At what point in the game was that picture taken?
The East looked a lot fuller than that to me on Saturday
Printable View
Could well have been pushing towards half time, as I do think it was a tad fuller than that and you see a fair few on the stairs.
It looked full when standing during the minutes applause, but did find it quite noticeable there would barely have been a full row of seats in any section bar the South end, and most would have had at least a quarter empty.
As the post says above, that was with a supposed near sell out too, AND the free kids tickets. I'm not saying we're lying about ticket sales, but for a Saturday 3pm in a winnable game with 15-odd unbeaten, there's clearly a sizeable number of STHs not attending.
Anyway, didn't mean to sidetrack the thread. 10,000 is brilliant, can't dispute that.
The picture was taken minutes from the end of the game
I was trying to remember when the rainbow appeared. You are all right, the big giveaway was that Hibs were shooting up the slope in the first half. What an erse!
Keep on this trajectory and we might find ourselves in a position where a reduction of Old Firm allocations becomes a realistic scenario.
Said it many times before ,our team in the recent past has not been anything to shout about ,but most certainly our supporters have been phenomenal ,over 10000 season tickets sold it’s only march ,as one of the posters pointed out earlier our aim must be to sell season tickets in the south stand and reduce the ugly sisters allocation ,we can do it cmon :flag:
Once we qualify for the Europa league group stages a season ticket will guarantee you a ticket, get it done hibs
Even with the factor of the seat release deadline pushing folk to renew before the end of March 10,000 plus by this stage is phenomenal.
Folk like me who started going to games in the mid 70s could never have imagined crowds of 17,000 against the likes of St Johnstone barely rating a mention, never mind a time when over 10,000 people would pay in advance to watch all of the club's league games, with the hope being to get to 14,000 and that not even being unrealistic.
Considering the likes of us Hearts, Aberdeen, Dundee Utd etc have even less chance of winning the league than we did back then, it's a real testament to the dedication and passion of Scotland's non glory hunting football fans that they are so willing to back and support their clubs, especially in an era where there are so many more entertainment choices and far far more live games on TV.
Yes we might have a pish league, yes the standard isn't the bloody EPL or La Liga .... but our dedication to it in spite of all that is something to be proud of IMO and if you ask me our sports media don't make enough of it.
It just shows the potential of the club, if we finish strong, we might not be far off 15k.
I think it's a great phenomenon and a reaction against the blandness of modern entertainment capitalism, whereby people want to be involved in their own community. One way they do this in increasing numbers is getting involved in their local clubs and rejecting the football tourist model of the glory hunter.
For Hibs, we potentially have the best of both worlds, with national and global appeal. Our location is a definite asset, Edinburgh still has weekend vibrancy as a city and Leith is by far the most happening district in Scotland, with it's variety of pubs, bars and eateries of all sorts. The only thing that limits us (in a way quite pleasingly as I'd hate us to become a tourist club) is playing in a smaller league in Scotland. When you at clubs like Bournemouth, it's not ridiculous to think of Hibs in a league like the EPL or a European League playing in a 60,000 dockland stadium.
But nah...this is just better.
I was lucky enough to watch hibs in the early 70s and beyond, I think many people would be surspised at the average crowds for games outwith the old firm, and hearts, nothing like what we get today.
The old firm, and hearts attendances, were much larger, but we only played them once a season.
My guess for 1972 average attendance would be about 12,000.
Brilliant effort by hibs fans this season .👍
Don't want to take the thread off on a tangent but I've never been able to understand why crowds weren't bigger in the Tornadoes era for example.
As you say, football was cheap then, and there were less options for entertainment on a Saturday. Hibs were quite simply a team of exceptional quality and banging in goals for fun (over a hundred in all competitions before christmas in 1972-73). We had a genuine and realistic chance of winning the league and going far in European competitions.
When crowds were big for the derby, rangers and celtic etc they were very big, but for run of the mill games most weeks only 10 -13k people could be bothered coming to watch this wonderful swashbuckling team.? Sometimes less than 10,000. I can't get my head around that.