You have just had my two fingers again, ya cheeky get.
Think Warren Beatty, or Jack Nicholson. They're my type of roles.:cool2:
Printable View
I don't believe it for one moment. Delusion I think.
How would a CVA work without a secured creditor?
There is next to nothing there apart from the balance of the Ticketus cash and the real estate. Would the Treasury accept 1 pence in the pound on a £75 million debt?
The club, if it survived would have no ground, or would have to rent Ibrox, and most of its season ticket money would be in hoc to Ticketus for three to four years.
They would have no access to Europe for at least a year. What support would they get if they put out a team they could afford to pay?
The whole thing will not work without a full liquidation to really clear the debts and get rid of the Ticketus obligation.
A couple of points:-
1. it's "only" £15m that HMRC are in for just now. The BTC, not being settled yet, wouldn't form part of the debt.
2. the real estate wouldn't necessarily be relevant, I don't think. The creditors would be entitled to say "we'll take x% of whatever liquid assets you have, and you can stay at Ibrox" just to get something, and to ensure a continuing future relationship. I reckon they'd be daft to do that.... as you say, there would be more for them in a liquidation.
Can't quite make my mind up if he has to be a villain or a victim at the end of the movie. I think a villain but the real bad guys in my movie would be the former club owner wishing to off-load an impossible debt and whoever is eventually exposed as the Mr Kingpin behind the scheme. Any resemblance to any non fictional characters would of course be purely coincidental and in no way intended to reflect real life:hi:.
IMO the decision by the authorities tae allow this game tae go ahead as normal is complete insanity. It`s one thing tae have Killie, ICT et al giving it tae them tight, but Smeltc singing taxman jingles and waving scrawled banners ( most likely mis-spelled ) while doin that nauseating backs tae the pitch pish would be a recipe for utter mayhem. It`ll be chaos.
It should be played behind closed doors although the TV company that runs our game would never allow that.:tsk tsk:
It's this type of thinking that is killing scottish football. They're not special, they don't deserve allowances to be made. Treat it like any other fixture and if they choose to riot then nail the b******s. Pretending they matter more than the rest of us and treating them differently has contributed to the current situation where they think that they are better than the rest.
Finding the complexities of the Hun predicament more amusing by the day. SKY TV will be CREAMING themselves over the thought of an OF match at the mo. Note to UEFA, SFA and Salmon if it goes ahead - think there might be a bit of sectarianism. bigotry at this match :green grin
Either way, if t goes ahead as planned - excellent entertainment for all. If it doesn't go ahead because the Huns have collapse.... that's just as good.
It's true that the debt is currently £15 million. But what would be the point of a CVA now with the Big Tax Case near to a decision and the Wee Tax Case still in the pipeline? The club would emerge from administration to be hit by another £55 million tax bill.
As for letting Rangers keep Ibrox, that would be right! ore likely that Murray Park would be sold to a housebuilder in the hope that planning permission could be extracted and Ibrox would be sold either for development or more likely to rent it back to Rangers.
The mad rush to sell by D&P seems very strange, Who will buy a club with that sort of tax bill on the horizon?
Why not wait until the tax tribunal reports? Obviously the cash will run out prior to that.
I might have missed this....
With Dunfermline getting paid, and punishment if Dundee Utd don't get paid, are Hearts likely to get paid their money?
Hearts are not owed anything until end of season which is next installment of Wallace transfer.
Exactly :agree: Why on Earth would anyone even pay £1 for the Huns at the moment ? Obvious thing is to wait until after the tax case and see what's what. Problem the Admins have is that they've no money left to keep the business going to summer unless players basically agree to play for nothing. Even then, the tax case would kill them off.
Smelling like ... the Admins see this as a gravy train until it final runs off the rails :greengrin
Except you have to consider the poor wives that will get battered when the animals return home. That's what concerns the Police more than the relatively minor violence that tends to happen in and around the match.
That escaped Fat Eck as well when he introduced that ridiculous legislation.
As we head towards page 100, is this where I come clean and tell everyone that I was struck off 20 years ago for raiding a client's account? That I spent 5 years inside, where I met a young man from Motherwell, a man eager to learn all that I had to teach him.
After intensive study, he was ready to go out in the world. I gave him my favourite calculator, and a signed photo of Charles Ponzi, and said "treasure them, young Craig."
That was a long time ago, of course. I often wonder what became of him.
These days, I have to eke out a living as a fluffer for Ron Jeremy.
So as the 100 page approaches the utterly predictable Rangers agenda becomes clearer...............
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...es-shares.html
Ever get the feeling you've been swindled!
Steven Whittaker and Steven Naismith agree Rangers wage cuts
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17308715
Without wanting to interfere with the main point of this thread - ie who plays Craig Whyte in the porn version of the saga - the only reason I can see for HMRC/Treasury to go down the CVA route would be to keep them alive long enough to kill them off with the BTC. If they are liquidated now - there's surely a risk they don't come back in time to pay the £75m. Take £15k now to get £75m later. Or take £15m now and get nothing later.
Incidently, Danny Alexander is a Rangers supporter - but I don't think with the debt he is responsible for (£1 trillion) I think that is £1,000,000,000,000 - he's looking for every 50p down the back of the sofa.
Boggles the mind that Rangers can free themselves from the ticketus deal but that money has been used to pay off their debt. Theft pure and simple.
This saga moves on faster than Concorde and always raises more and more questions. Are all players now agreed to cut pay? Will there still be redundencies Friday? Even with an agreement, how long will those top players remain at a Rangers without a new buyer?
I think how a CVA works normally with HMRC is that they reject it, and then reject a revised one, and then etc etc. That way, the delay you mention would still work.
The problem, as I see it, with "agreeing" one is that the company (with minimal debt) could then be sold on to a new owner before the BTC verdict came in. HMRC would then get stiffed twice.
I have read the article you posted, and am not seeing that Rangers are freeing themselves from the Ticketus deal.
Any purchaser would want guarantees that there is nothing due to Ticketus from ST sales. The admins can't give any such guarantee; they can only give their opinion. The purchaser would also want to get their own legal advice. Again, that could only be an opinion.
Ticketus, of course, will have their own opinion. To paraphrase Super Ally, they won't walk away.
So, there are two scenarios in this:-
1. the Knights ask the admins for the guarantees I mentioned. The admins don't give them that. The Knights walk away.
2. the Knights decide to go ahead anyway. Ticketus lay claim to what they see as their cash. Cue Court battles for the next few years.
There is a potential third scenario, which I mentioned ages ago. The takeover goes ahead, and then nobody buys a ST. That way, Ticketus would be due nothing.... and they might then have a claim against CW. However, such a scenario would require orchestration of the entire RFC support in a way that Ticketus would see as a deliberate (and fraudulent) ploy to wriggle out of their original debt. They would probably still sue RFC.
Turning to the "second contracts", there was an interesting article in the Evening Times last night. Part of it read:-
Tax experts have already said Rangers’ defence will be that EBTs are non-contractual and are discretionary and would therefore not be required to be disclosed to the governing bodies, in the same way that no paperwork from any other bonus payments have to be passed on to Hampden.
Sources close to Sir David Murray claim that he will have his say on Adam’s allegations once Rangers administration process progresses further.
But already the statements have been seriously questioned as EBTs didn’t come into play at Rangers until the year 2000 and their use has never been denied.
Every EBT payment made is documented in the club’s annual figures for each year they ran, signed off by the club’s auditors Grant Thornton.
Albertz and Laurdup have both confirmed to SportTimes they worked with ONE contract, and one contract only, when they played in Scotland.
A few points:-
1. does anyone know if that is true about bonuses, that they don't need to be registered with the SFA? I would have thought that a bonus scheme would form an integral part of a contract.
2. that's bulldust about every payment being documented in the annual accounts. The most we would get would be a total figure.
3. the ET mentions that Mr. Adam is 86. They don't mention Albertz and Laudrup's ages. Smearing the senile auld git?? :rolleyes:
4. it doesn't mention the allegations of the payments coming from the holding company.
I find it truly astonishing and digraceful that with the complete mess and financial ruin Rangers find themselves - they will continue to the end of the season with the second best squad of players in the league. Hunbelievable.:grr:
Mad Vlad yes he probably is. Has he made mistakes. . Yes plenty. . Is he irrational. . Undoubtedly:. . Has he been right about corruption within the establishment and unfair bias towards the old firm well it certainly appears so. As for his media monkeys well the fawning over the poor old Gers by many worried their gravy train has stopped begging us to have sympathy and welcome them back into the fold shows clearly the media have loyalties to the big ugly two. I've yet to speak to a non old firm fan who wants rangers to jump back into SPL yet the media have already started their campaign to try make us believe scottish football needs rangers. Anyway I digress I believe Hearts or more specifically Vlad will be recompensed when. . Hopefuly. . Or if. . Rangers go to the wall by the Spl for the full value of outstanding money when it's due
:wtf:
100 pages about the Hun-dreaded Huns
Talk in the media of player and HMRC deals in the pipeline.....well, well, well.......the Rangers may slither back towards normality unscathed.....hope you all cite Rangers as a stated case when your business struggles to make ends meet regards your tax and PAYE. If this is true re HMRC then they need to ditch Hector's pinstripe and bowler, and just have him with the old tennis ball in the mouth, positioned bent over a table.
It's also misleading in implying that the payments to players are documented. The accounts show payments into the trust. The trust itself is a separate accounting entity and being offshore, the amounts paid to players from the trust can't easily be ascertained.
Good spot.
The more I read the ET article, the more it seemed like a PR piece for Rangers. Wheeling out two ex-heroes , emphasising the age of the bad man who's telling stories, quoting a "tax specialist" ... how come these guys are rarely named?
Talking of specialists, the one who's become a regular talking head up here (you probably don't see him where you are) is Steve Morrow from Stirling University. A football fan, and an academic, but who really knows his stuff when it comes to the business angles on fitba. I have worked with him in the past, and he's a decent guy as well. Always worth listening to.
With Whittaker and Naismith accepting 75% pay cuts, the impression being given on FF is that they have turned the corner and that everything is going to be hunky dory.
The BBC are reporting that an appeal will be made to the SFA to get them into Europe next season. "Rangers' administrator has admitted there was "no realistic prospect" of the club meeting the deadline but hoped to appeal to the Scottish Football Association, which uses Uefa rules to determine whether licences are issued."
I hope that the perceived upturn in their fortunes isn't the start of a universal campaign to get them back on an even keel without the pain and suffering we all think they deserve and assumed was just round the corner.
Interesting that the Administrators seem to think that there is a good chance that the Club can get out of the Ticketus situation. Could this be because CW signed the contract before he owned Rangers and is not therefore legally binding ?
HMRC are willing to accept 10p in the £ (sanctioned at the Treasury level) IF Craig Whyte is given the boot.
According to an article in The Sun this morning.
:agree: That mention of the accounts showing EBT payments looks deliberately misleading to me - particularly if they've been talking to 'tax experts'. Likewise they have 'tax experts' telling us what can and can't be disclosed to the governing bodies - they have no reason to know any more about that than the rest of us.
I'm not promoting anything - merely sharing the story.
I guess 10p in the pound is better than 100% of nothing?
I didn't read the story in the telegraph yesterday, so I don't know - maybe?
That may be the stance they are taking. But, the facts are that RFC have had the money. They are therefore due to pay it back to someone, whether that is Ticketus or CW.
If it's CW, then his security comes back into play. But the smarter journalists are saying that the admins have decided his security is worthless in that he isn't owed a bolt.
An old boss of mine used to talk about "playing French cricket"... in other words, batting away problems in any way you could. I think there's perhaps a lot of this going on just now.
Shirley Bruno's vButtons should read "-£30m+"? :devil:
Mcgregor agrees to 75% cut
This whole saga is so fascinating, and there are so many variables, that one can never say never.
However, it is HMRC's policy (to date) not to agree to CVA's, which is what this "dividend" is about. If they do agree to it, it will represent an enormous shift in their stance, and will have major repercussions, not just for football clubs but all businesses. Basically, it will enable struggling businesses to say "let's go into administration, agree a deal with the taxman, and start again".
I just can't see HMRC doing that for what is a "mere" £15m.
It is now becoming pretty obvious that Rangers fate is now being decided from the highest level possible. I don't believe there will be any liquidation.
Why have HMRC been so quiet over the last near four weeks, while the administrators have (seemingly) stumbled around like a blind man in the dark?
You would have expected some kind of, ' will you just get a move on please, do your job and give us the money. Normal rules obvious don't apply here.
Here is my take on the end game.
1. Rangers FC will take their place in the SPL, perhaps with a ten point penalty for the next two seasons.
2. The Ticketus deal will be declared void.
3. Craig Whyte will be left with nothing. Rangers will still own Ibrox and MP.
4. The big tax case will be withdrawn on a hitherto unseen technicality.
5. The CVA will be agreed in the next few days - early enough for the accounts to be completed and the Huns to play in Europe.
6. Sir David Murray and the double contract fiasco will be found unproven.
7. Rangers will finish second in next seasons SPL - twenty five points ahead of the third placed club.
8. SPL crowds will be down by a further 20% due to the disappearance of sickened fans.
:titanic:
In a slight deviation (way hey), does anyone know anything about the gentleman named as Arsenal's retail director in this piece?
http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-arc...line-boot-room
He was at RFC in a similar role for a few years in the SDM years.
Isn't French Cricket where someone stands on a box with a bat and everyone else is in a circle around the box. it means that fast balls are coming at the batsman from every angle. ( we used to play it in the Scouts )
Seems like an excellent analogy. ( the game, not the Scouts ).
If I'm being honest, i find this whole thing a joke. If this was any other club players would not get the chance to sit down and talk over pay cuts etc.. They would be punted. Look at Motherwell, Dundee and Livvi. Seems the Administrators have bent over backwards for Rangers and i also think they are delaying lot's of issues until a proper buyer is found. I'm sick to death of the old firm and if they come out this and nothing is done about it then Scottish football can GTF.
A real chance to chance the face of Scottish football but as usual I think all the clubs will bottle it. I just wish Rangers would close down now. Then they can apply for the 3rd Division. Anything else is just a shambles. :furious:
There is no need for HMRC to say or do anything. Indeed, they can't actually "do" anything; that's one of the protections that administration provides.
They are sitting on a £15m debt. As each day passes, they are closer to a potential further £49m. Why should they do anything?
That said, some reports have them in talks with D&P. Personally, I hope those reports aren't true.
If rangers come out of this whole thing with very little damage then i reckon a lot of people might just give up on scottish football. They should be made an examlple of or it will give the green light to every other club to rip off the taxman and spend well outwith there limits.
Rangers are still heading for liquidation because no one will buy a club with the level of debt they have and although The Sun is claiming HMRC might do a deal over the "big tax case", there is nothing to confirm this.
I wish you were wrong as well but is clear that they will pay back a relative pittance of the many millions they stole from the taxman. With the possibility of liquidation now out of the equation, their position in the duopoly in the SPL will be consolidated in the near future ( in fact the meeting of the SPL clubs is hardly worth taking place ). Is the party over?
Whittaker, Naismith and McGregor have all agreed to take a 75% wage cut...
Must surely be off their rockers?
:crazy:
I thought that the big tax case was effectively a test case that the HMRC want to win as there is then significant revenue they can go after with English clubs. On that basis I would not have thought they would be in any position to be negotiating a deal on the big taxcase until they have either won or lost?
Correct. It was The Sun wot said it. Ignore it. :greengrin
Taking the "test case" scenario a bit further, I did read that the RFC judgement, when it comes, is not necessarily to be relied on for future cases involving football clubs. That is because it is a "First Tier" Tribunal, and apparently that doesn't have any clout in setting precedents. However, if it goes further up the chain, perhaps through appeal, those Courts higher up will be setting precedent.
That said, the verdict in RFC's case will certainly help to shape HMRC's approach in those other cases.
So taking all this into account Whyte started with a debt at Rangers of £75m give it take.
He creates a Phoenix company (wavetower) to get £24m from Ticketus on basis of future sales to wipe out bank debt.
Rangers Fc no longer owe lloyds, the ticketus deal is with Wavetower and now not valid.
£64m worth of tax due becomes £6.4m.
Rangers sell 40k STs in May, have insignificant debt, start next season in spl with no penalties and become the richest club in Scotland overnight.
Sporting integrity, aye right. I'm out of this nonsense if this comes to pass.
See, that's my big worry.
If HMRC agree to a CVA on the £15m, it means that a buyer can take the club over, through his/her company, with a much-reduced debt. That leaves the BTC in RFC(the old company). Even if that went against RFC, there would be nothing in that company to pay it with.
No liking this idea one bit.
Surely if they get liquidised (http://joecartoon.org/?p=37) then newco will have to pay tax? Either way, whatever company comes out of it will still be raking in enough money for the tax man to be happy.