I recorded it and watched it this morning, to see if it was as bad as folk said. First time for many years. Tony Roper was the real star of the show long ago.
Printable View
Just finishid watching it, utter ****** never raised one laugh, struggling if you can’t even get an impersonation to at least sound like Gerrard.
Just skimmed through it on catch up. Absolutely brutal it's not even really about the football anymore. Outdated and needs binned
Watched Jules Holland instead. Really good. The Hogmanay stuff is brutal
The whole 'Scottish New Year' thing on TV is in dire need of a shake-up - it's 2020 ffs !. We have top-class, modern-day comedians/musicians etc that could/should be used so why are we still having to endure the likes of Jackie Bird's 'probably recorded in Summer' crap ??
I am not sure if JB was actually on?
The shows I saw were hosted by Susan Calman (glasgow, I think), Des Clark did the entire Edinburgh / Mark Ronson / Fireworks thing, and they had someone up in Stonehaven for the fire flinging thingy.
I didnt see JB......thankfully
I did my bit for TV entertainment and didn't watch it.
Let's be brutally honest, the so called hogmanay thing is well past it's sell by date, I would guess there are fewer & fewer people who remember new year house parties first footing the neighbours right after the bells etc.
What you have now is aTV producers idea of a Scottish New Year.
Before the bells BBC Scotland had boring old Travis Why Does It Always Rain On Me and a couch with some bearded men and a woman on it. After the bells we had some drippy female called Julie Fowlis with the depressives version of Auld Lang Syne. It got faster to be fair.
2020 can only improve!
I thought both only an excuse and the presenting and guests all decent last night for a wee change. Even found the presenter funny.
I'm surprised that anyone watches OAE. It's not as if they don't know what's coming. It must be 15 years since I last saw it, maybe more. I stopped watching because it utter cack. But just when you thought it was safe to back into the water, last night I had to endure about 15 minutes of Susan Calman either side of the bells. Dear Lord! What sins did we commit to have this visited upon us?
Utter garbage, really is cringeworthy stuff......
It’s genuinely embarrassing. How on earth does this muck get commissioned? 🤦🏽*♂️😂 All the folk saying ‘if it’s rubbish don’t watch it’ - It’s that bad you can’t stop watching it. Johnathon Watson is genuinely as funny as watching us getting beat in a derby, he must surely realise how toaly he is. Winds me up our tele license fee goes towards crap like that.
Not seen it yet so can’t pass opinion on this years effort yet, but the show must score quite high viewing figures. It’s a bit like Mrs Browns Boys - I don’t know anyone who likes it (or rather admits to liking it..) but it is one of the most watched programmes on TV.
Seems to be less and less actual football gags (or indeed gags!) year on year. The Greta sketch at the start and the peloton one at the end did raise a chuckle though. Think it peaked in 1993/4 with the World Cup special.
To echo the comments of someone on the Bounce, I know it’s gonna be pish but watch it anyway as a kind of self flagellation.
It is on once for 30mins per year and will cost very little to make that is how it gets a gig.
I'm surprised some people say only an excuse is absolute pish
It's not even that good, should have been canned years ago
It’s poor and has been for many years. But I think people go over the top because it was once good.
It’s no worse than the majority of pish that gets screened these days.
E.g. is/was ‘Gavin and Stacey’ always as unfunny as it’s Christmas special this year? Because I watched (the start of) it this year and I’ll take Watson repeating his nonsense any day of the week before that.
After all the derogatory remarks, I watched OAE on catch-up, and thought it was very Good (4 stars) especially the pisstaking of our very own airhead/dickhead (delete as appropriate) SNP chappy.
I thought most of the laughs came from the Non-fitba bits, apart from the Polis celebrations, which was funny.
Maybe its an age thing, and its only one programme a year, which has this "fanzine type" approach to the Scottish Game,
It would be better with a full series!!!!! BBC (glasgow) take note:wink::wink::wink::wink:.
Happy New Year to Hibbies everywhere.
Aye, but what was with the faux shock and horror from Lorraine Kelly (and her unknown toy-boy sidekick) when looking back at one of his parliamo Burzeye ads "oh my god he's blacked up"?
Put on PC-ness for the camera.
Director "we 're going to show this clip from near 50 years ago of Stanley Baxter playing an Asian but to get away with it you are going to have to look shocked and say how terrible it was that he was blacked up."
She is old enough to know that was common-place back then. And at the time, when it would be highly highly unusual to hear an Asian person speaking broad Weegie, it was actually quite funny to see/hear an Asian character parliamo Burzeye.
The ads programme that proceeded OAE showed, along with excellent input from Stuart Cosgrove and others, how Scottish society has evolved over the years. Becomming more self confidence, diverse and forward thinking in our attitudes.
Only an Excuse seemes to be trapped in a bygone era where with every passing year it becomes less and less relevant to 21st century Scottish thinking.
There has obviously been a conscious decision to try and take a different course in recent times with more and more political references but when it's delivered in the exact same ignorant and humourless manner then it makes no difference.
This could have been lifted from Follow Follow!
Watson is clearly a typical hun in his political thinking as there is a definite nastiness in his Nicola Sturgeon pieces from previous years and an undertone of 'Snp bad'.
I'm sure he talked about being a Tory supporter when he was a youngster in the Glasgow arts/drama scene of the late 80s. This was a time when Glasgow was nearly universally opposed to Thatcher and her policies.
He had ample opportunity to rip the pi sh out of Ruth Davidson to balance things up but no just continually stuck the boot into Sturgeon. Imagine if he only ever parodied and mocked Celtic and you get the picture.
I didn't last long with it, saw the Brendan Rodgers sketch, took me a few moments to figure out who it was meant to be, then got halfway through the Greta Thunberg sketch and thought that if the best they can do is laugh at someone trying to do some good for the world, with a "haha she's vegan so let's make a joke about eating meat, and she's anti-flying, so let's joke about having flights", then the rest wasn't worth watching.
Cheap laughs, badly done.
I suppose that the Hogmany telly has a bit of nostalgia thrown in to it, but nostalgic for what? OEA is being drawn out like Scotch and Wry, and maybe showing a classic episode of that show would fill the same role. If you have all year to write the show then every gag has to be a winner, but as football is moving week by week, it is impossible to keep it fresh and re-hashing stereotypes becomes the material. Being set up to fail perhaps.
She took that in good spirits.
I think Val McDermid made a good point when talking about the transgender Irn Bru advert. She said people need to feel able to call out things that are offensive or inapporpriate but it's also important to remember it's OK to make and take a joke. As an outspoken member of the LGBT+ community she's probably worth listening to on such an issue.
Stanley Baxter parading about pretending to be Asian wouldn't get on TV now and rightly so. However it happened, it was of it's time and people shouldn't lose sight of that. It should possible to look back on it with an element of nostalgia, recognise it's place in comedic history and not be called racist for doing so. Equally there has to be a recognition it's not a joke that should be made nowadays.
I saw the Thunberg sketch online on a BBC Scotland FB post. Painful.
If that was a highlight going by some commentators on here... :Ummm:
Off topic but I thought the Susan Calman Hogmanay Show attempt was dire although they did spend a good wee while on the fireworks from Edinburgh
They've never successfully replaced Rikki Fulton at New Year. I realise that some of his shows were a bit repetitive but they were mostly genuinely funny.
Is it maybe time they started looking outside the Glasgow/West of Scotland bubble?
Saying things in a Glasgow accent, contrary to opinion at the BBC, is not automatically funny *
* For instance, during my first visit ever to Glasgow as a Hibs Fan, "who you lookin at ya wee fenian Basturt". Surprisingly, I didn't actually burst out laughing...
So, an Auld dyed in the wool Hibby like me, is compared to the Huns,!!!!!! because I like to see our MPs getting the pish ripped out of them:wink::wink::wink:. Aye OK then!:na na::na na::na na:
Bye the way i dislike, nay detest, all Politicians, of every persuasion. But the SNP mostest of all:wink::wink:.
Usually like Susan Calman tae but did not like the anti Edinburgh salt n sauce thing the lack of atmosphere the lack of comedy and the stupid wee quizzes and asking people what their New Year resolutions were in November all a futile attempt to pass time until the bells although the bands were good
Other than watching until the twentieth minute and giving up I’ve not really watched any telly since moving house last May.
My mind is all the better for it and I don’t waste time at work with “did you see?” Conversations
OAE was as dreadful as ever and the actors can only try their best with a dire script. Time for it to stop topping up Jonathan Watson’s pension pot. It’s finished and has been for years
I’m glad I read, play darts, and generally find better things to do with my time!
Oh and follow the Hibs too of course
Just watched it on iplayer, jeesus christ that was painful to watch, never laughed once. :rolleyes:
Frankie Boyle's World Order 2019 was shown on the 30th December and was very funny.
Easily blew away all the New Years Eve offerings which I avoided like the plague.
Catch it on the iplayer. P,S. Jamali Maddix was very good on it.
Brooker hosted an episode of "Have I Got More News For You" recently.
Always watch the extended version rather than the edited one which has all the life sucked out of it.
Watched TV Wipe when it was on. Needless to say my wife wasn't amused by it. Doesnae like fitba either. Funny that :wink:.
OAE always has its moments and it was brave this year to take a dig at the holier than thou climate change "brat" but fundamentally Watson can't get away from the fact that his excellent Souness, Chic "Chico" Young, "The Lawman" and "Where's the Burds" belong in a bygone age so his base material is now long gone.
He just cant do Gerrard, Lennon,Rodgers or Steve Clarke and his political British Unionist credentials are so transparent and not saved by the very poor scripts.
Yep.
There's a real nastiness whenever Greta is mentioned both in real life conversation and online. I'm not sure what it is that some people find so threatening about a young lady with principles. I suppose when the President of the USA sees fit to mock her illness, looks and personality she's fair game to everyone.
I don't think the sketch particularly mocked Greta, it was a comment on the different attitude to climate change between generations. Something that is continually highlighted by the climate change campaigners.
It is appalling that people like Trump and the unreconstructed use such base tactics to attack her. I find it equally distasteful that people throw up their hands that a young autistic girl is being attacked.
If she is that vulnerable, why are we letting her be a target? The fact is she is a wonderful human with good points and bad, she deserves all the credit for the good things she does.
She also has the result to mess up. So, if some parents see the humour in having to live with a bossy teenager in the house , that's the way it is.
Her dad (her real dad, not Jonathan Watson) actually said he's not to bothered about her campaigning, because she is at least living like a normal teenager, compared to her limited activity before.
In years to come, the Greta sketch will end up in the same bin as Stanley Baxter blacking up. At the moment, it is still edgy, highlighting a tension between generations.
I think there's a significant difference between anticipating danger and being aware of the risks of the campaigning that she's embarked on. It's likely that her parents (at least) will have discussed the implications and impact on her, so yes, it is bravery.
It's not the same as stepping out onto the road without looking.
I don't know if it is or not. I don't know her. I do know it is very hard to convince someone with AS to change their thinking, so I think it's a bit trite to speculate.
Who knows, there may be a comedy sketch there - about parents not being understood by tfeyr children, and vice versa.
I think she is a good person who is being used by people with agendas. I think she would be very confused if she found that out.
Just for clarity I don't regard the Scandinavian girl as a "brat'.
It was the President of Brazil who made the remark emboldened no doubt by Trumps cavalier attitude to climate change.
I haven't seen many other comedy forms attempt
to satarise the subject or the characters so if Trump is fair game (and he is) then same goes for the other side of the equation.
You're repeating a tired cliche that gets used to beat people when nothing else sticks; invent a shadowy mystery man or men behind an imaginary curtain that are manipulating people and events.
Greta has explained who her support group is and why she uses it, to get her message across more effectively. But its not about truth, it's just new sticks to beat her with. I think the fact that the 'brat' word gets so easily inserted into the discussion is testament to the smear campaign. Probably funded by the same people that fund election campaigns.
It's gone all holy ground now...
slightly o/t but made me laugh a lot more than oae (ie. at all) ...
https://i2-prod.edinburghlive.co.uk/...j7fr9l2741.png
On the bright side, it's 363 days till the next episode is aired
Classic off-on-a-tangent thread.
From slagging OAE to education on asperger's.
Mind you yon Greetin' Thunderbird is nothing compared to the bloke on BBC News y'day who refuses to take the bus cos they kill insects.
I don't dispute a smear campaign, and for men of my age to be making fun of her says more about their own feelings of impotence than anything else. Calling her a brat was disgusting.
This girl is being used by proponents of renewable energy, glass bottle manufacturers, and others, to sell their products. I don't think the likes of SSE, are that shadowy, in fact they tend to make a big play on their green credentials in corporate reports.
As it happens, I have no objection to renewable energy, or recycling materials. I could learn to live without animal products. What bothers me is that humour and humanity are getting removed from the discourse.
There are shades of Salem at play, in that we have to accept what the accuser alleges as truth, or we're part of the problem. It's a path that humans have repeatedly gone down and it leads to torture and intolerance.
What concerns me is that policy is being dictated by people who have not lived long enough to understand how to present an evidence based argument. Their ignorance of that makes them susceptible to joining mobs and having their views manipulated by more experienced operators.
In fact, they are probably funded by the same people who fund election campaigns.
Then there are the well meaning people who invest all their hopes and fears into Greta as a person. It's not enough for her to be an effective and relevant campaigner. She needs other qualities to put her beyond question.
So, she is brave, has Asperger's, is young, and is the target of beastly people. I wish I knew my Bible well enough to say how many "blesseds that makes." She is a human with what seems like high intelligence, but also with some of the naivety and anger of the young.
I think she is being used every time someone puts words in her mouth, or interprets what are is thinking, or what her motivation is. In fact, the more I look at this the parallels with Life of Brian come to light.
I say that people use that, because it is a long established tactic that to break rules, you use people who don't understand the rules. In much the same way that the first troops ashore in Normandy were all under 20 - not nature to understand mortality, and ready to do what older people would fear.
Back to the sketch. I don't think it was cruel, it was relevant, and it was hard to see whether the joke was on Greta, her parents, or us all
Squashed insects, windscreen. Now That's What I Call a Smear campaign.
Can you show us the links where we can see how these proponents of renewables are using her. Also to links where others are putting words in her mouth? I'd just be interested to see that as I find her hugely inspirational as does my 12 year old daughter who also has a disability. She really has advanced the cause of the environment and it's a pity that someone like her hadn't come along twenty years ago. Hopefully the young people of today inspired by her will be able to reverse the selfish attitude of most of the worlds political and industrial leaders. Once again the few have benefited greatly from the sacrifice of the many on the planet.
What age do you think people should be allowed to start working on policies? What about Donald Trump, 70 years old and making policy decisions on stuff he clearly has no ****ing clue about?
And I never watched OAE but I have it on good authority (my 76 year old mum) that it was pish
Nah, I was really commenting on whether the sketch was appropriate. I'm sure if you Google "secret corporate links to climate protestors" they will have made them public. I was sharing my thoughts, not what I know.
I too am close to disability, I don't see Asperger's as a disability. It is just a different way of thinking which can have positives and negatives for the person. In the same way that every one of our personalities can.
People with disabilities should have equal rights to us all, including the right to be criticised and corrected. Her AS should have nothing to do with this.
Of course there is no minimum age for forming opinions, but in an evidence based world, they should come from verifiable sources - how many of the school kids would understand concepts such as peer reviewed or double blind evidence?
Your mum was right OAE was pish, as usual.
Edit: PS I can't do smilies on my phone, and my post needs one or two. Bottom line for me was the sketch was ok.
Let us return to our sheep!
I quite liked it. Not the best but good few laughs.
Humour is such a difficult area these days.
https://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/tv/news/rosie-jones-greta-thunberg-last-leg-joke-channel-4-new-years-a9266366.html
My immediate reaction is - could a male have made the same joke?