What was pulis win ratio?
Up there with Jock Stein?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Printable View
I admit that the last two performances have been abject but I'm hoping that the board are more sensible than some the people on this
Let see we are in a semi final of the league cup and fighting for a eurpean spot and some but not all are calling for the manager to be replaced first off it will cost the club to pay him off no logic some fans need to start being fans I followed hibs since 1965 and believe this is not the worst time in being a fan
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
Hes virtually the same distance as the Glasgow based players to HTC so that argument is a load of nonsense.
Ross has done a decent job with the tools at his disposal. Its still not his fault that our squad is full of players on long term contracts he doesn't trust.
That blame falls at the feet of our current Sporting Director and ex head of recruitment Mr Emotion Remover
Stubbs and Hibs are a good fit not saying Ross out but it’s concerning tho just now needs to change things in window be interesting to see if Ron sanctions esp with current situation
Ross and Neilson look as equally good/bad. That's worrying for me. Both have teams set up the same, same kind of personalities and both worked under Levein.
It's a complete toss of a coin who is the better manager. Hands in his pockets talking to our assistant Potter (ironic) no passion or ****. Ross and even Doolan would be a good match. Then we have bumping Combe for very little when he's a hibee and replacing him with an utter pony ex goalie because he is Ross' pal.
I’ve been critical of Ross and I don’t think this Hibs team are particularly good., that said though, his win % stats are impressive and they can’t just be discounted as irrelevant because you’re on the other side of the argument.
Fwiw I just think he’s not a good fit for Hibs. On paper Alex Miller put together a good team with exciting players and won a cup but he wasn’t a good fit and was never popular.
On paper Bobby Williamson took over a struggling Hibs team and brought through the golden generation (I hate that phrase) but wasn’t a good fit for us and I think most were relieved when he left.
On paper it is ridiculous that people are even considering sacking Jack Ross, looking at his stats there’s no way he should be under any pressure at all. Unfortunately for him though I suspect the writing is on the wall. We aren’t playing well just now and I suspect results like the last 2 will become a bit more common place, as soon as his win % starts to slide it will be thrown back at him and used as a stick to beat him with.
I personally don’t think he’ll ever recover from that semi final defeat. He’s got a great opportunity to do so by winning the league cup but even if he does, people will put it down tk not having to beat any big teams (in the same way people discredit John Collins trophy win by putting it down to Mowbrays team)
Yes - me too and that was a major disappointment of course. But that was last season's Scottish Cup - this season's Scottish is only just getting started.
As it goes, the LC Semi is all the more of a test for Ross for his failure to get past Hearts to last season's SC Final. I hope he can pull us out of this nosedive in form and get us to Hampden this time. If he fails it aint going to be pretty around here that's for sure.
The last couple of games have been brutal and I won’t pretend to have exactly loved the football over the past year, but talk of binning Ross is lunacy.
Part of our problem is that we have too many patch up players. Part of the problem during our last decline was that we constantly had to patch up the team and get rid of players bought in by previous managers who only stayed a short while. Bucketloads of precious cash was wasted in this way.
My main issue is that we don’t really look like we’re building anything. Who do you really still see being a part of our team in 2-3 years?
What doesn’t fix that is getting rid of a young manager and starting a cycle of emergency repairs - and it’s hardly called for when we’re 4th in the league.
We need to regroup, learn some lessons and tweak the squad with a few outgoings and arrivals. Remaining 4th, winning the LC and a decent run in the Scottish would arguably be the best season in my time following Hibs. It’s all achievable. And none of the good seasons we’ve had in my time have been achieved without the odd grim result or performance along the way.
Hopefully whoever has their finger the “f*** it” button has a bit of restraint than those on here.
And that’s without wanting to excuse any aspects of the last pitiful 180 minutes of football we’ve had to endure.
Not any of the current Midfield who play today would be an improvement on our Cup Final winning team or our Championship promotion side. Our returning players from competing opponents who were deemed no longer good enough and were sent packing ie Fonts, Efe, Marvin & Milligan etc have not been upgraded. I agree our recruitment has been poor and our judgement from those in a position to set standards has failed miserably. Regarding our manager he should be given until the end of this season and judged accordingly unless there is a total collapse.
The manager and the team should be judged at the end of the season which could still result in a trophy and a decent league finish. I believe that it is still early days in the clubs quest to be consistent.
Can't see us winning any of the upcoming games. Really bleak times. Almost like the early 80's.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
He’s certainly under pressure Smartie.
We had no big win in 2020. Pumped off Hearts at home and at Hampden. They’ve just lost 3-1 to Dundee having lost to loads of ***** before us at Easter Road. A few horrible defeats also, even Alloa was a chore.
I will still back him as I can’t see who would be better alternative but he’s for me becoming more of a Levein and Neilson clone of management. It’s a shame because I was delighted when he came. But it seems he kicked about Dr Fitbaw at the Oriam too long.
The idea of Hibs getting horsed by two minnows at home and then going and getting a point at Parkhead is not at all out of the question - entirely the kind of exasperating swing of fortune we seem to excel in as it goes. Like someone else commented above - it's the hope that kills you!
Yeah, I accept he’s under pressure.
And you’re right about the “no big wins” - and that holds weight.
I just think, as pish as we’ve been there’s something to work with. If there were loads of rumours about losing the dressing room I’d be more concerned.
Our thin squad and the injuries are biting us a bit.
I’d be tempted to write off the Celtic game, play all the young lads in that and do whatever is required to get everybody back and in top shape for the Killie game.
And I think the squad needs strengthened - and I think his track record so far of bringing in players is decent.
One inherited a team with 8 future scotland internationals and one inherited a team sitting in 11th place in the league after what many described as one of the worst transfer windows we have had in recent times. They are different starting points.
The same goes for competing with aberdeen, look at what ross inherited compared to the aberdeen team at the time, which had been in the top 2/3 for the past 4 or 5 years. He can't just take a poor squad and compete with them immediately. He has only had 2 transfer windows, one only a month or so after he came in (where he brought in mcginn and docherty, mcnulty and omeonga on short term loans which improved us and got us up the table) and one where he was likely limited by the covid situation.
It's a year or so from his appointment and we are in a better position than when he took over. There is big problems with the midfield, not helped with magennis and allan being out, and we really lack competition in key areas but i expect these to be addressed in january and/or the summer. If in 9 months time we haven't improved again then that would be the time where calls for sacking should be expected imo. The exception would be a complete collapse but we are nowhere near that, despite 2 atrocious performances this week.
It's clear that some fans have turned or are staring to turn on him already. Whilst the old firm, aberdeen and hearts being out the league cup is great as it gives us the best chance of winning it, it heaps a lot of pressure on ross. If he loses the semi or final then i sense many won't forgive him.
:top marks A very balanced assessment from someone that's not keen on Ross. Not sure I agree with your assessment of Ross though - I think I can see what he's trying to do and think he deserves a bit of patience. And definitely disagree with the bit in bold - a cup win - ANY cup win will cut ****loads of slack with the vast majority of the support I reckon. And deservedly so - you can only beat the teams in front of you and as this season's competition has shown, none of them are likely to make it an easy ride.
Genuine question here. What is it you think he’s trying to do?
Obviously he’s trying to build a team to win games, that’s his job. I’m just not sure how he’s looking to go about it. I don’t think we have an obvious way of playing. Magennis is the one that confuses me most. Forgetting his injuries, when he has been fit, he’s predominantly been stuck out on the left and there is no danger that is his position.
I think it’s good to have a bit of flexibility but we seem to chop and change and try to accommodate players. I think we’ve got results, and will continue to get results, because we have more money and better players than most teams in the league. But, back to the original point, I’m just no sure what kind of team he’s trying to build.
At least its not Yogi.
His post match comments today were child like and embarrassing.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
My views on us this season is that we’re an ok squad that are doing and have performed well to date. When you look at it on paper there are a lot of average players Imo who have got us to this point.
Imo our squad is quite a bit behind Aberdeen’s and there’s not too much difference between us and some others.
What we had especially earlier in the season was a way to win and it was built on the back of a solid defence.
No we’re seeing other teams picking up results and putting a run together. Let’s not forget that up until last week we were in a very good position and the majority were happy. Although we lost to rangers we were decent and unlucky not to get something.
2 truly awful results and performances later and people are waning the manager sacked? It shows how quickly football and fans opinions can change.
Im not putting the last 2 performances and results down to Ross though, for me that’s the players. They need to take responsibly as the quality, or lack of, they’ve shown has been embarrassing and the goals conceded amateur. Ross hasn’t suddenly changed things, told them to perform differently or completely changed the squad. For whatever reason there has been a huge dip in form.
What I will criticise Ross for is if he can’t or fails to rectify it. Either by tactics, change of personnel or signing new players in January.
We need quality this month, real quality. Not players that were trying to convince ourselves, ones that come in and instantly show they’re good players.
Im also concerned at where our points will come from in the next month or so
Celtic (A)
Kilmarnock (H)
Rangers (H)
St Mirren (A)
Aberdeen (H)
Dundee United (A)
That is a very tough set and 6 points off County and Livingston going into it would have made things a lot more comfortable.
Within 3 weeks we could easily find ourselves 5/6th depending on results.
Kilmarnock, St Mirren Aberdeen and United are must wins imo although it will be very difficult and probably unrealistic to gain maximum points. Anything off the old firm will be a bonus - despite people thinking we should take something from them.
I think he's trying to play a passing game - trying to retain posession by playing from the defence through the midfield. It can look a bit laboured and can be frustrating to watch when the passing is not crisp or accurate enough but is easy enough on the eye when it does come off. Earlier in the season it was working enough for us over the course of most matches and we were getting our share of results. Over the last couple of games I thought just too many players have not been on it and we've conceded possession too easily and not created enough as a result. Also perhaps some sides are cottoning on and just not giving us the room in midfield to play that kind of game. So - maybe he needs to be more pragmatic in his approach and have a plan B - but that's the style that Ross has been pursuing from what I've seen.
NB - I reckon Magennis has been played wide left simply because he can, and absent of Murphy, we haven't got many options for that position in a 4-4-2 context. When he eventually gets fit I bet we'll see him playing a central role more often.
I think we struggle to play through the middle of the park. We don’t have that player who takes it off the back four and gets it playing and end up resorting to lumping it in the general direction of Doidge far too often. I know Newell has his good games but he’s about the park a bit more and doesn’t necessarily dictate games as a result.
A lot of our success early in the season was breaking on teams quickly. Ross actually spoke about giving up a bit in midfield to go with the front two but I think we’re seeing now you can’t sustain playing that way.
Still think midfield is our biggest issue. We have plenty midfielders but not a midfield if that makes sense.
Which sums up what it's like to follow this club. We have everything to be far more successful than we have been, a big fanbase who will turn out at the slightest sign of a decent team, a stadium that can only be bettered by two clubs in the country, an excellent training facility we can use how and when we want and a budget well in excess of most other clubs.
Given all of that we always have the hope that we can be a consistent top 4 club and win a cup once every 4 or 5 years. The truth is that we never get anywhere near the level everything about this club says we should be capable of reaching, in fact there's just as much chance of us being relegated than winning anything. That's why it's so hard to follow at times.
As for our current situation: Is Jack Ross in danger of the boot? not in my opinion, at least not yet. But what we have seen in the last two games has been an absolute mess, two performances at home that wouldn't have looked out of place in any of the seasons we have been relegated in my time watching the club. The Celtic game won't be a factor unless we get absolutely humped, but if we do lose it and then perform against Killie the way we have in the last two games and lose that as well, then IMO his whole future could hinge on the League cup semi final.
I for one will be absolutely happy with 4th, hell even 5th, if we can win the League cup. Do that and it's been a successful season ... anybody who doesn't agree needs to remember that this club has only won a major trophy once in every 14.5 years of its 145 year existence. Winning that cup will keep him in a job until the summer IMO and I'll be ok with that. But lose to St Johnstone and he had better find a way to turn around our form and quick or he will be getting the dreaded vote of confidence before Easter.
NOTE:
I don't have a lot of sympathy for players complaining about the pitch, but it did look a bit crap today and considering it has barely had 20 competitive games played on it in 5 months you have to be asking why a full time ground staff can't come up with a better effort than that.
Excellent post. It's the under performance relative to our comparative strength over others that is so galling. That and the long standing feeling that there is not the kind of hard-******* mentality at Easter Road from the very top downwards that says losing is not acceptable, anyone who wants points is going top have claw them from our hands and any player not giving 100% is liable to end up in a fight on the training ground with everyone else who won't tolerate phoning it in. The boy band expression is overdone but there's a reason it was used in the first place and then repeated. You need a winning mentality to succeed in football as in all other sports and you don't get it by being anything other than utterly committed, all of the time.
It isn't even the commitment though. Over the last 5 years Hibs have made huge play of the club's approach to sports science, we must have spent a small fortune on that side of the game, from nutritionists to psychologists and everything in between. And yet both Ross County and Livvi looked fitter and physically stronger than us, football isn't about 60 yard sprints, its about speed over 10 to 20 yards and most of our players lack that burst of pace, including now it would seem Martin Boyle, who has barely out stripped a defender all season .... do we even have a sprint coach amongst the white coat brigade?
Not just that but we see players getting subbed after 70 minutes because their race is run, that's after 22 games of a bog standard league campaign, why the **** is Kevin Nesbit in need of a rest as the commentators kept saying today, the guy is a 23 year old professional athlete FFS other players should be struggling to match his energy, that's not a dig at him BTW he clearly cares and I could never say I've seen him not trying.
Which brings us to the fans. Its amazing the number of times in threads like this over the years, including this one, where you get fans saying 'why are folk so surprised that we are playing so badly or that we can't sustain a run of form, Hibs have been like that since I started watching them' in whatever year you care to choose from the drop down menu .... It's almost got to the stage where that's our comfort blanket, there's no point in moaning about it because this is just what Hibs do, what we have always done. The whole point of taking this club to the next level is for the folk involved with the club from the owner to the fans to the tea lady to finally grasp that 'it's aye been' has to become 'this cant be'
What we have seen in the last two games is totally unacceptable and can't be swept under the carpet. I seem to recall Alan Stubbs, probably one of the most affable arm round the shoulder type managers we have had absolutely publicly slating his team after a defeat by Raith Rovers. There has to come a time when Jack Ross starts throwing the cups and saucers around as well and I mean publicly.
You can't sack the manager after two defeats! Honestly, the boredom threshold of some fans is infantile.
I'd be really interested in seeing stats on how much our players ran the last two games compared to County and Livi. It felt like they were constantly chasing us, pushing forward when we won the ball and never giving us a moments peace.
I was really impressed by Livi and their current run speaks for itself. But we made life far, far too easy foe them.
If we look at our squad I’d say:
Gray
McGregor
Porteous
Hanlon
Stevenson
Hallberg
Mallan
Newell
Gogic
Doidge
Nisbet
Off the top of my head are particularly unathletic. Guys that you wouldn’t expect to out run/catch anyone, wouldn’t be massively confident of them overpowering anyone or covering more ground than most others over the course of a game. There’s far too many in our squad and our midfield in particular needs some athleticism in there.
I agree with lots of your posts as always.
The worst posts for me on this forum are the ones that type..
I’ve been following Hibs for 30/40/50 years etc. It’s what Hibs do ...etc.
The problem I have with this is there is a different generation / type of fan who simply don’t accept the just because it used to be like that..means it will always be like that.
That mindset is weak and won’t see Hibs pushing for 3rd in Scotland when it really should be over time. I don’t mean 3rd this season I say 3rd like Aberdeen have been constantly doing with a cup win thrown into the mix every so often.
Some fans maybe started following Hibs when they were up and down and training in a public park. But now the club has the infrastructure to be 3rd / 4th minimum every year.
Fans expectations have rightly risen and that’s a good thing. Accepting derby defeats and results like week won’t grow us as a club - it will lose fans so we have to make sure it doesn’t happen regularly. That’s why fans have every right to question the absolute shambles that has happened this week. We best Livi 4-1 earlier in the season and then suddenly lose 3-0 going on 5 or more - the players and management / staff should rightly be put under pressure as it’s not good enough for the £ we spend to support the club.
It’s not just 2 defeats though. That’s the simple way to look at it.
X2 derby loses - one of those performances absolutely awful.
Aberdeen loses this season and not scoring against them.
Aberdeen 3-1 end of last season
Dundee Utd late goal this season
St Johnstone home draw this season
Celtic late goal this season
Ross County - bottom of the league - 1 point from 6
Livi - 3-0 going on more ( worst ever home defeat to Livi)
Livi 1-1 end of last season at home
Alloa performance in cup
League Cup group stages performances were woeful.
That’s off the top of my head...
Yes we have won some games obviously and credit where it’s due for those away wins but we are still a massive work in progress but you would think results like this would happen at the start when a new manager comes in - not after a season and a half !
I’m in no way advocating sacking him, but to look upon this reaction as being solely down to 2 defeats is a nonsense and I’d suggest the people saying that’s what it is know it.
We’ve had some utterly dreadful results under Jack Ross, some of them some of the worst we’ve had since before we got relegated.
I hope he has the players in at East Mains today for a double session and to watch that car crash over again. Any player who doesn't want to be at the training ground today trying to put that horror show right can **** off.
No one is basing it on last 2 results. Even looking at bigger picture, semi final & 4th in league, the writing is on the wall.
The brand of football is atrocious. The lack of victories against Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen & ****bos is another concern. The constant signing of injured players. Filling the staff with ex St Mirren players/staff. The signing of Stephen McGinn.
I'm not The managers biggest fan but i don't want him sacked, i want him to show us what he is made of but the trouble is he has shown nothing recently that he has any answer to getting a better performance from the team. Time for him to show us he has a plan and can motivate the players to a better performance but why was he unable to do so yesterday ?
I wonder if Liverpool fans are holding onto the 7-2 Villa game for when Klopp next loses 2 in a row
I'm shocked Peps still in a Job too, nevermind Areta!
I just read on the BBC website that Ross said " i just don't want us to drift along " Yes Jack, that will do the trick ! How nice of him to ask the players that and it should transform our performances no end !
I bet that if the liverpool fans were feeling generally bored or experiencing high levels of frustration on a near weekly basis for over a year they would sure look to move the manager on.........city fans have called for the head of guys who won them the league in the not so distant past and the arsenal reference, well they loved than uni emry right enough!
Maybe if you click on the story instead of just reading the headline and repeating that here, just to give some context maybe?
"This does give us a little breather," Ross told BBC Scotland.
"It is an opportunity for us to draw breath and re-group and say, 'right, what do we want to achieve for the rest of the season?'. I don't want us to just drift along.
"We need to respond to this week that we've had. We've got a tough game when we come back, but we've got an exciting month ahead."
Two games have defined Ross' spell with us so far - the most recent games against Hearts. One our most one-sided derby defeat since arguably the 2012 final against a team spiralling towards relegation, and the other ANOTHER Hampden capitulation against a team in the division below.
If he'd won both, or even one of those games we wouldn't be having this conversation.
I think a large element of our support is willing to accept mediocrity and not challenge the club to be demanding more of itself.
As long as the club are sending out the right PR messages about partnerships and structures a large element of the support seems happy.
Big game results have been nowhere near good enough. Look at the last two Derbies and the manner of them!!!
Just waiting on the microwave to ping.
Popcorn time....
Ah, that old one.
Perhaps we just think there are more productive ways to improve things beyond mediocrity than just sacking and emptying people at the first sign of things not going our way?
Does continual sackings generally improve things long term in your experience?
No but point being you can pick out specific examples and games across any manger in the world to suit the agenda of boot him out - Klopp lost 7-2 against a team promoted the season before and just drew at home with the team promoted this season and has lost to Watford 3-0, twice.
I've seen a poster claim we should never lose to livi or RC - aboslutely absurd
I would be careful what we wish for here
We have a support that whinges like wee bairns about our undercheivement but the hint of adversity and we are shouting for the managers head
Aberdeen are where they are consistently because they have had investment and consistency of the footballing operation
He got them third last year, league and Scottish cup finals and sold £8m+ of players. Not bad for a club smaller than us. That obviously included winning a big game or two.
I'm not saying I want him to replace JR but I'm not going to pretend he didn't do a good job there for prominently a bottom 6 club.
point being you can pick out specific examples and games across any manger in the world to suit the agenda of boot him out - Klopp lost 7-2 against a team promoted the season before and just drew at home with the team promoted this season and has lost 3-0 to Watford, twice
Klopp won the EPL and the Champions League with Liverpool.
Pep has won trophies all over the world and has won the league with city.
Ross has won zero.
Our club still underachieve yet our support who you want to say whinge like wee bairns still continue to back the club every single year despite how bad things get. So we want better for our club than being pumped in a Semi to a ***** hearts side, losing at home to two rank sides, one bottom of the league hadn't not won a league game in what? Months? So we want to see our side play attractive football with an actual plan? Is that simply too much to ask aye?
The last two games haven't been a fluke either. We have been lucky and flat in plenty of games and I repeat, in the year of 2020 we failed to win any big game. Not one. All we want is a derby win or two (lost twice to the ****test hearts team ever) a win against the old firm from time to time, even Aberdeen (we lost three times to them, easily last year) would be nice. Now we've started the new year utter ***** and look a complete shambles.
I'm sorry, it's simply not good enough despite you wanting to laugh it off comprising to Klopp or slagging our support (who pay £100s every single season) for not being happy.
The comfort blanket of still being third despite Aberdeen games in hand to still easily fourth is diminishing every week it seems and Livingston are a better side than us. Dundee Utd and them will be ahead of us come the end of the season and it will all change to "at least we finished top six, progress stop bed wetting etc"
Always a catch 22 with Hibs managers. If they're successful, they're off to Celtic, Rangers or England before they achieve anything meaningful. If they're rubbish, we're stuck with them. JR is somewhere in between - not proved good enough for a move or bad enough to sack. A few weeks ago, the media had him as Celtic's saviour. Now they look stupid. No getting away from it, some of the results and performances under Ross have been downright terrible. His record in bigger matches is awful. But he's shown he's not completely crap at times. The games themselves are not normal either, due to Covid.
Whether we like it or not he's here for while now - the start to the season means he'll not get booted, and recent results will have scared off preditors. At this point, the season could easily see us end up 3rd or 4th with the league Cup.... or 5th/6th and nothing else.
I think my point of whinging like bairns is valid
The last few weeks have been crap but in the context of our whole season we are doing fine
Ofcourse it can go either way at this point, it might all fall flat or we might kick on
You obviously feel everything is terrible (I'm guessing mostly because we lost the semi final, I'm pretty sure everyone was onside up to that point)I think we have had a bad few results and performances and given how we have performed longer term we will be OK
Livi have Ross County and Aberdeen at home the next two games. They could easily win both them and if we don't beat Killie the gap would be four points with them 2 games in hand. Dundee Utd have St Johnstone Hamilton and St Mirren while we have Celtic Killie Rangers. If we don't stop the rot and they start being more consistent for a newly promoted side I wouldn't rule it out.
Jack Ross has a big test in January.Currently he has 8 players who when fit irrespective of form are first picks.Does he go for cover for these players in the January transfer window,depending on what is available.Strengthening is required in every area.What is the way forward.Any comments ?
What do you expect from the support, honestly? Not to be pissed off after the last two games, losing in the Semi to Hearts, being pumped at home to them? Not laying a glove on Aberdeen who we are meant to be challenging for third? Realistically you can't surely expect much less? Hearts won 1 game in the league, 1 game in 2020 before being relegated, they rocked up at Easter Road and hammered us. Just as Livi done yesterday, the exact same shambles, the exact same lack of motivation and fight. Yesterday wasn't a one off.
I don't feel everything is terrible, but it should be much, much better. Including winning any sort of big game. Our biggest game of the season is against St Johnstone this month, another loss to a piss poor side in a national semi will be disastrous for Ross.
Pissed off yes but I feel there's a huge over reaction here
Infact I can't see another manager coming in and doing all that much better
So when they have a sticky patch its game over for them too?
As I pointed out with my extreme Klopp example, every manager has bad results and hand picking one from a year ago is easy to do when you want to leverage that against a sack him message
Whatever though you may get your wish but for me, I'd be careful what we wish for and I'd be tempering what our expectations are over such a short period of time
I think we are all in agreement that Ross walked into a bad situation after Hecky and yet here we are 12 months later and during a pandemic in a much much stronger position but building a consistent team and image take time
I can't say I'm overly disappointed where we are right now. Yes, there has been disappointments (certainly last few games) but overall I'm fairly content with where we sit as a whole