Yes, the anxious feelings were very much in evidence yesterday. I'm the same, I rarely drink these days, as I just can't deal with the after effects. Think it's just an age thing: it takes me far longer to recover.
Printable View
I’ve got a stag do this weekend in Amsterdam and I’m already feeling hungover at the thought of it. Barely had a drop of alcohol this year
Im starting to think a break is due again..Im never out for big sessions these days but most days for a couple of pints late afternoon, bit of craic with the old locals. But Im also noticing that Im planning my day around those couple of beers rather than fitting them in to the rest of my day. Its not all consuming but im engaging with thoughts about guinness more than is healthy..Ive had a long breaks before which were fine, the thought of whether id be able to manage were harder. I've a a few things on in june which would be better with a clear head so maybe try & get a run till then. First test this weekend with the mrs is away to London
Good on you OP. I go through phases of really wanting to pack it all in but extremely difficult as my social life is built around beers.
It’s my stag do this weekend so that’s going to be extremely heavy, after that I’m sure I’ll want to quit again but can’t see it happening!
Quite looking forward to the season finishing so I can lower the quantities of drink. Like others I rarely drink in the house, maybe a few cans for an FA Cup Final type day.
Every social aspect of my life seems to have pints involved though. Goto the fitba and its a few pints before and after, goto a gig and its a few pints before, during and after. Goto the snooker hall and its a few pints before, during and after.
Quite enjoy drinking myself 'cos I can quite easily have 3-4 then go home. Goto the boozer with pals though and i find it impossible to pull myself away if the pint and crack is good.
Never really one for drinking at all tbh but decided to give up entirely when we moved house. Most of my biggest regrets in life have come from how I behaved when drinking, and it was getting to the point where I didn't even like the feeling of being drunk any more let alone hangovers.
Don't miss it one bit and have never felt inclined to start again. The fact that my partner is near-teetotal helps too.
Scotland has an unhealthy relationship with alcohol. The current SG tried to address it with minimum pricing policies but I don’t know if that has impacted on anyone or whether it just raises more taxes. It’s definitely cultural- drinking to be seen as sociable is a factor. Folk feeling you can only have a good time when pished. I’ve even heard folk pressuring their kids over not wanting to drink because the parent was worried that the kid was weird or not going to fit in.
Id say I’m an occasional drinker - the odd drink if out for a special occasion or at an event but it’s never the main aspect of any occasion and I just don’t feel any need to drink in the house. Quite relaxed with that situation and never get into a situation where I have any hangover days or lose control of what’s going on by being totally pished.
Has anyone been influenced by the minimum pricing strategy?
I had my stag do in Newcastle a few weeks back.
1st beer was cracked open before 10am on the train on the Friday and last one was in my neighbours garden at 11.30 on the Sunday night. The physical hangover was ok. Felt rough but it was bearable. Mentally I was an anxious wreck for about a week.
My wedding is this weekend then I'm away next weekend to Cambridge and Newmarket. After that I won't be touching a drop until after my planned October marathon.
Minimum pricing has been shown not to work, people just spend more on drink.
Thankfully each year a smaller percentage of young people drink. Coffee shops have replaced the pubs that are closing. The old boys at my work that talk about the days when most guys would go to the boozer after work, seems alien to us
I think the biggest change when it comes to drinking habits is the increasing tightening of drink driving laws over the years. People just can't take the chance anymore as even 1 pint could push you over the limit.
Even 10 years ago I was working in a hotel that had a band of regulars who would happily knock back 3 pints of Belhaven Best then jump in their cars to drive home.
Same goes for health and safety. There are guys in the warehouse at my work who have been around for 30 years. They talk about how they used to go to the pub every lunchtime for a toastie, a game of darts and 2 pints then jump back on their forklifts in the afternoon. That would be dismissal for gross misconduct these days.
There was a regular team of up to four managers at a place I worked in the 90s/2000s who would walk around to the pub every single lunchtime and knock back five pints in the hour. They'd come back nasty drunk too. Amazing how these sort of folks got away with it for so many years.
Remember too the local binmen who would clock on early and literally run around their route with the lorry to get doen as quickly as possible. You'd see them in pub by 11am for the duration.
It has really killed the takings of a lot of golf club bars too - the days of having one pint after your round before driving home are long gone.
I’m from a generation where drink driving has always been a taboo. Interesting how that changed over the space of a decade or so. I drove straight to a garden party from Hampden on Saturday and the hostess is probably 10-15 years old than me. I was immediately given a glass of white wine which I probably drank about a third of over the course of two hours. She seemed very surprised that I wasn’t going to finish it before leaving!
My wife and I started doing 2 nights a week only. Any two nights, but only two.
It's really helped us cut back on the amount we drink week to week.
We do have certain circumstances where this gets kicked though, COVID a few weeks ago was a 10 day session from which I've only just recovered!
Living in Corstorphine is a good way to cut down on drink.
All the pubs are horrible. The Roseburn Bar is the nearest decent boozer.
Don't ask how, but a bottle of Buckfast ended up in our house last night. Thought I'd see what all the fuss was about so I had a glass.
Honestly, just no. The worst stuff I have tasted in my life. That one glass has given me a headache that lasted hours. If you want to give up the drink, just have some of that it'll put you off for life.
I had my last drink on January 4th 2020. Haven’t missed it one bit.
It's hardly a secret but the impact on the waist line is as good a reason as any to moderate the bevvy.
For the best part of the last 3 weeks I've had a near constant excuse to drink. Last day of work before my wedding, night before my wedding, wedding day, day after my wedding, still off work so may as well have a pint, night before a city break, city break, got the blues because I'm home and back to work tomorrow, don't have the bairn at the football so can walk rather than driving etc etc.
The issue is threefold really. The increased calorie intake through drinking, the bad eating that can go hand in hand with that and the decreased motivation to get out and exercise. Combine the 3 and I've managed a weight gain of 8lbs/3kg in just under 3 weeks. I feel bloated, I look like **** and you can feel that tightness in clothes that used to fit perfectly.
As others have said, non or low alcohol beers are significantly better than they once were. I actually quite like Heineken 0.0.
The best alcohol free beer, though, is good old fashioned Crabbie's ginger beer IMHO because it actually provides what others lack - a wee bit of a kick thanks to the ginger element. Served super chilled it's a great summer drink.
Yep, the brewers tapped into that and invested heavily in crafting low and no alcohol beers that are actually pleasant to drink. They'd have been mad not to.
They're also good for less youthful drinkers like myself who enjoy a beer ahead of a juice when looking for something non alcoholic.
Inpossibrew beer us pretty good. They are the company who went on Dragons Den recently.
It's alcohol free but has nootropics in it so it gives you a weird sort of buzz. I thought it would be a gimmick but I did genuinely feel quite chilled after drinking 1 or 2 of them.
I'd have ordered more but they are quite expensive.
Not giving up the Don Revie, but cutting down a bit. Have swapped out lager for Radlers (Amstel is my personal favourite but Brewdog do a good one) whilst have a few at the weekend in front of the telly. Was a god send in the hot weather recently as well
I’d never been into the alcohol free beers (I’d assumed they were all pish) but had a couple after a game of golf a few years ago and was surprised how good they were.
That’s the ideal scenario for them, really - got the car but really feel like you want a beer.
I don’t have it often but will happily do so from time to time.
When the hangovers bite that bit harder as you get older they make more sense too.
I like the Erdinger Alcohol free beer, often have it if meeting for lunch before I start work.
Yes Erdinger Alcohol free is nice. So is the Brewdog one.
I’m also cutting back on the drink, and we’ve got a new soda stream machine. Bottle up plenty of sparkling water from tap water and drinking cordial with it. Nice elderflower or ginger beer with ice. Reduces plastic waste and £ as well because you’re not buying sparkling water all the time.
Moretti zero is really quite nice. It’s good to have viable options rather than the days of Becks blue being about the only option particularly as it wasn’t ever great.
Beck's Blue was definitely one of the poorest early efforts in the 'moderation' category. I remember Hibs being in a cup semi at Hampden around the time one of my kids was due to be born so I was off the drink in case I needed to drive back home. While the rest of our group were knocking back the pre-match pints I was having a Becks Blue with each round. Gave up after a couple.
When I go out for a session I tend to drink quickly and just don't stop till the night ends or I feel like I'm getting too drunk. I might switch to a non alcoholic pint every few rounds rather than skipping the round. Feels as if I'm still drinking but don't get any more drunk
Some people like the taste of lager ipa gin whatever, but don't want to drink for whatever reason. They are becoming a big market and wouldn't be if people didn't like the taste. On the flight I mentioned drink was included, I could have chosen others but liked the Heineken 0% when I tried it.
The NHS will be thankful for the more and more people choosing not to drink
They're not pretending to be alcohol. That's the point. A beer doesn't need to have alcohol in it to be a beer.
The low or no alcohol beers and gins etc on the market these days are brewed and crafted with the intention of providing punters with a quality beverage. I'm not so sold on the spirits but many of the beers are good. Certainly not snake oil.
Bbc foods Best non alcohol beers 2022
https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/review/b...alcoholic-beer
Does anywhere in Edinburgh do a decent alcohol free on tap?
Vaguely remember this thread so looked. After 2 weeks of battering it far too hard on holiday I'm going to try and have a decent spell on the wagon and hopefully smash the gym until my body is one again. Hopefully a few months. How's the non alch beers looking in the years since this thread. Might try some at the weekend
Guinness 0 is good. The only non alcoholic beer I've tried that I really like; it almost tastes like the real thing and it has the right texture and body to it which is the biggest issue I have with most non alcoholic lagers.
I'm still largely in the 'would rather just have a coke' camp but now and then I'd take a Guinness 0.
Guinness 0% is excellent as is William Bros Joker IPA and Augusta’s Lager. As is Brewdog Wingman I PA
Brew Dog Wingman session IPA, Punk IPA and Hazy Jane are also favourites of mine.
Estrella Dam, San Miguel and Peroni all decent too.
All about what you like tbh but anything by Days in my opinion anyway tastes terrible.
Good luck btw and I hope you find something you like.
Amazing cheers I'll defo try the Guinness as I've seen it on draft a few places and I've realised my plan will overlap hibs in the Qualifiers but then again last time I was off it most bars had a decent selection of NA. Will try a few of the above also and report back, thanks
Cheers. Was on a huge family holiday with dozens and it was full on but post it i feel pretty ashamed at how much of the bairns time was around drink and how little I spent with my wee one. Got me thinking to Sundays when I can't be bothered doing much else but watching a film with her, because I've been out the Saturday. They are only wee once and I guess no one has ever said i really wish I drank more last weekend, but the will say i wish I done more.
See how it goes
Look out for Lucky Saint. They do a lager (blue can) and an IPA (orange can). The lager also comes in bottles. Not sure if they've rolled it out on draught yet. Probably the first no/low alcohol beer I've found that is a genuine pleasure to drink and you don't feel you're compromising. They only brew low alcohol beers, so I think they have an advantage over the big brewers who are trying to replicate their core brands in non-alcoholic form.
Of the big brands I'd say Guinness 0.0 is very good. Heineken 0.0 is also okay.