The Office (UK) and The IT Crowd are two that I can watch countless times and still laugh at. Would probably chuck Father Ted and The Inbetweeners in there as well.
I watch Family Guy and American Dad most nights, too.
Printable View
I’ve watched The Office hundreds of times. Absolute genius.
Who killed Malcolm X on Netflix is an interesting watch, many unanswered questions.
Has anyone been following The Young/New Pope?
It's as bizarre as it comes, probably more performance art than drama, and I'm really not sure I know what the story is about, but somehow it's utterly compelling.
Hip hop evolution is a great watch.
Has The Outsider reached the collective hibs.net psyche yet?
It's a wee bitty scary, but again, unmissable.
Started first three episodes last night, really enjoying it so far, hard to tell what is going on but kind of expect that with Stephen King, looking forward to seeing how it plays out, also agree with it being scary, not the usual jump scenes but the whole suspense of it
I've started to watch The Vietnam War documentary on Netflix. I've seen loads of Vietnam films but never realised fully why it happened.
Cracking series. Some of the footage is horrific mind you. Must have been terrifying for all sides.
I think you'll enjoy it.
I've been trying to think of a way to describe it, but I'm struggling to verbalise it.
One moment it's a commentary on the Catholic church, or is it?. The next it's a surreal fantasy. It's amusing, it's enigmatic, it's poignant, and it's hugely stylish and cinematic.
I've just finished episode 8/9 of season 2 and it offered me the option to watch episode 9 immediately. It's time for my bed, but I'm looking forward to seeing the finale so much that I'm still in the living room, considering pressing the green button. :greengrin
I'm actually jealous that you've got it all to come!
Edit: Bed wins. I've got Outsider and the New Pope to look forward to tomorrow.
After enjoying The Stranger I’ve just finished Safe also very good if a little similar both keep you guessing.
Just finished the Aaron Hernandez mini documentary. Thought it was a very interesting watch and just insane how he played a NFL season on the back of the first murder he committed.
Halfway through S1 of Sex Education. Thought it started quite slow but has got better
Watched first episode of the pharmacist last night. Promising so far.
Just finished watching the final episode of The New Pope.
It was brilliant and I loved it, but I really have no idea why.
Sex Education is getting better with every episode
Watched that last week. As you say madness that he commits a double murder then plays a season of NFL like nothing has happened. Interesting watch, and a bit crazy how someone with so much money can throw it all away so stupidly. Can tell his father's death played a major role.
I see season 2 of Narcos Mexico is now out. Enjoyed both Narcos & Narcos Mexico.
Better Call Saul new season out on the 24th as well.
New series of Hospital on BBC. Every single series is just fascinating. For all it's faults the NHS is amazing.
The Passenger on All4, quite good so far, although hitmen with less accuracy than members of The A-Team is a bit hard to accept.
I see the new hearts documentary must be starting on Ch4 this month, Duncanville. :greengrin
https://www.geektown.co.uk/tvairdates/duncanville/
Not sure if previously mentioned but Aquarius on Netflix is pretty good. A spin on the Charles Manson story with a good soundtrack.
Programme called “Amazon: what they know about us” is on BBC 1. Absolutely fascinating, but Jeff Beazos trying to disguise his data mining to take advantage of markets as borderline altruism is a bit of a stretch.
I’ll need to give it a go. I was in Vietnam 5 years ago and found the war stuff fascinating. We visited the tunnels and that was eye opening as to some of the stuff that went on.
We then went to the war museum in Ho Chi Minh but lasted all of 15 minutes as my ex-wife collapsed and banged her head at the sight of the photos showing the torture that went on.
I did both of those two. Interestingly our tour guide for the tunnels was a Vietnamese who had lived through the war from the 'American side' was not a fan of the museum, and I think he referred to it as a "bull****" museum.
There was nothing bull**** about the horrific images though. I'm guessing he didn't like the fact it was all told from one side (anti-american etc) when he had seen it from the other point of view.
Is indeed fascinating stuff and the films/documentaries always appeal to me.
I watched the first episode of Hunters on Prime earlier, not sure where it is going tbh. Seems like a mix of genres for now, will stick with it and see if it is a grower or not. Any other opinions so far?
Just completed Sex Education. Thought it was decent although very predictable. A lot of characters you genuinely like and it does a great job of making you smile. Interesting to see what new characters will be added for season 3 next year.
Going to start Stranger Things next. Heard a lot of good things about it.
Anyone watching The New Pope? It's excellent.
Started the last season of Homeland as well, been a big fan of three series up until this one. Unfortunately, without giving too much away, episode one of the final season is just one big "well that wouldn't happen".
I've watched the first two episodes and thought they've been pretty good, although it's always a slow build with Homeland. Didn't see anything in episode 1 that stretched credibility more than previous series. It was actually the end of the 2nd episode which was approaching unbelievable to me.
Better Call Saul back today with the second episode available tomorrow morning.
Usual season opener, not a classic but setting things in motion for what’s to come.
Ozark is back on 27th march with a 10-episode 3rd season
still to watch the walking dead return last night
I’ve been watching The Stranger on Netflix the past couple of days. It’s really good and the multiple stories unravel very nicely.
I mentioned The New Pope earlier on this thread. I loved it.
It's so surreal, I think I said it was more art than drama, and I still don't know wtf it was about, but it was utterly compelling.
I've started the final season of Homeland. You know there are 8 seasons, Matty?
There's an abundance of foreign hidden gems on All 4.
You could well be right. I like Coben's stuff but there was a French thing called the passenger which was definitely Grangé. In saying that it's not that imaginative a title and may have been changed in translation which often happens.
"Just one look" is pretty good. The guy's sister is played by Julie Gayet, François Hollande's bidie-in.
I've mentioned it before but, if you fancy being freaked out go for Crow's Blood. Japanese programme, crazy stuff!
The Gulf on Alibi has a bit of potential, long episodes though.
Anyone that enjoyed safe and the stranger by Harlan Coben would enjoy 'The five ' I watched it a few years ago but can't remember what channel it was on
Just watched last Monday's ep of TWD on FOX, can it get any slower? Pointless episode.
i just got around to watching last weeks TWD, i just kept fast forwarding, i can't understand producers/directors/writers whoever that think it's pleasant viewing filming in the pitch black 😠 i'l most likely stick with the rest of this season but if they've not killed off that carachter 'Alpha' by the end of this season i'l possibly give the next a miss, just her accent alone turns me off,just the way she talks basically 😁 don't get me started with the idea of negan and her getting it on in the woods 🤢
Has anyone been watching Picard? I’m going to wait until it’s finished so I can binge watch it.
Yeah, I've watched the first five so far. After a good first episode, I've been a bit disappointed since.
I was never a massive fan of the character Picard, but I think the main problem is that none of the new characters have come across as being particularly interesting so far.
Fans of Breaking Bad will be pleased to see 2 DEA agents appear in the latest Better Call Saul episode :greengrin
Been watching The Split, very strong female characters not normally my thing but have enjoyed it.
Really enjoyed it so far, Patrick Stewart is brilliant as expected, Seven of Nine makes an appearance and that particular story is really interesting, wish they'd spent more time on it but maybe a story for another spin off? Looking forward to the rest of the episodes but kinda wished I'd waited to watch it over the course of a couple of days.
Just started season 5 of Better Call Saul. Solid start, looking forward to more.
Season 6 been confirmed as well and it will be the last.
I've been thinking about watching BB again for a while. I might leave it another year or so and go straight into it after the end of Better Call Saul.
The flash forward scene at the start of the 1st episode of the new season was fantastic. It will be interesting to see how that plays out as there was maybe a hint of a sequel type show, special or otherwise, to round everything off. There's been rumours about a Kim Wexler spin off for a while and where she disappears to.
Yeah the weekly episode thing is a bit of a pain.
And as I’ve only seen 5 episodes over a month apart I’m not sure I can get into it the same way I would watching them all over the course of a week or two.
So I think it’s OK and watchable enough but not exactly gripped me as yet and not sure I’d be going out of my way to recommend anyone to watch it...but that’s maybe caveated by the comments above.
Top tip: Anyone using a VPN service, take a look at Netflix India. The selection available is phenomenal.
I regularly flip back to certain scenes in BB just to put things into context. I think we’ll be pretty close to BB time by end of this season of BCS. We know that in Sauls first episode he mentions Nacho and Lalo. Domingo/Crazy 8 was mentioned in BB as being a DEA informant... these pieces are coming together now.
I think the Gene Tankovic stuff will form a bigger chunk of the final season. So far we’ve had 5-10 mins at the start of every season but there’s clearly more story there which is being trailed. Potentially Kim could come back into it in that future period?
I'm no expert on Firestick as I don't own one. I run my VPN over my router meaning that all the wifi devices I use at home appear to be in the country of my choosing. All I have to do is switch between VPN servers on my router and I can be virtually in any country on earth. If the Firestick connects to the internet via wifi then I'd imagine that would work too.
Just finished watching the first series of ‘City On A Hill’, a Boston crime drama. Not sure if it has been posted before, I am watching on catch-up and this thread is far too long to check back :greengrin I say first series because it was all left set up for a second series and I would be astonished if there wasn’t.
Really enjoyed it. The criminal characters have some depth, and on the law side we have the sight of Kevin Bacon obviously enjoying himself playing someone conflicted and dirty - goes against the vast majority of his previous acting roles. He looks like he is loving the role and the moustache :greengrin. I am a big fan of actors playing against their type and I think Bacon does it well.
Great listening to the filthy Boston-accented swearing plus many fabulous eighties tunes as the soundtrack. Best would be the related ‘More Than A Feeling’ by Boston, in one of the early episodes.
Finished Narcos:Mexico last night really enjoyed it, final 2 episodes where brilliant.
Not sure what to start next, westworld season 3 starts next week really looking forward to that
War of the Worlds.
new version on Fox really good first couple of episodes.
Finished the Outsiders and was more than decent
War of the worlds 1 episode in and again no bad
I watched the finale of the Outsider last night. It was tense and gripping, and I really enjoyed the series.
However, I'm annoyed by the ending, but I won't spoil it for you by saying any more.
The Windsors is mostly rubbish but, Beatrice and Eugenie deserve their own show. 😊
Even if it's just for their "posh" accents!
I’m a bit late to the party but just watched White Gold on Netflix from the BBC. Had me laughing out loud quite a few times and defo a good watch [emoji736]
Is it just me that’s finding Sport Relief really pish this year? I don’t watch it religiously but it’s so cringeworthy.
With no football, what an opportunity to catch up with all the stuff I've never got round to watching!
On episode 4 of Succession series 1 which was probably discussed back on page 2 of this thread :greengrin
Kingdom series 2, it's a Korean Zombie show but set in feudal times is now on netflix so that will give me something to do with no fitba
The latest season of Curb has been superb, up there with the early years.