They’re not doing enough to put the game to bed. It’s totally about possession with little or no desire to score. Keep the ball and the opposition can’t score. Quite boring in my opinion. Hope they get their comeuppance eventually.
Printable View
FT 2-1
another tough one up next for Albania on thursday v Croatia
Albania put a little pressure on towards the end but Italy should have put it together long before. Italian win was definitely best for Scotland in our hope of being a best 3rd place team. We really want every group winner and second place (outwith our own group if it’s not us) to win every game other than the game between 1st and 2nd.
Poland vs Netherlands should be a really good game. Prior to losing FDG and others I fancied Netherlands to go far
Then it's Slovenia vs Denmark before England kick off tonight vs Serbia
Even this early, it looks like Poland could do a Scotland here.
1-0 Poland. Think we’ve got a game on our hands here.
Called it 🤣
Yes for the Poles
Good game this so far .
Half Time 1-1
Dutch had plenty chances
BBC managing to find 2 minutes left at half time to chat about England.
well done Poland taking the game to the Dutch
2-1 Netherlands 83 mins super sub
Weghorst only on the park for 2 mins
Polish CH should have done better .
https://x.com/fbawaydays/status/1802...aY_rH0m4EYSRhg
England and Serbia fans clashing.
David Moyes speaks well imo .
Bbc doing a great job at keeping us informed on what's happening with England. Another update following on from a small segment at half time
In Germany does STV and bbc have Scottish coverage for our games
It's not English on this occasion, Albanians and Serbs.
https://www.standard.co.uk/news/worl...-b1164704.html
Back-to-back horrendous commentators. Total pish coverage today.
Controversial opinion incoming…but women commentators on the men’s game just isn’t for me.
I don’t think it’s a male / female thing but I loved the much maligned commentators we had from the 80s through to maybe the past 5-10 years.
Barry Davies, Motson, Martin Tyler, even the more peripheral ones were great.
Watching the game here, I don’t even know who she is - but she seems perfectly acceptable to me, not grinding my gears like the men so often do.
Slovenia have deserved that equaliser
Good thing about watching all this on Danish Telly is I have no idea what the commentators are saying! 😁
People are free to have that opinion if they like. I'm genuinely intrigued as to why you don't like it though?
Commentators are not ex professionals so they aren't paid for insight into the technical elements of the game. They are paid to commentate on what is happening on the pitch. The female commentators do that fine.
Is it just the sound of the female voice that annoys you?
I can understand to a certain degree the discussion around having female pundits in the studio as they haven't played the game at anywhere near the same standard or levels of pressure that guys like Keane, Neville ect. I can see the argument around the fact due to that they are unable to offer the same level of insight. That doesn't apply to commenting on a game though.
If it stays like this , Serbia could go top of the group tonight :greengrin
Wee Quiz here . Hopefully it works for most of you .
https://www.fourfourtwo.com/features...ers-since-2000
There is. Nobody should be criticised or withheld from a job based on gender or race however nor should these things make you immune from criticism.
In fairness the female commentator for the Denmark game was absolutely fine IMO. Didn’t add anything particularly insightful, but she was decent.
Eni Aluko however has been mentioned a few posts back and she is beyond terrible. It’s not sexist or racist to say so. She is just beyond terrible at her job.
That’s a more than decent looking England team, Southgate being bold. It will be a major shock if they don’t win this one tonight, looking forward to seeing how it plays out.
Lineker dressed for watching in the pub with the lads rather than fronting the BBC broadcast - You never saw Des Lynam in a battered old grey T-shirt for the big events..
Listen to the booing at the anthem. Disgrace
Fans of The Rangers surely now flooding Scotland-supporting social media to decry the English fans booing Serbian anthem. They get really upset about stuff like that.
Jordan Pickford looks like the wee boy from This Is England.
Expect England to win this with a bit to spare. Would like to see Serbia score first to make a game of it though.
That's one strong England team . Anyhow Cmon Serbia.
Quality goal
Well worked goal. Defender didn't put up much of a challenge
Evidence so far suggests an easy night ahead for England.
Oh well, might as well watch something else now rather than a routine England win.
Can talk about all their talent but that was just proper desire from Bellingham.
Bellingham is a knob
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
I’m quite indifferent to England’s success or otherwise. To be honest, I’ve never really ever ‘hated’ them but, like most folk, I get peed off with the media and fan hype, so if they don’t do the business, I’ll be smugly content. I think they are an excellent team and, for me, it’s satisfying to see good football being rewarded.
England are pissing about with it at the back and Sevia have had a couple of good chances. Not a foregone conclusion just yet.
I expect psycho Pickford to do something daft at some point!
Is sherear the most boring clown on commentary
England look a wee bit disjointed to me, no real fluency to what they are doing.
Will still be more than enough to beat this Serbia side but they'll need to improve (which I'm sure will happen) if they are serious about winning the whole thing. From the big guns both Spain and Germany have looked more cohesive so far.
Serbia remind me of the boring negative east European football from the seventies and eighties.
No ambition and even less skill.
Serbia been better last 5-10 minutes. They just need to stay in the game because England have got gears to go up in the final third.
He is full of himself tonight One of the reasons I don’t like watching England
There is an arrogance about commentators and pundits , which isn’t based on what they haven’t done in tournaments
Serbia are one of the poorer qualifiers ffs They ain’t World beaters
Yet they are only 1 0 up
Serbian wins the ball and gets clattered into by Bellingham who had lost the ball. Foul to England and yellow card for Serbian. Standard.