I've tried putting some historic things up recently, some in response to the 'Day In History' thread but it's not easy. How do other posters manage it? I've tried on PC and Apple device, nothing changes.
Printable View
Upload your pic to https://imgbb.com
When upload complete, choose “BBCode Full Linked” from the drop down Embed Codes and copy and paste the result into your post here.
I use Tapatalk on my android phone and posting photos is really easy. However I've noticed over the last couple of months that some photos don't display on Tapatalk (whatever their size) and I have to open the thread in a browser if I want to see them.
It must be a nightmare for the admins when things that have been fine for years stop working all of a sudden - it's obviously not them that are changing stuff for the sake of it.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...2e9c47a66c.jpg
Done all that, how’s this look?
https://i.ibb.co/nPybrhK/0-C62-A872-...2232-B0-EE.jpg
television emojis
****ing brilliant! Top man JMS.
**** knows how I’ll remember what I did there though.
In the bag. Bigger question is who will finish 4th. Would prefer St Mirren myself
Thought I'd test this as well 😁
https://i.ibb.co/z68K424/08-05-99-SF...-is-congra.jpg
Here’s another just so I know
https://i.ibb.co/BfR3Sk2/3242-FF76-1...8771689-D0.jpg
FFS JMS you’ve made my day.
Bugger it, here’s another
https://i.ibb.co/hdYgvLV/96481-DB6-2...B0-FE251-F.jpg
Great, now can we get rid of that blue privacy button
Killie have lost last 7 in a row !
Aberdeen haven’t won in 6!
Would take a draw or Killie win ideally!
Hibs need to focus on just getting points on the board with wins. Continuing this run before the split would take some pressure off and put us in the driving seat.
When you upload a photo, it's initially in a really tiny preview size. But if you double-click the image before you click the 'Submit Reply' button, there's a kind of pop-up dialogue that appears where you can resize the picture first.
(it should look something like this)
Attachment 24370
That way you don't have to upload it to some external website first...
Despite their lack of goals Aberdeen defence is still fairly reliable. 7 conceded in 7 games isn’t too bad going considering that included trips to Easter Road, Celtic Park and Livingston. I don’t see Killmarnock scoring so 1 goal will kick it for Aberdeen.
https://i.ibb.co/D1tMndQ/AA20-F6-A9-...E1-EF9-C11.png
This is the picture I was initially trying to post.
JMS you’re a genius. I’ve been trying to do that for years.
Flustered Admins, f*** they've figured out how to post pics.
This is like when someone pointed out the
https://i.ibb.co/58Dbp0j/Screenshot-...732-Chrome.jpg
Update on the number of points needed;
Aberdeen: With both teams winning, the number drops by 3 to 21 points needed.
Livingston: With Livi dropping two points today, the number drops by 5 to 16 points needed.
Probably don’t need to really include Livingston in the update as things stand.
Ross has taken some heavy criticism at times this season, but 12 points clear of fifth with 9 games to go is some going.
I wonder if they’ll bring the post split fixtures forward
Our last game pre split against Livvi is on Saturday 20th
The game already pencilled for 3rd v Hamilton was played today
1st spilt fixture as it stands is not due to be played until 17th April, that’s a month gap between games
3rd April is now free, and we also have a Scottish cup semi final date on 10th April
To be honest, I’m not that impressed that he’s clear off fifth given the quality of the rest. I never thought fourth was in danger and we have a strong squad. I do think he deserve credit for having pretty comfortable advantage in third though, I didn’t think that’s be the case a few weeks back.
After that abject LC Semi, would have expected Hibs to struggle, but Ross and the players have managed to regroup and go again. 4 straight wins is excellent form, with a huge prize at the end if they can push on to 3rd place. The way we're going, we're forcing Aberdeen to win every game - love it, given the way they sat in the wings and bought up many of our top targets.
3rd place finish would look good on Jack Ross' CV.
Aberdeen can now take a maximum of 24 points ( - 4 point gap at present ) means 20 points from 9 games takes 3rd for Hibs. That’s before you take into account Aberdeen’s 3 old firm games and any other dropped points :)
I think three more wins will do it for us. If we win three of our remaining nine games Aberdeen need to win five of their remaining eight to overtake us, and three of those eight are against Celtic and Rangers.
Our most winnable games are this side of the split and we're playing ok at the moment so we've a great chance to wrap this up early in the next few weeks if we can maintain our current form.
In the 20 years or so of the current league system I doubt we've ever had top four as good as wrapped up this early. Even in our better seasons we have always had a tendancy to throw away points against teams we should be beating.
We're playing well this season but it's easy to forget that for much of the last 20 years we've been poor, so I think Ross deserves a lot of credit for delivering the relative consistency we have shown in the league this season.
I know how we’ve done historically comes up quite a bit but I think you can only really judge on what we’ve seen this season. I think we’ve got an advantage over most of the league this year with the way we’ve invested in the team in a way that others haven’t or can’t. It’s not that he doesn’t deserve any credit for getting top four secured early doors, I just think it’s the minimum requirement this year. Going on to get third moves it from a decent season to a good season for me. And it also gets him some credit back, from me at least, that he lost with the cup disappointments.
If we win our game in hand it's going to be difficult for Aberdeen. They'll need three more wins than us given our much better goal difference.
How often do we ever hit our minimum target, yet when we do reach our target and at the moment bettering it, we have grudging compliments like yours.
Unless we are struggling big time, so you and others can really go to town on the team, it must be very boring for you supporting Hibs.
Very close to third now. It hasn't been pretty at times but we have done a great job picking up 3 points in the games we should be winning. There are also flashes in games where we move the ball really well which is hopefully a glimpse of where we are headed. Two more wins will be enough for third imo and I think we could get them in the next couple of fixtures
IF we win our game in hand, Aberdeen will likely need to win 3 more games than we do over the 8 remaining games.
Not just, win 3 of the remaining 8, which would prove difficult considering post split fixtures, but win 3 more than us.
The game in hand is massive.
I’ve just said finishing third would be a good season. It’s not a grudging compliment, it’s giving credit where I think it’s due.
Your last sentence is utter nonsense, certainly in terms of my thinking towards supporting Hibs. I have no desire to simply moan about how we’re doing, I’d much rather get some enjoyment out of watching us for the money I spend to do so.
See my post 238, technically we need 21 points.
if Aberdeen win all their games they would be on 72 points, if we get 20 points we would also be on 72 points, so you have to say that for absolutes we need 21 points maximum.
Goal difference not taken into account of course. :wink:
I’d say third is an absolutely magnificent season. The European payoff for Third Place has never been higher in any of our lifetimes and we’ve only finished there once in what, two decades? Third would be absolutely huge and JR would deserve massive credit. All of the bedwetters wanting him gone at Christmas/January hopefully don’t have the gall to show up to our European games.
I still think it would have been a better idea to start with a countdown to fourth place thread.
I hate taking stuff like this for granted.
Difficult to criticize Ross for finishing 3rd as that slot has been few and far between for us. We should be challenging for it (with A’deen and Hearts) every single season. So well done to him. Even with A’deen imploding financially and Hearts relegated, the games don’t win themselves.
But those cup semi defeats -against vastly inferior sides who just wanted it more- will continue to leave a bad taste until he shows he can build a hungry outfit as well as a consistent one.
Like it or not, while the status of the club my be defined by league standing and European fixtures, any glory we are likely to enjoy will come from domestic cup tournaments. Our record here has to improve.
100% agree. Given the prize of European football till Xmas that is now highly likely to come with 3rd makes it huge. In my lifetime (I'm 40) I've never seen a season where we've had more than a few games in Europe, mostly against poor opposition. To get into the group stage of European competition is for me a really exciting prospect. That's purely from a footballing side of things. The financial rewards that come with it will also go a long way to balancing the books after what has been a difficult financial period for all clubs in Scotland.
Yes we've underperformed in a couple of semi finals but I can't remember ever seeing a Hibs team as resilient as this one. Many of the narrow 1-0's and 2-1's would've been draws in previous years.
Jack Ross has done a fantastic job as far as I'm concerned.
Without going over old ground, third place and reaching a semi final would, in virtually every other season i have watched Hibs (Championship seasons aside), have been considered a great season.
Finishing third would obviously be massive.
I know that guarantees (probably, Scottish Cup pending) us group stages of the new Europa Conference League, which is good, but it's one play off win away from Europa League group stages! Which is massive!
Really think we'll finish third, said so a month or so ago too. And being someone who's criticised Ross in the past, he deserves huge credit if we do finish third.
European group stage football, especially the Europa League would benefit the club and Ron's plans to overhaul the commercial side of the club massively. Could be a game changer.
Next weekend is huge. You have to think they won’t get a win at park head so if we manage to beat Motherwell that’s 7 points with a game in hand against the bottom of the league.
Doesn’t matter what Aberdeen do after that, they ain’t catching us if we have a 10 point lead with 7 games to go each.
Third place has become a real possibility as Aberdeen for me have become weaker this season due to the loss of McKenna and Cosgrove in particular. Hibs have been boosted by the signings of Cadden and Irvine and the excellent recent form of McGregor and Boyle. The whole team has been given a boost.
For me, it’s just the disappointment of the missed opportunities in the cup that prevent it from feeling like an excellent season. It probably feels less excellent because I’m not there either, I’m never going to look back or have any real memories of this season.
As I say, if we get third (which I think we will) Ross gets a fair bit of goodwill from me that wasn’t there not so long ago.
If we finish 3rd and had won either of the cups it would have been one of the best seasons in the clubs history and we'd have found it difficult to hold on to the manager. I think we'll be even stronger next season and will be able to dangle the carrot of European football in front of potential signings. We could always still win this season's SC right enough.
Supporting Hibs is finished now, expectations have gone through the roof with nothing to back it up, and remember we were playing diddy league football 5 minutes ago for 3 years.
For most of my time supporting Hibs, any manager not delivering along those lines have found themselves out the door. Don’t think expectations have changed really. Possibly been higher this season due to the positions we’ve found ourselves in.
I think you’re reading what you want to read and ignoring the parts where folk are saying anything positive, so you can have a moan at them for moaning (even when they’re not really moaning).
Could I just check if other people’s understanding is the same as mine?
Just been reading various details about the UEFA Conference League format, and it looks to me that the if we finish 3rd (and just say that the Scottish Cup is not completed or is won by Rangers/Celtic) then this does still not guarantee us a group place in the new UEFA Conference League group stages. This contradicts what a lot of people have been saying that we are guaranteed a place.
From what I have read, we would enter the UEFA Europa League at the 3rd qualifying round, but as far as I can see you then have to negotiate the ‘Play off’ round. And it’s the 10 losers of the Play off round that go straight into the UEFA Conference League, not the losers of the 3rd qualifying round.
Or am I reading this wrong?
I wanted the tea lady out to be honest. Using Spar own brand when the Tetley ran out was disgusting and cowardly. She can't even make a big pot of tea, always bottles it and makes loads of wee pots instead. Aye she successfully made loads of them but is one big pot too much to ask?
Hibs v Juventus under the lights at Easter Road and singing "just a ***** Flo Kamberi" at Ronaldo? I'll have some of that. Can only hope eh.
You are reading it wrong. We would go into the playoff round of the Europa League - if we won the playoff we would get Europa League groups, if we lost the playoff we would get Europa Conference groups. Either way we'd be guaranteed group stage football and a minimum of eight European games (two playoff games plus six group games).
Top three from the Europa League groups and top two from the Europa Conference groups qualify to play knockout European football after Christmas so not beyond possibility that we (or whoever the Scottish team that qualifies is) could get more games beyond the guaranteed eight also.
If the Scottish cup is played and we finish 3rd in league but don't win cup what would our route be to the groups.
If Celtic or Rangers win the cup we would still be guaranteed the groups. If someone else wins the cup and takes the group spot we would have to start from way back in Round 2 of the Europa qualifiers, so little or no chance of much progression from there unfortunately.
St Johnstone went into the semi final off the back of 2 wins in 13 matches against top level opposition.
I wouldn't say they were vastly inferior but it was a dreadful result and (second half) performance.
And I say that as someone who is currently happy with where we are in the league and looking forward to the prospect of group stage European football next season but the two semi final results remain pretty big blots on the copybook for me.
Our confidence was a bit shot back then. You just knew when they scored it was game over. Dominating but not scoring/winning was definitely becoming a psychological thing. Credit to the management team for sorting it out.
Our last two semis with St Johnstone I think we were pretty fortune to win so they were probably due that one. Sore as it was.
Thanks Mayo. On looking at Wikipedia again, it appears that Russia, Scotland and Denmark have got lucky in that this is the first year of the new tournament.
Normally, where we are, we would have gone into the 3rd qualifying round which guarantees nothing, but Scotland and Denmark have got a bit of a break by going straight to the play off round, guaranteeing at least UEFA Conference League group stages.
This is from Wiki;
In the default access list, the title holders of the UEFA Europa Conference League qualify for the group stage. However, since this berth is not used for this season, the following changes to the access list are made:
- The cup winners of association 7 (Russia) enter the group stage instead of the play-off round.
- The cup winners of associations 13 (Denmark) and 14 (Scotland) enter the play-off round instead of the third qualifying round.
Phew :thumbsup:
And we went into it with one win, one draw and 3 defeats in our 5 prior to it. They were also unbeaten in 4 prior to it with a win and 3 draws. My point being that St Johnstone have now gone 11 games only losing to Rangers and Celtic. They’re not some gang that was put together that day. We fell to bits which was unacceptable, however taking our chances we would’ve been out of sight. Saying they are ‘vastly inferior’ to us is just wrong.
Yes, that's right. The other good news is that our country coefficient will be high enough next season that we won't need the favour for the year after, we will be in the top 12 ranked nations so there will be another group spot going for a Scottish team in 2022-23.
I think Sevco winning today means we can't win the league this season. Need to settle for second.
So when do we think about changing the title to ‘Countdown to 2nd place’?