Tells you Green knows they can't survive three years in purgatory without the hun thicks buying overpriced, worthless stock. More grounds for a gross alienation of assets, also.
Printable View
THE commission probing Rangers’ alleged undisclosed payments to players will hold procedural hearings next week.
The Scottish Premier League announced that the independent panel would sit for its first two days.
A statement read: “The Scottish Premier League today announced that the independent commission to inquire into alleged EBT payments and arrangements made by Rangers in relation to players during the period from 2000 until 2011 will sit on Tuesday 11 and Wednesday 12 September.
“The hearing will be chaired by Lord Nimmo Smith and will consider submissions from parties on various procedural matters.
“It will not be a hearing of the merits of the case.”
The three-man group, which also features Charles Flint QC and Nicholas Stewart QC, will eventually decide whether Rangers broke SPL rules regarding payments made through their controversial Employee Benefit Trust scheme.
The payments are also the subject of a tax tribunal, which is yet to be decided.
The tax tribunal will have no impact on the current Ibrox regime, which bought the assets and business of the soon-to-be-liquidated club.
But the SPL probe could lead to Rangers being stripped of league titles, although there are more than a dozen other potential sanctions
Let us review the punishments doled out so far by the authorities in this country during this shameful episode........
- 10 point penalty (rangers finished 2nd instead of errrr, 2nd in the league)
- £160k fine (not bad for witholding £14m PAYE, more of a business plan than punishmennt really)
- 1 year transfer embargo ( delayed till end of transfer window, rangers spend millions)
- 3 match ban for McCoist ( suspended for 1 year)
- Censure for Green (slap on wrist)
Confident now that SPL will hand out a weakened punishment for EBT's that will ensure Rangers FC have 'got away with it'. The biggest scandal in Scottish football EVER!
It was independent QC's/Lords that issued the transfer embargo, it was SFA that made it ineffective and weak.
Don't hold your breath for any tough sanction ever being implented. Ranges have been punished enough don't ya know! Anyway McCoist won't accept it so, that's that.
I think the biggest issue, if they are found guilty (which is surely a "given"), is the potential cases filed by the teams that missed out on additional prize money and further progression in cup competitions.
I think that this may have been the reason that the SFA/SPL were so intent on The Rangers accepting any punishments from outstanding charges.
If (when) the EBT's are proven to be against the rules, you'll have teams saying "hang on, we missed out on £200k(?) prize money that season, we want it now". If The Rangers had received their SFA membership with no santions then it might be the SFA/SPL that would have had to answer to (refund) potential compensation charges.
They could have but the players concerned would have gotten their win bonus, which they may have been denied by Rangers subterfuge. I am thinking mainly of the teams that lost in semi-finals or finals to Oldhun, where the bonus to players may have been significant, or as Steve says, those that lost in European competition (in the run to the final?) where we may well be talking really big bucks. All it needs is one of these clubs to raise the issue with UEFA.
This could be extended to bookies whose punters bet against Oldhun and lost. Can of worms and lid spring to mind.
We can hum and haw but no matter the verdict and/or punishment, who arrives at it and when its is arrived at the one thing that is for certain is that newco Rangers will get off lightly in the end.
They have so far and they are laughing at all of us.
Someone pointed out slightly earlier in the thread, that Charley would probably be delighted if the titles were stripped, giving him a massive 'They're all agin us' rallying cry for his hordes. He's a businessman with no allegiance to anything other than profit and couldn't give a tinkers cuss about a few titles being removed.
FWIW I think the titles will be struck from the record...and that will be it...end of. Loads of bile and gnashing of teeth from Mordor, but at the end of the day, they'll still claim they won them on the park, and nobody can take that away from them....not to mention still being the worlds greatest club, with the greatest supporters to boot.
They make me :sick:
Vile, disgusting institution that brings shame on us all, and Chuckie will have to put up token resistance to placate the horde when the titles are stripped. But I like their "new" anti Scotland stance, the civilised majority in Scotland can get on with supporting the national team and leave the social underclass that supports Sevco 2012 to support... Sevco 2012, in their exciting third division adventure. :aok:
Coming up on Sky Sports 1 now (12.30ish).
Be interesting to hear his spin! :greengrin
What's he saying?
The politician or the football manager?
HMRC update on EBTs making it easy to settle
Could this mean that those that received payments from Rangers EBT are individually liable for Income tax and NIC's? Unless Minty fizzes up and says that tax was already deducted and that he (Murray, Rangers, Rangers director's) are actually guilty of sharking the tax raised?
Either scenario should be good for a chuckle or two.
Would take Mcleish in a heart beat to replace Harry Potter :cb
It's a bit of a curate's egg for me Spike. I reckon Rangers/Sevco in the bottom tier is a reasonable outcome - I'm not sure how much more we could realistically expect, and if we can call it 'lower league obscurity' by the end of this season so much the better. If those connected with Rangers had any morals, sense or intelligence they would also be humiliated, but that's probably too much to hope for. They're only laughing because they're thick.
On the other hand, the way we've got to this position is depressing. The behaviour of pretty much everyone connected with Rangers/Sevco has been disgusting and the actions of the football authorities has generally been a disgrace to the game. The MSM has shown just how much in thrall to the OF and therefore ineffectual they are, but at least the blog medium and fan power have had a real and lasting effect.
And the fans of opposing clubs have a new big stick to beat the bigots with for the next century or so. We must use it at every opportunity.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/product-revi...owViewpoints=1
Phil Mac Giolla Bhain's book was only released on Saturday but the Hun masses are currently caning it on Amazon.
Not surprising down to their 'We are the Victims' mentality but what's probably more surprising is how people have had the chance to get it delivered and then read the whole thing since it's launch on Saturday.
Clearly a thread floating about on Follow Follow telling everyone to go and attack it
He's a sectarian pro-IRA bigot don't you know?
Amazon comments never lie! :deal:
How bad is the spelling in some of those reviews?
If anyone should know how to spell 'biggot' its surely a Rangers supporter
Might give the book a read though, even if it is written by a man who 'revealed himself as an IRA supporting biggot'.
I told my mate I was reading it the other night and asked if he wanted to borrow it when I was done.
You want to have seen his puss, rember the purple away top? Same colour. He's never read it but "it's Fenian *****" "not a word of truth" and my favourite "should be banned because it's sectarian":greengrin
"even the Scottish Sun have called him a biggot and banned his book"
You couldn't make it up.
:tee hee:Quote:
By
Alex Tomo No 1 Fan
This review is from: Downfall: How Rangers FC Self Destructed (Paperback)
As a Celtc man, through and through I have had hunners of sleepless nights wae a bottle waiting on this book on Rangers Football Club (Sevco) coming out.
The story of Rangers FC (Sevco) for me and probably all Celtc fans has taken over our lives even more than usual the past 12 months. I know guys who chucked their jobs incase they missed anything
It has been our obsession, but a healthy one. Its good to keep the brain active and that.
Alex Thomson of Channel 4 who is a real hero of mines after his reporting of bloody sunday and even more after he tweeted a pure funny image of Ibrox disaster memorial rites a pure amazing foreword to book. Here we go a tell the wife, 1-0 to the hoops!
The family all took a turn in the reading the book, staying up with a bottle reading it aloud. There are hunners of us so i only had to read a wee bit once. Minted, 2-0 to the hoops!
Phil and Alex - yous are forever the heroes of the Celtc support. There should be statues of yous together at Celtc park. We'll soon have anough statues to do a big huddle roon paradise.
It was the first book I've ever read and it touched me and the rest of the family in ways you couldn't imagine.
A've cut out the book cover and stuck it on top of the picture in the hallway of Newco Jesus so next time the polis kick the door it will be first thing they see. Haha, yer no laughing noo masons!. Boom 3-0 tae ra hoops!
TAL
Hail Hail
Pray for Lenny
Jinky was Innocent
PS. Entered my first star - do i get a free book when I get to five?
Well, the comments on Amazon sure make for interesting reading.
FWIW, from the very beginning and throughout the course of the Rangers saga, the author was regularly on the money with his reporting of what was and what would happen to RFC, so in some ways, his creditibility has already been established before this book was published. He had sources very close to the situation at Ibrox and I'm sure the book would stand up to scrutiny in terms of reporting the facts.
As for the obsession with Rangers and him being a sectarian bigot, I don't know. All I know is that when I read all the skullduggery designed to undermine or discredit antagonists of the two OF clubs online, it makes me glad I wasn't born and raised in Glasgow as a Rangers or Celtic fan.
made their own downfall. over many decades. mostly on hate , bile and self glorification.
Keith Downie@STVkeith Rangers say they won't cooperate with the SPL investigation into alleaged use of dual contracts, becuase they are no longer an SPL member.
Here's their full statement:
Quote:
CHARLES GREEN, Chief Executive of Rangers, issued the following statement today:
“The Rangers Football Club Limited will not attend tomorrow’s hearing (Tuesday, September 11) of the SPL-appointed Commission investigating the circumstances surrounding the use of Employee Benefit Trusts by previous owners of the Club.
"The Club cannot continue to participate in an SPL process that we believe is fundamentally misconceived.
“Neither the SPL, nor its Commission, has any legal power or authority over the Club because it is not in the SPL.
"For that reason it has no legal basis on which to appoint its Commission. The Club ceased to be subject to the SPL’s rules when it was ejected from its league.
"Our lawyers have made that point repeatedly to the SPL in correspondence and yet our requests for an explanation from the SPL have been completely ignored. The SPL’s silence on these issues is deafening. The outcome of the SPL’s process will have no legal effect.
“First and foremost, I would like to explain this decision to our supporters across the world whose loyalty and commitment to the Club in very difficult times has been unwavering and heart-warming for all those involved at the Club. Our decision regarding this commission is approved unanimously by the Board and the Manager Ally McCoist.
“Since the decision was taken by HMRC on June 14 to reject administrators’ proposals for a Company Voluntary Arrangement, the fate of Rangers FC lay firmly and clearly in the ability of the consortium I led to form a new company and corporate entity that would ensure that Rangers had a future as a football club.
“At all times we were fully transparent in our dealings with the football authorities, be they the SFA, SPL or the SFL.
"There was no ambiguity whatsoever regarding the status of the company when it made an application to join the SPL.
"As we all know, 10 SPL clubs decided against the admission of the new company to the league and The Rangers Football Club Limited subsequently applied to the SFL for membership and we are grateful for their acceptance.
“In short, what was decided by the SPL membership is that Rangers was finished as a member of the SPL.
"Despite this, the SPL now see the new owners of the company, and the new company itself, which owns all the assets of Rangers FC - including SPL championship titles – as fair game for punishment for matters that have nothing to do with us at all.
"And let’s be very clear about what this Commission is. Although the SPL goes to great lengths to emphasise the independence of its Commission, the Commission is not independent of the SPL. It has been appointed by the SPL. It follows SPL rules and its process is managed by SPL staff.
"I don’t question the impartiality of the individual panel members but whatever decision they reach is a decision of the SPL.
“To make it crystal clear, the new owners purchased all the business and assets of Rangers, including titles and trophies.
"Any attempt to undermine or diminish the value of those assets will be met with the stiffest resistance, including legal recourse.
“Furthermore, we ask the question genuinely. Why did the football authorities do nothing to address an issue that was public knowledge for at least two years, and was reported in the Club’s accounts for several years, before the Club went into administration and was subsequently taken over by new owners?
"HMRC contacted the SPL regarding EBT matters in October 2010, they met to discuss what documentation the Club had lodged with the SPL.
"Did the SPL launch an investigation? Did they appoint a Commission? Did they ask to see EBT correspondence? Did they ask any questions at all? No. They did absolutely nothing.
“What compounds the breathtaking hypocrisy of the SPL in this whole saga, is that the SFA, the SPL and us - as the new owners - took part in numerous discussions regarding the new company’s league status during which it was made clear that a deal was there to be done where ‘the EBT issue’ would be dealt with as part of a package of sanctions which would be implemented in return for membership of the SFA and a place in either the SPL or Division One.
"We do not accept that people who are willing to come to an agreement on such matters then have a right to instigate a full blown inquisition when matters do not unfold as they thought they would.
“In our view, it beggars belief that an authority which can be heavily involved in these discussions to the point that the Chief Executive Neil Doncaster repeatedly stated he was not interested in stripping titles from Rangers can lurch from that position to setting up its own Commission under the chairmanship of Lord Nimmo Smith.
"I must make it clear that we are not questioning for a moment the integrity of Lord Nimmo Smith and his colleagues but we believe the SPL have been hypocritical in their approach to this matter.
"Quite apart from their negotiations with our consortium, I know the SPL were well advanced in their discussions with another bidder and his representatives where EBT issues were raised and there was again an understanding that the EBT issue could be dealt with by agreement if new owners were to take over at Ibrox.
“Why is the SPL rushing to judgement now when it has been sitting on the matter for two years? Their haste is particularly difficult to understand when the tax tribunal judgement is imminent.
"The factual issues in both cases are identical. We have to ask why is the SPL so anxious to issue a judgement in this matter before the tax tribunal’s findings are made public.
"The position is even harder to understand when one of the reasons the SFA did not pursue any form of disciplinary charge on EBT matters following Lord Nimmo Smith’s April report was because it was felt unwise for the SFA to pursue the matter when the tax tribunal judgement had not been made public.
"Nothing has changed as the judgement still has not been made public. Why is the SPL rushing ahead when in April the SFA felt it unwise to do so?
“Rangers was not the only club in Scotland to use EBTs yet nothing was done and little has been heard about it. Also, Rangers stands accused of achieving sporting advantage unfairly – yet there is little debate over the fact in all the years EBTs were in existence at Ibrox, the Club often failed to win either the league title, or the main cup competitions.
"Furthermore, the period concerned saw a significant downsizing of the playing squad both in money spent on transfers and players wages.
“The decision we have taken has not been taken lightly. There are powerful representatives from Clubs within the SPL – not all of them by any means – who appear hell bent on inflicting as much damage on Rangers as possible.
"It is lamentable that the Board and executive of the organisation have not been able to deal with this appropriately. We do not hold every SPL club in the same regard. Several clubs were placed in an invidious position and we believe their interests were not best served by those in more powerful positions.
“Furthermore, as a Club we are not satisfied that the issue of conflict of interest relating to advisers to the SPL has been satisfactorily dealt with.
“Once again I would thank our supporters for their patience and tolerance. They have been asked to take it on the chin time and again and we stand united in saying: No more.
"As far as I am concerned, Rangers Football Club has won a world record 54 league titles, and, whatever the decision of the SPL Commission, these titles cannot and will not be taken away from us and our Manager Ally McCoist is in total agreement.”
"Aye, fight and you may die. Run, and you'll live... at least a while. And dying in your beds, many years from now, would you be willin' to trade ALL the days, from this day to that, for one chance, just one chance, to come back here and tell our enemies that they may take our lives, but they'll never take... OUR TITLES!"
Just wait until they climb back into an SPL promotion position then tell them they ain't getting promotion for refusing to co-operate.
Simples !
Who are this "Rangers Football Club" he keeps referring to? Is that the one that liquidated in the summer? :confused:
And Sally says: you's ur aw biggoted agaanst us...
Probably this one. http://wck2.companieshouse.gov.uk/fd...95/compdetails
The arrogance and bitterness just oozes from every line. I found this funny though:
Didn't they buy the history etc. in the form of "Goodwill" for 1p? can hardly be diminished much more.Quote:
Despite this, the SPL now see the new owners of the company, and the new company itself, which owns all the assets of Rangers FC - including SPL championship titles – as fair game for punishment for matters that have nothing to do with us at all.....To make it crystal clear, the new owners purchased all the business and assets of Rangers, including titles and trophies. Any attempt to undermine or diminish the value of those assets will be met with the stiffest resistance, including legal recourse.
So because the old co were crap at cheating and didn't manage to win in a two horse race every season it is unfair to take action against the cheating? :faf:Quote:
Rangers was not the only club in Scotland to use EBTs yet nothing was done and little has been heard about it. Also, Rangers stands accused of achieving sporting advantage unfairly – yet there is little debate over the fact in all the years EBTs were in existence at Ibrox, the Club often failed to win either the league title, or the main cup competitions.
Just read Green's statement on BBC website and he's entirely correct. It is absolutely nothing to do with them, they are a new club, not in the SPL, and shouldn't be called. The only people who should be invited to give evidence to the inquiry are individuals (like McCoist) who were associated with old Rangers. They should be asked to do so.
If the SFA decide to strip Rangers titles during the ETB era, this is nothing to do with the new The Rangers FC.
Do they mean us?Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Green
It says The Rangers Football Club.
In much the same way as the previous company was called The Rangers Football Club plc until it changed its name.....http://wck2.companieshouse.gov.uk/de...b6/compdetails..... but of course was known as "Rangers", the operating name of this company is also "Rangers".
Deek hinting on twitter that sevco were after him
But Green states quite clearly that the New Rangers have bought the titles from Old Co. It should have been obvious to Green that the purchase of Rangers goodwill and titles was a risky business and that purchasing merchandise obtained by fraud was always likely to end in confiscation of such items.
He should have adjusted the 1 penny purchase price he paid accordingly. :greengrin
Yet, Green bought the Rangers "Brand" and name so has a clear interest in anything that can impact that name and brand. He also says " As far as I am concerned, Rangers Football Club has won a world record 54 league titles, and, whatever the decision of the SPL Commission, these titles cannot and will not be taken away from us and our Manager Ally McCoist is in total agreement.”
So, he chooses not to defend the position but has a clear interest and view on the outcome !! Me thinks he knows what the outcome is going to be and is in denial (hear & see no evil).
Charles Green and everyone else connected with Sevco 5088 need to make their minds up here.
They're either a brand new club, completely distinct from Rangers FC, or they are simply a continuation of the old company.
If it's the former then I agree with Green, the SPL have nothing over Sevco 5088 and like DBS said, they should be going after individuals associated with the old Rangers and not Sevco 5088 themselves.
However, by the same token, then Sevco 5088 cannot claim to have won 50 odd titles and should not have the same badge as Rangers FC either.
If it's the latter, which most people associated with Sevco 5088 seem to be claiming to be the case, when it suits them anyway, then the SPL have every right to pursue Sevco 5088 and to hold them responsible for the alleged wrongs of the club before liquidation took place.
They cannot pick and choose between the pros and cons of being a continuation on the old company.
They're either the same or they're not.
They really are a despicable club lacking in any humility or morality whatsoever. I see more veiled hints of legal recourse should the decision go against them again which The SFA backed out of acting on when they did it previously.
As I have mentioned before, this cheating institution will take every avenue it sees fit to rip the pure pish out of every single one of us and the fabric of the game in this country is compromised yet again.
Just when you thought it was impossible to hate them even more.
Having picked up Rangers for nothing Green is now running rings around the Scottish football establishment -wonder if he plays midfield?
Jabba on Radio Scotland: "Green has a point... Rangers won those trophies, Sevco been punished enough, more would be bad for Scottish football, time to move on..."
Is there a more nauseating slob in all of Scotland than this pastry lover? We should just ignore a decade of CHEATING via ineligible players on dual contracts because it would be ' bad for the game'. Surely it's time this pathetic excuse for a journalist was removed from the public airwaves? He is an embarrassment.
Looks like we've all been done up the arse...
James Doleman@jamesdoleman RT @Timmj95: Debt? We're Newco. Titles? We're Oldco. Punishment? We're Newco. History? We're Oldco. EBTs? Newco. SFA Licence? Oldco"
Him
Good post on Twitter! :thumbsup:
The point at issue here is the actions of a member club during its time of membership. During that membership the club would be bound by the rules and that is why the SPL can investigate what happened.Quote:
"Neither the SPL, nor its commission, has any legal power or authority over the club because it is not in the SPL. For that reason, it has no legal basis on which to appoint its commission."
Sevco Huns bought the titles from Huns RIP (who originally bought them with taxpayers' money).Quote:
"To make it crystal clear, the new owners purchased all the business and assets of Rangers, including titles and trophies," he said.
So if the titles are stripped Sevco Huns will ask for their money back, but I'd think caveat emptor applies since they were aware of the likely investigation into the EBTs and the range of sanctions available.Quote:
"Any attempt to undermine or diminish the value of those assets will be met with the stiffest resistance, including legal recourse."
The rules of the SPL are there for its members to obey during their membership and those rules cover undeclared second contracts together with the punishments for fielding ineligible players. I'm more concerned about the SPL trying to weasel out of those rules than I am about Green pandering to the loyal Hun follow-followers.
I note Chuckle uses the word 'new' nine times in this release. He also admitted, here, that liquidation meant the history died http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0k0Ik...layer_embedded He knows that when public listed company Rangers FC (SC004276), incorporated on 27 may 1899, is officially liquidated all of its corporate business history goes with it and comes to an end, you cannot buy corporate history! This leads me onto the biggest scandal of this shameful affair: why was no vote taken on the transfer of SFA registration and why was there no vote on another club with viable accounts gaining entry? We have seen Huns in blazers control this whole fiasco.
Debt? We're Newco. Titles? We're Oldco. Punishment? We're Newco. History? We're Oldco. EBTs? Newco. SFA Licence? Oldco.
I love the fact Green said he bought the titles.
Just when ah thought ah couldnae hate these ****ers anymore Green pops up with his pish.
Its really quite simple, they think they can ***** all over the SFA and the SPL. When it comes to them eventually being promoted to the SPL just say "no", WE DONT ****ING NEED YOU AND YIR BIGOT BAGGAGE" then watch their so called Loyal fans disappear like water aff a ducks back, *****.
I'm sorry for now asking this a third time, considering it was about six weeks since the first, but how much longer is it till the OldCo are finally Liquidated?
This waiting on BDO to take over and bury the body seems to have been going on for ever.
If Clyde F C had out-bid Sevco for the titles would anyone consider that Clyde F C were the proud holders of 50 odd league titles ?
Course not, and it is the same situation with the NewCo Rangers, they were not won by that club. They were not even called Rangers when the titles were bought, they were still called Sevco so they are not even second hand titles they are third hand, never mind Red Hand. :wink:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-19556780
I nearly crashed the car listening to this this morning!!!!
I'm probably saying it for the third time, too, but it's those pesky shredding machines at D and P.... they just aren't up to the job. :wink:
On a pedantic note, BDO taking over doesn't mean that they are liquidated, it just means that they are "in liquidation". That process could take years (I think the Airdrie one took 5 years or more), depending on what transpires and, of course, available funds.
Green is considering legal action if 'their' titles are stripped.
It's a bit like buying a stolen car and then claiming ownership over the burgled owner because you bought it.
How will the SPL react to the threat of legal action, would UEFA take a dim view of this, are the cheating hordes actually going to get away with the biggest scandal in Scottish football, EVER.
I actually think they will as the media are trying to portray the football community in Scotland suffering from 'punishment fatigue' and that 'Rangers have suffered enough'.
Hopefully there is a strength of will from supporters to see justice done on this matter as it wouldn't take a lot for Doncaster and Regan to take a giant brush and sweep it under the carpet.
The key word there is "considering". Once he has considered this for at least two minutes he will realise that Rangers (not The Rangers) were members of the SPL and ignored the rules of the SFA, Uefa and FIFA as well as probably breaking the law to boot. I think if they lose the honours won they are getting off bloody lightly.
As they have throughout this whole process. But we all know Green's rambling mess of a statement, in complete contravention to the disciplinary he's just received for his last outburst, is just sabre rattling for the horde in advance of a worthless Sevco share issue. "Huns, buy my Sevco shares... T'Rangers 2012 to you. ...." Sevco already agreed to accept oldco punishement as part of the shameful transfer of oldco SFA registration so Green is already way off base with any legal challenges. But he has to get the horde behind the share issue. Noise them up, get the hun media tub thumpers like Traynor stirring the pot. He's played the huns like a dream so far actually.
ps
I hear Ben Johnson wants back his 100m gold from Seoul 1988, he won it on the track afterall. Who are these people? Get their names!