👍
We have a 3 option switch. Even more satisfying. But still get it wrong after 25 years.
Printable View
The sunset tonight
Red wine.
A slightly controversial entry...
Dr Pepper.
Very much in the so bad it's good category. I was out one night and came home to find this on, I ended up hooked.
I love how the panel all guess some big A listers and so far it's been a Alan Johnson was home secretary a decade ago, Justin Hawkins from The Darkness when they guessed Idris Elba and Teddy Sheringham when one of them guessed David Beckham. I think they need to reign in their expectations a bit😂
Being one day behind in your mental calendar and realising it's actually Thursday rather than Wednesday. Not so good when it's the other way round.
Walking out the gym after a hard session. And seeing people walking in not started yet
The smell of my 1st cup of coffee in the morning
When you order a pint of Guinness at the bar, the barman knocks out another round with another punter then remembers to top your pint up at the perfect time.
Having a long word to type that you're not quite sure how to spell, giving it a go with some keyboard bashing in the right general direction of the letters you want and seeing the Microsoft autocorrect magically transform your ramblings into the intended word.
Mixing two different flavours of crisps into the one bag
Now that the weather's improving, having the window open when having and coming out the shower.
For years I had an internal bathroom and everything was too steamy. Now I have a wee velux which is plenty to provide a refreshing draft.
Spring watch on BBC2. The best most relaxing hour of the day at the moment
Eating the fresh pork crackling hot out the oven.
Sticking a headcam on my 5 year old granddaughter's head and watching the playback from her perspective. Adults are huge!
Absolutely, it's brilliant viewing and as you say, so relaxing. Never really watched it much until this series and really appreciate it now.
I'm not sure if this is a "little thing" but rediscovering music you haven't listened to for years. I'm on REM just now and I can't believe how good Green, Document and Automatic For the People still sound.
Correcting spelling and grammar errors by EDL types on social media.
I think that’s a thread in its own right, not the big massive sellers but the ones that you listened to, that still hold strong. Document is a good example, for me Life’s Rich Pageant is the one I rarely revisit but love when I do.
That and the first side of Steve McQueen by Prefab Sprout. For younger viewers this harks back to the day when songs were contained on albums made from vinyl and half the songs were on one side, half the songs on the other :greengrin
My mate just doesn't understand why I don't like Prefab Sprout. Made a proper attempt at Steve McQueen a few weeks back but nah, just don't get it!
I'm on Life's Rich Pageant just now, I like it but not as much as the others I mentioned. I have to say Out Of Time was the one that sounded dated (or maybe wasn't that good in the first place) but the much maligned Monster was a pleasant (?!) surprise. New thread....yeah good idea!
Coming onto the forum and seeing new posts in the Pet Peeves and Driving Pet Peeves threads :greengrin
Grapefruit juice (not the 'from concentrate' pish).
Ice cold glass of milk.
Getting out for a run at around 5.45am when it's pretty much desserted (even better if it's in a trail in nature). It's a nice feeling having done your run and been back home before the majority of the population are even awake.
Classic FM in the car. Not really a huge classical music fan but it is very relaxing while driving to and from work. Only recently tuned into it out of curiosity but it's really quite giid
Getting a call through at work from a fellow Hibby at work, makes a nice change from the usual moaning folk I usually get.
Cycling around the city centre yesterday morning at 7am like having it all to myself!
Getting an unexpected video call from my wee girl to wish me a happy Father's Day.
Johnsons baby powder.
Has anyone mentioned Leslie Deans yet?
After Union beat Düsseldorf yesterday and in doing so handed Werder Bremen a lifeline to staying in the Bundesliga 1, Bremen fans have been ordering beer and sending it to Union's stadium. As of midday today there were 1678 crates of Becks being delivered to the Alten Försterei. I think there may be a fan friendship there in the making.
When I’m out on my Vespa and the general etiquette of a nod when passing someone else on a scooter or motorbike. Those on a motorbike seem to do it more than fellow scooter riders which surprised me as thought they might be a bit snobbish when it comes to vehicles.
Whenever I have a motorbike that catches me up I'll hug the side of the road to make it easier/safer for them to overtake me. I don't know if it's done in the UK, but here the biker will "wave" (kick out) his right leg by way of acknowledgement once he's overtaken you.
I love that sort of etiquette.
I'm a waver. Wave to anyone on two wheels and also to anyone who kindly moves over to let me pass. I did notice that in France it is a leg wave from bikers
That’s a French thing, the waving legs.
Back in the 80s and 90s when I took my bike to France for my summer hols, us Motards used to make a left handed V sign, sideways off the handlebars. Much easier when you drive on the wrong side of the road. Over here you’d be taking your hand off the throttle. Not smart .
Getting on the bowling green at least three times a week.
Opening a packet of crisps and finding that they have been over seasoned/flavoured and are twice as strong as they should be. It doesn’t happen often but when it does oh yum.
Good news story https://www.metro.news/app/2094199
Walked over the Forth Road Bridge yesterday with the wife and my youngest daughter. Brilliant.
The feeling of a wee baby, especially one's own, falling asleep on your chest. Unparalleled IMO.
Returning to a restaurant I used to visit regularly 36 years ago to find that the owner is still alive and well and his restaurant has flourished into a successful family business. My favourite dish wasn't on the menu anymore but Davide a now sprightly 86 year old still banged it together for me.
A perfect roast potato. Crunchy outside, maybe a little oily (past caring that it's no good for me). Mmmm.
A win for the Hibs come 5pm on a Saturday! A delightful feeling
Preparing to set up and sell at the farmers markets and the like that have returned. Get a real buzz from waking up early and getting ready to meet lots of new people and talk about something I care about and forget the last few months for a few hours.
Cooking on a Sunday.
During the week eating is quite often a bit of a rush job for us. We eat well but it's often throwing together a pasta dish, a stir fry or boiling some veg and chucking something in the oven after work.
On a Sunday I can take my time and cook something from scratch. Just stuck a piece of brisket in the oven that has been dry rubbed and is sitting in a cooking liquor made from scratch. The bairn is pottering about helping mix spices and handing me things when I ask for them. Will leave that for a few hours then we'll make the sides together.
It's relaxing and it always leaves me feeling content.
Tomato crisps on well fired rolls.
I work for a distillery - my role has changed quite a bit recently but things like farmers markets bring things closer to normality. I get a real joy from the old fashioned nature of filling a van, driving it to where it needs to be and hoping you’ve got a lot less to load on at the end. I do what I do as I’m passionate about Scottish distilling and although I don’t distill myself to be able to speak to others about it is a joy.
We’ve even started doing virtual corporate tastings over Zoom which is something else that’s been putting the spring back in my step.
Weirdly what’s been a pleasure recently is my partners PT challenged her to go vegan for a week and it’s been great to have to come up with new recipe ideas. I love good food and to almost relearn how to cook without meat as a protein was great. We’re probably only eating meet two or three meals a week since and the meat dishes feel earned and the non meat meals still have some novelty to them.
Filling the fuel tank to the brim and then washing or having the car washed and hoovered inside, always makes me feel good. I hate the fuel going below half a tank and only ever do so if on a long motorway journey😁
:smokin
The weirdest thing about them is everyone likes to throw in a little joke or one liner in a tasting, but because of zoom connections it takes a second or two to get a response to them. When you’re in your rhythm it feels normal but that seconds pause it completely breaks it. Very weird to transition to presenting normal tastings to a zoom one, but still a lot of fun.
Popping the bubbles on bubble wrap...no idea why it is so satisfying , but it is .....
Closing time at 10pm. It's like the good old days.
Pickled onion vinegar on chips
A packet of Percy Pigs and the living room to myself.
A bag of liquorice allsorts
Everyone in and the door locked.
New sheets and new duvet cover on the bed waiting for me after a long hot bath.....
Sky News weather girl just gave a yellow rain warning. Made me s******.
Got some nice cheese, some chilli jam, some sea salt crackers and a G&T. Quiet night in.