http://www.cnn.com/2017/01/01/us/hol...ign/index.html
Printable View
Not that I'd wish death upon others but apparently Charles Manson is on his way out. Happily make an exception in his case.
After a terrible 2016 when we lost so many legends, 2017 might be looking up!
I'll try and stay on track with the thread, and the good news stories it has. Cheers.:aok:
More on the baby boxes here.
https://t.co/BBkUAaKUx5
I hope this happens as it's a wonderful building and it's restoration would be a good thing for Leith. Good on IW for getting involved.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotlan...-fife-38508793
There aren't many positive stories on the bbc northern Ireland news page these days but in amongst the doom gloom and squabbles it was nice to see this one today
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-norther...-west-39190986
Wasn't sure whether to put this link on the Jock Tamsons Bairns thread, but decided for here instead.
https://t.co/wgpjLkCI9N
New Baby box design winner. :aok:
https://t.co/79RRJh3d4d
Love this one
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england...shire-39493027
Read an article about these guys earlier. Great stuff.
http://bacaworld.org
Not sure this strictly qualifies but it's topical and a nice story imo:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotlan...-west-39528083
http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entr...b05c37bb7f3e61
Made me smile as it's so touching :agree:
Progres 2 Nae Progres 0 :smug:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/40475647
Mixed emotions on this one:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-40923339
Not exactly good news but certainly some light relief from all the bad news at home and abroad
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-40965914
1.23 million children receiving a meal at school through Mary's Meals, a Scottish based charity.
https://www.marysmeals.org.uk
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/42245074
Nice gesture by Real. I'm sure all Hibbies send Duncan Watmore our best wishes for a speedy recovery.
Another 2015 ad. Never saw it then, but worth a wee look ....... Hibs and Blue Rose Code, a marriage made in heaven. https://youtu.be/pxDJkkMCDxA
good thread. Loved the 5 min piece Russel Howard use to have on his show similar to this. Too much negativity everywhere
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/footba...-baby-11680238
Clark and his gorgeous daughter Beau. :greengrin
http://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-42343604
I hope they don't find him.
But, inevitably, they will.
I just won £2 on a scratch card
Not a story as such but, Old Peoples Home for 4 Year Olds on CH4 last night, what a heart warming hours viewing it was.
Everything is awesome (ish)! Ten reasons why 2017 was actually brilliant
https://www.theguardian.com/theguard...y_to_clipboard
The bitter/sweet news that the East Lothian Food Bank recorded record donations at Christmas. Bitter is the fact that in a civilised society we need food banks and sweet is the fact that there are people out there who care about the welfare of others less fortunate.
Not sure if this counts, but it made me smile.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-42669293
The first part made me smile but the part about his £73k pension payable at 63 wiped the smile off my face.Of he lives to a fair age he may well receive more pension than an average worker would receive on a lifetime of working. His attendance was terrible and he stole from his employer.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-engl...ery-shop-thief
I just love the way this guy cooly takes his jaiket off then gets stuck in. :top marks
This is real good news!
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?3...te-Odessa-Trip
So pleased that this has turned out this way
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-44688909
This is very exciting...
https://www.theguardian.com/science/...mour-screening
The sunny weather is the best story of the lot.
Between 3 and 6 of the boys trapped in the cave in Thailand reported to have escaped!!
Only football team that really matters just now!
8 out. Threat of rain receding.
All out now!!! A good news story from one that all looked rather grim 2 weeks ago.
Now, the operation to put Boris Johnson INTO the cave!!
A wee thread to read: https://twitter.com/murdoness/status...752178688?s=19
Johnny Russell - good guy :aok:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/45239424
Katie Hopkins ‘On Brink Of Bankruptcy’ Following Libel Loss
https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/ent...b046313fbbeee2
Another triumph for John Lewis. Loving their Christmas advert.
Normally travellers are in the news for the wrong reasons
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-wal...ller-donations
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Nubc09jTW-M
I particularly like the 3rd one.
Important to remember these types of stories exist - especially as they don't always get the publicity they deserve.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-englan...shire-47088865
First conviction for FGM in the UK today.
https://www.seattletimes.com/nation-...e-brain-tumor/
always love seeing gestures like this :aok:
https://www.itv.com/news/2019-04-01/...rain-stations/
Hallelujah :thumbsup:
Every time I go for the last train I nearly pish myself scrambling for change!
Loved this one.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/48296119
Here’s mine.
Fell ill in Section 43 at the home game with Livingston on Saturday 22 December. Had been suffering intermittent tummy pain for a few months but on this occasion the Hibs doctor summoned the Ambulance and I was shipped to ERI. Long story short - after 24 hours of tests and analysis by senior consultants, I received the grave news that they had found a large tumour on my pancreas that had enveloped my central artery.
Rather than share the full diagnosis with family, friends and work colleagues I decided that if 2018 was to be my last Christmas, that it was going to be as normal as possible. I was being referred to NHS Tayside and I suspected that they would likely carry out their own tests and advise what would happen next.
Well here I am five months later, I find myself in the best health of my life. I get a free weekly Yoga class at the McMillan Cancer Centre in Perth, twice-weekly personal training sessions at the Council gyms, I’ve resumed Martial Arts training after two decades and been volunteering my labour at a Walled Garden.
After a ream of tests the doctors discovered that rather than an aggressive Pancreatic Cancer with a ‘months’ outlook, I’m one of the 3% who have a rare hormonal secreting tumour. Of that 3%, I also have no secondary cancers (such as liver, lymph nodes) and my tumour is barely growing. I get an all-body chemical injected into my bahookie every 4 weeks and a checkup every 3 months. After 3 treatments I am cleared to go back to work.
This miraculous outlook would not have been possible without the many hundreds of thousand people who have been donating to cancer charities over the past 20-30 years. The research paid for by these generous donations has led to huge advances in diagnostic methods and to treatments which suppress tumour growth and maintain a reasonable quality of life.
I’m doubly blessed in that seven years ago, my wife Lesley took an 18st 4lb tubbie with a developing Type 2 diabetes diagnosis and introduced a new dietary regime. I joined the SPL FFIT programme at St Johnstone, bought collie dogs and took up walking. By May 2019, I had lost 70lbs, shed the diabetes and according to my personal trainer, have the blood pressure, pulse and cardiovascular recovery of a guy half my age.
What this five month journey has taught me is to live every day as if it’s your last, be grateful for our wonderful health professionals and treasure your loved ones. I’ve also met and befriended around a dozen amazing cancer survivors from a nine-year old ballerina called Lucy whose blond hair has gone but is still winning trophies to Morris, a 75 year old cyclist who’s had operations all over Europe since 2009 and is still hitting the gym a decade later.
Here’s to the next ten years
Gogs
It was believable up until the bit where you said you had low blood pressure. You support Hibs, the two things aren't compatible!! :faf:
So pleased for you, Gogs - must have been a terrible scare when you found out. My uncle was taken by pancreatic cancer so when you started telling me your story in Perth at the St Johnstone game, I feared the worst.
Long may your good health continue mate!
Great news Gogs
Jobs moving from England to Scotland, good news for the Scottish financial sector
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotla...iness-48546056