Piazza - A colourful word used by yams to describe an extensive monoblock driveway
example - "I've parked my Brown Rover further up the piazza so as to not obstruct the view of the shoddy badge design"
Printable View
Piazza - A colourful word used by yams to describe an extensive monoblock driveway
example - "I've parked my Brown Rover further up the piazza so as to not obstruct the view of the shoddy badge design"
Plaza: see Piazza.
Safety Certificate - in keeping with their visionary and truly pioneering spirit, Hearts were the first (and so far only) professional sports team to waken up to the opportunities that a Safety Certificate for a stadium could bring, in terms of drama for the fans, and in terms of their media profile.
Rather than be boring, and apply for (and comply with) the so-called "health & safety" laws, Hearts were unique in spying the opportunity to apply for (and very nearly fail to achieve) a "temporary safety certificate".
This certificate would not last for the season, no sir, where would be the thrill in that? Dramatically, Hearts used Temporary Safety Certificates to uncork a thrill that could be relived on a game-by-game basis. Every game needed a new certificate. Every game meant another brush with the authorities.
This meant Hearts were in the headlines all through the evening and night of the day before matchday, in a "will-they-won't-they" drama that would have graced the scriptwriters of Friends (think Ross and Rachel) or, perhaps more accurately, like something out of the Fast Show (think Ted and Ralph)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jSMWswNqs0o
Yam Busters:
A team which regularly pumps Hearts,
(See the Hibees 8 in a row unbeaten run)
Sta press/Boating Jacket/Cardigans/Dr Martens oxblood shoes - Typical yam wardrobe.
Austin Morris...HMFC company car allocated to the coaching staff on which the wheels have come off.
Yama-lama-ding-dong = Alt. name for New Year's Day 1973 when a team got 7 bells knocked out of them.
Yam-inista
A lady Yam with with no fashion sense or any sense of subtlety, decorum or good taste.
Always dressed in her Granny’s old maroon curtains or off-cuts from a maroon tartan rug found in the skip behind Carpetright.
A person best avoided, she constantly shakes a collecting tin under your nose and will charge you 6% on your donation.
Vomitorium: pretentious term used by those with delusions of grandeur and an over-inflated sense of importance, generally belonging to organisations with an elevated superiority complex (see big team), to describe a portal of egress from an area devoid of entertainment (see library), commonly known as an exit.
Example usage: ah'm away tae the vomitorium, ah cannae stand any mair ay this p**h.
Yamalarmadingdong.
Popular scream just before everyone panics and the council have to backdate the inspection certificate.
Yamboo...a loud and continuous encouraging utterance heard eminating from the home stands (normally at the 45th and 90th minutes at the Vomitorium.)
Pandemoniyam : The new Christmas panto at The Gorgie Paladiyam
Library: an area where noise is conspicuous by its absence, with the exception of 1650 on Saturdays (or 1705 if there has been a fire alarm) when there is a short intermission comprising booing. The Library may be exited via a vomitorium.
Yammy-Dodgers
A phenomenon seen in the Yam dugout.
It goes like this, Craig (I'm the celebrity manager get me out of here) Levein sees how a match is developing, decides to dodge responsibility for another up coming poor home result and contrives a way to get sent to the stand, thus handing said responsibility to his right-hand man.
The right-hand man, in this case Nanny (I prefer to stay in the background) McPhee, cottons on to what his boss has done and says to himself, "Oh no you don't, I'm not carrying the can for this one, I'm coming up into our shiney new stand with you and leaving Mr Daly with this problem", proceeds to picks a fight with the opposition so he can join his boss.
Poor Mr Daly is stuck with the responsibility and can't even reach a fire-alarm to set off thus having the match abandoned.
Meanwhile, Messrs Levein and McPhee sit in the shiney new stand with a bag of world-class chips and hope the gullible hoards will blame the referee for their team's performance.
A Cannyseeyam. One of several "restricted view" seats in an Edinburgh football stadium.
National Yamthem
To the tune of God Save the Queen (Budgie)
Oh what an aahhhs-I-yam
Oh what a twit...
See also National anthem of Siam.
Yamspiracy: Thinking the world is against you and evreyone wants you to lose, like playing against 12 men evrey week.
Fire Drill: When an overworked contractor slips up with his power tools causing random evacuations at unwanted times.
Anne Budgement Day - When the Queen of Chips realises that her latest manager is the latest in a long line of duds and starts the ball rolling to get them punted.
Yam Chips
DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
Place sliced yams in a large mixing bowl and pour the oil over them.
Use your hands to toss .(honest this is genuine recipe)
Spread the slices out on a baking sheet (use 2 if you need to) and sprinkle with the salt, pepper and chili powder.
Bake 8-10 minutes until they begin to turn brown.
Then flip and and cook for another 8-10 minutes (check once or twice to make sure they don't burn).Let cool for at least 10 minutes, then serve or store in an airtight container for up to a week.
Silence of the Yams
21.5.16 As Sir David Gray rose to nod into the net the simultaneous combustion of stats and songsheets left the yams devoid of material resulting in a subdued crowd of nearly 400,000 former Vladsheep yams. At time of writing they have still to find their voice - also see Yammute - not to be confused with the other use of the word which means the disorientation caused by a temporary relocation to Murrayfield.
Leveintation - the art of floating from a Tynecastle dugout to a seat two rows above in the stand upon instructions from a referee (typically carried out with infantile tantrum and lack of grace).
Austinsible - the obvious truth that he'll inevitably by joined shortly by his Assistant.
Transfer Budge-t
A transfer of DD to the pockets of a scrounging old dear to pay for a carbuncle on the backside of Edinburgh with no promise of any end in sight.
Yams in the news again
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-42197762
Austintatious - Showy display used to try and cheat the referee and get a player from an opposing team sent off.
Austin Allegro - A quickstep dance routine performed by two males, one who wears a wig to look like the female. The speed of the dance often leads to dancers falling over and in some cases having to retire for a wee sit doon.
Scary headline
http://http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-42197762