Apologies. Mis read your post.
I agree entirely with you. Now where's that embarrassed as hell smiley
Printable View
Not according to Wikipedia.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17047957
So if Rangers or Celtic had happened to of been relegated the deal would not stand either?
I wish they'd stop with the TV deal stuff - we hardly get any of it anyway and if we all miss out then so what, a levelling out at a natural level for everyone would be not a bad thing.
We might even reclaim some armchar fans and be allowed games on a saturday at 3pm once in a while!
The "no TV deal" chat misses the point that the TV deal (including daft kick off times) depresses the attendance, particularly for what were traditionally Hibs' biggest games (Rantic and Hertz). The attendance for those three games (all televised) this season were circa 11K (Huns), 12K (Celtic) and 15K (Hertz). Even with Hibs playing crap I bet each of those attendances would have been 2-3K higher without TV. That's another 100-150K of revenue.
Hibs have previously argued for the removal of live TV coverage, when the BBC had the rights 8-9 years ago. The current deal just about makes sense but it wouldn't be catastrophic to lose it.
If the losing the TV deal is all there is tae worry about for making the huns pay the price for their years of over spending and cheating then Sky can stick their TV deal where the sun disnae shine :bye: and we can get back tae 3pm Saturday KO's
I think this is the SPL TV deal that was mooted previously and not the existing Sky deal.
For the record i am horrified at the scare mongering approach we seem to be getting from the media so far. I would quite like (maybe i have missed it somewhere) if one of them came out and said what a lot of non-Rangers fans are thinking which is....Stuff them, they cheated and now they can fall on their own sword.
Agreed, but this is the problem.
All the "blazers" in the SPL, SFA etc..... need SKY / ESPN to keep funding their existence, that is why Doncaster and crew will do everything to keep the Huns is business.
Here's hoping HMRC stick to their guns, and really shaft these cheats FFS, would we get away with this ?
The biggest joke for me is they also rattle out "God save the Queen" etc, but they are refusing to pay her revenue people !
I hope they get well turned over.
Typical media and political spin. Rangers are not 'key to the deal'. A contract for TV rights to the SPL is exactly that....for the SPL, which are 12 teams not just one or two.
Clearly Rangers would attract viewers and sponsorship/advertising, but that's the chance you take when you sign a contract at the end of the day. Indeed, if they were liquidated and say for example demoted to the first division, then surely that would give the SPL a great opportunity to get their SPL2 off the ground with the vital ingredient of Rangers and their 'march back to where they belong' type crusade (and give clubs like Falkirk, Partick, Dundee some much needed exposure and cash).
The media 'save our Rangers' campaign started at 3pm yesterday IMHO. Strange that not one journalist, despite the outrage they had for Sir Fred Goodwin, the scandal that was 'bankers bonuses', the severe cutbacks to public services and job losses that effect all of the UK due to chronic mismanagement both political and private, has not taken it upon themselves to stand from the rooftop and shout aloud that over £70 million of syphoned off cash could have built 5 football/sports academies, built a new hospital wing or a few of schools, or saved countless jobs in both the public and private sector.
Rangers have IMHO committed 'legalised' fraud against the state and I loathe any politicain, such as Curran or Robison, getting involved and offering advice or 'support' to their plight.......they should be putting their weight behind efforts to recoup the lost tax AND then start to offer support to get Rangers acting responsibly once it is paid back to the public purse. How much has Rangers for example cost the everyday tax payer with their decades of bigotry, hatred, violence, rioting, death and domestic abuse. Charlatans the lot of them.
And so much for people monitoring and overseeing their forums. I don't normally venture onto other teams forums however I have done this last few days. On RangersMedia there have been posts hoping that David Murray gets cancer, posts that allude to nail bombs being sent to Parkhead, threads that want to reintroduction of singing sectarian songs and the 'Billy Boys', and constant references to catholics and child abuse.........in one today, about an article stating they pretty much have themselves to blame, the opening posts were 'bet it was written by a pape'. Is it any wonder that the nation is in the state it's in eh.
For me, the OF are two cheeks on the same arse. Both are Scotland's Shame.
Administrators on SSN saying that "Rangers will continue as a football club".
Question is this old Rangers1873 or new co Rangers2012
If Scottish football still has genuine ambitions to compete at European level then Hibs and every other club needs Sky/ESPN money. That's indisputable. Now many will argue we would have a more competitive league without the TV money. That's fine if we are all willing to accept even lower standards than we currently endure. Are we really at that stage?
Can't agree about a few things here.
1. forget about the £75m that Whyte is talking about. Bullwhyte. The tax is half of that.
2. the media ARE talking critically about things. The Herald for one. Channel 4 News last night. Jim Traynor on Newsnight last night for another; much as I don't normally care for him, he was asking the important questions. Like... where has the Ticketus money gone? Where has the Jelavic money gone?
The media are not as they once were. They know that people no longer have blind faith in what they spit out. Yes, they know that RFC and CFC supporters are in the majority. But they also read fora like this.. they know the mood of the non-OF supporter. The responsible media will reflect that.
***** them. Perfect operchancity for them to start as a brand new club in Englandshire as they have always wanted to move there as Scottish football held them back.
You have read the threads on here re life witouth the OF? There's plenty posters on here stated we couldn't live with them. Don't see it myself - I think the lack of competition has the game dying a slow and painful one. I genuinely think the game would improve without them.
Eh? Where did I say that? I was talking about our ability to compete in Europe, you know, something ambitious footballing nations want to do.
If we want players of a decent standard in Scotland then we have to pay decent wages. Don't we? Without the TV money the ability of our clubs to do that will be limited.
Yeah, but we get that money now and we have no chance of competing in Europe under the current set up. Just qualifying is bad enough as two places are already taken.
The standard of player we can attract doesn't bother me. Why watch average players competing for nothing and achieving nothing in a dead league?
Less than average players playing in a competitive and living league would satisfy me far more.
The upshot might be that we develop our own talent again. We seem to be getting left behing by the likes of Irish and Scandiavian leagues in a European sense, take away the Old Firm.
I do get the money argument but I fail to see what could be worse than the quite awful situation we have right now from a competition point of view.
Do the thousdands that go and watch Junior football care too much about the relative standard or do they enjoy the competititon, the entertinment and the identity?
That's why I asked the question, are we at the stage where we are willing to accept lower standards as a trade off for a more competive league? It smacks of lack of ambition to me. Scotland the Brave? Naw, we'll just give up and play amongst ourselves, the big boys ruined our game. :boo hoo:
Yes we are at that stage. The current set up ensures that two clubs can pay over £30 million per year in wages whilst the rest of us can muster about £4 million per year at best. That's the reality and any change to that would be welcome, whether its with the Old Firm or whithout them.
Just saying we can't change the current set up because of TV money is crazy, we have that now and it's not doing anyhting for competition or furthering us in Europe.
Yes, Celtic and Rangers have always been a bit bigger but you'd have to say that it's got out of hand now, hasn't it? It wasn't like this forever.