Loads of my faves already mentioned.......
Walking Dead
House of Cards (the Kevin Spacey version)
Luther
Whitechapel
Homeland
Surprised nobody's mentioned Lilyhammer - I love it!
Printable View
Loads of my faves already mentioned.......
Walking Dead
House of Cards (the Kevin Spacey version)
Luther
Whitechapel
Homeland
Surprised nobody's mentioned Lilyhammer - I love it!
the walking dead S5 EP9 not on until sun 8th feb :( and the 6 episodes they made for the last series of warehouse 13 were really pretty poor, i liked quite a few of previous seasons/episodes as well but the show certainly didn't finish with a bang unfortunately(imo)
I'm quite enjoying Stalker on SKY Living, The first series of The Strain was good too. American Horror Story just gets radger as each season goes by!
Has anyone ever watched The Newsroom?
I've got 3 episodes to go - really enjoy it. It's written by the same folk that wrote the West Wing.
Silent Witness was brilliant last night and I'm pretty sure there is a Luther box-set lurking in my DVD drawer.
Getting a bit bored by Prison Break and I've not even finished the first series :greengrin
Just got House of Cards today. Any good?
Watching Legends as well (Sean Bean undercover FBI agent). Decent, not brilliant but watchable.
The first couple of eps of Crisis which is being shown on Watch have been quite promising.
Never got to watch any of The Walking Dead so started 1st episode right now before my backshift at 1pm. Liking it already. Watched Suspects on Tuesday night..... Bloody awful!! Story lines, acting... Everything about it was mince.
Started watching Hannibal a few days ago, absolutely loving it!
I think Benidorm is very funny. Wouldn't like to go there though.
Been working my way through Justified, delighted to hear a final season is being made.
Currently watching the killing (American version) on Netflix, pretty good, on season three and felt the first two seasons started to drag but still watchable
True Detective. Fantastic dialogue and quite genuinely scary.
I'm currently on season 5 of House. Some episodes are a bit too predictable but it feels like I'm hooked!
Watching Top Gear just now.... Questions. Does James May, who I really like, pick his own outfit for the show?? If not who does? He actually makes Clarkson look stylish!! :shocked:
"Spiral" on BBC4
It's on Series 5 just now, but probably my favourite foreign-language series ever.
Wolf Hall - the adaptation of Hilary Mantel's fine novel. Mark Rylance is the saturnine Thomas Cromwell - a man who kicked up by his wits from low and unpleasant beginnings.
The BBC are making a big thing out of it but I feel it's too dark. Tudor life was bleak all right but there must have been crowds and music and street life.
The first episode was like a bunch of admittedly fine actors playing in various empty National Trust venues.
Can't get into Broad church but Silent Witness has been brilliant so far with these 2 parters.
I'm going to start Gomorrah soon. Heard good things about it.
Been having a Walking Dead fest. Start my backshift at 3pm, daughter away to school, wife at work, dog walked, housework done (I've hoovered!) now sitting down to start season 4....
http://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-ra...-date-unveiled
Better call Saul starting up on Netflix on 9th February
Fortitude started well last night. You cant beat norsk noir.
I loved True Detective but I wish I could erase the last 10mins from my memory. A much better ending would've been a certain character dying in the climax. Could've done without the silly Hollywood happy epilogue ending which, for me, contradicted the whole tone of the series. Looking forward to season 2, though.
In other news, HD trailer for Game of Thrones season 5 released:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sbwi42_EF5g
Can't wait!
I can't recall Banshee getting a mention on here before but Season 3 is 4 episodes in and I love it.
It has a great anti-hero as lead, some cracking supporting characters (include some rather attractive ones) and the fight scenes are always epic.
In a week I've binge watched the walking dead up until the latest episode, I see it starts again at the weekend, I've really enjoyed it and think it's great, but those people that say it's better than Breaking Bad, the sopranos or Boardwalk are just mentalists
Just started on brooklyn nine-nine.
3/4s of the way through Intruders starring John Simm, quite enjoying it but, after the first couple of eps had the potential to be much better.
We're 2 episodes into Season 2 of Black Sails and I think it's shaping up to be better than the first.
Great characterisation (with some excellent acting performances) and several different story arcs all tied together.
My only complaint is that they've changed the actor portraying one of the supporting cast and it jars in my mind when I see him which takes me out of the action.
Just managed to Watch Fortitude yesterday and thought it was very good but i also got the feeling that it was taking a turn towards the "supernatural" half way through to the point that i was thinking it would be a werewolf-polar bear that was responsible for the deaths.
Also, the trailer for Daredevil on Netflix has been released and im really looking forward to it, looks superb
Just finished Season 8 of HOUSE MD. which has occupied the last 3 or 4 weeks of my life, cracking series.
The walking dead returns tonight :)
Me and the Mrs have just finished the first 5 seasons of the walking Dead.... Anyone recommend another box set for us to binge watch?? Mind.... Suitable for us both!!
Sorry... Meant watched first 4 seasons of the walking dead. Watching 5th season now weekly.
Anyone else watch The Good Wife? Fantastic T.V.
Each series is completely different but, its pretty much the same actors playing different roles. It seems to get freakier as each series goes by. Its quite hard to explain without giving too much away, well worth a watch though.
Settings
Season 1 Haunted House
Season 2 Mental Asylum
Season 3 Witches Coven
Season 4 Freak Show
Jessica Lange is outstanding throughout.
Onto Season 3 of Breaking Bad, now I can see what nearly everyone I know has been raving about - absolutely love it and hooked already.
I cannae be bothered searching through the thread but, if Criminal Minds hasnae had a mention its a favourite of mine. Its onto about season 10 so it'll take a bit of catching up! :-)
She's superb in it, loved the first series but they have got steadily worse as its gone on. Have given up on the freak show one.
After getting up to speed with Castle, I found myself in need of something new.
Just started on Blue Bloods and enjoying it so far! :agree:
nearly turned off episode 1 of better call saul, i thought it was incredibly slowwwww, but persevered, episode 2 was slightly faster, episode 3 was much better, i noticed the henchman from breaking bad(robert boikess) has been brought back to life and is the car park attendant in this :greengrin
Watched the final ep of season 2 of Banshee last night, wtf was the shoot out in the church all about? The A-Team didnae waste that many bullets!
Just watched "Stop at Nothing: The Lance Armstrong Story." Absolutely fascinating stuff. If you get a chance to watch it you won't be disappointed. It's on Netflix.
I'll raise you Siobhan! :-)
I have enjoyed, via US/UK Netflix, the following shows:
Breaking Bad
The Walking Dead
The Killing
House of Cards
Bates Motel
Am onto Better Call Saul now.
So I am off moby dick today. Had a look on Sky On Demand for a new box set to watch. Saw Downton Abbey, thought I would give it a try. Maybe not the most manly thing to say but hooked already half way through the first series!!!
To my surprise, House has lost it's seat at the top table, my top 3 are: 3. LUTHER 2. HOUSE MD 1. Breaking Bad, only wish I had listened to my brother and watched it a long time ago :cb
Anyone catch CITIZENFOUR last night?? A fantastic film. The Self proclaimed world police that is the United States Government really are the ****in lowest of the low. Self serving bunch of tossers. Land of the Free?? Aye, free to spy on whoever they want.
I'm up to speed with the US timeline of Banshee. I absolutely love it. Not sure if I've ever seen a more brutal show. There is a fight scene in season 3 to watch out for that involves Proctors right hand man. It is absolutely outstanding - and that episode in particular is simply outstanding TV.
The show has constantly kept a good pace, and they've done well to keep you rooting for the "sheriff" :wink:
Walking dead also superb, and after being a huge Breaking Bad fan, I am thoroughly enjoying Better Call Saul. I thought it was going to be much more comedic based on Saul in Breaking Bad, but it has the same kind of atmosphere as BB did and has been great so far.
I watched the first 2 of Fortitudem, and will watch a couple more tonight I think to try and get up to speed with it. It has potential, but seems a bit mad.
We started to see in season 2 that his sidekick was a bit mental!
Best things I've seen ontv over the last10 years had been 24, The Wire and The Bridge (Danish/Swedish, with subtitles).
Only 2 seasons of about 10-13 episodes. I thought it was absolutely phenomenal. Can't believe no one's already mentioned it, although someone did mention the remake "The Tunnel"..
I've just watched the last episode of Wolf of Wolf Hall on catchup. For me it has been the best thing on TV for years. Absolutely outstanding acting and a subtle and intelligent series. the production too was brilliant. Clare Foy and Mark Rylance, I am sure will win a slew of awards for their performances
I also finished watching the end of Spiral on catchup. Episodes 10 and 11 were great but I found the ending disappointing and unconvincing-a shame as it had been excellent up till then
For me, the Sopranos, Lost and Breaking Bad were all perfect tens :-)
One thing that I don't think has been mentioned is Happy Valley. I missed it when broadcast as Sarah Lancashire is not really my cup of tea, but watched it on a recommendation. Outstanding performances and scenes that will take your breath away. Little wonder they're doing a second season.
Aye, it was good.
I love the Musketeers :greengrin