If found guilty of any wrongdoing I would assume extra sanctions could be put in place? The SFA don't take kindly to being lied to or similar circumstances, that's why they threw the book at Livingston and Gretna.
Printable View
If found guilty of any wrongdoing I would assume extra sanctions could be put in place? The SFA don't take kindly to being lied to or similar circumstances, that's why they threw the book at Livingston and Gretna.
From the SFA statement..
"“Finally, I would like to reiterate the need to learn the lessons from this unedifying episode. It is essential that we work together to improve the overall sustainability and competitiveness of the game in this country. This is a matter that the Scottish FA is already in discussions with the relevant league bodies to address.”
Do they mean ongoing talks/initiatives etc to improve the game in this country or are they referring to new talks since the situation with Der Hun kicked off?
Ibrox is now apparently a sell out for tomorrow.
Huns taking the chance to see them one last time? :greengrin
Re the part in bold, rangers could only afford 3.5 million of the 9 million, they had to sell more ST's to ticketus to cover the shortfall. The ticketus agreement is meant to ensure that their tickets are sold ahead of other stocks so they always get their money back. If you look at the ticketus model they make a big margin on the deal (or supposed to) as they buy the tickets in bulk for cheap, so if they have paid 24.4 million for tickets they will be getting back, or should, a lot more than 24.4M. So it seems that Whyte was selling ticketus' tickets and keeping the proceeds as well.
Does anyone know what happened to the money that was ringfenced by former board members? Did the former board members get the money or are they now a creditor also?
Part of statement from Scottishfa.co.uk
“Finally, I would like to reiterate the need to learn the lessons from this unedifying episode. It is essential that we work together to improve the overall sustainability and competitiveness of the game in this country. This is a matter that the Scottish FA is already in discussions with the relevant league bodies to address.”
More hot air or a genuine attempt at creating fairness?
Have clients who have invested in Octopus over the years. Been very stable investments. Obviously on returning from holiday today was concerned as to impact on client's money and got in touch with my main contact. He sent an email which I don't feel should be passed around as I believe this would be unprofessional. The jist of it was that was they do lots of deals with sports clubs and do substantial due diligence. They have to understand and be comfortable that investors’ best interests are being looked after. If necessary they will take out 3rd party insurance. They had a club that has went into insolvency ,because of the added protection they never lost any of their capital and indeed made the margin expected.
These guys are no fools and realise that clubs wanting money up front must have cash flow problems or they wouldn't be getting the loan of the money in the first place. My recollection of the Rangers deal is that they borrowed the initial sum, when Whyte didn't come up with the money the debt was crystallised and the balance was paid by adding another year or twos portion of the tickets going forwards.
Just to clarify, they do not take on all the season tickets for one season, they will look at numbers previously sold then buy a percentage of these, say 25-30% at a discounted rate. They own these tickets and are normally paid a portion of these. As for comments by others that no insurer would take them on, insurers have covered risks like this for years and not found them bad risks. Eventually insurers will have claims but actuaries will have calculated the risks and loaded the premium accordingly. This will mean other clubs have to pay higher rates going forwards.
[email protected]
Our first minister seems to think that all other Scottish football fans realise we couldn't survive without Rangers. You might like to let him know whether you are in agreement.
Just spotted David Murray in Stockbridge, looking a tad stressed oot :-)
The bizzies will a chapping his door soon methinks.Quote:
Originally Posted by soupy
maybe a coincidence but a blue nose relative said he reckons that about 6pm a shed load of cops and a few vans full of the fraud squad or something has just decended on ibrox and left with cardboard boxes and big polly bags filled with paperwork...
i thought it was probably the cleaners myself ???
Nowt from the news folks. Would be surprised if they missed that.Quote:
Originally Posted by mca
och - He was caught banging patsy kensit a while ago... - hope this link works..
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz...it-affair.html
Aye - thats kinda what i said to him - " probably just the cleaners ya numpty " - he said it would all over the papers the morra..
Courtesy of Desperate Dan
:lolrangers:
I don't get it about the Ticketus arrangement. The BBC are reporting that the owners of Ticketus say that they have bought the tickets and that they are assets. The BBC go on to say that these will still be valid, even in the event of Rangers going under and a new club being formed.
How can tickets to see Rangers FC in the SPL be valid to see Glasgow Rangers 2012 play in whatever
league they are admitted to ?
If this is the case, then the new club will have hardly any revenue for the first 3 years. I'd love this to be true actually.
I don't think there is a great deal of merit in debating the 'suspected' terms of the RFC 'deal' with Ticketus as no-one posting on here has seen the actual loan/sale documentation as far as I can see.
However, your accountancy assessment is flawed in that the balance sheet would balance in the scenario you describe. The balance sheet would show a debit for the GROSS sale proceeds (in respect of the amount due to be paid for the tickets) and a credit for the VAT liability amount with the net (future year) sales amount being the balancing balance sheet credit entry!
The bit you allude to as being the amount of the 'balancing item' relates, I think, to the receipt of cash for the sale which would be a credit against the GROSS sale proceeds debtor (as above) and a debit to the bank account if cash is received by RFC or a loan (debtor) account in the name of the recipient of the cash in cleared funds if not RFC. That balances too but is a separate element from the sale itself and the book-keeping for that!
Just saying likes! :wink:
Floating an idea here ....
The parent company probably then shifted that money to a third company which used it to pay off the indebtedness to Lloyds, whilst acquiring security over Rangers assets.
So the parent company is a debtor of the football club and the third company has a valid charge. If the parent had simply lent the Ticketus money back to the football club it would have wiped out the loan it received and so there would have been nothing to secure.