Unless he at the top isn't removed we are diddies. This statement confirmation the clubs place at the table to keep Rod at the higher end of the other table.
Printable View
Your Board believes our game faces a choice. We either continue to spend significant sums of money and huge reserves of time and energy to challenge already lengthy and detailed legal advice. Or, we can focus on doing all we can to invest in the future of our Club and the wider game to improve our sport, and ensure there can be no repeat of the issues raised
We prefer the latter option - working to ensure that in the future our game is fairer and more open,
Are they steaming? Are they utterly ****ing steaming?
If that is the approach they are taking then why bother making the statement at all. Typical Hibs. Take years building up solid support and good will amongst fans and between fans and the board and then set it back massively with one rash statement.
Smacks of Petrie going for top job! The only other rationale I can think of for the statement was that Petrie did a deal with SFA to stop them throwing the book at us after the cup final.
Makes for poor reading. Sometimes you are better to say nothing.
All that was needed to appease the majority of fans in Scotland was for the tainted titles and cups to be stripped.
That and a complete clear out of those corrupt *******s at the GFA.
Then we might be able to 'move on'...
Deary me, what an dreadful statement. I'm shocked that Hibernian FC would issue such a thing. Constantly refers to legalities, legal opinion, legal minds... blah blah. What has football and sport got to do with the law ? Football like every other sport all levels is about fair competition, respect and sporting integrity. The fact that an independent review would cost time and effort is NO a reason not to carry it out and to blindly skip over the Sevco/Rangers fiasco as if it did not exist is pathetic.
Whether or not the authorities are limited in what they can do LEGALLY at the end of the day to address the ills of the past does not mean they should not (and cannot) draw and publicise clear conclusions about what they SHOULD and COULD be doing going forward should a similar situation arise today. If concluded, I think most fans (other than Sevco) would accept a clear statement that Sevco/Rangers should not have been allowed to retain those titles - had the the laws of the game been fit for purpose. But therein lies the problem. What a review may well expose is not only Rangers blatant abuse of the rules, but that the rules themselves and the processes and people that supported them were not fit for purpose. The SFA would be firmly in the dock.
This statement smacks of circling the wagons, self preservation and self interest - just as it was when Reagan / Doncaster and every CEO of every club wanted to shoe-horn Sevco into the Premiership.
Awful and shameful statement.
Poor. The lancing of this boil needs to be done. Money should be made available to do it. Scottish football will never move on till it is. One way or another transparency needs shown.where is the evidence of all this legal advice for instance? As far as I'm aware it's just the SFA saying this has been done. What was the advice and how was it reached? Come on Hibs not good enough.
So, in summary - everyone that was greeting about no Hibs statement is now pissed off about the content of the statement.
Basically, if it didn't say what you want you get annoyed?
No matter what our board said nothing will change it's best we just move on tbh
..Hertz won 2 scottish cups playing players they couldn't afford...thats not gonna change either. Fed up hearing about this tbh...and I know that isn't a popular opinion on here but nothing will change regardless of what our board say and/or do
I agree. Short of polling everyone at the turnstiles on Saturday we really don't know what the majority view is.
There are obviously fans who are apoplectic, and others who are pure ragin', pissed off and disappointed. Then there are others, like me, who couldn't give a rats arse. Rangers oldco cheated. Everyone and their granny kens it. They are the embarrassment and the disgrace as far as I'm concerned. Sadly our board's statement deflects from that and for me that is the biggest disappointment. I agree with their decision not to pursue further action (based on the legal advice sought and for financial reasons) but they should have bowed out kicking and screaming their condemnation.
Remember that our club belongs to us and not the board. It is a point that needs made that we do not share their opinion. They have to share the shame between them.
That's what I think people are so annoyed it. You are assuming and may well be right nothing will change, but what if just what if all the clubs did go after them and won. Sporting integrity would be restored fans would then feel justice is done.
There is way more to this than just fans upset, we want proper justice and some feel that the only way is getting them back to trial.
My reaction would be "fine - now we can move on".
I'm not that fussed about title stripping (although I've been convinced that it if it is possible - a big if - then it would be necessary/ desirable).
Why is Andrew Dickson still employed at the SFA?
What was Campbell Ogilvie's role in it all?
What were other clubs involved in? Rangers have failed to co-operate with previous enquiries but at least they have bared their souls to an extent. What have all the clubs that have been into administration (including our own) done to smarten up their act and ensure it doesn't happen again?
What happens if Rangers beat Hibs to a European place on goal difference this season, but fail to comply with FFP rules? How far will the SFA/ SPFL be allowed to bend the rules to ensure they get into Europe, to ensure Rangers get more cash (assuming they don't get pumped out in early July by some dildos from Luxembourg) to compete more strongly in Scottish football's showpiece fixture?
These things matter much more to me than title stripping. That's for Celtic to worry about.
You think? Both clubs are **** but we have played the wrong card here. Sweep under the carpet of the club that despises us. Don't under estimate lawwels influence such as Scottish cup final repercussions neither. This is going to cause a massive divide. Coupled with the rest of Scottish football laughing and angry at us when Petrie is Vice President of the governing body. His tea will be oot if Regans is and I don't expect Celtic to move on from being cheated like the rest of us.
Shocking statement. Did Rod not once say "integrity is beyond purchase"?
That statement is not good reading and the Hibernian Board should hold their heads in shame. Hiding behind so-called legal advice where the issue raised by Celtic is the need for an enquiry into the conduct of the SFA.
I can see a massive backlash over this from Hibernian fans and I fear the feel good factor is about to be blasted away.
100% Petrie is behind this and I'd question the how unanimous this decision was - some arm twisting behind the scenes I reckon.
Okay, maybe an overreaction on my part. I am disgusted by the stance of the club especially the way we were treated after the final. You've got to wonder what it is that is making clubs choose the rangers over Celtic, because it is a choice. You choose the 'can we lift the carpet a wee bit to sweep this under' or you choose the 'ok this is wrong. They did what? No, that's not right'. Celtic have been hung out to dry for standing up for the integrity of our game. Do they have a lot to gain? Of course they do. ALL clubs do.
Ours just chose to turn the other way
Extremely disappointed by the statement from the board. However, the board members are merely custodians of the Club, they are not the actual club itself. My commitment is entirely to Hibernian FC, not the board. I'm old enough to have seen the back of many Hibs board members over the years, some are remembered with affection, others definitely not. The supporters are the constants of football clubs, not the directors.
Truly pathetic! I'm glad I held back from buying season tix, our so called board, you have lost my business!
I have read it, and while I would prefer the huns to be totally screwed I presume there are very good reasons why we have made this statement.
Ask yourself why there is only one club (allegedly) who wants to take this further?
Could it be that there is no point as there would be no satisfactory outcome?
I think thats what the statement says.
Playing devil's advocate do you not think this makes Peter Lawell look a bit egotistical and silly when he claimed in his statement that the SPFL Board wanted the review on behalf of all 42 clubs ? Clearly Aberdeen and Hibs don't want a review........and I'm sure we are not alone in that opinion in various boardrooms around the country no matter what league or level. So he 'jumped the gun' with that statement.
This will end up being a Celtic v The Rangers argument which will detract from the real issues and the chronic need for change in leadership at both the SFA and SPFL. It's shades of Fergus McCann v Jim Farry in the 90's (as in it will become a battle of personalities).
I couldn't care less as it won't even change my opinion of Rangers and The Rangers - they are Scotland's Shame and I don't care about how many titles they have or don't have - all I know and all I care about is that I don't like them and never will. I do however have unconditional love for Hibernian FC :aok:
Rangers have been punished by having four years in the wilderness and almost guaranteeing they'll watch Celtic get 10 in a row.
Title stripping legally isn't an option. What more do people want?
So they want us to consider
We either continue to spend significant sums of money and huge reserves of time and energy to challenge already lengthy and detailed legal advice
so for us they paint a simple choice - invest in the above or the team and the future. After this transfer window it's an interesting dilemma to throw in supporters direction. Does this equate to a choice of increased revenues going to legal fees or keeping/attracting key players in time like McGinn, Stokes and Hendo...
Shocking. Basically do what you want and get away with it. Aye no bother
I was kind of hoping the reps, who I voted for and whose roles I really wanted to exist would be coming back and forth to the various forums like this one and telling us the latest position and the thinking behind it.
I'm guessing the whole spectrum of opinion has somehow been passed on, ranging from there's some who want the legal review, through titles being stripped and right up to let's move on leaving the tainted titles out there and the guys who allowed our game to be rigged to stay there and do who knows what next?
Shocking statement.
I'm all for getting behind the club. Certainly I was all for stripping the titles. However the club comes first in my book and I trust the club are doing what they think is in the best interests of Hibernian.
Glory Glory.
Shameful statement, Petrie part of the problem and needs to go with the rest of them
Jesus, now people want the fans reps hung drawn and quartered !
Is it possible that they took some of the thoughts from here to the board, and the other board members - maybe having more detail on everything including the legals - persuaded them of another course of action?
Theres too much black and white on this thread.
For years we've gone to football matches, seen us shafted by refs who have been happy to shoot about their bias in retirement, at after dinner speeches, and we've had to suck it up.
We've watched as bad tackles go unpunished in old firm games as the ref tries to keep his cards in his pocket, while our players get booked and suspended for the same tackles.
And now we've seen how blatant and strong the evidence is of systematic cheating, and our club don't want to know.
It is all well and good citing lawyers, but what questions were they asked and what was their advice based on?
It stinks, and I'm gutted that Hibs have taken this stance. Even if you can say that not every supporter feels the same, it appears that there is an overwhelming majority who disagree with the stance taken, and that should have been at the forefront of the decision.
They could have at least asked us how we felt about it before deciding for us.
Well we won't know will we, as the silence has been deafening from our so called "reps" over these past few weeks. While certain posters on here (who clearly knew what the stance was going to be well in advance) spent the last few weeks telling us all to "move on".
The day we are subservient to Celtic just in order to get some table scraps from them is the day that we might as well pack up and go home.
On the statement, it's not Petrie and Dempster that I'd be directing my ire, if I gave two hoots about the statement. It's not their job to represent the support at board level.
Amazed people care about this so much. Haven't been following this at all and didn't expect us to make a statement about the issue, for or against.
Given Hibs have our money there's little we can do to hit them were it hurts and I'm not sure we'd want to. I feel that's no coincidence it's come to a head now.
I watched the film Ghandi today.
I feel the options for us, and other supporters in Scotland are limited. We can only be passive. But we must be firm.
I propose a minutes silence at 18 minutes in our next game unless we score and again in the 75th minute. And/or both.
That was was when we were born and this could be the death of us.
All other clubs supporters should do the same with appropriate timing.
We will all do this until Scottish football is clean.
Unless the review or investigation resulted in Rangers being stripped of umpteen titles and forced to wear green and gold strips no one would be happy anyway.
The idea of a review is farcical. Anyone that cares has already determined the result in their head years ago.
Would anyone anyone actually believe the conclusions unless there was absolute condemnation and huge penalties for Rangers?
I appreciate it is on a different level entirely but if those fighting for Justice for the 96 had the same attitude it would still have been the fans who were to blame for Hillsborough. Some things are worth fighting for even if you think you will probably lose. Legal advice is often not worth the paper it is written on especially if it comes to the Establishment closing ranks.
The club has lost quite a bit of respect from me with this statement. It is as clear as day Rangers cheated and that needs to be sorted if only because the next time someone is booted out the Cup or docked points then it will just be brought up over and over. I would think that concentrating on Hibernian was a given for our club directors. For me that includes making sure our game, and its administrator are held to account and sporting integrity is at the forefront of that.
For me, this has gone way beyond screwing the Huns. This is about having confidence in the governance of the game and the people who are meant to be overseeing it. There have been far, far too many incidents over the last 6 years which more than suggests the SFA and SPFL are not competent to run our game. This latest refusal of the SFA to engage in an independent review (hiding behind some legal tripe) simply raises more concerns. Their call to "move on" is short hand for "let's get back to the old order" irrespective of the shafting all other clubs and fans take in the process.
I saw this more of an opportunity to lay bare the corruption in the SFA and the lengths they have bent the rules to suit one club. It's a stich up and we seem happy to keep nodding and playing along knowing the game is a bogey. Wasted opportunity to clear the decks of the cronies in the SFA who are happy picking up their large salaries that we pay for. Disappointed.
Don't really like the statement but hey ho. I'm a football fan and I'll be supporting my team.
I'm not going to get too upset about stuff that only really involves our authorities and one other club.
In no way does this tarnish the good work the board have done.
🏆
Possibly the most disappointed I have been with club! If an athlete is caught doping he does not get to keep his medals!
Where's ozyhibby who has been the main poster for requesting a statement and sod the consequences. See the divide it's already causing at a time when there was a real feel good factor about the club
Hibs would've been better making no statement in the best interests of our club. My opinion obviously which I know many don't share
The board have far more information than we have and I personally don't think any of our board are dishonest or do not have the clubs best interests at their core. I've made the choice to trust the board on this and get behind the club as a supporter of it. Most supporters will very probably reach the same conclusion of backing the club. Maybe its slowly slowly catchy monkey with change coming further down the line at the governing bodies.
I am far too slow. Still waiting for the Hibernian tops and Fans Reps coming back with how they challenged the Hundogs and the outcome after the disgraceful way Hibs fans, including myself, were treated, at the infamous Christmas bigotfest game. Today's statement does therefore not surprise me in the slightest.
Tracey and Frank.....speak to us!
BIG G
A review isn't needed to strip titles. A review is needed to determine exactly who is responsible for allowing, or helping, Rangers to cheat for so long and actively avoiding applying the rules when it became clear to all that they had cheated more than any other club in the UK. The talk of legal advice and title stripping is a deliberate distraction. It is the football authorities that need to be investigated and held accountable.
I admire your optimism but this stinks of the authorities circling the wagons and not challenging our governing bodies over this is the same as agreeing with all their actions as far as I am concerned. Scottish Football will remain corrupt for a very long time and will return to be run for the benefit of two clubs only. Those two monkeys will be well served whilst the rest of us continue to go bananas at the obvious bias in our game. Rangers are a sitting duck at the moment and I think teh club should have taken a shot at standing up for sporting integrity. It will probably be our best if not only chance.
I'm not sure I challenged the board's integrity or passion but I certainly worry about their bottle after this statement.
Shocking
Truly unbelievable
Very disappointed and deflated by this.
Will be interested to see if the RTC attempts to instigate a judicial review get off the ground if the legal advice is so unequivocal.
Why even bother issuing a statement?
Just when there was a real good connection with the fans established it could all be tarnished through no back bone. Poor from Petrie and Dempster. Surprised is an under statement
I get you mate and you make a lot of sense however it will hurt the club we all love when there's talks of boycotts and not going back and all that carry on. The board have spoken and I think we should trust their judgement and back them. The board have worked wonders for us recently getting Stokesy back and turning their back on bids for SJM, big crowds etc. Maybe the old saying of 'there's more than one way to skin a cat' is at play here. I'm a Hibernian supporter and will follow the Hi bees if there was no other action or not concerning the huns.
Very poor from the club. I'm not that bothered about stripping titles etc as that doesn't make much difference in day to day life, what I wanted though was an investigation to find out who knew what and what a blind eye was turned to.
There was lots of post cup final talk about the benefit of having one of our own in the SFA in Petrie. I had my doubts and this only strengthens my view that Petrie is as corrupt and self serving as the rest of the fat cats ruining our game.
No win situation for the club. Another enquiry would just be a whitewash anyway and no titles would go, anyone still in a position of power would have been protected and exonerated.
It's disappointing and I would have loved Hibs to have been one of the clubs to stand up to the crooked forces that run our game but it was always unlikely. It's difficult to accept Rangers have kept the titles they 'won' dishonestly but ultimately it cost them their club and knowing that deep down will always be punishment for them.
Tough to take? Yes. What I wanted? No. An unpopular decision taken for pragmatic purposes? Definitely. A disgrace? No, disappointing but not disgraceful. All imo of course.
Our game can't get anymore corrupt. We have a governing body that has a board member who was part of the EBTs when they were hidden, through the liquidation and the farce that has been sevco. How can this be possible?
The game is rigged for one club (or two). You just need to wonder what they have over everyone.
Too many snouts in the SFA trough who are fearful of getting found out by an independent enquiry it seems. It reeks of a cover up and sadly our Club seems to be complicit.
I remember speaking to a then SFA Board member just prior to the decision on Sevcos fate - he told me categorically that there was no way Rangers would drop more than 1 league. An independent enquiry would likely show up the lengths which the SFA went to trying to protect Sevco. In the end fan power ensured they were punished more severely - not severe enough I'd say.
Fan power may well pressurise the authorities into holding an independent review, despite the majority of Scottish Clubs frantically trying to sweep everything under the carpet.
I wonder why the club decided to make any sort of statement, if they wanted the whole thing to blow over they have gone about it completely the wrong way and should have said nothing. Petrie eying the big job is the only way to look at the reason this statement was issued, shocking.
A lot of the "let's move on" crew have mentioned the "we can't challenge legal advice" tag. As others have mentioned, other sports have stripped titles when competitors have been caught cheating years after the event. I don't see how this can be different.
Chris McLauglin asked Regan on Sportsound tonight what that legal advice was and he said the info would be made available once the live case - the 2011 hun Euro licence being granted - was out the way.
If they're a "new club", then they haven't won any titles yet. All this talk of "stripping". You can't take something away that they don't have to begin with. But because of this ruling, then can go on pretending that they still have them while claiming to be a "new club".