a big NO for judas collins from me
Printable View
a big NO for judas collins from me
Based on winning a Cup that Rangers and Celtic were already out of? Look at his WHOLE record. Winning a Cup does not make him better than Mowbray or McLeish.
I'd like us to appoint a manager who can get the best out of our (decent) squad rather tham moan and walk out cause he can't buy £2M players like Barry Robson.
Very simplistic as ever.
No doubt that O'Brien was a disaster but 500k to replace how many millions worth of talent that we lost when he (JC) was there?
When we were offered 3 million for Thomson and Brown it was Collins who stood firm and said they were worth far more. We ended up with 6.5 million for them, which was partly down to JC and you reckon 0.5 million was a huge amount?
Our wages to turnover ratio seems to have increased recently and we're currently watching the most dire under-achieving Hibs team for many a year. That's what you call a waste.
It is a simple answer to a simple question? Hughes has had little to spend compared to Collins imho. £500k plus wages is an awful lot for Hibs to spend. I'd imagine if they were successful it would be ok, but god forbid if they were useless. Oh sorry i forgot they were.
You honestly think that bearing in mind the amount of players that were sold in JC's reign, with the transfer fee's they brought in and wages they saved, that JC was given great backing?
I agree that the guys he spent money on were poor as were most of his signings, but the vast majority of them were out of the bargain bucket. I can't understand why that was the case at the time when we're currently able to get guys like Miller and Stokes and as many 1st choice goalies as the manager likes.
Money from the players who were sold largely went into dealing with historic debt. When you look at players from the bargain bucket, remember that Mowbray brought in Murphy, Shiels and Sproule for next to nothing. They did good work for us then were sold on at a profit. Collins's just wasn't good in the transfer market.
How exactly can people slate JC, he won us a cup. Yes thats not what its all about.
But he was a relatively new manager & Tommy Craig was supposed to mentor him and show him the ropes, I presume? Granted his signings weren't great but as far as I remember we weren't in that bad a position when JC was having us play this 'horrible football' etc. although if anyone has the stats I'd lvoe to hear them. JC gets far too much stick on here for what he done IMO.
Collins had some good idea, but it appears that he was a bit of a nutter, if you believe what you hear...and that press conference basically confirmed he wasn't the full shilling. Tommy Craig is simply an erse.
Collins also sold Sproule and although he tried to replace him with 'Ivan Sproule on a motorbike'...it's hard to forgive that unnecessary sale.
So, eh, no thanks to a Collins return.
Well at least our current manager comes across as totally sane and sensible at press conferences, eh?:rolleyes:
Not only is the above patently untrue, it's extremely disrespectful to someone who, whatever you think of his managerial skills, only wanted the best for Hibs.
As has been said before, some of the comments on hear about John Collins are disgraceful. And some of them are coming from the same people who get all holier-than-thou if anything rude is said about the current incumbent.
I'd gladly pay Collins' fare here, after paying Yogi's taxi money.
In a nutshell? In the context of discussing whether JC blew a fortune of Hibs cash?
I think it's accepted that in terms of signing's made JC did a poor job but on the other hand surely nobody could argue that his stubbornness over what Hibs should accept for players being sold pretty much balanced that out certainly in terms of the balance sheet?
It's all very well saying the incoming transfer fee's were used to pay historic debts but, with respect, that simply enforces what a difficult job he had.
Tony Mowbray is always used as an example of a guy who was a master of the bargain bucket deals but I think it was pretty much literally hit and miss with him (unless Konde, Konte, Rudge, Morrow, Simon Brown, Hogg, Zibi, Dalglish etc. were signed by someone else) and who knows how much luck played a part? His transfer dealings at Parkhead do not suggest he was actually a wizard wheeler and dealer. He also had the luxury of bringing new players into an environment where a young talented but maturing squad was already in place.
Does anybody know the value of Zibi Malkowski's lucrative 4 year contract extension (given days after THAT semi?) was? I do hope the transfer fee's of Shiels, Sproule etc covered it!!
So you think that showing your six-pack to the players on day 1, and then conducting a press conference getting answers from a man eating an apple whilst passing off the answers as your own is normal?
Don't get me wrong, I liked Collins in some ways, but some of his apparent behaviour was rather 'eccentric'.
And I certainly did not get holier-than-thou about anything said regarding Hughes. I thought he was a bit of an eejit before he took the Hibs job and it loosk like that's been confirmed now.
good manager, but spoke to some of hi ex players and said he just couldnt control the team.. rather someone non hibs related
IF for some mental reason we bring back another ex-player (and ex-manager anaw!) and IF forced to pick, I'd say Collins philosophy and thinking was the way forward. His implementation of that didn't work...however, he publicly got stabbed in the back by his "team" and still managed to win a cup IN SPITE of all that *****.
And lets no hear pish about how easy that cup win was...lets also remember he had the blessed yamoverload Stewart playing well (Whether you like or dislke the wee sneaky yamishbampot, Stewart played out his skin most of Collins earlier tenure, particularly against Aberdeen in the cup IIRC).
All that said...clean break time. Get a decent, proven manager. Spend some money on a key position as I Say. The manager, followed by keeper, decent midfielder and a solid scoring forward are all positions you must fill properly or regret it forever more.....
Dot know who the right man IS for the job but lets no hear sheite aboot the blessed Tony "Im off and **** you very much for the chance..good luck against hearts in 3 days" Mowbray....if anyone can call Collins a Judas, they can fire the same pelters at St Tony of Mowbray who did NOT win a cup.
MON THE HIBS
Saw JC in the gym again this morning. He was sporting a very recent haircut and doing some of those stomach crunch things. If that's not conclusive proof that he's got an interview for the Hibs job coming up and is already preparing for his introductory meeting with the players, I don't know what is!
Mogga was blessed with an excellent squad and at times had them playing great football .... But no plan B when required, which was proved at West Brom.
Collins:
This is the guy who played Kevin McCann at CH against Aberdeen at Pittodrie against a centre forward who always gave Rob Jones problems in the air.
This is the guy who took the same team who won the league cup to Hampden a few weeks later and couldnt get them to score one goal against Dunfermline, thus losing us the chance to go up against the most rank celtic team in years as was shown in the final.
This is the guy who was so up himself that he couldnt see that the way to prove yourself as a manager is to get a load of average players to over achieve and not to ask the reputedly meanest board in football for squillions to spend and then walk in a huff when they said no.
John Collins ? ..... I would rather have Joan Collins.
Nae offence JC.
:bitchy:
Er... what I said is that the player budget Hughes had to work with was higher than the one Collins had - which obviously makes it easier to attract better players.
There are a few Hughes signings I'm unsure about, and in time we'll see how much the club wasted in paying decent wages for no good reason.
if your going by cups yes, if u go by win percentage and deilivering in the league then no.
collins could have been !! but failed to defeat dunfermline even thou he had to cracks at it. his signing were for the most part horrible and for me the game was far to patient with no direction nor bite.