What a performance from Highland Reel (on his final run) and Ryan Moore @ Sha Tin, I love that horse, what a machine.
Printable View
What a performance from Highland Reel (on his final run) and Ryan Moore @ Sha Tin, I love that horse, what a machine.
2 big clashes missed out on on Boxing Day with Sizing John not going in the King George and Mullins confirming Faugheen will stay in Ireland as well.
Really really annoys me when trainers opt for the penalty kick of races. Horses legacies are based on who they beat, how many times and how the beat them. Dodging clashes until Cheltenham is very boring. I can imagine Faugheen, Buvear D’air and Sizing John go off easily odds on and leave no market for the punter in these races.
Extremely sad today to watch a very good horse Starchitect storm clear of the field in the Cheltenham Caspian Caviar Gold Cup only to then break a hind leg when appearing as if he would run on for certain victory and then be put down out of his pain and misery.
Its always upsetting for racing followers to see horses pass on but it was even more so in this case when the very unfortunate injury occurred when the horse was running on the wet greasy turf after accelerating well clear of the rest with the race at his mercy and then seemed to stumble with his hind legs collapsing awkwardly beneath him which must have caused the break.
Very sad indeed.
Wasn't good at all. A freak accident but horrible to see.
I see the once brilliant Sire De Grugy has been retired after he struggled again in another handicap. Good decision given he isn't going to be competitive in grade 1s or 2s anymore but will be saddled with big weights in handicaps for the forseeable. He is to stay with the Moores. My favourite quote about the horse comes from Jamie Moores wife who said 'there's nothing I like more than a trip to Sandown where I can watch the big screen and see my husband enjoying a day out with the love of his life.'
It was also great to see 2 old boys show the youngsters a thing or 2 in the International Hurdle with My Tent or Yours just beating The New One. 7 2nds in the last 4 years, which included nearly 2 years out injured, so he earned that. I love how Nicky Henderson wears his heart on his sleeve and he was in tears again when the horse just got in front.
I’ve backed MYTOY in almost every race he’s ran since his previous win. Love the horse. Was due to go chasing a couple of years ago but as you say got injured. Shame as would loved to have seen him over fences. Strong traveller and great jumper.
A single on him and a double with Keepers Hill saw me about 400 up.
I see Coney Island is due to run on Saturday as Ascot. Not sure what price it’ll be but a good horse on its day. The Long walk a difficult one to call and could maybe see The Worlds End in with a shot there.
Very sad to see Jim Goldie's Jonny Delta suffer a fatal injury at Musselburgh on Monday. A firm favourite of mine on the flat and over hurdles, whenever I went to Musselburgh he always seemed to be running. 38 of 77 starts at Muss with 5 wins, the last being in October over 1m6f at sp of 20/1. Conditions didnt matter either, winning on ground ranging from heavy to good to firm. Very tough for Jim and all his staff especially after losing Jack Dexter in the summer.
Came down at the 3rd last which is a very difficult obstacle at Musselburgh. It comes not far after the tight top bend and if a horse is on an inside line and picking up speed for a finish they can sometimes not see it until very late. I had a decent wedge on Project Bluebrook last season when he came down there when he looked all over the leader, thankfully he got up ok.
Feel sorry for Jim Goldie and the horse. I believe they planned to retire him at the end of this season and there were tentative plans to send him to work with the Greatwood Charity. JG is well known for sorting his horses out with decent retirements and it's sad to see Jonny Delta denied that after all he has given.
Sizing John being pulled out is a disappointment for the big race next Tuesday. However I'm still undecided as to who to back after seeing a few of them run recently. My head is telling me to back Bristol De Mai who ran brilliantly but I also liked the look of Fox Norton and possibly Whisper. Thistecrack was the least convincing however he could still run a big race. I've not seen Mightbite in action but as he's around even money he must be a very good horse. Its still going to be a Boxing Day cracker even without Sizing John.
Maybe drift out a little bit before the off tomorrow to around 9/4, he's 15/8 just now with Ladbrokes. I'm tempted to back against him on Lil Rockerfella at around 5's but Unowhatimeanharry will be hard to beat if running true to form.
I'll probably put my bet on the King George when I'm in the bookies tomorrow and make a judgement call on who to back then. Its certainly a tough one.
I'm going to be betting on Singlefarmpayment tomorrow in the Lavazza Silver Cup at Ascot. He was closing in with a late strong run before overreaching at the third last and falling in the Ladbrokes trophy just under three weeks ago. The trips a bit shorter this time around and at around 4/1 its a decent price. I'm not tipping the horse out of being in the know just a personal fancy for a horse that should give a decent showing. That and Lil Rockerfella are my two mug punter bets tomorrow.
Two poor showings by both Lil Rockerfella and Singlefarmpayment. That's racing for you though. Hopefully better luck in the King George on Tuesday.
Sam Spinner ran a sterling race to beat L'mai Serge and Unknowhatimeanharry with Lil Rockerfella a distance back in the Long Walk Hurdle. Present Gold stayed on well very well to win the Lazzara Silver Cup with Singlefarmpayment struggling to stay the pace from some way out.
Backed L'ami serge ew nae harm done, my old man backed gold present, should get a decent present on Monday.
This years King George is a bit of puzzler.
Is Thistlecrck back to his best? Can Bristol De Mai go on the better ground? Is Might Bite going to have another of his moments? How much has Whisper improved? Will Fox Norton get 3 miles? The only 2 horses I would feel confident striking a line through are Traffic Fluide and Double Shuffle. I’m leaning towards Bristol De Mai but will wait until the day to place a bet, if the forecast rain comes he will shorten though.
I really fancy Black Corton in the Kauto Star/Feltham. Bryony Frost is a really good, young jockey. Bit of a pity she can’t use her claim in a Grade 1 though. The only downside if he does win is that insufferable prick Jeremy Kyle owns a share in the horse.
Despite everything I lumped onto Thistlecrack today. Can only choose one really and for some reason I decided to go with him in spite of his build up to the race. Going to enjoy watching this one regardless even if Thistlecrack doesn't win as its an intriguing race and its certain to be one to remember.
L'ami serge looked the likely winner the last few furlongs out but Sam Spinner stayed on resolutely to win having led throughout. It was a good race to watch. Gold Present had decent form going into this one and if I wasn't a follower of Singlefarmpayment I would have been on Gold Present, hey ho such is racing. Good to hear you got something back and your Dad picked a nice 17/2 winner. Nice one.
I only heard the commentary of L'ami Serge's race on the phone as I was in the boozer, must admit the commentator had me counting my dough, oh well! :-)
He looked all over the winner between the 2nd last and the last, Sam Spinner took the last better and then L'Ami Serge just seemed to flatten out. It was another race where you just wonder if the jockey had got to work a bit quicker it might have been a different race. Colliver was stoking SS up from about 3 or 4 furlongs out whilst Jacob just sat there until just before the last, looks good when it works but when the horse doesn't respond there's not a lot you can do that late.
This one could go to any of the first five in the betting really. Black Corton appears to have as good a chance as any of the other four to be the winner no doubt about that. Ballyoptic just shades it for me though not by very much but certainly in with a decent shout too.
Thistlecrack and Ballyoptic my two main bets for tomorrow.
Good luck to all having a wager on Boxing Day.
I still have reservations about Thistlecrack being the same horse after the Cotswold Chase but if he does still have the constitution he should be close in this. Good luck to All today
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/201...75203f8108.jpg
I’ve changed my mind and gone for Thistlecrack as well. Last time out he ran very well until he understandably tired in the latter stages. I think Tom Scudamore just looked after him after that and never really rode him out properly. I think The King George Might always be his cup final as I’m not convinced he gets the Gold Cup trip over fences. Much as I loved Many Clouds he never really threatened to win a Grade 1 and he outstayed and outfought Thistlecrack in the Cotswold. Admittedly it’s hard to know how much better Many Clouds was after his wind operation and he certainly looked an even better horse last season before his unfortunate end.
There’s just too many question marks over Might Bite to take him at the price imo and I still need to be convinced BDM will run as well on the better ground today. For me the value bet could be Tea For Two each way. With no Coneygree I can see Daryl Jacob try to take up the running on BDM and if it turns into a bit of a fight for the lead it wouldn’t shock me to see a few fall away late on and Tea For Two grab a place.
Bristol de Mai for me at 7/2
Black Corton wins well. Lovely start to my betting day at 4/1.
doesyourdogbite, 3:40@kempton
Absolutely zero knowledge of anything remotely horsey.
I backed Thistlecrack, but I have to say I was really impressed with Might Bite, winning the King George first time out. Before the race there were a lot of ifs and buts about the contenders- Might Bite first time out, was Thistlecrack back to his best, did Fox Norton need the extra distance, would Bristol De Mai like the ground, and so on. I thought most of those questions were answered, although Whisper was very disappointing. Good race won by a very good horse.
4 horsey bets
20 Mia's Storm Fell
20 Bredon Hill Lad 7/2 win
10ew on whatever it was called Koeman 3rd @ Leop
£ 4 treble from sat, spurs ht-ft, Juve ht-ft and Might Bite.
footy did well too, if Derby had won i'd be a bit excited.
Good shout mate. Stayed on stoutly, a deserved winner.
Thislecrack ran well considering. If he'd had one more warm up before this it could have made the difference but in saying that Mightbite was a worthy winner who won with a bit in hand and justified the short ante price.
Roll on Cheltenham.
Cannae see Might Bite winning the GC, if Sizing John wins over the holiday season its game over.
Had one bet and it was a chunky single on Might Bite. Didn’t see the race due to the time difference in Oz but seemed gritty if not spectacular?
Hope Thistlecrack can come back to his best but the GC shaping up to be a cracker. Might Bite and Sizing John the big 2 with Native River, Yorkill and Thistlecrack a decent supporting cast.
Decent enough day yesterday for me. Had 3 bets; Black Corton to win, Thistlecrack to win and Tea For Two each way so a healthy enough profit.
The King George played out much as I expected. BDM trying to turn it into a real stamina test and a couple of the other big names trying to go with him after about a circuit. Yet again I thought Thistlecrack ran well enough for a long spell but whether he is the same horse is now seriously up for debate. As the big guns fell away I was pretty confident I was getting a return from Tea For Two and so it proved. I was impressed enough with Might Bite, he had a lot of good horses quite a way behind him and still seemed to have plenty in the tank, he did slow up after the last but I think he was just lonely and idling more than anything.
I’m not sure the the Gold Cup picture is any clearer after it but I’m not sure this King George was ever going to be a great pointer. A few of the big players missing, going the opposite way on a flat track on soft winter ground couldn’t really be more different from Cheltenham. If I was in a position where I had to place a bett now I’d probably stick with Sizing John. Depending how things pan out I’d fancy Might Bite more for 2019.
Was looking forward to the Welsh Grand National today and would have had a speculative bet on Vicente however its been called off due to the weather and rescheduled for a week on Saturday 6th January.
Black Corton back in his stable this morning with a well done card to greet him. Pretty big shoes to fill in that particular box on Nicholls 'Millionaires Row'. Denman is enjoying his retirement two along, Kauto Star had the box one along and the other side had Neptune Collonges and Big Buck's at one time.Attachment 19948
Sizing John v Yorkhill at Leapordstown at 3 today. Be interesting to see how that pans out or whether Djakadam or any of the Gigginstown contingent can land a blow.
Horrible fall for Nicholls Canyon in the Christmas Hurdle that is being reported as having been fatal. Stayers Hurdle winner in March. Tough sport at times.
Road to Repsect wins the Lexus. Sizing John well beaten and never really got going, Yorkhills effort wasn't great either. 123 for Gigginstown and they had 5 of the 1st 6 all told.
Gold Cup looks wide open.
Day goes from bad to worse. Zabana also fatally injured in the 3.00 and Sizing John had the vet called and was found to be 'clinically abnormal'. Nothing official yet but the social media specualtion is not positive.
Jessica Harrington said he had hyperthermia and was fine once he was cooled down. Yards strike rate is 0-27 in the last 2 weeks so wouldn't surprise me if there's a virus in the yard that he had picked up. Don't really understand why he wasn't pulled up if the jockey immediately reported he had never been travelling and wasn't right.
The Gold Cup picture doesnae get any clearer, watched the KG again this morning and still cannae decide if Might Bite was idling in front after the last or not. The proximity of the 2nd/3rd horses is cause for concern as is Sizing Johns run.
Faugheen pulled up, was never going.
Think he's finished now.
At the end of the day Might Bite did what was expected of him, Sizing John, for whatever reason, didn't. I reckon Thistlecrack still has plenty of improvement in him and will definitely be a strong contender for the Gold Cup, but people should also remember that was Might Bite's first run this season, he will get stronger and fitter. I suppose some will quite rightly point out the jumping error he made last season, but as it stands at the moment I don't think any other horse has shown comparable form so far. Just my opinion though, and a lot could change between now and March.
Apart from the Sandown race in Nov?
Pretty much my thoughts regarding Might Bite and Thistlecrack. I thought Thistlecrack ran a decent race considering the long lay off since injury and the poor run on his comeback. Might Bite did win a shade cosily though and is definitely the one to beat however we all know anything can happen in horse-racing on the day. Just have to look at Bristol de mai who I doubt anyone thought would have been beaten off quite so quickly.
Good points there. I think we could safely write off that run by Bristol De Mai, he really does seem to need heavier ground than that, to produce his best form anyway. Not sure about the Irish form either, the Gigginstown horses all seem to take turns beating each other and I don't fancy any of them to win the Gold Cup but I could easily be wrong. Interesting that it would also appear Henderson doesn't seem to think Altior will stay 3 miles, at this stage anyway, so he's keeping him for the Champion Chase which, if he's fit, he'll win in a canter.
Agree with writing off the distinctly below par run by Bristol De Mai. Could have just been one of these days or the ground was just a bit too firm for him.
Colin Tizzard had reported Thistlecrack had shown much fitter and keener after the poor comeback run and while he didn't really challenge Might Bite he certainly ran much better. It could be it was another step back to his best and if so should give Might Bite and the others a much sterner challenge next time around. I'm tempted to lump on when confirmed for the GC at a decent price.
Had a bit of luck yesterday on Brave Eagle who looked well beaten from a long way out however seemed to find a new pair of legs and came from way back to win at a taken price of 3/1.
New years day Musselburgh meeting looks a good one and I fancy Silver Concorde in the Hogmaneigh Hurdle. However as we all know it can be a bit of a lottery.
2nd race on the card looks a good one. Fly Vinnie is a specialist round Musselburgh and has won me a few quid over the last couple of years, Cresswell Legend is on a hat trick and has won 3 from 5 since moving from PTPs and both he and Stamp Your Feet are travelling from Gloucestershire so Idoubt they are just coming for a run out, £12000 is a prize not to be sniffed at.
Silver Concorde looks a decent bet but that’s a hot race despite the small field. Won his last 2 at Musselburgh, both when long odds on, and he threatened to be top class when he won the Champion Bumper at Cheltenham and was a close 2nd in the Punchestown equivalent. Should be a good race.
Silver Concorde was 3/1 yesterday (new years eve) but thought I'd wait until tomorrow to go in and put a wee wager on. Oddscheckers now showing its been backed into 9/4. Looks as if I've missed the boat on any value to be had. Hey ho. Might back against it now.
Fly Vinnie's a generous 10/1 with Ladbrokes maybe shorter before the off of course but must be worth a few quid at these prices.
Musselburgh's always a good meeting and generally good racing to be had.
Good to hear you had a couple of very nice priced winners to compensate. I left Silver Concorde alone after seeing it had been backed into 7/4 albeit finished 2/1 as I thought the value price of 3/1 was near enough the correct one. Mind you it looked as if it could win until Sir Chavaulin showed a lovely turn of foot and accelerated clear in the last part of the race.
I had a nice winner yesterday on Met By Moonlight at 6/1 which was coincidentally Steve Drowne's final race before retirement. He came from off the pace to win quite cosily by a few lengths in the end-up.
Backed another game wee horse, Caspian Prince (12/1) at Newcastle.
Had quite a large bet on Mixlad in the 1500 @ Mussy this morning, from my perch in the boozer in Carlisle, still not sure how I got paid out! Other two bets were Indian Spark and K Kirkup so cannae complain too much!
I've got a horrendous record backing horses in The Welsh National but, I've backed Chase the Spud ew @ 10s.
Final Nudge for me tomorrow. 4 wins on heavy is pretty much the sole solid reason for the choice. Looked competitive over the longer Midlands National before taking a fall so could suggest potential as a marathon stayer and has run solidly over about 3 miles before are the more speculative reasons.
It could turn into a total slog and I can see a lot of horses pulled up or walking across the line.
I’ve got emperors choice and Wild West wind tomorrow one on a treble and the other on a Yankee fingers crossed
As good a reason as any to choose a potential winning National horse. Its bound to be one for stout of lungs thats for certain.
It'd be nice if one of us had a win. Sometimes I'm just grateful for my pick to put up a decent account of themselves.
Good luck too mate.
Cheers, I just had quick look through the trends for the race and that one seemed to tick the most boxes. I was reading in the paper about one of the runners that has won first time out for the last 3 seasons IIRC, cannae remember the name but, I'll have another look in the morning to make sure I wasnae imagining things and might back that as well.
8/1 favorite. Would normally be an absolutely brilliant price for a winning favorite if on of course. Has as good a chance as any in the race for certain. Normally I'd back 2 or three in a National but I'm sticking with one bet for this one. I'm going to ask my better half in the morning which one she wants to back but as she normally backs the green white and gold colours I'm certain she'll opt for my pick Vicente as well :greengrin.
Good luck mate, I'm hoping one of us Hi bees can pick the winner!
Lets hope so!
Mysteree for me as well for the Welsh National currently available at 9's if you're happy to take 4 places e/w.
Ground today may not be as deep as expected, but he won the 4m Eider on soft, even though he was taken out of the pre Christmas prep race at Cheltenham due to unsuitable ground (soft). Less than 11st also a major positive.
6 places available with Sky Bet albeit with the predictable skinnier odds.
Good luck all :wink:
Think I nicked 3rd there with Final Nudge so will get place money. Some performance by the 2 old lads showing the youngsters how it's done in the mud.
Donkey's years ago in the mid to late nineties I'm sure I had Earth Summit in the Welsh National, still the only horse to win the Scottish/Welsh/English Grand Nationals. He was a great price too. But I've hardly touched the race since. Don't really care much for Chepstow, it's never been a lucky course for me and there's very often results that you just can't explain at all, loads of horses with no form on the ground who win going away, Two milers winning staying races on heavy ground and so on, it seems to happen more frequently there than a lot of other courses. That's just my opinion though, good luck and well done to others who have had success there.
Hearing Limini is out for the NH season and is likely to either run on the flat in the summer (Ebor is an option) or be retired to the breeding sheds. Been a tough couple of years for Rich Ricci with the death of Vatour, Annie Power retiring, Douvan out for an extended period and Faugheens problems as well as losing a 6 figure purchase in an acciddnt on the gallops.
Arctic Fire has also been retired.
Thistlecrack out for the season. Stress fracture.
Yet again proving how hard it is to produce consistently great champions in NH racing.
Death Duty also just confirmed as being out for the rest of the season.
After another disappointing run last time out a few of the club headed to Hereford today to watch Ring go to post at 66/1 with the expectation he would run accordingly. As it turned out he didn't know he was 66s and ran a very decent race to finish 3rd and net a few of us some decent each way money. He's still a baby in his development but upped to 2m5f and with a bit experience he finally seems to be getting the hang of things, Tom O'Brien had to earn his riding fee but he kept on well to grab the place . By all accounts he got a better welcome back in than the winner of the race.
Just a wee mention for the very sad news that another favourite of mine, Taquin Du Seuill, suffered a fatal fall at Huntingdon. A really good horse on his day and a Cheltenham winner, it's just another sad reminder of how cruel racing can be.
Ring is out again today, 1.20 at Uttoxeter. 7s from 11s over night, might have enough to run into a place.
I see Liam Treadwell has retired due in part to ongoing mental and physical issues after a fall a couple of years ago.
In the list of toughest sportsmen national hunt jockeys must be pretty close to the top and injuries like Treadwell are a reminder of how dangerous a sport it can be.
Woop woop! Mr Antolini in the Imperial Cup (20/1) £5 e/w! In fairness, I thought he was quite lucky to keep it, he clearly bumped the 2nd just before the line but I'll take it.
I took what’swrongwithyou in the imperial cup travelled lovely through the race just couldn’t make up the distance on the heavy ground one for the notebook though
Thunder Snow wins the Dubai World Cup comfortably. Top race in terms of prize money, but doesn't have anything like the prestige as the top races in Europe or the US. Funny, I remember Thunder Snow when he was racing over here. He was beaten out of sight by Carravagio as a two year old at Royal Ascot, and I thought O'Brien would train Carravagio for mile/mile and a quarter races after that performance, where he was clearly staying on at the end, instead of which he trained him as a sprinter and the season finished as a damp squib and he was retired to stud.
Irish National today and Mongbeg Notorious carries my money. Grade 2 winning novice with a nice weight.
An Elliott winner of the Irish Grand National, not that surprising really when you consider he had 13 of the runners in the race. It's getting like all those Sheikh Mohammed races at the likes of Newmarket in the 90's and early 2000's where every horse was owned either by him or a member of his family.
BHA not renewing Musselburgh's license until dispute is sorted out and reassurances in place.