Lost all ma mates in the crush This random auld guy grabbed me and declared “ Eddie May a star is born!” :greengrin
Printable View
Just want to say i enjoy these posts, reminds me of games and players i completely forgot about, some good memories, and some not so good!!
https://youtu.be/uqvQTxKp5Ag
The white hankies signalling for the first aid guys at 12.08 in this video is for my pal who broke his ankle when Eddie scored the winner. Pandemonium.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Gordon Durie makes his debut on this day but Kano upstages him by firing in a double
Gordon Durie was the sort of player who once he had completed a full preseason and had worked on his upper body strength and sprinting had you walking quicker to the Stadium and had you out of your seat as soon as he got the ball with his pace power strength and direct running style you just knew something was about to happen and that he wouldn’t be here for long
Anyone remember Kano’s first goal for HIBS in a 3-1 win over Dundee in a game beamed live and attracted a 10000 crowd as Kenny Waugh allowed free admission as the previous fixture had been cancelled due to fog?
Yeah I think you are correct 8k rings a bell right enough
Pretty sure Strachan played for Dundee but safe to say HIBS put in a decent performance that night
Edit:
ihibs has the attendance as to 2600 that cannae be right
Other sources quoting 9 and 10k but 8k sounds about right
Hibs scorers Kano Jamieson and a Willie Irvine #1 penalty
2001 Scottish League SPL
Hibernian 2 v 1 Hearts
De La Cruz 2
https://youtu.be/WsxpYjZIDW0
Limbs in the East
Hibernian’s investment in Ulises De La Cruz bears fruit with a quick fire double against arch rivals Hearts in the pouring rain 20 years ago today
This would be the only two goals he would score for us in 39 appearances before being sold to Aston Villa
1995 Scottish League Premier Division
Hibernian 4 v 2 Motherwell
Jackson 2 (1 pen)
Wright
O’Neill
Hibs open the new North Stand with this resounding win over Motherwell
1978 Scottish League Premier Division
Hibernian 1 v 1 Dundee United
Rae 36
https://www.arabarchive.co.uk/matchdetails.php?id=2713
Birthdays
Alan Reid
Stephen Brown
Thanks to johnsparky2
Great thread..superb stuff on it
Wee question going back to the utube video earlier of the Scottish Cup win v Celtic 1986
Great game
However,what puzzled me was the Cave being empty (thats the FF for younger viewers)
Was it price? i can't remember.
I know when the seats were installed it cost a bit more in there.
But so empty for that game,when everywhere else seemed packed
Memory eh ?
IIRC tickets were at a premium and 20000 crammed into Easter Road that great day
Tickets for the Seated Enclosure ( Cave) were more expensive for a seat on a bench so were avoided by most supporters
There was no TV coverage at this match but that did not stop VHS tapes not Betamax of the game doing a roaring trade in the days after the final whistle
I’ve still goat mine :greengrin
Thanks Billy
De javu all over again !!
Debate on the FF use in recent times.
The Cave getting seats caused uproar back then
Ruined atmosphere when they were installed and entry price went up.
Cave-ites dispersed.
Some did not return as regularly .
Lesson there regard shuffling the current choir about.
Great when the club listens to fans!!
A good day tomorrow guys 😃
The
https://www.thecelticwiki.com/1962-0...-scottish-cup/
nothing new new for the weegie east Enders.
On This Day In History
2011 Leigh Leigh Super Leigh scores his first goals for HIBS at St Mirren
2000 Andy Kirk opens the scoring for Hearts after only 3 minutes but the rest as they say is history
Gordon Durie lined up for Hearts and Darren Jackson was on their bench
Hat-trick hero Mixu robs Antti Niemi of the Man Of The Match award but a few in green and white also had valid claims
1994 HIBS draw 0-0 with Scottish Cup holders Dundee United at Tannadice but would go on to defeat them 5-0 4-0 and 1-0 United would be relegated in this season
Birthdays:
Callum Donaldson
Gael Bigirimana
John Young
Yip!
Lost their Stadium I believe but had a lot of really good international players
Pretty sure Andy Goram had Hoochie as first goalscorer as he ran the length of the pitch to make sure he took the penalty
I actually watched the first leg from the Director’s Box and having our half-time cuppa one of the Liege Director’s wives asked me for ‘le lait?’ and being a fully paid up member of the Tartan Army I knew what she was on about :greengrin
https://i.postimg.cc/rwx5hJRm/9-CF09...1940-BC1-C.jpg
It’s a decent effort to be fair
Carheenlea,
Thanks for your reply to my question.:aok:
I On This Day In History
2010 New Manager Colin Calderwood’s Hibs go down at Pittodrie
1999 Alex McLeish’s HIBS kickstart their season with a thumping win over Dundee
Steven Tweed and Willie Miller line up for Dundee
1974 The Old Lady of Turin comes to town in the middle of the week from hell for Hibernian Football Club
https://youtu.be/CdG49nTw0dI
1971 Hibs finally hand out some capital punishment at long last to a stubborn Falkirk side
1962 Hibs knock KB Copenhagen out of the Fairs Cities Cup
1886 Hibs defeat Hearts 5-1 at the Holy Ground in the third round of the Scottish Cup on their way to winning the trophy for the first time thanks to a virtuoso performance from ‘Darling Willie Groves’
Billy Altifini played for Brazil and Italy. I am sure there are other players who have played for a South American countries and European countries.
Alan Gordon told me the story that in the second leg they had this big Stadium Clock and you could see Altafini warming up and as the clock reached 70 minutes the natives were getting more and more restless and when he came on you just knew you were in for more torture scoring one and making one
24/10/2020 Scottish League Premiership
Kilmarnock 0 v 1 Hibernian
Nisbet pen 27
https://youtu.be/NBipcY_li0w
A year is a long time in football as Kevin Nisbet scores his eighth goal of the season and puts Hibs back into third place as Christian Doidge is adjudged to have been fouled inside the box
Man of the Match Joe Newell
Hibs Rocky Hanlon Porteous McGinn Stevenson Boyle Newell Gogic Mallan Doidge and Nisbet
Subs Doig Magennis and Hallberg
2017 Scottish League Premiership
Hibernian 1 v 0 Hearts
Murray 3
Just took my seat when Simon Murray nutmegged Soapy Soutar and smashed the ball into the roof of the net
1981 Scottish League Premier Division
Hibernian 1 v 0 Celtic
Macleod pen 45
https://youtu.be/CYfA4Y7pwAk
Hibs McArthur Sneddon Turnbull McNamara Paterson Duncan Callachan Rae Murray Flavell and MacLeod
Att 18245
On This Day In History
Oh Salonika here we come!
1972 Hibs all but qualify for the quarter finals of the ECWC with a fantastic display that blows the Albanian opposition away
We stood in the Cave for the very last time
1969 Jim Black is sent off for the only time in his HIBS career in the closing minutes of a 2-2 draw at Rugby Park Joe McBride and Peter Cormack scored for HIBS
Clyde 2 - 3 Hibs from 1952. Crowd 28,000 ! Was that in the Shawfield dog track ?
Wouldn’t liked to be in there with that size of crowd.
On This Day In History:
2014 Hibs lose touch with Hearts at the top of the Championship
2012 Hibs hammer Motherwell at Fir Park
2005 Scottish League SPL
Dunfermline Athletic 1 v 2 Hibernian
O’Connor 2
Ex Hibee Yannick Zambernardi is sent off as Garry O’Connor grabs a brace
Hibs Zibi Caldwell Murphy Hogg Rudge Fletcher Boozy Stewart Sproule O’Connor and Riordan
Subs Brown Shiels and Glass
Att 6850
https://youtu.be/xYUbwc1s3-g
1974 Hampden heartache
1946 Eddie Turnbull makes his HIBS debut on this day
Danny Handling cost me a good few grand by scoring at the death against Motherwell , It even made it's way to the papers and a quote from himself :greengrin
Happy Birthday to Ross Caldwell 28 today
Many Happy Returns
:partyhibb
https://youtu.be/avOdSF0Vmck
30 years ago today ‘The team that would not die’ rose like a phoenix from the ashes of the Wallace Mercer takeover bid to win the Scottish League Cup / Skol Cup to prove to the world that Hibernian Football Club was still very much alive and kicking
https://youtu.be/icRpkp33sdU
Q. Name three HIBS players to have won the League Cup in Scotland and England ( need all three) ?
Ok. I’m going to go…
Burridge and Cropley, amazingly almost 20 years apart with Hibs despite being in same Villa side.
I think David Murphy won it with Birmingham too, but I am not 100 percent sure..so will wait for you to correct me.
Happy 56th Birthday to Franck Sauzee ( Le God )
Many Happy Returns
https://youtu.be/zJmjAtyePzw
https://youtu.be/0_dNDskgVAU
Or as Gaz once said on Off The Ball him and Deeks had a telescopic understanding.
He then got a row of Tam Cowan for swearing.
Can’t really understand why there wasn’t a greater demand for Gaz and Deeks as pundits.
They would certainly have been more entertaining than a lot of the boring predictable pundits who are
currently getting gigs.
HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAVID ZITELLI
53 Today
Many Happy Returns
JOYEUX ANNIVERSAIRE
https://youtu.be/X4BDhwReAIc
On This Day:
2020 HIBS lose Scottish Cup Semi Final to Hearts at Hampden
2018 Hibs draw with Hearts Kamberi sent off
2017 Hibs hammer Stevie Clarke’s Killie at Rugby Park inflicting his first defeat
2009 Hibs defeat Aberdeen 2-0 at Easter Road The Dons have two players sent off and have 16 year old Fraser Fyvie carried off
1999 Hibs defeat Dundee United 3-2 at Easter Road
1989 Hibs are knocked out of the UEFA Cup by an exocet strike at Liege A late Goals McGinlay goal looks suspiciously onside and would have put us through
Jim Scott scored his 17th goal of the season this day in 1964. Wish his namesake would emulate that kind of record
On This Day In History
2015 Hibs end The Rangers’ undefeated run in the Championship at Easter Road
1986 Super Joe McBride bags an equaliser at Tiny to go with his late brace at the same venue
1978 Hibs go out of the UEFA Cup at home against a very good Strasbourg side Ally MacLeod scored from the penalty spot on 60 minutes but despite intense pressure HIBS are unable to force the tie into extra time
1977 Hibs are knocked out of the Anglo Scottish Cup by a very physical Bristol City at the semi-final stage
1975 Pat Stanton rises like a salmon in the 99th minute to head a late equaliser at Tiny
1972 Hibs put 10 past Airdrieonians at the quarter final stage on their way to winning the Scottish League Cup
1947 Gordon Smith scores the best goal of his illustrious career in a 0-2 win at Fir Park
Having collected the ball in midfield Smith proceeded to bear down on the Motherwell goal at speed beating man after man before splitting the full backs to prod the ball past the goalkeeper as he fell
The goal was acknowledged with thunderous applause by both sets of supporters Gordon would later say ‘That was the best goal I have ever scored I just couldn’t do anything wrong that day I was told afterwards I had beaten seven men before scoring’
On This Day In History :
2019 Hecky’s last game in charge
1985 The first game under the covered East but it is only half open
1963 The late great Willie Hamilton makes his HIBS debut in a 2-1 loss at Firhill
1957 A young Joe Baker scores a hat-trick for an unlikely victory for 10 man HIBS at Love Street
Birthday wishes to Skol Cup Winner Graham Mitchell
Left footed Graham Mitchell was a cultured and reliable performer for Hibernian Football Club at left back or centre back playing 317 times and scoring four goals
Came across this wonderful article on Willie Hamilton.
https://archive.ph/20120720173611/ht...m?id=139922006
I saw him play at Hunters Hall in a match labelled as Hibs All Stars versus Hearts All Stars as a nipper. The only player I recognised was Willie McFarlane who had recently left Hibs after his stint as manager. I had a wee autograph book ( long lost) and at the end of the match my auld man said to me, "that's Willie Hamilton, his autograph is worth getting". I walked over to him and asked him to sign my book and he said, "I'm nobody son, you don't need my autograph." A complex character.
28/10/1970 Inter Cities Fairs Cup Round 2 Leg 2
"Vitoria Guimares 2 v 1 Hibernian ( Agg 2-3)
Graham
In a game played in boiling heat Guimares very quickly wiped out HIBS’ two goal first leg lead with goals from Goncalves and Ademir HIBS totally dominated the second half however and Johnny Graham put HIBS ahead in the tie when he headed home Joe McBride’s free kick in the 75th minute
The winners would play Liverpool
Hibs Baines Shevlane Schaedler Blackley Black Stanton Hamilton McBride Graham Hunter and Duncan
Subs Davidson Blair
Att 5700"
Talk about back to reality, Hibs next game, which was at Cappielow Park on the Saturday, Hibs and Morton played in torrential conditions with the game being abandoned after 33 minutes with the score 0-0.
The game was replayed near the end of the campaign, where we got beat 2-1. It was the only occasion that I went to 35 Hibs leagues games in a campaign, when the set up was an 18 team league playing each other home and away.
I was at that Morton game too. One away turnstile open. Queued in the pouring rain and got in at 3:20. Game was abandoned 15 minutes later. Brief demonstration on the pitch afterwards demanding our money back- to no avail, obviously.
I remember a beautiful day out to see the Hibs play at Dumbarton. Nice and warm with the sun shining but if you looked over the Clyde there was a massive black cloud hanging over Greenock and it was obviously teeming down there.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
On this day in 1998 Oasis released The Masterplan. Unbelievable album. :wink::greengrin
One midweek game stands out in September 1988 wind and driving rain from start to finish
Gareth Evans gave us the lead then the Saintees threw everything at us but Andy The Goalie Goram put on the best display I have ever seen from a goalkeeper
It was like he had Teflon gloves He held every shot despite the conditions and the greasy ball and had his angles spot on
The only relief was Stevie Archibald who was the master at retaining possession
Unbeatable
HAPPY BIRTHDAY ROB JONES
2007 SCOTTISH LEAGUE CUP WINNING CAPTAIN
MANY HAPPY RETURNS
https://youtu.be/XTgF3FG6vxg
I remember being at that game.
It was an absolute masterclass in goalkeeping by Andy Goram.There was no need for him to make any spectacular saves as he his positioning and angles were perfect.
My only criticism of Andy (apart from joining the currant buns) was I once bought him a pint at a Hibs do but he never bought me one back.
In typical Hibs fashion, the game that stands out for me [for different reasons] a week after the white boots and euphoria of Joe Baker's second debut against Eddie Turnbull's [up until then] invincible Aberdeen team, we were at Love Street and Joe got himself dismissed in a 3-1 loss. I was 14 at the time and took my then 8 YO brother for his first away game, I won the first goal raffle on the bus and with the 50p winnings, I got us both fish and chips, when the bus had its customary stop on the way home, [changed days alright].
Sadly I lost my brother, [now over 22 years ago], he reminded me of fish & chips and Joe Baker's dismissal not long before his sudden passing, I had long forgotten it, but its been comforting to know that, that day we spent together watching the Hibees together meant that much to him, ot maybe it was the fish and chips :greengrin.
IOn This Day In History
2019 Hibs Manager Paul Heckingbottom was sacked on this day
2006 John Collins takes charge of Hibernian Football Club for the first time following Tony Mowbray’s departure to WBA in a 2-2 draw with Kilmarnock at Easter Road in front of 13500 fans
Birthdays on this day
Happy 23rd birthday to the forgotten man of Easter Road Sean Mackie and former goalkeeper Chris Reid 50 today
On This Day In History
2016 A superb strike by SJM seals the points at Ayr
2005 Hibs make it six consecutive wins on the road with a late GOC deflected strike past Roddy Mackenzie
2000 David Zitelli scores a spectacular overhead kick to seal the points at Dens
1949 The Famous Five versus the Iron Curtain defence meet for the first time and Lawrie Reilly beats three men before sending over a cross for Eddie Turnbull to hammer the ball home to inflict Rangers’ first defeat of the season in front of 51500 at Easter Road
Birthdays:
Allan Dempsie 39 today
Many Happy Returns
Edit
New link for HIBS 1 v 1 Hearts 1983
Do not adjust your set calms down eventually
https://youtu.be/k3dYzqUH4E0
8 Hibs supporters in the team that scored 11 against Hamilton! There's our future model! 😁
Q1 Yes but as Big Wheel says Billy Broon was appointed Caretaker Manager in the interim
Q2 Yes Jinky youngest League appearance 16 years 79 days
Youngest first team debut Stuart Rae versus Brora Rangers Highland tour 26/7/1980 aged 15 years 196 days
Jimmy Jimmy O’Rourke was aged 16 years 85 days when he made his debut versus Utrecht on 12/12/1962 in the Fairs Cities Cup
On This Day In History
2015 A James Keatings hat-trick keeps the pressure on The Rangers at the top of the Championship
A Freddie Mercury tribute act appears at a sold out HIBS club
2010 Second bottom HIBS lose 0-2 to Hearts at Easter Road Captain for the day Derek Riordan is sent off after a late scything tackle on Rudi Skacel The defeat gave Colin Calderwood his third successive defeat since taking over from John Hughes
1992 Hibs lose a bruising encounter 0-1 at Tiny against League leaders Hearts Gary Mackay suffers a broken jaw in a clash with Gordon Hunter Ally Mauchlen appears to deliberately stamp on a prostrate Darren Jackson No foul is awarded but a belated yellow card is given
1981 John MacDonald takes a deliberate dive in the box for Rangers’ obligatory penalty
Dearie me I thought Shades was going to blow a gasket
https://youtu.be/glHjPwhAPdI
1973 Hibs 0 v 0 Leeds United
A masterclass sweeper performance by Billy Bremner takes this UEFA Cup tie to penalty kicks
King Pat hits the post with Hibs’ first attempt
Hibs lose an appeal to UEFA as Leeds Manager Don Revie was on the pitch coaching his players before the penalty shoot out
Birthdays
Happy Birthday wishes to Joelle Murray
Many Happy Returns