Urgh, he totally ruined Nightrain.
Turned it off after 30 seconds of paradise city.
I'd rather remember it as it used to be....
Printable View
Urgh, he totally ruined Nightrain.
Turned it off after 30 seconds of paradise city.
I'd rather remember it as it used to be....
Black Keys were superb tonight. Great crowd too. Hydro special, queuing for the lavvy some git was shouting at anyone washing their hands as it was slowing the queue down. As if we all wash our hands before we pee.....
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
Saw The Wakes in Dunfermline on Friday night, between that and the St Pauli friendly it was a pretty drunken crowd [emoji16] very good as usual though [emoji106]
Someone better tell Bruce Springsteen to slow down. Smashing out 3 hour sets and full speed in his 70s full of energy.
Can't be bothered with artcic fans saying they are just more nuanced now, or matured ha.
Some people liked the songs how they sounded and don't like them now, that's their choice, they don't have to grow to like something completely different.
A lot better bands than the arctics have gone on longer and still do the hits the same way.
Turner looks like Richard Hammond and talks like lulu now, it's a sad sight. Probably ditched his old mates when he got rid of his accent.
Going to see guns n roses on Tuesday, got the tickets in 2019, reviews haven been great recently but its still guns n roses and I've never seen them live
I saw Velvet Revolver playing once when I was on holiday in Florida. They happened to be playing Hard Rock at Universal and tickets were $20, so we decided to go. They did about 3 GnR songs and 2 Stone Temple Pilot songs and honestly, I was happy with that and not having to feel like I missed out on the Axl Rose experience.
Also got one of Slash's plectrums after the gig, which was a brucie bonus.
Still nobody's come close to laying a glove on the Foos yet IMO.
Both my sons were down in london last week for Arctic Monkeys at the Emirates. It was a great experience for my youngest (17) to go to his first ever stadium gig.
My older lad has been to quite a few gigs and festivals now and said they were "okay" but far from the best hes seen live.
Sent from my SM-G986B using Tapatalk
Shout out this morning to Lewis Capaldi. The lad is obviously struggling so well done to him for getting up there yesterday and doing what he loves. That couldn’t have been easy in front of tens of thousands of people!
Seen some amount of rubbish written about Arctic Monkeys this weekend and this is right up there.
He looks like Richard Hammond and talks like Lulu? Nice one, great banter. Ditched his mates? His mates are on stage with him. Including Tom from Milburn who now tours the world with Arctic Monkeys and has writing credits on their albums. Famously ditched his less successful mate Miles Kane aswell.......nope that didn't happen either.
People moaning about the odd track being delivered slightly differently - get a grip.
Absolutely fine if folk don't like a certain band. All the comments about Turner being up his own a*rse and pretentious etc. What a load of nonsense.
What is it with Rick Astley? He was crap then and he's even worse now. Don't get this 80s cheesy thing at all.
Could hardly bear to watch it, torture. Ah well, opinions.
I suppose its one of these Marmite things as I was discussing it with my mates on WhatsApp and we all agreed it was just awful yet the Guardian gave it a 5 star review and it seems to have gone down well on here!
Pretenders with Johnny Marr the highlight by a mile for me.
Viagra Boys were amazing. Crowd were well up for it.
Young Fathers were excellent.
I don't listen to him at all (not really my genre) but we grew up in the same town so I've always 'followed' him to a degree.
Really hope he's getting all of the help and support he needs and deserves away from the spotlight. He's a very refreshing character in the industry with his utterly down to earth approach, and it's a genuine shame to see him struggling.
Christine and. The Queens excellent so sexy
Never seen an adult so defensive about a band. His accent is gone and his interviews have shown he's sailing up his own rear. I've seen them live loads the early gigs were unreal. Some bands can keep that fire but it's hard to sing about being kids when your adult millionaires, that's true for all big bands.
The songs are just completely different and pretty pish a big number agree and many don't. Those that don't are weirdly protective. I like a lot of oasis later stuff most don't and I honestly couldn't care less each to there own.
Also saw James brown when he was 70 and he sung his tunes at 100mph and danced like a radge, superb
Balbardie was the Hotel/Pub with Boozy Suzies to the rear.
I also frequented the Dreadnaught and Manhattans.
I was brought up in Craigshill and remember the last bus from Bathgate going round all the streets in Livingston etc. was carnage some evenings.
I do remember seeing Goodbye Mr McKenzie okay in Bathgate before they made it big.
The War On Drugs were very good, a few epic moments. I hadn't even heard of them till last week.
Candi Station great performance. Started with no one particularly interested and ended up with a field full of fans. Nice one.
Elton is doing just great here, obviously can't do the high notes but he's making vocal adjustments :greengrin
Getting a bit emotional hearing Someone Saved My Life tonight, takes me back to seeing him in the Playhouse in 1976. Hope he doesn't try to jump on to the piano like he did that night!
Didnt realise she was quite that old. Was guessing 70s. Brilliant performace from a true icon. Won the crowd over quite brilliantly from what I would guess was an initial audience who didnt really know who she was or what she had done.
Elton was sensational
A great set from The Silencers tonight at the Lemon Tree in Aberdeen. Jimmie O’Neill was in great form. Played the old hits and a smattering of new stuff which sounds pretty good.
I wouldn't go out my way to listen to his tunes but I grew up with his songs being played on the radio, I thought Elton was sensational last night, as has been said he adjusted his vocals as the high notes are harder nowadays but what a performance.
Have to disagree about Elton, we both burst out laughing when he walked on stage like a constipated Mrs Doubtfire.
Of course the songs are legendary, but i thought he came across as an old Vic Reeves singing as the pub singer from shooting stars.
I saw him twice in my life, once in America, and once at the playhouse, brilliant both times, but last night was not for me. :greengrin
Ha ha, guilty as charged I suppose!
I was out on Friday and saw some of the chat about Arctic Monkeys online. Thought the set must have been a bit of an off day, maybe down to his illness. Then I watched it and just found most of the criticism to be pretty misplaced IMO. Albeit there were big gaps between tracks which didn't help. Not sure what that was all about.
I just don't get the argument about songs not sounding exactly like recorded versions.....surely that is part of the appeal of a live performance. It was also true of virtually any act I watched at Glastonbury this weekend.
A few tracks were slowed slightly but stuff like Dancefloor and Teddy Picker were delivered at 100mph as normal. And the new material, for me Body Paint and it's big jam outro was the absolute highlight of the set.
Each to their own etc :greengrin
I learned how to drink in that place. Many an evening in the front bar playing pool and drinking a few pints with friends from school. Only went to the nightclub a handful of times, but it was a real shame when that old building fell empty and eventually into dereliction.
Sorry, a bit of a derailing of the thread I guess but I have fond memories of that place.
I feared the worst when i saw Elton John hobble out looking like a parody of himself but he was very good. I've seen him a couple of times before and his voice has definitely declined, and the reviews of his current tour are very mixed, but he was on good form last night and has adapted his style to reflect he just can't do what he used to.
Thought Guns n Roses were awful, or rather Axl Rose was awful. The rest of the band were still tight and there seemed to be good chemistry but Axl's voice is just shot. There were a few glimpses of what used to be but for the most part it wasn't good. I do wonder if the TV has done him a bit dirty though as the reviews from critics in attendance were far more positive (or at least some of them were).
I enjoyed the Arctic Monkeys. Nowhere near their best but some of the criticism they are getting is way OTT. I get why Alex Turner might rub people up the wrong way with the American accent and whatever but they still put on a show. Their sound has evolved and when you have almost 2 decades of back catalogue then you are never going to please everyone as we'll all have our favourites. I'm not a fan of bands that point blank refuse to play their biggest hits but you couldn't accuse them off that as plenty of the big hitters got an airing.
I quite enjoyed just flicking through the coverage on and off all weekend. Watching some stuff I usually wouldn't and enjoying the spectacle of it all.
It certainly wasn't an Elton in his prime, but surely, much like GnR, nobody was expecting that?
Glasto isn't my scene at the best of times (it just comes across as a bit too w***y and unaligned to my music tastes), but this year seemed especially poor - with the caveats that 1) of course it's easy to say that as an armchair fan, and b) I wouldn't pay to see any of the advertised acts individually anyway. GnR's somewhat painful headline performance, a divisive Arctic Monkeys set (which I thought was OK but a bit boring in places), the Lana Del Rey debacle, the very sad events around Lewis Capaldi, and a pretty mediocre show from Elton.
I said on Friday few would top the Foo Fighters and I feel that still stands. They were the best act I seen all weekend (opinions may vary, naturally).
It certainly hasn't convinced me I'm missing out on anything by not being in attendance for future Glastonbury's.
Watched Queen's of the Stone Age on the I player, what a brilliant set, absolutely spot on vocals and tight as hell band, 78 minutes of cracking rock.
Saw them headline King Tuts at T in The Park in 2007 and they were unbelievable. The energy in the tent was unreal, I still don't understand anyone who went to see Snow Patrol headline the main stage instead but each to their own.
More generally I think with Glastonbury people have to remember you only see a fraction of the entire set up on TV as they focus on the biggest names on the Pyramid Stage and to a lesser extent the Park and Other Stages. There were over 60 stages at the festival this year and when you include other events over 100 venues with something going on. If you look through the line ups for each stage there is a huge range of genres and generations covered and it would be a miracle if you didn't find something that appealed to you. I used to be a bit sceptical of the whole thing but a few of my mates went about 5 or so years ago and I've been jealous ever since.
Never done a festival, the wife doesn't fancy it although we do go to quite a lot of gigs, generally rock/indie. I'll spend the next few days going through the iplayer watching loads of bands doing their thing, as you say the BBC tend to just show the bigger acts and the Pyramid stage.
It's all gone very royal variety. Pop bands and bands of yesteryear.
If they followed the same formula as now who would they have had in 1971 instead of having Hawkwind, The Grateful Dead, Marc Bolan and David Bowie. Would it be Al Jolson, Bing Crosby and Cab Calloway?
Went to the Arctic Monkeys gig in Glasgow last night and it was superb. Night and day from their Glastonbury performance. Alex turner was really going for it so I’m guessing he may have been holding back slightly at Glastonbury having been ill last week. Genuinely one of the best gigs I’ve been too.
I did think the sound at the AM Glasto set was poor and also thought the same for Guns and Roses which may have also played a part in people not enjoying the performance as much.
Just back from seeing iron maiden, I thought they were excellent. I'm a little disappointed they left out some of their iconic songs though.
Foo Fighters announce 2024 UK Tour.
Pre sale tomorrow with general sale Friday.
Only disappointment is they are playing Hampdump. Was really hoping they’d play Murrayfield!
Hampden on a Monday probably rules me out, sadly. I was really hoping they'd play one of the Summer Sessions at Bellahouston.
Hampden is a hovel of a stadium, fit for neither sport nor music.
We have tickets to see First Aid Kit in Edinburgh this August.
Supposed to be going to see guns n roses tonight, after waiting 3 years the wife has taken not well and we might not be going now, couldn't make it up!
Yeah, although I think that's a good thing sometimes. A band like Iron Maiden with a dozen brilliant albums need to mix it up. Too many hits to just play the hits.
Personally loved it. A really unique setlist. Probably won't play some of those songs ever again when this tour is over.
Managed to see GNR last night, were much better than I thought they would be
Just got tickets for the foo fighters for next year as well, if anyone is needing the code for pre sale just let me know, ticketmaster are a scandal though, £9.95 extra per ticket for absolutely hee haw
Foo Fighters tickets for Hampden also secured. Happy days [emoji3059]
I looked at Foo Fighters tickets and saw that TM are doing their dynamic pricing thing again. I can’t be doing with that, ticket prices are already through the roof without this new model.
Tickets for Those Damn Crows secured yesterday for Glasgow. Cannot recommend them enough.
Anyone waiting on a Taylor Swift code? Think I might go for a long walk with the dog when my daughter gets home so I'm not pestered with "has it arrived yet," every 2 mins.
I've got teenage bottlerocket/raging Nathan's on 31st this month at audio in Glasgow and then Sloppy Seconds the night after at legends.
After that it's amyl & sniffers at end of August and UK subs in September.
My cousin got tickets for Taylor Swift. She had to join some rugby thing to do with Murryfield to get the early access though and its cost her £800 for two tickets 😆.
Yeah my son got the pre sale email too so he was happy last night thankfully.
The other emails are now being sent out on the 14th July.
We could have got ticket through the Murrayfield thing as well but I wouldn’t let him spend £450 on one ticket, horrible mum that I am :greengrin
Mammoth WVH, Motley Crue and Def Leopard tonight in Glasgow. Should be an experience if nothing else.
Ended up at Rod Stewart at the castle tonight. Still a great voice and stage presence for a 78 year old. Quite enjoyed it
Hope the Transmt highlights are a better package than last night.
And Edith saying just now we won't get Sam Fender highlights tonight, but will get them tomorrow night.
Sportscene-like coverage. Ken whit? Just save everyone's time, and whatever pence out the licence fee and not cover it at all.
It’s embarrassing when you compare it to Glastonbury coverage just two weeks ago. When used to be T in the Park, the coverage was excellent. Shows how downhill the festival has gone as well.
Not expecting them to put the same budget into TRNSMT as Glastonbury obviously, but a bit of effort and live broadcast of headliners isn’t too much to ask?!
Taylor Swift pre sale tickets on sale today
It’s very tense in my house 😬
Depeche Mode playing the Hydro on January 31st........Good to get a 'home' gig.