Just back from the east coast of the USA. Drank a wide range of IPA's all of which were freaking delicious. Damned if I can remember their names though.
Printable View
Just back from the east coast of the USA. Drank a wide range of IPA's all of which were freaking delicious. Damned if I can remember their names though.
Very nice one from Wellington last night. Craft beer has absolutely exploded in NZ now.
La choffe famous belgen tipple noo doing mc choffe a whiskey beer, i know mental
Olde Pelican, which is brewed locally in Florida was very nice - quite similar to a Sierra Nevada.
Red Hook (brewed near Seattle) was very tasty indeed. Alewerks Pumpkin Ale, Great Lakes Edmund Fitzgerald Porter and Three Philosophers (Omme Gang Brewery I think?) were all absolutely superb.
A decent selection of Christmas beers in Wetherspoons Sleigh Bell is my favourite at the moment.
Went to the west brewery bar before and after the game yesterday. Had a good burger there and really enjoyed the wild west and dunkel beers. Would definitely go back next time I'm through there.
I used to drink Boddingtons at the student bar (the Watering hole) at Aberdeen uni. Now I'm back in Stranraer I can't find that beer anywhere!
Went to a beer bar here in Zurich and had some beer from the USA that was comically named (involved a squirrel in the name I'm sure) but was absolutely delicious. A fabulous colour as well.
Makes one wonder what the **** I was up to from ages 17-20 drinking Carling and Fosters :no way:
Had a few pints of Williams Bros March of the Penguins a couple of days ago @ Lloyds in The Omni Centre, very nice pint.
I had a few pints of brew dogs prototype beer hobo pop the other night. Very impressive indeed.
I have a case of Paulaner Oktoberfest bier to enjoy over the festive, looking forward to cracking the first one open tonight.
Seven Giraffes and Good Times both by William Bros for me tonight. Very nice.
Got a bottle of spice orange Edinburgh Gin to get stuck into tomorrow.
A few of my favourites at the moment are Black Isle Yellowhammer, Cairngorm Tradewinds, A few of the Alchemey beers and Williams brothers.
Good pub on our very door step at Easter Road for Real ales is the Mash Tun.
The Mash Tun is excellent with staff that know their stuff. I was in on Saturday and got a pint that was quite clearly near the end of the cask so it wasn't quite right. Asked to change it and it was done no bother at all. Try that is some pubs and the bar staff will argue to the death until the cask runs out about a pint and half later to prove you right.
Quaffing a pint or two of Righteous Ale (American Craft Beer) in AGB's. 6.3%, so better watch what I'm doing! :-)
Tastes even stronger, a pint or two then on to something else methinks!
I am thoroughly enjoying sweet and flowery Birds and the Bees over the festive period. Normally considered a summer drink but who cares :greengrin
Got myself a nice 6 pack of Bacchus Fromboziabiere (very doubtful that is correctly typed but I cannot be bothered checking the label) to do me tomorrow! A lovely raspberry flavoured Belgian beer. Not my normal kind of beer but tried a bottle of it on a night out in Carlisle & fair enjoyed it so thought I'd go for something different!
Me & my mate have a Brew Dog beer in for hogmanay. Comes in a tiny wee 30CL bottle so we plan to slip one each of it in our pockets and have it at the bells. It is called Watt Dickie Ice Distilled Beer. It is lethal sounding but hey... it's hogmanay.
Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk 2
I did not know that, thanks! We were just going to drink it straight as it is beer (even if it is 'ice distilled') but wasn't sure it'd be particularly pleasant given the strength of it! Will try it with ice & water as you say, like I would a good malt whisky.
Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk 2
Enjoyed a good days drinking yesterday and have concluded that the best bottled ale to accompany a single malt is bitter and twisted. Got many I prefer more in their own right but b&t proved to be a fine partner to a wee glenrothes select reserve.
Got a Williams Bros pack yesterday, plus a few others...still got a few left! Some cracking beers, Birds & Bees is first up today :wink:
Attachment 11566
Got a 5 litre mini keg of Stewart pentland ipa to see the bells in tonight. First pint went down nicely :-)
For those that like Belhaven Black, had 7 pints of this wonderful heaven in a glass yesterday in the Safari Lounge at Abbeyhill.
What a transformation this place has had incidentally. Excellent food also. Thoroughly recommend a visit.
The Corry Inn had Westons cider as a guest cider last night great stuff, managed to sink many pints of it while watching Liverpool pump Everton.
My girlfriends old man sent me a few bottles last week. Pick of the bunch were:
Jennings Bitter
Jenning Cockerhoop
Brakspear Oxford Gold
Wainwright Golden Ale
The Cork & Cask on Marchmont Rd sells every Scottish bottled beer. There's a micro brewery from Kelso called Tempest who do some amazing beers, Brave New World being one. Worth a browse if you're round that way.
Was drinking McEwans Champions Ale 7% plus. That and Jokers IPA. Very refreshing.
I was in The Vintage earlier, wide choice of beers, a tad costly though.
Haven't trawled through the whole thread to see if anyone's mentioned my favourites but Jarl by Fyne Ales is the dug's baws and as refreshing an outburst of fruit as it's possible to get. Try especially on a hot summer's day! Others are Hurricane Jack and Avalanche by the same brewery and Black IPA and Edinburgh Gold by Stewarts and Punk IPA by Brewdog.
Only thing that cheeses me off is the price, which I can appreciate with the smaller breweries, but such as Brewdog are making decent quantities of the stuff yet the price of a 30cl bottle can be the same or more than larger bottles from other smaller breweries.
Funny you should say that, Jarl is just about my least favourite pint. You would be cheaper just pouring some washing up liquid into a glass and downing it :greengrin
Tonight's tipples for me are.......
Maclays 56 shilling, 6.9% - 5/10
......and Brewdog Brixton Porter, 5.0 % - 5/10
I'm very strict with my scoring so 5/10 isn't too bad :greengrin
Just for info............
Scottish Real Ale Festival 2014
10-13th July (provisional)
Edinburgh Corn Exchange, New Market Rd.
Do any of you lot do home brew ..?..
Belhaven are about to launch a 'craft' range.
5 beers in all. Tried 4 the other day: An IPA, a lager, a stout and I can't remember the other. The IPA was ok and the stout was very good (and gave a nice glow at 7.2%).
The 5th, which the rep didn't have for sampling, was aged in Speyside whisky casks.
It's never appealed to me GH, got a few mates who have produced some cracking beers (ones a professional so only to be expected) but I've never fancied the hassle tbh. I'd drink it way faster if I had loads sat in the house and also for the same reason I'm not too interested in learning to cook really well- I don't want to lose the mystery of not knowing how the professionals produce something I enjoy. Could save a fair bit of cash though...
Had friends round yesterday and we sampled.......
London Porter, 5.5%
St Peter's Mild, 3.7%
Einstock Icelandic Toasted Porter, 6.0%
Pearl Necklace Oyster Stout, 5.5%
Profanity Stout, 7.0%
They were all pretty good and I would have them again.
Tempest Chipotle Porter, 5.6% - Too spicy for me. Spicy food aye, spicy beer naw!!
Tempest Red Eye Flight Mocha Porter, 7.4% - OK, but a bit strong for my liking. You could taste the strength in it and that's not always good.
Greenwich Smoked Bock Beer, 6.0% - Dreadful stuff :greengrin
And a bottle or two of Anchor Steam which is one of my favourites.
And I don't have a sore head :greengrin
Didn't really enjoy the red eye mocha porter either actually whereas their paler efforts like long white cloud and face with no name have always been much more enjoyable. There was a 2.8% tempest in growler last time I was in that was pretty good too. Ball park perhaps?
A colleague does home brew ..a novice he admits but kits nowadays are far more simpler ..as in measure your water ..make sure everything is steralised ..add the ingredients ...wait ..then syphon ..5 weeks later ..yer brew ..:party: ..most things are pre measured & pre packed nowadays ..all it needs is a bit TLC ..:agree:
My work colleague a (novice) is buying kits that produce 40 pints for the eqv of 25p a pint ..once you have the kit then the world is yer oyster ..:agree:
Yeah I've been very impressed by some beers that friends have made from kits, a lot of them I would never have guessed were home brewed if I hadn't known. And it's undoubtedly cost effective but I can't keep beer in the house and not drink it every night so it'd be pretty disastrous for my liver if I brewed my own:greengrin
Taken a wee shine to Peroni, but actually can't believe the price, how come it's so expensive? Is it handmade it someone's kitchen in Italy?!! An Italian buddy of mine has mentioned a few times that a lager called Moretti (sp?) is a helluva lot more popular in Italy than Peroni is, although I've never heard of it, more of an ale drinker really!
Will need another wee shed..however that has been passed wi the Wife :greengrin..the brew shop you mention has had rave reviews ..the first one I ever remember was the wee shop nearby the Corrie Inn ..put it simply ..why spend £sssss in a boozer when ye can spend & enjoy pretty much the same stuff doing it yersel at a fraction o the price ..:wink:
Moretti is far more popular in Italy, have seen it in Sainsburys but never tried it.
Peroni was introduced with a high price tag and it worked. Sometimes a great marketing ploy to introduce a new product to the market and price it much higher than it's competitors, it's target market accepted it so it was a winner.
Cairngorm Wildcat for me tonight. Pretty decent stuff.
Also had a pint of Williams Joker IPA on keg rather than cask. I'll admit to being a bit of a keg sceptic but this was definitely better from the keg.
Will try Moretti, apparently you can get a 660ml bottle in Tesco for £1.60 something, may buy 6 bottles just to be sure!!
a mate told me about this
www.thefreelibrary.com
www.bitterwallet.com/italians-drink-like-scottish-tramps
quite staggering that tennents super is viewed rather differently in italy. Quality headline too.
Nice one, all the best with it :aok: I've tried a home brew that was made with a black jelly bean in each bottle instead of the sugar lozenge that come as part of some kits. Gave the beer a slight aniseed flavour. No doubt there are other wee tweaks and alterations to be found on brewing forums to customise the beer.
Just sampling " Birds & Bees 4.3 % brewed by Williams in Alloa
A lovely ale
Had a Stronzo MacLovin last night which was superb.
Just polished off a Beavertown Bloody 'Ell which I'll certainly look to get more of.
Was in a pub in London last night and had a pint of Robinson's Trooper and a pint of Allsop Ale, both lovely.
Moretti is nicer than Peroni IMO - father in law drinks it whenever we go out for dinner at their local Italian in Lanark.
You'll get birra moretti in most supermarkets. It's usually £4 for four bottles. I prefer it to the peroni nastro azurro, I do however quite like the standard peroni with the red label.
I had a few bottles of cerveza pacifico Clara the other night, made by the same mob that make corona but this one actually had a taste. Quite malty but not too bad.
Tonight's choices are, cause the fridge is running empty are warsteiner or pilsner urquell.
355ml bottles of shipyard blue fin stout only £1 in morrisons. Nice.
This lot are doing a 40 tap takeover in 2 pubs in Wellington this Thursday. Best brewery in the world according to many...soon find oot!
http://photos1.meetupstatic.com/phot...275120712.jpeg
I'm not sure if there are 40 different beers, but they are definitely taking over 40 taps. So some of their more popular ones may be on 5-10 taps.
edit - https://www.facebook.com/events/1412...60842/?fref=ts
Just looked here and apparently 45 beers on 50 taps! :cb
2 pints and 2 bottles of Bitter & Twisted tonight.
Been mentioned many times before on this thread but a truly brilliant beer.
Just opened a bottle of Midnight Sun. One of my favourite brews :greengrin
After that it's Deuchars or Directors............
Just went to Musselburgh Tesco to stock up on Libertine Black Ale but as there were only two bottles left I've opted to start the evening with a Pilsner Urquell.
I think it's about 2 years since I drank a full lager!
Tryst brockville pale for me. A shining light at the end of an otherwise grim day for me golf, football and betting-wise:greengrin
Apparently this stuff is available in Wetherspoons at the minute. All the way from New Zealand. We pay the equivalent of 5-6 quid for 420ml. I believe Wetherspoons are doing it for less than 2 quid a pint! Get down there and have 10 pints while you can! It's very good :agree:
http://brewersguild.org.nz/sites/def...gunnamatta.jpg
Just bought some Leffe Bloom tonight from Asda and I must say I'm very disappointed.
Had this in Belgium on draught but these bottles taste nothing like I remember.
Couple of bottles from York Brewery that I picked up last week during a pit stop before Cheltenham.
Guzzler is a really decent 4% session beer. Light, dry and malty.
Ghost Ale is ok. 5.4%, very dark and tastes a bit like roasted coffee.
I see Wetherspoons are having an international beer festival which starts on Friday (I think), some interesting brews on offer.
Aye, I've got the beer list in the house, should be good.
I find myself in Glasgow today, The Allison Arms near Shawlands doesnae look much from outside, but, its nice enough inside and must have a range of about 100 different bottled craft beers, reasonably priced too!