I remember being very disappointed with Welsh, because I also thought he looked like an excellent player at United.
Printable View
Was mostly injured for us and not very good. Looked better when Mcleish came in but we were going down by that point, left Eck's appointment too late.
Welsh later sued the club doctor for injections given to him during his spell with us. Think it was settled out of court. He founded and co-owns a football club in Virginia now.
But he came to us with a bad injury. Actually Jacie Mac asked me who I would like to see coming in. I said Brian Welsh. Jackie said we can get him and soon after we had him signed. Good player but was carrying an injury from his Utd days, meaning he played like one game then missed five or thats how it feels now. Scored a last ditch goal at East End park after many Hibs fans had gone to their buses it was so late. That game Hibs took the largest away suppirt to Dunfermline that season, it was a record which lasted one week when Celtic took a hundred or so more.
Welshy was a good player, used to play fitba with him up Clerie in his younger days, he :agree:hated it when I could do mair keepie uppies than him.
He was a really polite guy tae.
How did Allan do today?
There’s definitely a difference to his game and it’ll maybe take fans and him a bit time to adjust to the difference.
I doubted him earlier in this thread and after 30 minutes on the park I was all set for an I told you so post on here (I wouldn’t really), but then as you say the last 15 minutes he had a number of decent contributions.
I don’t think he’ll be bursting past players the way he used to but in the right times in the right games he’ll still be able to contribute.
Delightful wee ball to Boyle. Great sub to have.
Took a while to get into it but did OK overall. Great flick for the 2nd goal
He was the only player on the pitch that would have tried that back heel. He took a while to get going, but when he did he showed he’s still got it. If he could get a run of games I think he’ll show he’s still one of the best players at the club.
I think part of that might be that he just doesn’t have the sharpness through not playing. But I do agree to an extent.
He set Doyle-Hayes up for a couple of shots with what looked like really simple passes but he just weighted them perfectly and showed a bit of composure when we were lacking that.
Thought he did well the last 15 but looked very slow and never really got involved for the first 30 mins or so. I think Nisbet, Boyle and Murphy have that type of skill and Magennis shows brilliant touches multiple times again. It was a good assist but there was a similar situation a little while earlier and I thought Allan actually done the defending for Livi getting in Boyles way. Good that he made a contribution and he might get more opportunity with Murphy out as you couldn't play both given how poor they are without the ball. Jack Ross moved the formation and personnel well to allow Scottie that free roll.
I'll be surprised if he's still here next week.
Brought on as player 12 by the manager so not nearly as far in the desert as David Gray was last season.
Teeing him up to leave or is he still in the picture. Will be an interesting few days.
Must say I am not his greatest fan as a player but I was delighted that he came on rather than Gogic.
still a huge asset to us. Pure class when he’s on form.
if he leaves, now or next year, I’ll wish him the very best but I’ll be gutted.
Lack of match sharpness showed but eventually got into the game and showed some nice touches and the back heel for the goal was sublime.