Yep, phenomenal natural talent but unlikely to have the mental discipline to go much further.
Personally I'd support anyone against Djokovic though. That t**t shouldn't even be allowed in the tournament.
Printable View
Marie Bouzkova is the first player into the women's Quarter finals with a straight sets victory v Caroline Garcia.
Kyrigos is a prick. Nothing less or better. He can have all the ability he likes but he's a total ********.
They should just default him the minute he opens his mouth. If it means every match then screw it. It's not fun to watch. He's a prick.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Great to see the GOAT himself, Roger Federer, present on Centre Court for the centenary celebrations.
Very proud to say that I've seen him play on "his" court.
Another reason to not want Djokovic to win the title is that I really want Federer's 8 titles to stand as a record for a long time and Djokovic is a bit close behind him for my liking on 6 titles.
I often wonder what people's true opinions were of John McEnroe at the time of him playing.
I was only 6 when he retired so I don't remember him at his peak so I wonder if people thought the same of him as they do with Kyrgios.
Obviously nowadays he's thought of as a legend of the sport and a respected commentator but at the time of his tantrums and confrontational behaviour towards the officials did anyone on here who is old enough to remember McEnroe and who also dislikes Kyrgios think that McEnroe was a "prick", a "bully" and "bad for tennis"?
I know McEnroe had the "superbrat" tag from the tabloids but I wonder if there's anyone who dislikes Kyrgios but who actually quite liked McEnroe and, if so, why that is the case? Kyrgios will never win the 7 Grand Slam titles that McEnroe won so perhaps that has something to do with it.
For me, whilst I think Kyrgios is a bit of an arse, undoubtedly takes things too far on a regular basis and actually becomes a bit boring with his tirades, I do find him fascinating to watch as outside of his drama (which I must admit is part of his appeal for me) he is also the ultimate definition of a maverick. He is so talented and has so many unorthodox shots that you never know what is coming next with him.
Outside of the obvious players of Murray, Federer and Nadal, a Nick Kyrgios match is one of the matches I would make a point of watching, for the unpredictability and genius shot making just as much as the inevitable tantrums and ill-discipline he brings to the court.
There's a tantrum and a rant, we've seen plenty and there's being a bully and trying to be aggressive to people. I think kyigos crosses the line repeatedly. He's offensive.
I never saw mcenroe play but I don't think he ever became abusive on a personal level? maybe so in which case it was out of order.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Heather Watson loses in straight sets to Jule Niemeier.
She plays fellow German, Tatjana Maria, in the Quarter finals.
Cam Norrie wins the first set v Tommy Paul.
Alcaraz up against it as he loses the first set 6-1 to Sinner.
Sinner breaks in the first game of the second set.
One way traffic so far.
McEnroe was certainly hated by a big percentage of tennis fans. Only Nastase before him had been anything like as outspoken on court. He was also up against one of the most beloved Wimbledon icons of all time, Bjorn Borg, so most were instinctively against this brattish young Yank who also LOOKED annoying with his tight perm and scowling face.
He deserved most of the flak he took IMHO. However, as he grew up and learned to channel his anger he gained more respect and backed things up by winning multiple slams. Krygios has bags of talent but looks unable to mature in a similar way.
Quite gutted I'll be missing the Kyrgios match tomorrow as he's first up on Centre Court at 1.30pm so I'll be at work which is disappointing!
Nadal is on third on Centre Court so I'll see that hopefully.
Goffin-Tiafoe has gone into a fifth set.
I did think that one had final set potential when I saw the draw.
News interrupts the deciding game of the second Norrie-Paul set so we can hear about the latest Tory sleaze. Joke.
Sinner now two sets up v Alcaraz.
Norrie a break up in the third set now.
David Goffin beats Frances Tiafoe in five sets.
Norrie through in straight sets.
Just in and see Alcaraz is 2 sets down. Surprised tbh. Has Sinner played really well or Alcaraz been off it ?
Alcaraz wins the third set 7-6.
If this goes to 5 sets Djokovic might not get finished tonight.
Agree with that. There was no love lost between McEnroe, Connors, Lendl but it rarely got personal on the court.
There was also no Hawkeye and line calls were the basis of 99% of McEnroe's tantrums back in the day. His lefty service action is a thing of beauty and probably what got me into tennis (plus I had the Mac rage factor minus all the talent)
Sinner breaks in the fourth set.
Jannik Sinner take a bow!
0-40 down to hold serve and go 4-1 up fourth set!
I’m old enough to have seen McEnroe in his prime. I loved the tantrums because believe me the game was so boring back then and he brought it into the limelight ,along with Nastase who was mainly just before my time.
As I remember McEnroe gave plenty abuse to umpires and spectators
Ironically last night I watched the film Borg McEnroe. If factual, he was telling Jimmy Connors to gtf as well so assume he gave grief to his opponents if things were not going to his liking.
I enjoy watching Kyrgios as well, baggage and all.
Can see the similarities
Sinner wins in four sets on his 6th match point.
I'm sure Alcaraz will be back again soon but Sinner was just too good today. His forehand is an absolutely brilliant shot.
Oh well, no escape from Alcaraz after all. 😀
Jamie Murray and Venus Williams out of the Mixed Doubles after an incredible match.
18-16 in the final set tiebreak.
I think he needs to forget about doing so many drop shots.
He reminded me a little bit of Andy Murray in his early days as the drop shot was one of his main tactics but it didn't really work too well.
Sinner seemed to come out on top in most of the rallies where Alcaraz tried a drop shot.
Ons Jabeur wins in straight sets v Elise Mertens and keeps alive her chances of becoming the first ever African female to win a Grand Slam singles title.
I agree, the drop shot he played at 2-5 to make it 15-40 was ridiculous, he had the whole court to pass Sinner. He played it at lot in earlier rounds as well.
He will learn though. I’m not sure if this was his first Wimbledon, or even one of his first grass court events, but his shot making, movement and natural power impressed me
Next year Carlos !
Djokovic wins the first set 6-2.
Van Rijthoven breaks Djokovic to lead 4-3 in the second set.
He's playing some lovely stuff right now and bringing out the very best in Djokovic.
Van Rijthoven wins the second set 6-4.
Game on!
I used to like McEnroe because he could beat Borg, who was becoming a bit monotonous! His outbursts were a bore because they held up the match mainly and also served to disrupt his opponent which wasn't fair.
Kyrgios, on the other hand, comes across as snide sort of type and genuinely nasty.
it's all impressions. We don't really know. He's probably a great guy at home!
Djokovic breaks to lead 2-0 third set in a game when Van Rijthoven apparently had two shots called out which were apparently in but he chose not to challenge either of them.
Djokovic running away with the third set - 4-0.
Edit - 5-0.
Djokovic wins the third set 6-1.
They have 59 minutes left to try and complete the match tonight.
It sounds obvious but Van Rijthoven needs to try and stay in this fourth set as long as possible and obviously try to nick it so that they need to come back tomorrow.
BBC just confirmed that Kyrgios was fined $4,000 for his audible obscenity in last night's match.
Tsitsipas was fined $10,000 for hitting the ball into the crowd.
Djokovic breaks in the first game of the fourth set.
I think they will finish this one tonight.
I prefer Kyrgios’ trolling and sledging, which can be at least amusing sometimes, if cheating, (like you I loved McEnroes antics in the day) , to Haleps ridiculous 3 or 4 second scream which is clearly intended to distract her opponent. So, so annoying and the referees need to intervene at some point. Both cheats play early tomorrow.
Djokovic wins in 4 sets and plays Jannik Sinner in the quarter finals on Tuesday.
Should be a cracker.
Castle tortuous commentary in Kyrgios game. Over and over about Kyrgios incidents and not on the game.
Looks like I missed a cracking day's play.
Kyrgios beat Nakashima in five sets and Cristian Garin pulled off a bit of a shock with a five set win v Alex De Minaur.
Kyrgios will play Garin in the quarter finals.
Taylor Fritz had a more straightforward victory in straight sets v Jason Kubler and he now plays the winner of Rafael Nadal v Botic Van De Zandschulp who play later tonight.
Rafael Nadal is through to the quarter finals to play Taylor Fritz on Wednesday after a straight sets win v Botic Van De Zandschulp.
I got 6 out of the 8 quarter finalists correct but Garin surprised me against De Minaur and I thought Alcaraz would beat Sinner.
The quarter final line up is;
Djokovic v Sinner
Goffin v Norrie
Garin v Kyrgios
Fritz v Nadal
I think the semi finals will be;
Djokovic v Norrie
Kyrgios v Nadal
I think Djokovic v Sinner will be the pick of the bunch and as an outside bet don't be surprised if Fritz takes out Nadal.
Tomorrow Djokovic v Sinner is first up on Centre Court at 1:30pm and Goffin v Norrie is second on Court One so they should start about 3pm.
Once again I'll miss most of tomorrow's play which is a bit rubbish but here's to a good day of tennis.
He’s a pain in the arse. Also thought Sue Barker (who I like) seemed awfy keen on wanting Kyrgios fined for wearing a red hat to walk off 😂.. but castle is on a different scale. Biased and annoying in most of his commentary.
Slightly less rational and one I can’t explain too well but Johanna Konta does my nut in too 😁
How the hell is Norrie not on centre court?
Anyway set 1 to Sinner!
Sinner double break in set 2!
Rafa will be getting his hopes up. :wink:
3rd set Djokovic and a break up in the 4th. Boo!
1 set each in Norrie's match.
Absolutely gutted I missed the Djokovic match, sounded like a classic.
Sinner sounds like he just ran out of steam but is a future Grand Slam winner for me.
Home now for Norrie - Goffin, seems like it's nicely poised!
Norrie in some trouble, Goffin two sets to one up.
No really , Novak was absolute garbage for 2 sets before he started playing , I actually thought he was ill as he was accepting getting beat at one stage , Not the normal smashing his rackets or moaning to his box or screaming at himself , He really did play brutal for 2 sets , Deserved winner in the end
Not everyones cuppa T but i like him and hope he wins the whole shebang , It's Nadal and picking his erse at every serve that does my heid in
Mon Nole !
Novax is the biggest tool in world sport.
I refuse to watch his matches but I see there was a lengthy 'comfort break' when he went two sets down...
Let's just say some remain unconvinced by his 'gluten-free' transformation from brattish also-ran who seemed to get 'injured' if a match wasn't going his way to multiple slam winner.
Apart from his covid behaviour and stance, which I thought was/is particularly poor (albeit there are many like him in all walks of life!).. I don’t really get the hate for him either.
I do understand folk thinking he’s a knob since covid but I never get people trying to play down how brilliant a player he is because they dislike him.
This is it for me , The guy is a sensational Tennis player , Unbelievable on his day , And (IMO) Will still win the most majors in history and overtake Nadal and for me will be the greatest tennis player of all time , All in my humble opinion of course , Queue the Federer fans :greengrin
Norrie breaks to serve for the fourth set.
Two sets all, we're into a decider!
I can appreciate Djokovic is a great player but I just can't take to him either.
I've never really had any feelings either way about him up until this year but couldn't explain why.
Then the 2022 Australian Open happened...
He will never be as universally adored by the tennis public in the same way that Nadal and Federer are and that really bothers him.
Considering his Grand Slam record he should be loved by everyone who loves tennis but he just isn't.
He's undoubtedly still a legend though.
Norrie breaks to serve for the match!
Norrie wins in 5 sets after 3 and a half hours.
Djokovic v Norrie in the semis on Friday.
Well that just completed a wonderful day of sport.
Fritz v Nadal second on Centre Court tomorrow so should be on around 3.30pm and Garin v Kyrgios second on Court One so should be on around 3pm.
Unlike following a football team where ultimately you just want your team to win (though doing so in style is an added bonus) for tennis fans I've always felt it's about more than winning. It's about a certain grace and style of play and the way you carry yourself off court which underpins the greatest champions. Federer and Nadal have both in spades, Djokovic never has.
This was written pre-Australia but it's a decent analysis of why, despite the stats, Djokovic will always be unloved as a player:
https://www.joe.co.uk/sport/everybody-hates-novak-236650
He’s not anti-tennis at all in my opinion, and you’re honestly the only person or poster I’ve ever heard claim this. He just happens to have been the only player to live with Nadal and Federer with any consistency . Plays as many remarkable attacking shots than Murray or any of our other favourites ever did, and I think you’d praise anyone else managing to stay in points/sets/matches like he does when he DOES need to grind it out. He’s a machine.. that doesn’t make him boring.
As for his conduct off the court, I always used to find him absolutely fine. Hasn’t he been called both a joker and a gentleman in his younger days? Enjoyed his impressions of other players 😀
However I do admit to going off him for his pandemic pantomime, I think he was behaving like a tosser and wouldn’t blame anyone for disliking him purely for that carry-on. That doesn’t change the fact that he’s an awesome tennis player who will retire with a claim to being the best ever and whose record should be greatly respected by all tennis fans.
Mon Rafa 😁
Re his style, if you follow tennis regularly you'll know my view is far from unique. The link I posted a couple of posts up sums it up well (while accepting that while not easy on the eye it has yielded plenty success).
And yes, mon Rafa (assuming Norrie doesn't reach the final).
Federers single handed backhand is perfection and, in an age where the vast majority of players use the double handed backhand, set him apart as a step above everyone else in terms of style of play and talent.
Djokovic has been incredibly successful and will probably end his career as the most successful player of all time in terms of grand slams won, tournaments won and prize money won, but IMHO, Federer will always be the better tennis player due to his style of play and the range of shots he can make.
Rafa struggling with injury. He’s digging in for now but difficult to see him lasting long enough to get the 3 sets he needs.
I've rarely watched Kyrgios play as he doesn't often figure in the latter stages of tournaments but having seen a lot of him this Wimbledon I can see why Andy Murray describes him as the most naturally talented player in the game.
Just in, Fritz two sets to one up. Nadal calling the trainer.
Kyrgios through to the semis in straight sets.
6-4 6-3 7-6.
Fritz breaks back - 4-4 fourth set.
Nadal breaks to go 6-5 up and will serve to take us into a decider!
Nadal wins the 4th set 7-5.
Decider it is!
Nadal breaks first in the decider and is serving at 4-3 up.
Fritz breaks straight back.
4-4.
Final set tiebreak.
Nadal wins in 5 sets.
Absolutely phenomenal effort, please take a bow!
Kyrgios v Nadal in the semis.
4/4 semi finalists correct!
Fritz is definitely a future Wimbledon champion though.
I do struggle with the Rafa injuries usually coincide with the other guy leading. The wimbledon crowd also. embarrassing how they favour certain players. Sure Rafa will be at it in semi. Hope Kyrgios horses him.