Anyone watching The Boys on Amazon Prime. Super hero stuff with a difference.
Printable View
Anyone watching The Boys on Amazon Prime. Super hero stuff with a difference.
Just finished the latest season of The Expanse, it’s fast becoming the best sci-fi show for a while. I also watched season 7 of the 100 which was also good and an improvement on season 6.
Just watched Catching a Killer : A Diary from the Grave, chilling stuff.
I love programs like this one. If you enjoyed that, if you have access too Freeview play, I’d recommend Secrets of a Psychopath. It was on CBS reality a few weeks ago and I thought it was really interesting. It was a case from Dublin that I’d never heard of despite it being quite recent. It’s in 3 parts, it will likely be shown again on there as they do show repeats a lot, but it’s on Freeview play now.
I’ve finally decided to give Lost a go, better late than never :greengrin
I’ve enjoyed it so far, it’s quite good seeing folk who were in Lost that have gone on to star in things I’ve seen since then. One thing I did notice was that it’s 24 episodes in the first season, I’m not sure if that’s the same for every season, but I can’t think of anything now that would last that long.
I loved the first season of Lost. It doesn’t get much better than that.
I really liked Lost, aye it’s a mind bending mash up of nonsense and the ending is one of the worst things ever but I’ve watched it all twice over it was great, had you and kept you gripped from start to finish each episode
Evangeline Lilly for an added bonus also!
The Outsider on Sky Atlantic starring Jason Bateman ( Director tae ) has me utterly gripped , 2 episodes on catch up well worth a watch
Cobra
Couple in and seems watchable
The Aaron Hernandez documentary on Netflix is very good and a really interesting story
I have watched it all. Enjoyed it well enough but I thought that the characters changed their actions and behaviours so much, that I didn't get the real satire of the story and it maybe ended up being too big a pastiche of modern politics. I would much rather see a Brexit send up right now to be honest.
Loved Lost, but got a bit silly as the series went on. I think I'd enjoy it even more second time round.
Started watching "YOU" on Netflix last month. Enjoyed the first few episodes but struggling to get into season 2.
Gave "the 100" a watch last night but after 2 episodes , it looks garbage.
Talking of watching things again currently going through Band Of Brothers.
Probably best TV ever along with The West Wing.
Watching Derry Girls again, absolutely brilliant.
It's been about 6 months since I last watched Band of Brothers so more than overdue another binge of it. The Pacific wasn't quite as good for me but still brilliant
New mini-series due to come out looks good. There's been talk about it for years but think I seen they're filming now.
BoBs is the greatest piece of tv ever. You cannot compare it to anything else.
I think why it's so great is simply because all of it happened, to a group of guys who all volunteered and went through all that in such a short space of time too.
Add the great cast, filming etc, it's phenomenal.
And while the Pacific is good, it doesn't have that same vibe through it all.
If The Pacific had been released first I think it would be seen in a better light. It's still a fine bit of tv.
Watched the first 2 episodes of Cobra. That was enough. Truly awful telly.
The Outsiders.
It’s getting great reviews and I’m hooked after the first episode.
I’ve been watching Altered Carbon on Netflix, I’m still not sure what I think of it but I’m still watching. Part of me thinks it’s terrible, but mostly I’m liking it, I see there’s another season coming soon so it must have a following.
Chewin’ the fat 😂😂
Aaron Hernandez documentary on Netflix is a very interesting watch. Can't believe its a true story.
Currently watching the Henry Lucas doc the confession killer on Netflix. Good watch so far (on episode 4).
Top gear was very very good last night.
Finished watching The Wire for the first time a week or so ago, that is a really ****ing brilliant series.
It's right up there with The Sopranos and Breaking Bad, for me.
I'm quite enjoying The Fix, Robin Tunney probably helps though.
Bit of a sci-fi/fantasy update:
The Expanse: I think I'm going to give up on this now having watched the first episode of Season 4. I know others really like it, but I've always been a bit unsure about it and certain things have pushed me to actually not really enjoying it anymore...not least Dominique Tipper's new hairdo!
Picard: First episode was better than I expected. Some of the dialogue was pretty cringey, but the story seems promising and the season preview at the end looked like it'll contain some interesting characters and incidents etc. Looking forward to Episode 2.
Lost in Space: I didn't expect to like this, but I ended up binge-watching all 20 episodes. It's family friendly sci-fi and there's something quite old school about it (possibly because of being a remake of a remake), but there was enough suspense and character development to keep it interesting. I'm also a fan of Toby Stephens as an actor.
The Witcher: Only watched the first episode, but not really getting the hype; I've never played the games though. I'll watch the next few episodes to see where it goes.
Safe (by Harlan Coben) on Netflix was good.
Just watched the young offenders on netflix.defo worth a watch.hilarious.
Belsen : Our Story, moving programme. 😢
Suffered the first two episodes of Cobra on Sky One last night...what a load of pap and certainly won’t watch the rest.
Yeah I liked the concept hence why I watched it.
To be honest it was the nonsense around the chief constable that really done it for me...wandered on his own into the detention centre that was about to riot and shrugged his shoulders mumbling something about tough luck and he’ll phone London.
Having them apparently done nothing apart from going back to the hospital he then ends up returning (with just his pal from London) to find the inmates wandering about like zombies, saves the governor who has been randomly stabbed then left alone while not giving a second thought to the rest of the guards.
He then appears to go back to the hospital to say goodbye to his pal while forlornly asking for London not to forget him, apparently totally unconcerned that there is now hundreds of high risk inmates wandering about his patch...he then ends up back at his desk not doing much.
Then we are treated to him getting a radio message to say the Uni halls have been ransacked by those zombie inmates he apparently completely ignored.
There was plenty of other total nonsense in it as well but that story line pushed me right over the edge!
So as I said total pap [emoji2957]
Halfway through ‘The Stranger’ on Netflix.
Strong cast, excellent writing and (for me anyway) perfectly paced with few, if any flaws. A proper twisty-turny thriller offering pure escapism. Best in this genre I’ve seen in a long time.
So watched cobra underwhelmed to say the least.
Watched the witcher impressed hopefully a second season.
Harlots was rather impressive as well.
Stranger things wow where have I been hiding Haha.
Top gear hilarious and Flintoff has some set on him the best presenters in some time hopefully the beeb can keep these guys together for a bit
Certainly not new but been reliving The Mighty Boosh which is on Gold.
Still class.
The Windermere Children (drama) on the iplayer, another very moving programme. There's a documentary too (involving some of the people depicted in the drama), not watched that yet.
What's everyone's "go to" TV?
When there's nothing much on or I need a wee lift I'll always stick on an episode of Black Books or Alan Partridge.
Finished Season 1 of Westworld earlier this evening, excellent stuff!
That was actually the same for me.
Someone I worked with told me to go back and watch it again, I did, and I was hooked.
I remember the first episode I ever watched being the one where Father Jack "died" and I wondered wtf it was all about. It was maybe just a bad episode to watch first.
The Chewin’ the Fat sketch about the bowling club is absolutely brilliant
Frankie Boyle's tour of Scotland was quite enjoyable tonight. I felt it could have done with being a bit longer though.