Aye, Neilsons record when ''he will have his team right up for it'' is excellent in the past :faf:
Will be a tough game but we are the better side.
Printable View
I'll be happy as long as we get through any tie, however we do it (with the possible exception of times when our fixtures our piling up and replays lead to us playing games we could really do without having).
I don't think we're so "big" that we can say that we wouldn't be remotely content with a draw. I'd strongly fancy us against United at Easter Road, a tie for us away to flying leaders of the Championship will always have something of the banana skin about it, whoever that team happens to be.
Doidge isn't as bad as some make out, but is nowhere near as good as others want you to believe.
Shankland has been a better signing for Dundee Utd than Doidge has been for us.
Fair comment although Doidgey will hopefully prove it to be wrong come Friday.
A lot of tosh being written about an away draw being a poor result from some people with very poor memories. A certain team from the Championship knocked out all comers on the way to Cup victory only a few seasons back - and they were not on anything like the run of form the Arabs find themselves on at the moment IIRC. Any result that keeps us in the cup will be a good one.
Various rumours in the papers say both Celtc and QPR are scouting Shankland.
I don’t think they are scouting Doidge.
Of course the players and the manager will go into the game with the certain belief that they have the ability to win - but they won't go into it disrespecting their opponents by thinking it'll be a walkover - an attitude which is often a recipe for disaster.
I'm sure they will be realistic in their assessment - ie they are perfectly capable of winning the game at Tannadice but giving anything less than 100% will leave them wide open to being knocked out by very capable opponents who are in winning form. Hibs will be striving to win but will also know perfectly well that taking United back to Easter Road will be anything but a disaster - a better result for us than it would be for them certainly.
Realistically who’ve Dundee Utd actually faced this season that’s been a big challenge? No-one really. There’s not been any other strong challengers in the league for them this season either
I’ll hold my hands up and say they’re a decent side if they knock us out but from the times I’ve seen them this season, limited mind you, they’ve not looked anything special
It's good that Doidge found a bit of goal scoring form after a fairly quiet start, and hopefully he can do something similar in the second half of the season.
However, even the most blinkered and ridiculous of hibs.net posters would do well to play down how good Shankland has been for Utd.
In my opinion this isn't even close to debate-worthy (but that is only my opinion and it has reached a few pages already :greengrin).
I would love to have Lawrence Shankland in the Hibs team. And I'd give (one of) most of our players to have him. Absolutely no question.
Having said that - I hope he has an absolute shocker next weekend, and any Doidge voters are feeding me humble pie.
Part of the reason maybe, but I think having 50k fans a week might have a lot to do with it.
I find it strange that nobody took a punt on Shankland, but maybe it is one of those cases where fitba folk actually do know what's going on.
Maybe the guy is too slow,or lacking the brains to play at the top level. Simon Murray has a successful spell at United, but went past his level when he went to Hibs.
It wasn’t that hard to see my point, was it?
If so, I will try again: Scottish champions and an English championship club seem to have Shankland on their watch list. I am not aware that clubs of a similar calibre are scouting our number 9.
Given that attracting transfer fees for our talent is a key factor for success, at the moment it would suggest that Shankland is a hotter property than Doidge and therefore a better signing.
If this still isn’t pedantic enough for you, I am sure you will let me know.
Its a championship team in name, but in the circumstances I recon them away is the one every spl team would be happy to avoid, as that's who we have got, for me I would be over the moon with a win and not at all disappointed if its a draw, its not going to be a walk in the park
I hope we'll give our own players at least as much support as we give the Dundee United ones on Sunday.
Shankland defo, look at his goals, the boy is a natural finisher. I love big Doidge though and hope he keeps scoring for us!
Can safely say I've never seen Shankland play. Looking forward to it on Sunday though, expecting quite the show going by some of the comments on here.
Or, alternatively most of us could say that we have never seen Shankland play - and while its clear the laddie knows where the goals are, all of his goals have been against lower league dross whereas Doidge has only ever scored in the top division in Scotland.
More balanced?
Pretty silly comment to make, you know that every Hibs fan up at Tannadice will be roaring on the team from the first minute.
If Doidge plays a blinder on Saturday and Shankland is anonymous then there won’t be anyone disappointed. However I’m with the majority and think that Shankland is the better of the two.
Shankland
Shankland would have converted more of the opportunities Big Doidge has had for us St Mirren home and Aberdeen away immediately spring to mind
As others have said Doidge is starting to grow on me and perhaps offers more from a team point of view
I was surprised at the amount of goals Doidge has actually scored albeit in lower leagues 117 from 298 appearances
Shankland 126 from 247
All League games only
I am assuming this is a joke from the OP. Doidge is terrible. Shankland is a Scotland internationalist
In season 2018 - 2019, Kevin Nisbet scored 29 goals for Raith Rovers, in 34 appearances. Lawrence Shankland scored 25 goals in 33 appearances for Ayr United. I think both teams were in the same league.
This season Nisbet has scored 15 goals in 19 appearances for Dunfermline, and Lawrence Shankland has scored 22 goals in 19 appearances for Dundee United, both teams are in the same league. That doesn't tie with Shankland even being the best in his division - when you consider that Nisbet actually scored more than him last season.
Shankland is playing in a winning team, which creates chances for him to score. Nisbet is not, but he isn't that far away.
Is it possible that we are over rating Shankland, and failing to allow for the level he is playing at? I think it is an absolute nonsense to compare him to Doidge, as he has not played at the same level as Doidge.
The fact that not one SPFL team went for either is not a reflection on Hibs, any more than it is on anybody else. I suspect that people who know how to assess a player can see weaknesses in both that suggest they will not make it in the SPFL.
Jason Cummings looked great in the Championship as well. Struggled to make the step up
Hopefully this Shankland chat can be put to bed after Sunday
So it was Championed on here......and? There are dozens of players mentioned on here, folk suggesting we sign them, funny you never hear the ones that didnt work out elsewhere being cast up? Shankland may turn out to be a fantastic SPL player, or in England, but its telling that no one in the SPL or England didnt rate him enough to sign him last season. What that reason is ive no idea.
Which will be fine if he goes on to prove it at our level or beyond, until then no one can say ‘I told you so’. Hypothetical speaking we could just have easily spent the £5k per week on him, with the massive signing in fee, for him to flop at this level, and our fans go nuts because we spent that money on someone so unproven.
Comparing him with Cummings, at least Jason regularly done it vs the top teams in the country in cup ties, Shankland hasn’t even done that yet.
I’m in no way saying he won’t do those things, but I’m not going to lose my **** at our club for not signing him given then numbers involved.
There’s no need for the told you so, I’m more gutted we missed the boat.
Shankland will make the grade. I’m not sure why we can’t just admit Dundee Utd have a player on their hands? It’s not a criticism of Hibs. It’s like ignoring how ***** Aberdeen was for two decades before McInness took over and fall over themselves to explain why he’s not done that good a job up there when he’s been outstanding for them.
Mind after the derby when the vast majority of us thought Doidge was MOTM? Guess that's all been forgotten now we have another opportunity to fawn all over a player who doesn't play for us and never will.
In what sense is this comparable?
Different leagues for a start. Cummings scored for fun in the championship, dont recall him doing much at Rangers? Different levels completely.
Utd are basically the Celtic of the championship budgets wise, we are 5th in the premiership in that respect.
Utd have by far the best squad/players in the championship, which has been built up over 2 or 3 seasons, we had a poor summer transfer window & took 3 months to really get going.
As for Shankland being a "free" transfer, rumours he got a £250k signing on fee & £5k a week wages, plus bonuses, would suggest its not a cheap deal, its a deal to get them promoted then sell him to recover costs. Its desperate on their part.
Of course Shankland looks the better if you look at the top line stats. Dig a little deeper & they arent even close to being comaparable. Doidge is on course to get 15-20 goals this season in the league, something only Griffiths has done in recent years in the premiership & a very good return for a striker at Hibs. Not bad for a team that were toiling badly until October.
A shame that some Hibs fans seem to be using the success of someone else's player as an excuse to put the boot into one of our own. You get the sense that some people had already made their mind up about Doidge, and just cant give him any credit even when he is playing well / scoring goals.
re why no one else seemed to go for Shankland, who knows. Why did no one else seem interested in McGinn when we signed him? Sure he was almost off to America. These things just happen sometimes.
He was at Ayr Utd, I doubt Celtc or Rangers would have been interested him at the time, even when he was under contract at Ayr, was it McCall who was manager and saying it would take silly money for Ayr to sell or he wasn't for sale at any price, Lennon was interested in him but maybe wages or fee at the time scared us off.
Big doidge is the main man no iffs no buts.
Lets see how wee hamshanks handles his stuff on sunday.
But big doidge is a hero in my book f#!= the haters 2020 year of the doidge!! 💚💚💚💚
He might make the grade. Anyone who watched Jason Cummings in the championship (and scoring against the top sides in the country in the biggest of games) would have been adamant he’d make the grade, he never. I’m neither here nor there with Shankland, but there’s a massive question mark over his head until he does.
The part about it not being a criticism of hibs may be true from your POV, however there is at least a couple on this thread lambasting the club for not signing him, and probably making him our highest paid player of the last decade and a half, I can certainly understand why we wouldn’t take such a risk.
Worth remembering whilst at Rangers Cummings played out wide of a front 3.
He would score a lot in this league playing up top
We couldn’t afford shanklands wages. I remember just after he signed for Dundee Utd there was a story in the paper which said he was on a wage no one outside the old firm could match.
Nisbet of Dunfermline is scoring at very similar rate to Shankland. JC (all he does is score!!) also scored loads for Hibs in the Championship and moved last summer We can't look back and have placed our money on Doidge so let's hope CD was the right call 🙂
I'm sure your comment is in jest - but it's exactly this that sets him a good bit ahead of Cummings for me. He doesn't just score goals, his first touch, laying-off, football brain, movement and all-round game looks very, very good when you watch him. He also scores all types of goals, including with his heid.
I reiterate though - here's hoping he is p1sh at all of the above on Sunday :greengrin
My remark “all he does is score goals” was a jest often aimed on this site at that brilliant striker Jamie Maclaren. :greengrin
I am sorry but I do not see and have never noticed that side to Shanklands game that you describe be it for Ayr, Dundee Utd or Scotland
To me he is an out and out goalscorer and is the master of being in the right position at the right time
Once again it begs the question if that is the case why was he not picked up by bigger clubs sooner?
I remember his perfect hatrick for Ayr United versus United
When his side is under the cosh you never see or notice him as per the recent 1-1 versus Dundee
Yes he is a brilliant finisher scoring all sorts of goals and hopefully we can keep him quiet on Sunday
I would like to see us go for Kevin Nisbet of Dunfermline
He had a perfect hat-trick for United last weekend too.
You're right, he was quiet in what was a poor Dundee derby recently, as were a few other of United's important players.
I wouldn't expect him to be that well noticed when his team are "under the cosh" though. He's a centre forward! His link-up doesn't get talked about a lot because the majority of people just see his name pop-up on sky sports news on Saturday afternoon.
If you get bored of the game on Sunday :greengrin Watch him for a while, the boy is a player with good game intelligence and movement. (often why he ends up in the right place at the right time).
I’m not going to forage through ten pages, but I’m sure the point was made that our management were remiss in not going for Shankland. Maybe they did, but decided that there was a limit to what they were willing to pay for a prolific scorer but one, unproven at the top level. I’m fairly certain we would not have been the only ones. D Utd. were clearly willing to push the boat out in an attempt to get back to the top division and probably gave Ayr and Shankland offers they couldn’t refuse.
I think there's ten pages of argument about whether they missed a trick, or not. Some people think they did, others think the didn't. The strongest argument against signing him is that he is unproven at the top level.
As well as that, other players have shown up well in the lower leagues, but can't cut it at the top (Cummings), and he isn't the only one banging in the goals down there (Nisbet).
The fact that nobody else was prepared to pay the money for him suggests that people who know the game have seen something that tells them he's not worth breaking the bank for.
Still Doidge for me[emoji6]
Go on Doigdy!
Doidge 1-0
Has Shankland even touched the ball yet??
Lovely finish to a well worked team goal. Started with a very quick throw from Rocky 👏🏻
Shankland catching up...
:duck:
Shankland is a pound shop Billy Pirie. Fail.
Shankland is a decent player and I've said before I think he will go to play at a higher level than he is but he done nothing today, his goal came from crap defending but on the other hand he still had to take the touch then finish, still reckon doidge is the better player
Neither player got decent service today, but if he hadn’t been rugby tackled then missed the chance at the end I could have been excused for thinking Doidge had been subbed at HT.
Shankland got one chance today and took it. He’s playing in a poorer team but he’s clearly a better player than Doidge.
Shankland touched the ball once, very poor honestly. Doidge and Kamberi both better.