Scott Allan’s not too bad for someone who didn’t get a look in at his previous club
Printable View
Heckingbottom has confirmed our interest in him so there’s no point talking him down too much but there is a difference between signing someone on loan from Rangers as there is signing someone from Celtic, nothing to do with hating one club more than the other, it’s just that Celtic have been a million times better than Rangers recently.
Other than Kent I don’t think Rangers were particularly strong on the wings last season, think Kent was also injured or suspended quite a lot so I’m a wee bit concerned he never seemed to make much of an impact in first team football.
Time will tell if he signs or not but I’m pretty meh about the prospect of him joining. Will back him and support him if he does join though.
I’m sure there was an interview with a hun coach at the end of last season where he was quite heavily praising Hibs as a club for developing young players. No surprise that we’ve got a player off them going by that, although Greg Docherty would’ve been better.
Ah! Primary School fitba!
The team would be picked oan a Friday usually by the School Janny
12 of ye would proudly get handed the ancient ex rugby tops to wear roond yer necks at 3.00pm
You would turn up at Meggatland the next morning in the freezing cauld at the crack o dawn sporting your new strips and your Winfield Topdog bits
You would take a run at the Mouldmaster fitba - boot it with all your might it would move aboot three feet repeat until you get brought down by a mistimed tackle
Nothing worse than getting hit on the legs full pelt by a Mouldmaster oan a cauld day the only way to explain it would be like getting hit by the lash oan the legs this followed by a sound 0-12 drubbing to bring you back doon to earth
The afternoons usually filled by a trip in a number one bus doon the cobbles of Easter Road followed by a climb up to the top of the old East terracing where the players would run oot in the famous green and white looking like subbuteo players
I digress :greengrin
a concern for me is that Rangers are apparently still looking for wide players but are happy to let him go,
what isn't a concern for me is what club he comes from.
I know little of Middleton but not keen on losing him against any team we see as rivals. Someone mentioned loaning from Celtic and said they're not a rival and Christie at Aberdeen proved that, they were more interested in 2nd spot. Rangers are a decent team but I still feel confident in taking points off them and not so much Celtic.
I would really only loan from same league if there is a decent chance of a permanent deal as well on board. Christie may well have done well at Aberdeen but that experience in helping develop the player means he can now damage them when playing for Celtic.
If there is a possibility of him joining permanent yes, but I'd rather not we developed rival teams players for their benefit in long term.
Do not care where he comes from if he does the job for us then I will fully support him when he plays for us
Some people need to be a bit more realistic.
Do I like the idea of developing players for Rangers? Nah. Do I think he'll be a world beater for us? Not really. But we're now reacting to an injury that will set one of our star players out for the majority of this year. We were never going to be able to sign another star player to replace him, so we need to look at the loan market and it just so happens Rangers have the ideal man for us and we're the ideal club for him. We could try and loan someone from League 1 and 2 with an option to buy but the odds are they won't be of the standard we want. And anyone above that will probably cost money to buy. Apart from Flo and McGeouch how many successful loanees have we ever bought or made permanent following their loan? Anyone that impresses while with us on loan will us cost money.
I think he's a good young laddie trying to make his break in the game and especially at a club in our league so will be keen to show he can do it against the same opposition. I think it's a good deal all round and some people need to realise that this isn't a case of taking Rangers dregs.
I'm already hoping the boy has thick sick, first wayward pass or first bad cross, I can just imagine the stick from the terraces
Most players miss 4 games per season through other things anyway. Rubbish that it's 4 of our bigger games but the only reason folk are complaining is because he's a rangers player and we've competed with them in recent years.
But the reality is they're starting to widen the gap between themselves and the rest of the league again so we need to be realistic.
He's a good player and I'd rather have him for all of the games bar 4 than play some rubbish free agent or youngster that's not ready, just so they can play against everyone.
Those folk bit wanting him cause he’s coming from rangers on loan are as bad as the mutant rangers fans going mad cause he’s coming to Hibs. As has been said on here lots of previous examples of loans from the OF being beneficial to clubs, I’d he does well for Hibs and makes us a better team I couldn’t care who he came from. All this stuff about developing one of their players is an excuse because it’s Rangers imo. We didn’t have a problem with Scotty, Hendo etc and who knows if he does well he loves his time here and he isn’t going to get a look in at rangers in the future who would likely be his first pick of where he wants to go?
Rangers are getting stronger we need to accept that and if players of a good standard come available I’d certianly be hoping we were in the hunt rather than say lose out to Hearts or Aberdeen just because he’s a rangers player.
Who knows the boy might love it here and decide to stay?
Who was the last player Hibs directly bought or loaned from Rangers/Sevco/The team formerly know as Rangers/etc? I genuinely can't remember.
My hero Ally Scott and his wee pal Graham Fyfe 😁