my mind a picture of what I thought was JG stooping to head a goal in at the coo Shed end.
That was a disappointing result as we should have gubbed them. Good crows at ER that night as well, or did I imagine that.