It's what was Khushis Broughton Street. There's another new place next door as well that used to the Bakehouse.
Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
Printable View
I'm attending something at the Playhouse at the start of September and have booked a table for prior. It does look interesting, will post up my comments after :greengrin
I've been intending going to the sister restaurant, the Apiary, for a pre-theatre meal when attending the EFT but I've prioritised other places so far (Hewat's; Kalpna; Mother India's Cafe et al). A friend who ate there recently was very positive about their experience, they had the seafood sharing platter and thought it was excellent.
I went to the Gurkha bar and restaurant last night in Musselburgh. it's a nice wee small place with friendly staff.
The food was amazing, I'd go as far as saying the best curry I've ever tasted. There were 5 of us there and everyone was saying how great the food was.
Definitely going back!
Mother India's Cafe again, last night. It was absolutely heaving, really busy, but that probably suits the tapas style.
I know many on here will have been but for those who haven't, it's well worth a visit. Indian food, tapas style. Not your korma through to madras-style menu, but not really fancy either. Great food and great service, pretty reasonably priced, good range of non-meat dishes and some very tasty meat choices.
The Spice Lounge Kitchen on Drum Brae. A warm welcome in tastefully and brightly decorated premises, this has attracted a family crowd. The waiter said it's bookings only on Fridays which is good going for an out of town place. I know their illuminated signage and stuff has annoyed local residents but I can't fault the food which was promptly served and of very good quality. Drinks were not exorbitant either. They do a myriad of food deals and have a menu about these which was hard to fathom but they're doing OK.
I had pre-theatre dinner in the Educated Flea on Broughton Street last night. It's the sister restaurant of Three Birds and the Apiary. It's small, I'm guessing less than thirty covers.
The service was very, very friendly, prompt and helpful when we asked for anything.
The food was very reasonably priced, especially the pre-theatre deal. It's an eclectic menu, influences from around the globe. Portions tended to be on the generous side, flavour was there most of the time - my main was beef cheeks that came with a sticky soy and star anise sauce that was exactly that, but the wasabi potatoes were lighter on the wasabi than I would have happily dealt with. Everything was cooked relatively well, the beef in particular.
Decent enough range of desserts, especially the ice creams and sorbets which had some interesting combinations. The wine list isn't huge but pretty much covers any food choice and they do house carafes at 500ml, which is helpful.
Liked it enough to make another reservation for next time we're going to the Playhouse.
Anyone been to Xiangbala Hotpot in Dalry? I saw a thing on TV a week or so ago where they were in China and went to one of these hot pot restaurants. I quite like the look of it.
Has anyone been to Nonna's kitchen before up in morningside? Heard good things about it so thinking of going there for my birthday
I was in Walnut on Sunday for their Sunday lunch. As were a couple of other Hibbies that I hadn't seen for a while.
Good food, good service BYOB. Mains mostly around a tenner, fist courses and puddings around a fiver.
No sign of any walnuts though!
http://www.osteriafrancescana.it
10 days until I'm in this place...cannae wait is an understatement!
After folk raving about The Mosque Kitchen I was there the other week.
I really don't see what folk are seeing, or tasting here.
Lots of rice, lots and lots of rice, lots of curry sauce, which honestly is no better than my own, in which there was very little chicken. The nann bread was nice.
Yeah it's cheap but in my opinion it's not worth it. I really was quite disappointed.
Can't say I was impressed with the greetin faced staff other than the smiling girl clearing the tables. Maybe it was her last day.
Recently at Miro's Cantina on Rose Street, have now been there several times and yet to find fault.
The Nicholson Sq one is actually the original one that used to be in the mosque. They fell out and moved out maybe about 4 or 5 years ago. There was a gap between them moving to Nicholson Sq and new folk taking over the Mosque site.
I'd agree the one in the actual Mosque now serves infinitely better food.
Tried Tuk Tuk last night opposite the Kings Theatre, decent enough for the price and a cheap night with BYOB.
Went for the set menu,you can replenish each dish as often as yo like.
Walked past loads of times and only ever seen Chinese (I assume) people eating there. There is a distinctive smell I have only ever smelled in Bangkok that comes from the place. Both of those things suggest to me it doesn't sell usual Chinese take away food. The fact that there are lots of Asian people eating there also suggests to me they must serve pretty authentic/traditional food. Would be interested to hear your review if and when you go.😀
My old man was @ Kebabish in Dalry Road last night and said it was very good, BYOB too I think.
Good food at Beirut Restaurant in Nicholson Street Square. BYOB!!
Went to David bann last week. I'm not vegetarian, but one of the guys in a group that I go to dinner with occasionally was doing a 1 month vegetarian challenge so we took the chance to try something a bit different.
It was very good. Very tasty food that is cooked and presented to a high standard but with a small price tag (no expensive meat).
Tried the Cool Jade Chinese in Corstorphine yesterday.
Food and service was lovely but paying nearly £70 for what amounted to three main courses and three soft drinks was a bit much.
Almost feel like I've been stiffed.
Just been to the Kitchin in Leith. Super food and service. Very nice and helpful staff.
Went to the Königlicher Hirschgarten last week with Mrs Keekaboo and a couple of colleague from work.
Pleasant surroundings and decor, staff were nice but menu was very limited. If it's not Bavarian or Austrian, they don't sell it.
FWIW, I ate Bambie's Mum for dinner. Very tasty.
Anyone eaten at Navadhanya? I love my Indian food, and travel past it everyday on the bus, but I'd never really heard of it, I noticed it's highly rated on trip advisor (#12 restaurant in Edinburgh). I'm going on Sunday to try it out.
Anyone been to Wahaca on South St Andrew Street?
Going there for my work's Christmas do. Menu looks prety good.
My folks used to swear by Vittoria's on the Walk but reckon it's really gone downhill recently.
I was at Bubba Q's on the royal mile on Saturday. If you like American style BBQ/smoked food you will love it. Reasonable prices, food was great, and plentiful portions. I would recommend the sausages, brisket, the BBQ beans and the dynamite fries.
Bit of both, to be honest. Felt that they were maybe stretching themselves a bit thin with the other restaurants and that the one in the Walk had suffered as a result. They're regulars as well, but are looking at going elsewhere. Think my dad even had to send a steak back last time.
You know I've never really rated their restaurants but folk kept on raving about them so I kept on trying them! Vittoria's particularly.
I reckon I've had 2 good experiences from a dozen or so.
The pizzas are decent but nothing special, probably a bit short on toppings but that's the Italian style I've been ridiculously told - only on Piazza San Marco, in my experience, everywhere else is at least decent enough that you can see what's supposed to be there.
The boy waiters too keen to be serving girls and the girl waiters (if that's what their known as these days ;-) so 'I'm only working here to do you a favour' as they swan about being divas!
It's round the corner. I dare say I'll be there again lucky 13, disappointed ... or maybe not! Wouldn't that be nice.
I'm going to Vittorias on the walk next week will report back after as we've always found it superb.
I use Vittorias regularly and was surprised by some of these comments.Had a quick look at Trip Advisor and see that both the one in Leith and on the Bridge are still getting great comments. My other favourite is La Piazza.
I was at a family meal in the Vittoria recently and found it pretty faultless
I got a takeaway from Noks Kitchen in Stockbridge last night. It was excellent and I'll definitely be using it again.
Anybody got any recommendations for Manchester? Preferably vegetarian.
Peach Garden has been very good though it has just changed management again and locals giving it mixed reviews. I found it just as good so worth a visit.
Wongs owned and run by husband and wife team David and Rose very hospitable, attentive hosts with good food. Spicy dishes tend to be more powerful than other restaurants but suits me.
Chinese Manor House probably the most expensive of the three but excellent food if maybe slighter smaller portions.
Fabios italian, gets good local reviews but never been a great fan myself and prefer to travel to La Piazza in Shandwick place more often than not.
Redwood bistro, Californian chef proprietor very different menu worth a look and visit.
St Johns Curry club, well worth a visit,quite small and when busy not much room between tables but decent food and great North Indian Chilli garlic chicken :-)
Abida same owner as curry club and always found it good,bigger restaurant with private room available for larger parties.
Eastern Pavilion I think it's callef next to Peach Garden never been is often empty.
We eat out locally a lot :-)
Well just back from Vittorias on the walk....superb as usual!!
Going to the scran and scallie in Stockbridge for a birthday lunch in a few weeks. Have heard great things, can't wait.
Has anyone been to Castle Terrace for lunch? I'm going in a few weeks time and can't wait!
I've been going to Wongs since they opened about 10-15 years ago. The food has always been of a high standard and as Scouse mentioned, David and Rose do a great job of running the place. It's usually pretty quiet when I go these days but I think they do a lot of business on the takeaway side.
Just been to Educated Flea on Broughton Street for lunch, 2 courses for a tenner, absolute bargain. Will definitely go back.
Was up town on Saturday and decided to go for a spot to eat. Popped in to the Foundry 39 at the west end. Located in what used to be Bar Roma on Queensferry Street.
The place is not long open and looked very trendy, plenty beard & tattoos on show as is the way these days. I thought the drinks were decent, plenty small batch brews to be had and the cocktail list has enough to cater for most tastes. I had the smoked Heather sour, which was certainly sour!
The food however was a big let down, opted for the special chilli burger asking with chilli fries. The fries were passable but the burger was shocking, somehow the meat pate was dried out but the bun was sopping in juices,,, disgusting and was left on the late. The server noticed it but never even asked how the food was.
Won't be back in a hurry unless it was drinks only.
Two friends of mine were in Lancers in Stockbridge on Saturday and said it was very poor, both service and quality of food.
Was in Wahaca at St Andrews Square on Friday night for my work's Christmas meal. We had the 'Mexmas Banquet' between 6 of us and it was really nice food.
The sweet potato taquitos and the salmon sushimi tostadas as part of the starters were amazing.
Was at Bar Italia (Lothian Road) at the weekend after a show at the Usher Hall. It was pretty small (the restaurant, not the show) and busy but the staff were good and the service was pretty quick.
The food was tasty, I had a carbonara (have started making these myself at home, using the traditional method with egg and no cream, so I tend to get this in an Italian restaurant to compare). I would (modestly) say that my carbonara was nicer than theirs, however it was very tasty regardless. They used a cream sauce and I was happy to finish the lot. The portion size was perfect as well.
Tiramisu for desert, was lovely.
The food wasn't that good that I'd rush to go back, but I certainly wouldn't have any qualms in going again if I was in the area.
The Atelier on Morrison Street for my year group at works Christmas dinner. Very nice indeed. One of my favourite restaurants in Edinburgh.
Four of us going to Eastern Pavillion in Corstorphine tommorrow night following the good reviews on here. Hope it lives up to expectations :-)
I was in La Garrigue once again last week and again I couldn't commend it enough.
Classic French fare from the Languedoc, absolutely delicious and reasonably-priced for such a central Edinburgh location.
The menu varies on a more regular basis than a lot of restaurants, whilst always retaining Languedoc classics like their cassoulet.
The wine list likewise is varied, with something suitable for most pockets and again a focus on wines from the owner's region of birth.
Fantastic ambience and if you're window-facing, you have those great views. All accompanied by really understated but thoroughly professional service.
As with every meal there, I'm already looking forward to going back!
Looking forward to the review.
Tuesday night. Few beers in Malt Shovel and then up for a pizza/pasta at Gordon's Trattoria. Not been for years. Won't be back for years.
Overpriced, average fare. Service decent but the six of us agreed we wouldn't be rushing back soon.
Having lived in corstorphine for years I still hadn't tried several of the eateries. After scouse''s wee tour review through the area a few pages back I gave redwood a try yesterday
It was just amazing. Possibly best meal I've had in years and I'm lucky enough to eat in some great places all over Scotland with my job. The fish soup starter and hake were the business. Can't wait to go back
I live just over other side of Drum Brae and pass the Redwood almost everyday. Never been. Always thought it looked like a nursing home ! Will give it a try now.
Eastern Pavilion last night: Seated near the back of the restaurant the night got off to a great start. Friendly staff, pints of Cobra, the obligatory poppadoms and pickle selection and very good starters. The manager spoke to us several times and we were happy as we drank more and waited for the main courses to arrive.
Then......The manager approached us and asked if we would move tables to the front of the restaurant as they had two parties with wheelchairs arriving and the rear area was more suitable to the wheelchairs. Now normally we would be pretty pissed off having to move tables mid course in a restaurant however we were asked very nicely by the manager and of course we were only to happy to help a wheelchair user so we duly obliged and moved to a table at the window.
The mains then arrived and we continued our night without further interuption, the manager fussed over us, provided some extra accompaniments and we all agreed we had some of the finest Indian food we had eaten anywhere not just in Corstorphine.
The food and service even with our mid course move really was top class and a restaurant not far from my house which I had previously dismissed and only tried because of the recommendations on here turns out to be fantastic. So impressed I have booked a table for six on Hogmanay and can't wait to return.
Corstorphine. The new hotbed of undiscovered haute cuisine.
And when you live nearby you save yourself an additional £15 on a taxi fare home.
Off to Orroco Pier in South Queensferry for breakfast this morning. Heard good things about it so will report back.
Going to have to check the Eastern Pavilion out I'm just along at Western Corner so can walk!