Doubt it.
Printable View
Doubt it.
Aged 57, he would fall into the "mature manager" category and did a decent job in keeping Crystal Palace in the Championship despite the severe financial problems they had.
Could be an English equivalent of Craig Brown when it comes to managing meagre resources.
I have to laugh at the delusional beliefs of some on here regarding the Manager's job at Hibs being a sought after job outside Scotland.
The SPL in European terms is a diddy league and the likely salary being offered will at best be viewed as modest, and that being the case, beggars can't be choosers :duck:
just passing on the information.
the call i got was willie mcstay with an assistant from ipswich who is hibs daft. looking at the ipswich website it would seem it is ian mcparland.
Its been what 4 days since Hughes left and they have appointed a manager and a coach. If your right mate then well done but I personally think it maybe someone else. :wink:
I wouldnt be so sure about that. I cant wait to see who the new gaffer will be!!
Gotta love Alex Smith's cockeyed 'through managers association tinted glasses' view.
"They earned the chance to move to a bigger club and at Hibs last season achieved a two-place improvement in the SPL and secured European football.
"Months later things take a wee downer, which happens in football, but I felt they should have been given time to come out of that.
"But it's an absolute tendency in the modern game to get rid of managers quickly."
Months later a wee downer? Naw Alex, the 4th place was achieved during an abysmal run lasting 8 months, when we were playing *****, and our 'promising management team' did bugger all to change or arrest the slide.
Not my first choice but wouldn't be too unhappy about this TBH. Reasonably successful and experienced manager with an OF mentality. Have heard nothing but good things about McParland - Hibs manager in waiting perhaps - for when the smellies come calling.
Can't see it myself.
I would expect a better, and it's to early in MHO. Any way who is Willie Mcstay?
he kinds of looks a cross between craig bellamy and rob jones, never looks 47 tho!
anyway, na this guys not really what i had in mind - no real pedigree but maybe we could get him as a coach. hes probs just using this to get himself in the public eye imo.
p.s. do you think he wrote that wiki page himself?
Saw him coaching the celtc reserves against us a few seasons ago and took an instant dislike to him. I didn't like the way he set his team up or the way he treated the players and officials, I thought he came across as a total p**** TBH.
Of course that could be just the team he was with that made me think like that. It doesn't take much to get me annoyed at anyone involved with rantic :greengrin.
Doesn't fill me with joy at first glance but I realise that its for the pettiest of reasons. If he does become Hibs manager I'll revise my opinions immediately - I AM that fickle - and the above complaints will become evidence of his winning attitude.
Heard fantastic things about his coaching ability from a few people now, really highly rated. Guy in my work knows him too, thinks he'd be a success for whoever gives him a chance.
Wouldn't be adverse to the idea if true :agree:
Not doubting this pair could be at Hibs, but our board do not move that swiftly and neither should they. The board will allow all the interested parties to apply before making any decisions. Who knows exactly who might fancy taking on the Hibs job. If there are two things you can say about the board, it is that they have loads of experience of going through this process (successfully or otherwise) and secondly that they have very rarely made a quick apponitment, in fact the only one I can think of was Franck.
Just listened to JC on Radio 5 live talking about the weekends international games. Legend and would be delighted if he came back but can't see it. It would be convenient for him though so here's hoping.
Johnny Collins was right!.. Michael Stewart is ***** :thumbsup:
Hopefully there won`t be a quick appointment and literally hundreds of managers will be being considered but Petrie will presumably have been looking since about March and especially in last 2 months not just in last week . Just hope he didn`t have some informal agreement with Calderwood to take over .
petrie is under immense pressure to get this right and will certainly be taking his time to pick the right candidate.......there are a few big names being mentioned already and this for me has to be one of the most exciting manager hunt i seen
This is total bull. Why would we give somebody like Willie McStay the job when there are good, proven managers out there? We need a good manager, not some "highly rated" coach. Being a good coach is a fraction of the many qualities a good manager needs.
And why the constant links to Celtiic-associated folk every time we have a vacancy? It's bad enough employing useless ex-Hibbies.
Sorry admins Its MACDONALD not MCDONALD am a tube :thumbsup:
another one the sun have ran a story on ...
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scot...Hibs-boss.html
don't know whats you all think of this guy.
didn't really do a bad job at villa. apart from being trounced at newcastle
:pray:
Is there anyone in the UK no applying for the job..deary deary me..worse than a bairns Christmas list
Well, we can go round and round on that one..but anyone that says Hibs are no a draw to an out of work manager, or even one that's working, ...well, they must be a yam. No matter what way anyone looks at the situation, Hibs are the most attractive club to be working for, outwith the uglies..end of:agree:
not with a club at the moment so no compensation needs paying...took a team into the premiership...doesn`t suffer fools gladly and is known for having a ruthless streak when needed...no ex hibs or O/F connection...must have plenty contacts down south...might just be the breath of fresh air we need...would he come?...would we welcome him?
comments please
p.s. this is my first post so go easy on me.
hopefully it won`t be my last.
Think he would want for too much money and wouldnt be interested tbh
More fish in the sea than Jewell:taxi --------------------->
I'd have this boy in a minute. Lots of experience, and most of it at the top level of Football. Nae messing wi him guys/gals.
Update on Paul Hart in the Daily Record, backed by ex Falkirk goalie Scott Flinders who said despite being sacked by Barnsley for failing to lead a promotion charge from League One, the 57-year-old can be a success at Hibs according to Flinders.
He said: "As soon as he walked through the door at Barnsley he got the utmost respect of all the players.
"He's a really strict manager but a nice guy as well. He had an unlucky time at Barnsley but I really rate him."
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/footbal...6908-22617901/
No management experience always been a stop gap or reserve coach. Would be a risk
Ex Wales, Sunderland and Hull City respectively now all linked with the job.
How many manager vacancies have we got?
Have these names been mentioned in this mornings papers or are they just linked by people on here?
Depends who has been linking them?
A manager can get linked by the media but these days anyone can post on a fans site "linking" anyone they want with a job.
I'm not saying these names haven't been linked but I haven't seen or heard their names reported in the media.
I'm salivating, in a heartbeat, wages would be the problem, please please please, get it sorted Petrie, not Hibs class etc.
I don't know how true it is, but if it is i'm quite happy at the quality of people who are apparently interested. Hart/Clarke/MacDonald. These are football folk way above the standard we normally seem to attract, and I'd be happy with any of them.
He actually took two teams in to the Premiership (Bradford and Wigan) but would want far too much money, knowing what he was on at Wigan.
They are good candidates in my opinion to be associated with Hibs - if it is true.
I know we speak of "wages being a problem" but I often wonder if wages are an issue with managers of the calibre that have been bandied about recently!
I'm most sure that football managers don't like to be idle.
They are junkies to the adrenalin of competition, half time, winning, bouncing back after a defeat and being seen to show how good they can be when up against it!
Who knows - we may get lucky!
Sbragia would be amazing.
Think Willie McStay and Ian McParland were team mates at Notts County for a couple of years in the late eighties.
There has been some media talk about this. Mc Stay has managed at Sligo Rovers (where he won domestic honours) and Ujpest Doza (Hungary). He has spent 15 years in between coaching Celtic reserves and youth teams. McParland has extensive coaching experience (Notts Forest, Ipswich) and managed Notts County for two years.
Not sure as to the link between the two?
Both McParland and Mcstay are friends. I do know they have both applied separately for the job.
Time will tell and may be wrong, just passing on information.
For what its worth i would prefer Steve Clarke.
Williamson brought through Riordan,Brown,Thompson,O`Conner and Whittaker. If bringing on young players is the only criteria for the job, maybe we should ask him to give up on Uganda and come back.....!!!! :rolleyes: Paul Harts managerial record in England is abysmal and that should be the only consideration.
as the thread states guys mo johnstone as new hibs manager how would u feel?
Has plenty of contacts in america and is looking for a job
I'm sure we're the only team he's wanted to manage, Mrs Johnston.
He used to spend a lot of time in Edinburgh when at Rangers, as he was not welcome in Glasgow.
Also was an ex Hearts player.
I'd say there are 2 chances none & no effin. :greengrin
Saw the thread title and the opportunity to post these exact words.
If yer no fast yer last and aw that ! :grr:
He'd maybe not be too bad a shout, he's done well over in the states. But I think he'd be mental to uproot and come back home for our job.
mo johnstone
Not had time to read through the whole of this thread, but just in case, the Evening News today is giving Kevin McDonald a mention as a possible choice.
QUOTE=ekhibee;2601392]My thoughts too, still he'd be quite a good choice if it were to happen. He seems to focus on young upcoming players. But as you say, money would be a big problem in this case.[/QUOTE]
:agree: MacDonald for me, good record with youth; good knowledge of up and coming players from premiership- dont know if compensation would come into it though- will he not be an employee of club(salaried) and not on a contract like main managers?
No way to Mo Johnstone. He is gash as a Manager and evaluator of talent. He was in charge of Toronto FC for 3 seasons and our support is the best in the MLS but the team is rubbish.
Still think that Stevie Nicol would be a good shout...
Don't know why, it just seems that any random manager seems to be getting touted.
I've got a wee sneaky feeling that Billy Reid is one of the front runners and he could well end up as our new Ayatollah.
The boy who was number 2 to Martin O'Neill (I think), surprised his interest has not been noted. No source or anything but I have a sneaky feeling he could be in with a very good shout.:agree:
How much influence does the manager even have over the Youth Teams? As far as I can tell only once they graduate from the under 19s.
So I don't think all the credit for Deeks, Brown, O'Connor and the rest should be laid solely at any managers door, there's the managers that gave them their debut's sure, but it's the coaches that worked with them for years prior to that that deserve the majority of that credit if you ask me.
Not a rumour, but what about Paul Dickov? He has the lowest budget in the 1st division and has brought up Oldham to 5th. I've no bias but he learnt his football off my gable end.:thumbsup:
If he DID get the job, I would remind him off what he called me every time I complained and would expect compo tickets every game. Yes Paul Dickov for the job and I'll change my user name to what he used to called me .... Mrs Mangell