Professor Brian Cox has a new show called Universe that started this week. I enjoyed the first episode.
Printable View
Professor Brian Cox has a new show called Universe that started this week. I enjoyed the first episode.
The priest and the paedophile hunter on SKY Crime, dark stuff.
The Beatles - Get Back
On Disney today looking forward to this.
100 foot wave on Sky Documentaries . The story of big wave surfer Garrett McNamara and his crew's trip to Portugal to ride a 100 foot wave absolutely amazing stuff, these guys are bat-**** crazy
Watched the 1st episode of Bible John on BBC the other night. Loads of footage from the 60’s. There was some extreme poverty in Glasgow around then. Worth watching just for the footage
Watched ep1 of The Man Who Bought Cricket, interesting stuff.
Hitsville. The Making of Motown.
On Sky Arts just now.
24 hours in police custody - cold to the touch, not a pleasant watch.
"Inventor- Out for Blood" about Elizabeth Holmes and the Theranos scandal. On Sky Documentaries.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-58336998
Watched the Tiger King spin-off about Doc Antle. Most of these exotic animal folk in America are absolutely nuts (and not just because of the animals).
Oliver stone documentary on Netflix about death of JFK He is obsessed with the detail and presents s credible case that his Assassination was covered up and documents that should of been released by now are deliberately being kept back
Gets heavy at one point but as I remember it on tv at the time it’s something I have always been interested in
JFK Destiny Betrayed four episodes
Watch The Sound
Mark Ronson. Really good music documentary he’s a likeable guy with an obvious talent for music.
It’s on Apple which I’m enjoying Beastie Boys documentary next I think!
The Falklands War : The Untold Story, very interesting and moving documentary on All4.
Eye popping visuals again on Attenboroughs Dynasties. Elephants last week, Cheetahs tonight. Not deep on the science front, great soap opera though.
Chernobyl : The New Evidence . Two part Documentariy on Channel 4 . The more you here about the disaster the more shocking it becomes.
Falklands War : The Forgotten Battle, interesting story re NP 8901 who were based in Stanley at the time of the Argentinian invasion, shocking the way they were treated by the press on their return to the UK. Available on stv player.
I’m currently watching Phoenix Rising on Now TV. Not sure what channel it was originally on I’m assuming Sky Crime or Sky Documentaries. It’s Evan Rachel Woods story of her abuse at the hands of Marilyn Manson. I was vaguely aware of the story , but I’m actually horrified at what I’m watching. Would recommend watching it, it only has 8 days left.
I think the accounts I read previously had an air of cynicism about them regarding her story, but this has photographic and video evidence it’s shocking.
Tony Hawk - Until The Wheels Fall Off.
Enjoyed this. He’s had a pretty incredible career!
Ken Burns Documenrty 8 parter Mohamed Ali started last night bbc 2 and on i player
Really interesting about civil and racial unrest and his conversion to Islam and how this didn’t go down well with other black boxers
Initially his conversion cost him a small fortune in dpi Sponsorship deals
But he was one confident dude and some boxer
Only watched first part so far
I've not read through the thread so this might have been mentioned already. I thought The Sparks Brothers was a really good watch. I was drawn to it because of the director (Edgar Wright, Cornetto Trilogy, Spaced, Baby Driver etc) not because of any affiliation to Sparks and I was hooked within the first 10 minutes. Well worth a couple of hours of your time and it is now on Netflix.
Just finished season 3 of The Movies that Made us (Netflix). I’ve enjoyed all 3 seasons. Good insights into the making of some great films. Season 3 is heavy on the horror movies of my youth so I maybe a bit biased but there’s plenty to choose from over the 3 seasons.
Murder in the Valleys....4 part crime on the murders of 3 generations of a family in a small Welsh town. Well worth a watch....so many twists and bizarre stuff going on.
Was sky documentary
Anyone seen the saville documentary on Netflix? Just wow.
The murder of Rikki Neave - A mothers story. Can’t believe I hadn’t heard this story, very difficult to watch at times, it’s very conflicting too, it’s hard not to feel sorry for his mum, she was clearly not fit to be looking after kids, but the social work department were no help whatsoever. Bad mum or not, she didn’t deserve what happened to her.
I wasn't going to watch but couldn't sleep so decided to watch as it was promoted on the home screen. Wish I hadn't. How many obvious hints did he drop that nobody took forward. He was beyond evil.
On another note, recommend watching the Panorama programme on the Post Office Scandal. I was moved to tears with the anger I felt for the people wrongly accused.
Watched that Nikki Graham thing last night. Wasn't prepared for the images of her body at the end. What a horrific disease that is, poor girl and family.
Not watched it but, it is a terrible shame. BB was an interesting social experiment at it's outset, once Endemol and fame hungry folk decided there was huge money to be made, the programme transformed into a terrible impression of it's original self. Surprised Endemol got away with some of their conduct to be honest.
Monster in the Shadows on Sky Crime, massively unpleasant series about a girl about to reveal a paedophile ring in her family who was mysteriously killed, not pleasant viewing. Cover ups here, there and everywhere.
Murder in the Alps is quite intriguing with 1 episode to go.
Started watching, 'George Carlin's American Dream', two part documentary about George Carlin. (Available on Sky Documentaries and NOW TV. Interesting and in depth delve into the American comedian's life and work. Well worth a watch.
Free solo on Disney plus , amazing
Alpinist on Netflix
Scouting for Girls on Sky Documentaries, terrible what these young girls had to go through whilst chasing their dreams.
Watched Roadrunner the Anthony Bourdain documentary last night on Netflix. He’s a bit of an idol of mine so I realise I’m heavily biased but it was genuinely an immense 2 hours of viewing.
War & Justice: The case of Marine A on Channel 4, thought provoking stuff.
Woodstock99 on Netflix. Makes Fyre Festival look very lame indeed.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Who Killed The kLF?
Really enjoyed this
Ken & Barbie Killers : The lost murder tapes, not a pleasant watch.
John Wayne Gacy:Devil in Disguise on Sky Showcase, evil mf, people in authority at the time have some serious questions to answer about how much they knew.
Michael Palin: Into Iraq on CH5, he's good at what he does.
Yorkshire Cop: Police, Racism and Me on Channel 4 - Documentary about Bill Thomas, the first Black male police officer in South Yorkshire, What an amazing individual.
I’m enjoying the old man just now on Disney+ think it’s an FX show, it’s slow but it has a decent story and the acting is very good as well.
I also started the Watcher on Netflix the other night with the mrs and il see it through but I’m really starting to hate the Netflix original things they all seem to start well and just descend into absolute muck, had high hopes on this one with being based on true events and a half decent cast but Jesus
Watched the 1st part of the worlds end murders on the BBC IPlayer last night. Looking back at the 1970’s you forgot how basic policing was, loads of cards with details on them, rather than all on the PC now-days. How hard it was back then to catch a killer, no DNA/CCTV etc
2 lovely girls killed for little or no reason
Seeing Edinburgh in the 1970’s was interesting, featured throughput the program. Will watch part 2 tonight
We started watching the Son documentary on Prime. We’ve not finished it but his dad comes across as an abusive welt who probably thinks his sons (no pun intended) made it in football because of the beatings he inflicted upon them rather than in spite of them.
Adam Curtis series on the end of communism in Russia. On iplayer.
Scary stuff and without commentary. Just the tawdry reality of it all.
Louis Theroux: Talking to Anorexia on W Channel, What a horrible disorder for the people suffering and their loved ones to go through.
Watched Hallelujah: Leonard Cohen, A Journey, A Song last night. It was excellent, some great unseen footage a cast straight out of Who's Who and of course brilliant music throughout. I am a Cohen fan, I have been since I was born, his music was the soundtrack to my youth so my view on this film maybe slightly biased but it is worth a watch no matter. Available on Amazon at the moment.
I've been working my way through this and loving it. Didn't know whether to mention it on the TV thread, here or on the Ukraine thread. Really interesting in the way it provides some historical context for what we've arrived at in Ukraine today.
The raw footage without commentary is brilliant, it's really well done.
It's made me feel pretty old. I actually visited Russia in 1993 and watching the 1992-1994 episode, it looked a lot longer ago than it feels inside.
There's obviously been a fair bit of water passed under the bridge for Russia between now and then.
Quite enjoyed Ben Fogle's documentary about Detroit that was on Channel 5 a couple of weeks ago.
Panorama - Mariupol, the people's story was quite a harrowing watch.
Just watched the Pepsi/Harrier Jump Jet documentary. Pretty enjoyable but could have done with being an episode shorter.
Not a story I'd heard before.
Watched Graham Hancock's Ancient Apocalypse series on Netflix the other day, enjoyed it, I've never read any of his books but I've heard a few appearance's on podcasts he's done quite an interesting guy testing theories ruffling a few feathers on the way by the looks of things but enjoyed the series
Fun but absolutely nonsense stuff. Pretty much slating thousands of good archaeologists work for pseudo science. Another one for if Joe rogan approves, it's probably pish
https://mobile.twitter.com/ProfLeeGi...tflix-25534985
@ProfLeeGilmore
#RELS122 There’s a new Netflix series called #AncientApocalypse DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME ON IT. Tell your friends. It repurposes long debunked & racist conspiracy theories. Read this thread by a real archaeologist to understand exactly what is wrong with it.
The Ronaldo doc is fascinating.
For him to have played in the 2002 WC is amazing, but for him to have done so well in it means he's up there with the best players ever. It was extraordinary.
I’m not even close to calling myself educated on the subject I watched it as I found the guy quite interesting, I don’t think it’s so wrong to question things though aye it may be absolute nonsense but if you don’t question things seen as normal we’d all be thinking we’d fall off the planet sailing beyond the horizon still, I knew it was a mistake having Joe Rogan in it, just from his appearance makes anything he’s saying lose substance with people, I don’t particularly mind Joe Rogan either I get why people don’t like him but some stuff he puts out is a decent listen if you’re taking what he’s telling you as gospel u need your head read but it’s just a guy sitting chatting with someone else
Rogan is entertaining and I enjoy listening about subjects he knows about ie mma. The problem is he has no filter who he has on. He says its free speech but when your having vaccine deniers, your culpable to deaths. When he regularly has Alex Jones on your championing an idiot who lies about kids who were murdered.
On the programme. It was Scientists and rigorous study that proved we wouldn't fall of the horizon. There are thousands of Scientists looking to expand our knowledge of history, they aren't covering anything up.
Louis Theroux - Take my baby, a documentary about open child adoption, not normally my sort of thing but I like all Louis Theroux's stuff, quite a moving watch.
Oil city confidential- The Story of Dr Feelgood , on Sky Arts . Fabulous stuff shown last night as a tribute to the late Wilko Johnson
They showed this on BBC 4 after Wilko's terminal cancer diagnosis, so not long after the film was made. Absolutely brilliant piece of film making, amazing footage and a dream cast. It was good to watch it again last night. You got a real sense of the energy Dr Feelgood brought to the stage and the total bleakness of Canvey Island :greengrin
Predators on Sky Nature narrated by Tom Hardy, superb! 👏
Chris Kamara - Lost for Words. ITV. About him learning to live with and come to terms with his diagnosis of Apraxsia of Speech.
Don't know if these already mentioned , I watched both FIFA UNCOVERED and Pele documentaries last night and found them good .
Watched the docs on the napal earthquake, New Zealand volcano and Bernie madoff on Netflix last wee while all pretty decent madoff the usual drawn out type probably could have got a better doc with a 90min film
If These Walls Could Sing on Disney.
Obviously Beatles heavy but an excellent watch.
Serengeti season 3, outstanding.
The hunt for The Zodiac Killer on All4, really interesting stuff.
Getting away with murder(s), 2 part documentary on All4 investigating why so few of the perpetrators of The Holocaust were ever prosecuted and the pitiful sentences meted out to those found guilty. A very moving watch.