Scored at the second attempt but I was more concerned with Dazza’s tackle looked as though he won the ball ��
Printable View
I'm not convinced by that. Our best chance probably came in 72/73 when we topped the league by leading 5-0 at half time at Tynie. The Brownlie leg break & the ridiculous Edwards suspension are well documented but we bottled it that season. IIRC we only gained about 2 points & scored 2 goals in our last 7 games. Edwards had returned by then & Des Bremner was a fine replacement for Brownlie. It wasn't our defence that let us down at the end of that season, it was our much vaunted attack.
Having said that I would have loved George Stewart to be at ER several seasons earlier.
Brian
I was going to post something similar.
Certainly things went pear shaped after the East Fife game and i do agree there was a bit of a goal drought after that.
Did both Pat and Jimmy not sit out a few games due to injury ,or in Jimmys case, just being left out, as Ned did sometimes, to the bafflement of many fans.
Score 2 or 3 one game and dropped the next game !!
He had scored 28 i think between August and the 0-7 game.
But that season was the one that got away !
It should have been 4-1. Sure there was nothing wrong with McGregor's goal.
Hibs fell apart in the second half of 72/3 when John Brownlie suffered his double leg break & Pat Stanton & Mickey were suspended. Hibs backup was untried young players where, as today, both Celtic & Rangers had much more experienced players to bring in. An example, Des Bremner was Onions replacement, he made his Hibs debut in our loss at Tannadice, in the fixture following the East Fife game & Des was playing in the Highland league three months earlier, Celtic had Craig, McGrain, Gemmell, Hay and Brogan for the full back positions, all were full Scottish internationalists and so on and so forth. Johnny Hamilton [who left at the end of 72/3 season] & John Hazel were about our only back up with any amount of first team experience, the Old Firm had international back up all over the park.
Jimmy's 2nd on 1/1/73 was actually his 32nd goal, including 6 hat tricks, of the season. Our 7th goal was our 111th of the season. The team scored only 30 more and Jimmy only 2. We actually regrouped after the loss to Dundee United following the E Fife game and again after the 'cheated' cup replay loss to Rangers but we collapsed after the defeat by Hajduk Split. I remember Jimmy being subbed at Ibrox in the 1st cup game & i think he was left out of the replay. Don't think he was an automatic choice after that. Jim Herriot never played again after the game in Split. Pointswise we came closer in the 2 seasons we were runners up but 72/73 was our big chance.
Wonderful recollections, Brian.
If i may say so ,the stats you mention regards Jimmy's total just up to Jan 1st is amazing in any league.
What price a current player doing that now ?
The duo of Jimmy and Alan would be priceless nowadays.
The Split game away was decisive in Ned's thinking.(the changes)
But he was wrong and he said so years later
(to me in the Barnton bar one day i was in with Jimmy)
As said by Ray, we had no real back up of the quality,skill and experience of TTs(original11) and that done us in the end(that season)
As Doris Day would have said
Que Sera Sera !!
It was good while it lasted
As short as that was-(
https://youtu.be/Rp-Qsp3jru4
4 years ago :cb
23/2/2008 Scottish League SPL
Hibernian 2 v 0 Inverness CT
Nish 3
Fletcher 5
Hibs Ma-Kalambay Gathuessi Zarabi Jones Hogg Boozy Zemmama Rankin Shiels Nish and Fletcher
Subs Morais Murray Hanlon
Att 12552
23/2/1991 Scottish Cup Round 4
St Johnstone 2 v 1 Hibernian
Hamilton
Keith Houchen on his last warning after an indiscretion at Starks Park gives the V sign to the HIBS fans after being sent off
Neil Cooper had already been sent off making any fight back impossible
Hibs Goram Miller McIntyre Cooper Hunter MacLeod Hamilton Mitchell McGinlay Houchen and Tortolano
Sub Findlay
Att 9153
23/2/1980 Scottish League Premier Division
Dundee United 1 v 0 Hibernian
Hibs legend Peter Cormack makes his second debut for the club but it was not to be a winning one as former hibee Willie Pettigrew scored the only goal after 40 minutes
Man of the Match : Jim McArthur
Hibs McArthur Brazil Lambie Rae Paterson McNamara Callachan MacLeod Cormack Campbell and Duncan
Subs Hutchinson Murray
Att 7822
23/2/1974 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 2 v 4 Celtic
Duncan 23
O’Rourke 53
Celtic came to Easter Road knowing a win would end Hibs’ challenge and that is exactly what happened Celtic ended HIBS’ 20 game unbeaten run and moved 5 points clear at the top
Deans 2 Dalglish and Wilson for Celtic
Hibs would finish runners up ahead of Rangers
Hibs McArthur Spalding Schaedler Stanton Black Blackley Edwards O’Rourke Gordon Cropley and Duncan
Att 48554
23/2/1929 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 2 v 1 Celtic
Jimmy Preston 2
23/2/1924 Scottish Cup Round 4
Rangers 1 v 2 Hibernian
Walker 53
Murray 83
A classic Scottish Cup tie played between two talented teams with their reputations at stake
HIBS found themselves a goal down at half-time but they were playing magnificently Alec Maley gave his players a pep talk at half-time and reminded them that it is “all about pride and tradition but more importantly we are a better team than that lot in the blue”
It paid off because early into the second half Darkie Walker equalised after Geordie Murray caused panic in the Rangers defence
The tie was now wide open and very hard but HIBS continued to play a sweet game The HIBS defence stood up to everything Rangers could throw at them with Willie Harper in outstanding form
The forwards were fast and tricky and Harry Ritchie was causing Rangers havoc on the right wing when with only seven minutes to go after one of his thunderous runs he squared the ball to Geordie Murray who rapped in the winner sending the 15000 HIBS supporters wild with delight
HIBS Harper McGinnigle Dornan Kerr Miller Shaw Ritchie Dunn Murray Halligan and Walker
Att 52885
Receipts £1859
Birthdays
Willie Temperley
Brian Welsh
Willie Ormond RIP
The Making of Hibernian The Romantic Years Alan Lugton
www.fitbastats.com
Always saw Pettigrew as one that got away. Was a goals scorer all through his career. That Hibs team that day had the sublime to the ridiculous. Cormack to Duncan Lambie.
(Not related to 'on this day in history', but old photo and Easter Road so I thought I should post it here :-) )
Today's Guardian has a series of 1960s photos of Edinburgh. One is billed as a football match at Easter Road.
Anybody else see the problem?
https://www.theguardian.com/artandde...tography#img-4
The 2-4 game v Celtic. The biggest crowd I’ve been in at ER. Me and my pals went up to the ground around 2pm, probably earlier. We had learned that the only way in was to go early, before the police arrived, climb up the side of the gate and the. hide in the bushes on the slopes of the east terracing. We would sit quiet as mice and watch the shenanigans as people jumped over the wall and attempted to evade the cops.
The ground would be getting busy early doors and you could safely make an appearance. We often stood above the walkway between the upper and lower terrace. A handy spot to watch the swedging. The only crowd I’ve been in that was so tighly packed was Scotland v Wales at Murrayfield, round about that time.
Just catching up on yesterday’s posts on Turnbulls Tornadoes and season 1972/73.
Can’t add anything to them,as they were pretty much spot on.
Hibs had a player around that time who was a back up sweeper.
IIRC he only ever got a game when Sloop was very rarely injured or as happened at times suspended.
He was a fair haired lad whose first name was either Alex or Alan.
Always thought he had a bit of quality about him,but he was never going to get anywhere as long as Sloop was there.
Have no clue as to what happened in his career after he left Hibs.
Can anyone fill in the blanks ?
Anyone recall why Neil Cooper got sent off that day at Perth? I know he did but it’s escaped me.
My recollection was going towards half time, playing well and 1-0 up when Houchen got sent off with about a minute to the break. I can’t imagine Cooper had been sent off earlier than that. Lost the game 2nd half.
My memory is we played them off the Park first half went 1-0 up in front of 6000 hibbies
Houchey had a rush of blood early in the second half and booted Tommy Turner up the erchie Roddy Grant scored a last minute winner Neil Cooper was also sent off but you are correct probably after Houchen
He could have bought a cheaper watch and sent his coat to Munro's with the saving.
That is the England game March 1960 .England won.
I couldnt find the attendance ,but 70.000 crowds for 5 nations games at Murrayfield would not be unusual back then.
Ground record is 104.000 V Wales 1975.
Mid sixties i worked at the Scotsman as a copy boy and made some extra cash selling souvenir papers/pictorials at the ground during 5 nations.
One game V Wales ,70.000 plus in attendance, I got hit in the face with the ball ,as i was walking round the track. Sore one!!
Back to the guy with the classy watch. Lucky he kept it ,being so obvious .
Cop sergeant at the time who lived next street to us in Clerry told me the main probs they had with crowds at these games were pickpockets.
Crowds packed like sardines.
Easy pickings!
The 1975 game V wales at Murrayfield had 104.000 crowd
A world record that stood till 1999 .Oz V NZ game topped it.
PS
Does anyone remember the signs when entering Tynecastle back in the day
" Beware of pickpockets"
Yes remember the signs at Tinycastle had them at Hampden as well. Can't recall seeing signs at Easter Road. I heard from a policeman in clery that guys would come through from the West for the big matches to pickpocket.Remember all the Police houses in Clery
Me too! I was 14 (I thought I was younger :-)) I was right down the front of the main terracing up against the wall with my dad. My memory is that, despite the hype before the game, Hibs didn't really turn up (or Celtic were just brilliant). Other significant memory is the surge forward of the crowd and being pinned up against the wall every time Hibs attacked. After that, I always insisted on standing in front of a crush barrier!
The 104k was only those who went through the turnstiles. IIRC they estimated another 15k or so got in without paying. Think tickets were only for the stand in those days. IIRC we won & denied Wales Grand Slam, which were (or seemed to be) much rarer in those days!
Scotland v Wales at Murrayfield 1975 - Bing video
Look at the crowd!! Loads of exuberance at the end!! :wink:
Apparently thousands of people left without even seeing the game, as they literally couldn't squeeze any more people on to the terracing.
Some of the guys in my class at school went to a game at Murrayfield in 1980 (I think) and one of them actually passed out on the terracing and had to be taken out on a stretcher. He was in the school rugby team as well... the big wimp.
24/2/2018 Scottish League Premiership
Kilmarnock 2 v 2 Hibernian
Kamberi 1
Porteous 9
Hibs led 2-0 after 10 minutes thanks to a flick from Florian Kamberi from a Stevenson cross after 27 seconds and a Porteous header from a corner
Kilmarnock replied into the second half with a curler from Jordan Jones and a disputed penalty scored by Kris Boyd that resulted in Neil Lennon being sent to the stand
https://youtu.be/kY4E8u5g9ck
Hibs Rocky Ambrose McGregor Porteous Boyle McGeouch Allan McGinn Stevenson MacLaren and Kamberi
Subs Shaw Bartley Whittaker
Att 5348
Hanlon on Paternity leave
24/2/2016 Scottish League Championship
Hibernian 0 v 3 Morton
A shock result HIBS had their chances to win this but Morton rode the storm and sometimes you just have to say the better team on the night won
24/2/2013 Scottish League SPL
Dundee United 2 v 2 Hibernian
McPake
Griffiths
A cracking match at Tannadice United took the lead when John Rankin charged down a Ben Williams clearance James McPake equalised with a towering header Leigh Leigh Super Leigh then gave HIBS the lead with a wonder strike Dundee United equalised in dubious circumstances when GMS was obviously fouled outside the box by Ryan McGivern the Referee wrongly gave the award of penalty and Johnny Russell converted
https://youtu.be/Ppto6rwBkRA
Hibs Williams Stevenson McGivern McPake Hanlon Taiwo Cairney Claros Done Robertson and Griffiths
Subs Doyle Handling
Att 6160
24/2/2007 Scottish Cup Round 5
Queen Of The South 1 v 2 Hibernian
Murphy 45
Sowunmi 52
David Murphy gave HIBS the lead with a 35 yard strike past Jamie McDonald just before half-time John O’Neil equalised just after half-time when he headed home a Jamie McQuilken cross giving Simon Brown no chance from 8 yards Super Sub Thomas Sowumni on for Steven Fletcher at half-time headed in a Benji cross minutes later via his shoulder to put HIBS into the semi finals of the Scottish Cup
Hibs Brown Whittaker Murphy Hogg Jones Stewart Beuzelin Brown Sproule Benji and Fletcher
Subs Sowumni Stevenson Lynch
Att 6400
24/2/1998 Scottish League Premier Division
Dundee United 1 v 1 Hibernian
Hughes
24/2/1996 Scottish League Premier Division
Hibernian 2 v 1 Falkirk
Wright
Evans
24/2/1990 Scottish Cup Round 4
Hibernian 5 v 1 East Fife
McGinlay 2
Houchen 2
Collins
This match played in torrential rain at Easter Road ‘Goals McGinlay’ fired home the first when he ran through on a Neil Orr through -ball to fire home Orr repeated the dose for Keith Houchen to make it two Joe Tortolano then whipped in one of his famous crosses from the left for Houchy to make it three with a header
Into the second half and the rain continued to pour but Orr and McGinlay were up to their old tricks as Orr set up McGinlay to fire home from a tight angle
Andy Goram saved a penalty conceded by a McGinlay handball before Ally Mitchell pulled one back for the Fifers
John Collins found himself in acres of space to slot home the fifth in the closing stages as East Fife pushed forward trying to make the score more respectable
Hibs Goram Kane Sneddon Orr Mitchell Hunter McGinlay Hamilton Houchen Collins and Tortolano
Sub Findlay
Att 7232
24/2/1979 Scottish League Premier Division
Hibernian 1 v 1 Morton
Bremner
Des Bremner fired HIBS into a first half lead Bobby Thomson equalised for Morton giving HIBS their seventh draw in the last eight games
Hibs McArthur Brazil Duncan Bremner Rae McNamara Murray MacLeod Higgins Callachan and Lambie
Sub Temperley
Att 5691
24/2/1973 Scottish Cup Round 4
Rangers 1 v 1 Hibernian
Gordon
Derek Johnstone gave Rangers the lead but HIBS equalised when Johnny Hamilton sent over a peach of a cross and Alan Gordon rose between Tam Forsyth and Sandy Jardine to power home a header high past Peter McCloy
Hibs Herriot Bremner Schaedler Stanton Black Blackley Hamilton O’Rourke Gordon Cropley and Duncan
Sub Higgins for O’Rourke
Att 64000
24/2/1962 Scottish League Division One
Third Lanark 1 v 2 Hibernian
G Baker
Falconer
Joe Davis played left back for Thirds in this game
24/2/1951 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 2 v 0 East Fife
Turnbull
Reilly
Hibs were runaway title winners in this season and after a below par first half against relegation haunted East Fife they came out the traps flying in the second with goals from Turnbull and Lawrie Reilly in the last minute of course
Hibs Younger Govan Ogilvie Buchanan Paterson Combe Smith Johnstone Reilly Turnbull and Ormond
Att 25000
24/2/1923 Scottish Cup Round 4
Hibernian 2 v 0 Aberdeen
Dunn
Hibs were up against a tough and resilient Aberdeen side but the fans’ fears were eased when Jimmy Dunn swept Darkie Walker’s cross high into the Aberdeen net after only one minute
Aberdeen did not give up however and the HIBS fans could only relax when Harry Ritchie fired in one of his ‘specials’ after 84 minutes
Hibs Harper McGinnigle Dornan Kerr Miller Shaw Ritchie Dunn McColl Halligan and Walker
Att 28000
www.fitbastats.com
Thanks for the video, I watched it for the first time ever. I didn't know it existed.
I was at ER to watch Hibs lose and on the bus back at Haymarket there was a sea of humanity. That's how I remember it anyway !
Chancing my arm: the only other highlights I have always wanted to see is that of the 1974 Hibs 2 Celtic 4 .
I even asked BBC Scotland if they could provide a copy in exchange for a charitable donation but they couldn't.
It would be the last game patg
All ticket since.
Link below explains
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport...d-murrayfield/
I went to that game Scotland v Wales at Murrayfield in 1975.
You could buy a ticket but it only 'guaranteed' you entry if you arrived a certain time before kickoff. You could also gain entry by paying at the gate. I arrived with a ticket only to find vast crowds milling around the entrances and no prospect of getting in. I walked around the perimeter of the stadium and at the rear of the stand side of the ground found a gap where someone had removed part of a metal fence and people were piling in for free. So inside the ground at last I climbed up the steps to the top of the terracing, only to find that the crowd was so tightly packed it was simply impossible to find a way through and onto the terracing. I tried in several places without success and eventually had to give up. I walked home with the increasingly distant roars of the crowd behind me and ended up watching the match on tv at home. Biggest crowd I was ever part of - or nearly part of.
U25/2/2017 Scottish League Championship
Hibernian 2 v 2 Dunfermline Athletic
Boyle 6
Cummings pen 24
HIBS let a two goal lead slip but still remained seven points clear at the top of the Championship
McMullan 26 and Higginbotham 46 for the Pars
Hibs Rocky Gray McGregor Fontaine Stevenson Boyle Fyvie McGinn Shinnie Holt and Cummings
Subs Bartley Crane Keatings
Att 14437
25/2/ 2012 Scottish League SPL
Kilmarnock 1 v 3 Hibernian
Soares 16 66
O’Donovan 46
Tom Soares scores his first goal for HIBS after a great ball into the box from Leigh Griffiths
Roy O’Donovan then scored his first goal for HIBS just after half-time with a great strike from 25 yards that flew high past Cammy Bell
Tom Soares scored his second and Hibs’ third from a deflected Osbourne pass in the box
Dean Shiels scored a cracking consolation goal from a freekick for his father’s side
George Francomb hit the crossbar with a freekick and booted one off the goalline
https://youtu.be/71qgv4B1dbM
Hibs Stack Francomb Hanlon McPake Pa Stevenson Claros Soares Osbourne Griffiths and O’Donovan
Subs Doyle Sproule
Att 4283
25/2/2006 Scottish Cup Round 5
Falkirk 1 v 5 Hibernian
Riordan 9
O’Connor 67
Sproule 74
Caldwell 77
Fletcher 88
Hibernian reach the semifinals of the Scottish Cup after a hapless performance from Falkirk keeper Allan Ferguson gifting the first two goals to the deadliest of strikers Derek Riordan and Garry O’Connor
The first when he made a mess of a Deeks’ long range freekick the second when he spilled a Deeks shot at the feet of Gazza
Daniel McBreen hit back for Falkirk thanks to a Latapy assist but a strike by Ivan Sproule a header from Gary Caldwell and a shot from Steven Fletcher that Ferguson looked to have covered saw HIBS book their place in the semis
Russell Latapy 68 appeared as a sub for the Bairns
Hibs would face Hearts in the semi?
Hibs Brown Whittaker Murphy Caldwell Smith Stewart Thomson Glass Sproule Riordan and O’Connor
Subs Fletcher Konde McCluskey
Att 6259
25/2/2001 Scottish League SPL
Celtic 1 v 1 Hibernian
Marc Libbra
Opportunist goal from a quality player
https://youtu.be/B9GsFJcu-PM
25/2/1976 Scottish Cup Round 4 Replay
Dundee United 0 v 2 Hibernian
Spalding 8
Edwards 30
Derek Spalding in for the injured Roy Barry struck a glorious strike from 35 yards into the roof of Hamish McAlpine’s net
The Tangerine Terrors pressed for an equaliser the defence held firm and it was Mickey Edwards who popped up in a goalmouth stramash to force the ball over the line on the half hour for the winner
Hibs McDonald Brownlie Schaedler Stanton Spalding Blackley Edwards Bremner MacLeod Munro and Duncan
Sub Mike Wilson
Att 13000
25/2/1967 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 1 v 0 Aberdeen
Cormack 69
A cracking strike by Peter Cormack that settled this game against an Aberdeen side that were two points above us in the League
Hibs Allan Duncan Davis Stanton Madsen Cousin Quinn O’Rourke Scott Cormack and Stevenson
Att 18532
25/2/1961 Scottish Cup Round 3
Hamilton Academicals 0 v 4 Hibernian
Kinloch 2
Macleod
Baker
The Second Division outfit were no match for the conquerors of Barcelona
25/2/1956 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 7 v 1 Dunfermline Athletic
Reilly 19 42
Turnbull 21 50 77
Ormond 55 69
Hibs coming up for the semi-Final of the Champions Cup made short work of Dunfermline
Gordon Smith was into his 15th season and was still a top top player and he tormented the Pars defence in this game
Hibs’ Centre Half Bobby Nicol made a sound debut in this game
John Miller 62 for the Pars
Hibs Younger MacFarlane Paterson Grant Nicol Preston Smith Turnbull Reilly Combe and Ormond
Att 18000
www.fitbastats.com
26/2/2011 Scottish League SPL
Hibernian 2 v 0 Inverness CT
Booth 58
Stevenson 89
Hibs claimed their fourth successive SPL win with this 2-0 victory over Inverness CT
The talk after the game was all about the performance of young Calum Booth who put in a performance that belied his years and had many comparing him to John Brownlie
Indeed Booth gave HIBS the lead just short of the hour when he collected a Derek Riordan pass outside the box and lifted the ball beyond Esson and into his top far corner
Booth was then called into action at the other end of the park when he headered away a goalbound Inverness effort from underneath his own crossbar
Lewis Stevenson on as a 77th minute substitute for Liam Miller scored one minute from the end when he curled a deflected effort past Esson to seal all three points
Hibs Stack Dickoh Hanlon Booth Towell Wotherspoon Miller Martin Palsson Riordan and Sodje
Subs Thornhill Stevenson Nish
Att 13841
26/2/2005 Scottish Cup Round 5
Hibernian 2 v 0 St Mirren
Brown
O’Connor
Goals either side of half-time from Scott Brown and Garry O’Connor saw HIBS march into the semi-finals of the Scottish Cup despite spirited resistance from Gus McPherson’s lower league St Mirren side
HIBS Brown Whittaker Murphy Caldwell Smith Brown A Murray I Murray Riordan O’Connor and Fletcher
Subs Orman McDonald
Att 15195
26/2/1983 Scottish League Premier Division
Hibernian 1 v 1 Motherwell
Irvine
This game played in driving rain Andy Harrow scored his first goal for Motherwell since signing from Aberdeen with a looping header over Roughie
Ally Mauchlin of Motherwell was sent off for getting involved in one argument too many with Turnbull and Conroy
Willie Irvine #1 scored his first goal for HIBS since signing from Motherwell when he met a freekick in the box from Brian ‘Chipper’ Rice and headed the ball just inside Nicky Walker’s left hand post
Hibs Rough Sneddon Duncan Turnbull Rae McNamara Conroy Rice Irvine Thomson and Harvey
Sub Welsh
Att 4430
The video of this game is available on YouTube
26/2/1977 Scottish Cup Round 4
Arbroath 1 v 1 Hibernian
Blackley
Arbroath took the lead through Tommy Yule and then made it tough for HIBS to break them down
The equaliser came when Erich Schaedler took a short corner from Arthur Duncan this seemed to take the Arbroath defence by surprise Shades swung the ball in and the unlikely figure of John Blackley was there to bury the ball past Gordon Marshall
What could go wrong?
Hibs McDonald Brownlie Schaedler Bremner Stewart Blackley Edwards MacLeod Smith Duncan and Scott
Sub Muir for Smith
Att 4256
26/2/1972 Scottish Cup Round 4
Hibernian 2 v 0 Airdrieonians
Gordon
Baker
2-0 was our preferred scoreline on our run to Hampden in this year and this game was no different
Airdrieonians did however put up dogged resistance as expected and held out until the 75th minute
HIBS Herriot Brownlie Schaedler Stanton Black Blackley Hamilton O’Rourke Baker Gordon and Duncan
Att 15980
26/2/1966 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 2 v 0 Partick Thistle
Cormack
Stein
Colin Stein’s winner came when John McNamee hit a daisy cutter of a pass 40 yards out to Stein on the left he cut inside leaving a trail of Jags defenders lying in his wake before unleashing a fierce left footed shot past George Niven
Hibs Allan Duncan Davis Cousin McNamee Stanton Cormack Grant Stein O’Rourke and Quinn
Att 6597
26/2/1949 Scottish League Division One
Morton 2 v 3 Hibernian
Smith 7
Reilly 55 64
A cracking game at Cappielow played in atrocious weather conditions in a driving gale and on a bog of a pitch
Gordon Smith gave HIBS an early lead but Davie Shaw got stretchered off injured on the half hour leaving HIBS down to ten men Farquhar made it 1-1 going into the break
Into the second half and Turnbull was awesome playing in two positions covering for Shaw. Lawrie Reilly hit a double and HIBS thought they were on easy street when they were awarded a penalty Jimmy Cairns stepped up and missed the penalty but the action was not finished as Neil Orr’s Dad Tommy scored for Morton in the 86th minute leaving HIBS hanging on and fighting for dear life
HIBS Kerr Govan Shaw Buchanan Kean Cairns Reilly Cuthbertson Smith Turnbull and Ormond
Att 10000
26/2/1910 Scottish Cup Round 3
Hearts 0 v 1 Hibernian
Peggie
This Match was replayed when Hearts who had been leading 1-0 at the Holy Ground had the rug pulled from under them when the match was abandoned due to several good humoured pitch invasions The Referee had had enough and decided to call it a day
The replay took place at Tynecastle one week later and Hearts were supremely confident going into the game
The Hibernians had the better of the play throughout the game and scored the only goal early in the second half through Nesbit Peggie
Hearts did exert some pressure after the HIBS’ goal but this soon passed and HIBS went on to monopolise play and never looked threatened at any time
Hibernians : Willie Allan Tommy Birrell Sam Allan Willie Duguid Mattha Paterson Johnny Lamb Davy Dixon John O’Hara Nesbit Peggie Paddy Callaghan and Willie Smith
Att 25000
Birthdays:
Ally MacLeod RIP
Michael Stewart
At Easter Road They Play John Campbell
The Making of Hibernian The Brave Years Alan Lugton
www.fitbastats.com
26/2/1910 Scottish Cup Round 3
Hearts 0 v 1 Hibernian
Peggie
This Match was replayed when Hearts who had been leading 1-0 at the Holy Ground had the rug pulled from under them when the match was abandoned due to several good humoured pitch invasions The Referee had had enough and decided to call it a day
The replay took place at Tynecastle one week later and Hearts were supremely confident going into the game
The Hibernians had the better of the play throughout the game and scored the only goal early in the second half through Nesbit Peggie
Hearts did exert some pressure after the HIBS’ goal but this soon passed and HIBS went on to monopolise play and never looked threatened at any time
Hibernians : Willie Allan Tommy Birrell Sam Allan Willie Duguid Mattha Paterson Johnny Lamb Davy Dixon John O’Hara Nesbit Peggie Paddy Callaghan and Willie Smith
Att 25000
Birthdays:
Ally MacLeod RIP
Michael Stewart
The Making of Hibernian The Brave Years Alan Lugton
www.fitbastats.com[/QUOTE]
Early Exuberance!! Love it, it's in our DNA!!!
I thought Calum Booth was going to go on and become a fantastic player for Hibs. Great goal that day.
Prior to the signing of Sodje, Paalson, Towell and the return of Booth from loan, |I thought we were going down. Shows how dire we had been, none of the guys that came in sustained a good HIbs career, but they lifted a side that had been awful.
Proverbial game of two halves. Hibs murdered them 1-0 going on 10-0 with the wind behind us and at HT the worst was feared. Can’t remember their equaliser but you’re probably correct.
I seem to remember Alex Edwards pinging wind-assisted swerving balls into their box that just could not be converted.
27/2/2019 Scottish League Premiership
St Johnstone 1 v 2 Hibernian
McNulty pen 65 84
https://youtu.be/3mXAWlbh8v8
Hibs come back from one goal and one man down to win this match in Perth
Slivka sent off
HIBS Rocky Gray Hanlon Stevenson McGregor Milligan Horgan Slivka Mallan McNulty and Kamberi
Subs Omeonga Bartley Mackie
Att 4136
27/2/2013 Scottish League SPL
Hibernian 2 v 2 Kilmarnock
McGivern 85
Griffiths 88
HIBS leave it late in this dress rehearsal for the upcoming Scottish Cup tie
https://youtu.be/5mkaaiBLbJw
Hibs Williams Maybury Stevenson McGivern McPake Claros Taiwo Cairney Done Robertson and Griffiths
Subs Wotherspoon Harris Doyle
Att 8121
27/2/2010 Scottish League SPL
Hibernian 1 v 1 St Johnstone
Stokes pen
The last match in front of the old East Everyone got to take their seat home
The atmosphere would return sometime in 2014?
Hibs Stack Wotherspoon Hogg Bamba Murray McBride Stevenson Miller Riordan Nish and Stokes
Sub Zemmama
Att 12174
27/2/2008 Scottish League SPL
Falkirk 0 v 2 Hibernian
Jack Ross og 12
Rankin 52
Jack Ross certainly loved to score for the Hibees
Steven Fletcher set up John Rankin for the winner
27/2/1999 Scottish League Division One
Ayr United 1 v 3 Hibernian
Stevie Crawford 3
27/2/1988 Scottish League Premier Division
Hibernian 2 v 0 Dunfermline Athletic
Weir
McCluskey
27/2/1982 Scottish League Premier Division
Hibernian 1 v 0 Celtic
Rae
Title seekers Celtic came to Easter Road but not on our patch
Simon Murray’s Dad Gary destroyed Celtic with his strong running on the left flank and was totally outstanding It was fitting that his cross provided the tap in for Gordon Rae’s first half winner
Hibs McArthur Sneddon Schaedler Brazil Paterson McNamara Callachan Murray MacLeod Rae and Duncan
Sub Flavell for Murray
Att 15914
27/2/1971 Scottish League Division One
Rangers 1 v 1 Hibernian
Baker
Joe Baker equalised John Greig’s opener Pat Stanton was unlucky when his second half rocket shot cannoned back off the post
HIBS were now undefeated against Rangers in four games and had a Scottish Cup Semi Final against their old rivals to look forward to
Hibs Marshall Brownlie Jones Stanton Black Cropley Davidson O’Rourke Baker Hazel and Duncan
Att 30644
27/2/1961 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 3 v 3 Airdrieonians
Kinloch 2 ( 1 pen )
Baker
Hibs Simpson Fraser McClelland Baxter Easton Baird MacLeod Preston Baker Kinloch and Ormond
Att 7000 + Forza Fred
27/2/1960 Scottish League Division One
Dunfermline Athletic 2 v 2 Hibernian
Baker
Baxter
Birthdays:
Jim McArthur
Tom Taiwo
www.fitbastats.com
My Facebook memories tell me that we said goodbye to Bobby Smith and Alan Gordon on the same day as the old East.
That was some day in there. It was like a trawl through the greatest hits of the Hibee songbook.
28/2/2020 Scottish Cup Quarter Final
Hibernian 5 v 2 Inverness CT
Jackson 38
Allan 58
Docherty 71
Omeonga 81
Gullan 84
An easier than expected victory against a normally difficult opponent We were even afforded the luxury of a Paul Hanlon penalty miss
Tremarco 73 and Todorov 88 for the visitors who had Brad McKay sent off 74
Hibs Rocky McGinn Jackson Hanlon Boyle Whittaker Docherty Stevenson Allan Doidge and McNulty
Subs Omeonga Gullan Horgan
Att 9937
28/2/2015 Scottish League Championship
Alloa Athletic 0 v 1 Hibernian
Scott Allan 26
Scott Allan scored from distance with a direct free kick to put HIBS four points clear of third placed The Rangers
On the same day runaway Championship leaders Hearts were defeating the Blue Brazil 10-0 at Tiny
Fair Play!
28/2/1987 Scottish League Premier Division
Rangers 1 v 1 Hibernian
Eddie May
Eddie May latches onto a Mickey Weir pass in the box to coolly chip the goalkeeper and give HIBS the lead against the run of play
Dave McPherson equalised in the 72nd minute with a header from a Davey Cooper cross
Roughie outstanding in this match
https://youtu.be/hfcmnQ1RCjE
Hibs Rough Hunter Mitchell May Rae McIntyre Weir Bell McCluskey Collins and McBride
Sub Cowan
Att 37000
28/2/1981 Scottish League Division One
Dunfermline Athletic 0 v 5 Hibernian
Rae pen
Jamieson 2
Connolly 2
Veteran John Connolly came off the bench and ran riot in this match scoring twice
Young Willie Jamieson scored his fourth brace of the season
Hibs McArthur Sneddon Duncan McNamara Paterson McLaren Hamill Rae Murray Jamieson and Brown
Sub Connolly
Att 2729
28/2/1973 Scottish Cup Round 4 Replay
Hibernian 1 v 2 Rangers
Duncan
I attended this game and my overriding memory is ‘We wiz robbed’
49000 turned up to take the total attendance for this tie to well over 100000
Duncan gave HIBS the lead in a rough match Tommy McLean equalised and in the dying embers of this game with extra time looking likely the Referee controversially awarded Rangers a late penalty which Tommy McLean duly scored
HIBS totally dominated this game but could only take one of the many chances they created whereas Rangers only needed two
Pretty sure their penalty was highly dodgy IIRC
Significant by his absence was Jimmy O’Rourke who appeared to have fallen out of the Manager’s favour
This was the first time HIBS had lost in the Scottish Cup to anyone at home since Partick Thistle 1962 and the first time to Rangers in almost 70 years
HIBS Herriot Bremner Schaedler Stanton Black Blackley Hamilton Higgins Gordon Cropley and Duncan
28/2/1970 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 2 v 2 Rangers
Graham
McBride
Rangers arrived looking for revenge still smarting from the 3-1 defeat in October Johnny Graham gave HIBS the lead John Greig and Colin Stein replied for Rangers and Joe McBride squared the game with an excellent free kick
HIBS Marshall Shevlane McEwan Blackley Black Stanton Graham McBride Cormack Murphy and Duncan
Att 31322
28/2/1959 Scottish Cup Round 3
Hibernian 4 v 1 Partick Thistle
Ormond 2
Aitken 2
Joe Baker missed out through injury but Man Of The Match was Gordon Smith returned from injury who tormented the Jags defence
HIBS Wren Grant McClelland Turnbull Plenderleith Preston Smith Aitken Fox Gibson and Ormond
Att 27300
28/2/1953 Scottish League Division One
Airdrieonians 3 v 7 Hibernian
Combe 4
Johnstone 2
Smith
Lawrie Reilly was out injured but step forward the sixth member of the Famous Five Bobby Combe to fill the breach to score four from the centre forward position and put HIBS two points clear of East Fife at the top of the League
Hibs Younger Clark Howie Buchanan Paterson Gallacher Smith Johnstone Combe Turnbull and Ormond
Att 16000
28/2/1948 Scottish League Division One
Third Lanark 1 v 4 Hibernian
Cuthbertson 11 20
Aitkenhead pen 66
Combe 84
Legendary HIBS Manager Hugh Shaw’s first official game in charge and he gave a debut to future FA Cup winner in the HIBS goal George Farm
Hibs Farm Govan Shaw Kean Howie Buchanan Smith Combe Linwood Cuthbertson and Aitkenhead
Att 25000
Birthdays:
Ulrik Laursen
Mark Brown
Tam McManus
www.fitbastats.com
Was Bobby Combe like Pete Best or more like Billy Preston?
The penalty decision in the Rangers cup tie was a disgrace.
1/3/2016 Scottish League Championship
Queen Of The South 1 v 0 Hibernian
1/3/2011 Scottish League SPL
Hamilton Academicals 1 v 2 Hibernian
Sodje 37
Riordan 75
Derek Riordan scores his 94th goal in the SPL making him the third highest goalscorer ever behind Kris Boyd and Henrik Larsson
1/3/1989 Scottish League Premier Division
Hibernian 2 v 1 Hamilton Academicals
Collins
Evans
1/3/1969 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 3 v 0 St Mirren
O’Rourke
McBride
Davis pen
Alex Cropley makes his debut in place of flu victim Eric Stevenson
Hibs Wilson Duncan Davis Stanton Madsen Blackley Marinello O’Rourke McBride Cormack and Cropley
Sub Hunter for Marinello
Att 6146
1/3/1958 Scottish Cup Round 3
Hearts 3 v 4 Hibernian
Joe Baker 4
Hibs arrived at Tynecastle to face red hot favourites high flying Hearts -who would win the title - in front of a crowd of 41666 without talismanic centre forward Lawrie Reilly who was still recovering from a cartilage operation
HIBS Manager Hugh Shaw decided to go with the young inexperienced 17 year old Joe Baker who was not without promise having already scored in a win against Hearts to christen their floodlights a double against Queens Park, a goal in the previous round versus Dundee United and a hat-trick against Spurs
Anyway the game kicked off amid great anticipation Joe Baker missed a golden opportunity in the first few seconds. Hearts scored against the run of play after 10 minutes when a shot by Hamilton trickled over the line. Baker equalised less than one minute later when a shot from Ormond came crashing down off the underside of the crossbar HIBS were now in total dominance and in a shrewd move by Hugh Shaw before the game he had moved the strapping full back John Grant into midfield to counter the menace offered by Dave Mackay
Joe Baker thrived in the space created in the hole by Grant and he ran his marker Jimmy Milne ragged twice scoring with tremendous drives from outside the box after leaving Hearts defenders trailing in his wake blasting the ball past Gordon Marshall to put HIBS 1-3 up
Veteran Hearts midfielder Jimmy Wardhaugh pulled one back but Baker scored again when he hammered home a pass from John Fraser
Hibs led 4-2 with one minute to go - Hearts put HIBS under severe pressure and Murray pulled a goal back and still they came forward searching for an equaliser but Lawrie Leslie in the HIBS goal held firm and repelled all further Hearts attacks being carried from the field of play shoulder high by jubilant HIBS fans at the final whistle
HIBS would reach the final in this season defeating Rangers in the Semi Final after a replay
This match announced the arrival of the phenomenon that was Joe Baker to the football world
Hibs Leslie Paterson McClelland Turnbull Plenderleith Baxter Fraser Grant Baker Preston and Ormond
Hearts Marshall Kirk Thomson Mackay Milne Bowman Hamilton Murray Young Wardhaugh and Crawford
Att 41666
1/3/1952 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 4 v 0 Airdrieonians
Reilly 2
Johnstone
Ormond
1/3/1947 Scottish League Cup Quarter Final Leg 1
Airdrieonians 4 v 4 Hibernian
Smith 13 33 85
Finnigan 30
A real ding dong battle at Broomfield with Dalgleish 36 and Bobby Flavell 12 63 69 scoring a hat-trick for Airdrie
Hibs would win the second leg 1-0 in a dour game at Easter Road and would meet Rangers in the Semi Final
Hibs Kerr Govan Shaw Howie Aird Kean Smith Finnigan Brown Turnbull and Ormond
Att 18000
Birthdays:
Jonathan Spector
www.fitbastats.com
Is that a year since any of us were at Easter Road then. Brutal.
Was that the game when thousands of fans were locked out? Mustn't have been all-ticket for some reason. Don't remember that happening before. Have a memory of an unusually large number of police horses outside.Quote:
28/2/1973 Scottish Cup Round 4 Replay
Hibernian 1 v 2 Rangers
Duncan
I attended this game and my overriding memory is ‘We wiz robbed’
49000 turned up to take the total attendance for this tie to well over 100000
Duncan gave HIBS the lead in a rough match Tommy McLean equalised and in the dying embers of this game with extra time looking likely the Referee controversially awarded Rangers a late penalty which Tommy McLean duly scored
HIBS totally dominated this game but could only take one of the many chances they created whereas Rangers only needed two
Pretty sure their penalty was highly dodgy IIRC
Significant by his absence was Jimmy O’Rourke who appeared to have fallen out of the Manager’s favour
This was the first time HIBS had lost in the Scottish Cup to anyone at home since Partick Thistle 1962 and the first time to Rangers in almost 70 years
HIBS Herriot Bremner Schaedler Stanton Black Blackley Hamilton Higgins Gordon Cropley and Duncan
Been waiting on this one Billy.
27 February 1961 v Airdrie was the first Hibs game I can remember attending.
Recently returned to Edinburgh from the borders, I just missed the Peebles Rovers game and my parents decided that the crowd at the Barcelona game would be too big for a nine year old.
Surprisingly enough, it was a Monday night, and although Hibs had played on the Saturday,apart from playing on the Monday they also had to front up for a league game on the Wednesday!.
I know it wasn't the first Hibs game I attended, but it is the first I can actually remember attending.
Unlike those who claim to have been on their Daddy's knee at three months old etc when they first went to a game, I'm happy to start from a game I can actually remember.
My 60th anniversary of supporting Hibs!
2/3/2003 Scottish League SPL
Celtic 3 v 2 Hibernian
McManus 2
John Hartson headed Martin O’Neill’s Celtic into a two goal lead Tam McManus pulled a goal back for the purple shirted Hibees when he charged down a slack clearance by the Celtic goalkeeper for a tap-in just before half-time
McManus then lit the touch paper in 60 minutes when he curled a beauty from 22 yards into Broto’s top left hand corner to put HIBS level
Johan Mjallby on his comeback from injury headed the winner from a corner in the 92nd minute
Hibs Andersson Smith Doumbe Fenwick James Townsley Jack Brebner Murray McManus and O’Connor
Subs O’Neil Arpinon Riordan
Att 57500
2/3/2002 Scottish League SPL
Hibernian 3 v 0 St Johnstone
Ian Murray 2 37
O’Connor 67
Hibs marched to an easy victory in Bobby Williamson’s first game in charge in a match that spelt the deathknell for St Johnstone’s Premier League existence
Ian Murray scored twice in the first half and St Johnstone’s task was made virtually impossible when Keigan Parker was sent off for a second bookable offence on 38 minutes
Garry O’Connor’s goal in the second half was the icing on the cake for HIBS and the end of the road for Saints
Hibs Colgan Orman Caldwell Smith Murray De La Cruz Jack O’Neil Arpinon O’Connor and Brewster
Subs Brebner Hurtado Townsley
Att 13731
2/3/1991 Scottish League Premier Division
Hibernian 4 v 3 St Mirren
P Wright 2 (1 pen)
Hunter
Evans
A struggling makeshift HIBS side faced an equally struggling St Mirren side in this bottom of the table clash at Easter Road in front of a 4000 crowd
Paul Wright gave HIBS an early lead from the penalty spot The Saints responded with three goals from Kinnaird Martin and Torfason to give them a 1-3 60th minute lead Gordon Hunter then pulled one back for the Cabbage on the 66th minute with a superb volley Paul Wright equalised with seven minutes to go and that appeared to be that with many Hibees already in the local hostelries surrounding Easter Road Gareth Evans then rose from the bench to rifle home a late stoppage time winner to ensure that both points were stopping at Easter Road to complete a remarkable comeback
Relegation was scrapped in this season as the Premier League was expanded to 12 teams HIBS finished six points ahead of Saints in any case
HIBS Goram Miller Milne Hamilton McIntyre Hunter Lennon Wright Findlay Fellenger and McGinlay
Subs Evans Orr
Att 4000
2/3/1977 Scottish Cup Round 4 Replay
Hibernian 1 v 2 Arbroath
Macleod
Dearie me!
This match was played in rainy stormy conditions Hibs scored early through Ally MacLeod but then failed to capitalise on the many chances created and paid the price when Tommy Yule and John Fletcher scored for Arbroath
Terry Wilson was a menace for Arbroath and HIBS ended up signing him
Arthur Duncan was the only HIBS player that picked up pass marks in a disappointing night
75 years and counting
HIBS McDonald Brownlie Schaedler Bremner Stewart Blackley Edwards MacLeod Smith Muir and Duncan
Sub Paterson for Muir
Att 5772
2/3/1974 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 3 v 1 Rangers
Gordon 2
Bremner
Joe Harper makes his home debut almost one month after his ill advised debut at Brockville
Derek Spalding was returned to the defence and Des Bremner returned to the team after breaking his collar bone against Killie Joe Harper lined up at #7 although I am sure Rangers knew all about him
Alan Gordon scored two goals inside the first fifteen minutes Des Bremner got his third goal of the season and Tommy McLean replied for Rangers
Hibs McArthur Bremner Schaedler Spalding Black Blackley Harper Stanton Gordon Munro and Duncan
Att 23149
2/3/1968 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 5 v 2 Stirling Albion
O’Rourke 25 77
Stein 37
Stevenson 48
McGraw 65
Hibs gain revenge for the defeat at Annfield back in November George Peebles 15 and Joe Hughes 38 scored for the Binos
HIBS Wilson Simpson Davis Stanton Madsen McGraw Marinello O’Rourke Stein Cormack and Stevenson
Att 5221
2/3/1966 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 3 v 2 St Mirren
Grant
Stein
Cormack
Hibs Allan Duncan Davis Cousin McNamee Stanton Quinn Grant Stein O’Rourke and Cormack
Att 4874
www.fitbastats.com
That 4-3 St Mirren game was amazing, as neither team had showed any form that season, nevermind any indication that they would serve up a 7 goal thriller. Think you have the year wrong, though, as IIRC it was 1991, not 1993.
Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk
Brian Martin scored a screamer, then Hunter replied with an even better strike. Loved Gareth Evans for his workrate, effort and pace, but if we'd been able to keep Paul Wright and had him play alongside Keith I think they'd have scored a barrowload.
Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk
3/3/2020 Scottish League Premiership
Hibernian 1 v 3 Hearts
Hallberg
The players never turned up for this match and it was the last time the fans did
3/3/2013 Scottish Cup Quarter Final
Kilmarnock 2 v 4 Hibernian
Griffiths 15 82 89 pen
Done 39
A large vociferous HIBS support made their way through to Ayrshire for this televised classic Scottish Cup tie that would feature a virtuoso performance from Leigh Griffiths in which he would score his first hat-trick for the club
Killie had the better of the early openings but Griffiths opened the scoring when he latched onto a long ball from David Wotherspoon to fire home under the diving Cammy Bell
Killie equalised when Ben Williams parried a long range effort from Gros and James Dayton did not have to be asked twice
Just before half-time a mix up between Bell and Sissoko left the ball bouncing at the feet of Matt Done and he made no mistake from close range
Into the second half and Williams pulled off a great save from Dayton only for the Referee to pull play back awarding a penalty indicating that Lewis Stevenson had pulled Paul Heffernan back in the box as he went for the rebound -2-2
Griffiths then scored his second and HIBS ‘ third when he outpaced Sissoko and planted the ball behind Bell
As the game became stretched Barbour was sent off for pulling back Griffiths Gros handled the resulting freekick as part of the defensive wall inside the box giving Griffiths the opportunity to complete his hat-trick from the penalty spot who wasted no time in blasting the ball home and firing HIBS into the semifinals
Penalty:
https://youtu.be/tidGyYMrOdA
Hibs Williams Maybury McPake McGivern Stevenson Claros Taiwo Done Robertson Wotherspoon and Griffiths
Subs Deegan Doyle Harris
Att 7272
3/3/1990 Scottish League Premier Division
St Mirren 0 v 1 Hibernian
Houchen
3/3/1979 Scottish League Premier Division
Hibernian 1 v 0 Dundee United
Bremner 46
Hibs defeat high flying Dundee United as Des Bremner slots home a Gordon Rae pass to score from 12 yards
Hibs McArthur Brazil Duncan Bremner Stewart McNamara Higgins MacLeod Hutchinson Callachan and Lambie
Sub Rae for Lambie 45
Att 5000
3/3/1973 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 5 v 0 Dumbarton
Cropley 2
Gordon
Hamilton
Duncan
Hibs missing Brownlie and Edwards try to stay in touch with the top of the League
Hibs Herriot Bremner Schaedler Stanton Black Blackley Hamilton Higgins Gordon Cropley and Duncan
Sub O’Rourke
Att 12500
3/3/1970 Scottish League Division One
St Mirren 3 v 3 Hibernian
Cormack 11
Graham 36
Cropley 52
A Tuesday night thriller under the lights in Paisley Future HIBS man Jim Blair gave Saints the lead after only 2 minutes The highly talented but temperamental Peter Cormack equalised on 11 minutes but then got himself sent off on 33 minutes Johnny Graham gave 10 man HIBS the lead and Alex Cropley made it three just after half-time
HIBS were unable to hold on however as Ian Lister scored from the penalty spot on 72minutes and George Cummings equalised for Saints in the last minute
Hibs Marshall Shevlane McEwan Stanton Black Murphy Graham McBride Cormack Cropley and Duncan
Att 3375
3/3/1962 Scottish League Division One
Aberdeen 1 v 2 Hibernian
G Baker
Fraser
A very good game of football in which all in attendance agreed that HIBS deserved their win
Hibs Simpson Grant McClelland Preston Easton Baxter Stevenson Baker Fraser Falconer and MacLeod
Att 6600
3/3/1928 Scottish Cup Round 4
Dunfermline Athletic 0 v 4 Hibernian
Dunn 2
Halligan
Bradley
Hibs carried a big support to Dunfermline for this Scottish Cup quarter final
In the 15000 crowd the green flag and green rosettes were to the fore Many wore green Bowler Hats inscribed ‘Well Done Dunn’ ‘That’s The Way Harry’ and ‘Harry Up HIBS’
Like their supporters the team was in Cup tie mood and Hibernian fireworks gave them a 0-4 victory with two from Jimmy Dunn and singles from Johnny Halligan and Jackie Bradley
‘Dunfermline’s greatest trouble was Dunn. Every flick of the foot seemed to guide the ball as he wanted it and he kept Harry Ritchie going well Ritchie’s response was likewise good - both his crossing and cutting in were in his best style’
Hibs Robb McGinnigle Stark Murray Dick Gilfeather Ritchie Dunn McColl Halligan and Bradley
Att 15000
Birthdays:
Sam Morrow
www.fitbastats.com
4/3/2017 Scottish Cup Quarter Final
Hibernian 3 v 1 Ayr United
McGinn 7
Cummings pen 12
Keatings 79
Scottish Cup holders Hibernian ease past 10 man Ayr United to reach the semifinals
Aberdeen loanee Scott McKenna was sent off for a tackle on John McGinn 45
Rising Ayr United star Craig McGuffie scored a superb goal for Ayr United 33
Some good goals in this clip and a horror challenge by Scott McKenna on SJM
https://youtu.be/f1UZOkoO1Kc
Hibs Rocky Gray Stevenson Ambrose Forster Boyle Bartley McGinn Shinnie Holt and Cummings
Sub Keatings Fyvie Graham
Att 13600
4/3/2009 Scottish League SPL
Hamilton Academicals 0 v 1 Hibernian
Fletcher 80
4/3/2006 Scottish League SPL
Hibernian 3 v 1 Dundee United
Riordan 6
Archibald og 25
Killen 33
Hibs started brightly against Craig Brewster’s United side that contained Grant Brebner
HIBS took the lead when Kevin Thomson found Derek Riordan lurking on the edge of the penalty area who cut inside and dispatched a low drive into the goalkeeper’s bottom left hand corner
United almost equalised when Grant Brebner spotted Simon Brown off his line but his effort from 30 yards clipped the top of the crossbar on it’s way over
HIBS increased their lead in 25 minutes when Chris Killen found Riordan out on the left ran into the box for the expected cross and Alan Archibald in trying to clear the danger only succeeded in heading the ball not over the crossbar but into the roof of his own net
Chris Killen did get his reward however in 33 minutes when picking up a long ball from Riordan he found himself through on goal with only Gary Kenneth in the way between him and goal He turned him inside out a couple of times before sending a shot across the diving Craig Samson and in at the far post
Substitute David Goodwillie scored a late consolation for United in the 89th minute to become the SPL’s youngest ever goalscorer
Hibs Brown Whittaker Murphy Smith Caldwell Glass Dalglish Stewart Thomson Killen and Riordan
Subs Sproule Konde Fletcher
Att 16266
4/3/2001 Scottish League SPL
Hibernian 1 v 1 Motherwell
Latapy
Greg Strong thought he had won it for the Steelmen with a goal nine minutes from time but Russell Latapy popped up in the right place at the right time to fire a loose ball from a corner into the roof of the net
4/3/1995 Scottish League Premier Division
Hibernian 1 v 1 Rangers
K Wright
4/3/1978 Scottish Cup Round 4
Hibernian 0 v 0 Partick Thistle
Bertie Auld’s Partick Thistle were renowned for their Catenaccio defensive style of football and this time it was highly successful as they repelled wave after wave of Hibernian attacks
The replay would be on Monday
Another year of pain
4/3/1972 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 1 v 0 Clyde
Gordon 87
The Tornadoes were still awaiting the arrival of the two missing pieces of the jigsaw Edwards ( suspension) Cropley ( broken ankle)
Hibs Herriot Brownlie Schaedler Stanton Black Blackley Hamilton O’Rourke Baker Gordon and Duncan
Sub Davidson for Hamilton
Att 7200
4/3/1967 Scottish League Division One
Falkirk 0 v 2 Hibernian
O’Rourke 32
Stein 88
Jimmy O’Rourke gave HIBS the lead just after the half hour with an outstanding rocket shot Colin Stein added a late second
Man of the Match was Alan Cousin whose work in defence was totally outstanding
Hibs Allan Duncan Davis Stanton Madsen Cousin Quinn O’Rourke Scott Stein and Stevenson
Att 6000
4/3/1959 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 2 v 2 Rangers
Fox
Preston
Des Fox standing in for the injured Joe Baker struck the crossbar in the dying seconds of this game
Hibs Wren Grant McClelland Baxter Paterson Preston Frye Aitken Fox Gibson and Ormond
Att 32000
4/3/1933 Scottish Cup Round 4
Hibernian 0 v 0 Hearts
This match attracted a lot of interest and drew a record crowd of 34000 to the Holy Ground
Hibs still in the Second Division having failed to come straight back up the first time of asking had built a new younger stronger side that had all but guaranteed promotion and sat proudly at the top of the League.
Hearts on the other hand were flying high near the top of the First Division
Hibs were the better side and were unlucky not to win but would lose the replay at Tynecastle 0-2
We are told that one supporter cancelled his booking to sail to America so as not to miss the match
Easter Road was like an excavation site with tons of rubble lying around as HIBS installed new crush barriers to accommodate the expected huge crowd
All that really mattered to HIBS was getting back into the top League
Hibs Blyth Wilkinson Urquhart Langton Watson McFarlane McPherson Wallace Flucker Halligan and Polland
Att 34000
www.fitbastats.com
Re the last game.
My dad had inherited a league winners medal from the second division.
Some ******* broke into our house and stole it amongst other things. I would pay a reward for information on its return.
Lot of sentiment value.
To whoever started "Here we go, two in a row" in the Roseburn end against Bonnyrigg, thank you. That tongue-in-cheek song just got more uplifting every round (and replay!). We don't have a word for it, but it was gallous. The Ayr game was a saunter and the semi draw made us pinch ourselves a little. "Oh my, we really actually could", although we all knew Celtic were probably too much and we didn't get the chance to prove that unfortunately. A quarter victory is never to be sniffed at, but singing that wee tune as we put the game out of doubt early was for me a magical Hibs memory. Not taking ourselves too seriously, but dreaming big.
OO5/3/2011 Scottish League SPL
St Johnstone 1 v 1 Hibernian
Wotherspoon 80
A Richie Towell own goal in 46 minutes gave Saints the lead when he inexplicably lashed a straightforward defensive clearance high past Mark Brown
David Wotherspoon equalised in 80 minutes when he fired the ball home off the underside of the crossbar in a crowded penalty area
Ricardo Vaz Te made his HIBS debut at half-time sporting a pair of shiny new gold boots
Hibs Brown Towell Booth Dickoh Hanlon Murray Wotherspoon Thornhill Palsson Sodje and Riordan
Subs Vaz Te Duffy Stevenson
Att 4500
5/3/2000 Scottish League SPL
Hibernian 2 v 1 Celtic
McGinlay 22
Miller 64
Celtic had sacked one half of their Managerial Dream Team John Barnes and left Kenny Dalglish in charge
A Pat McGinlay strike gave HIBS a half-time lead when the Celtic defence failed to deal with a Mixu cut-back. Kenny Miller added to King Kenny’s woes in the second half when he latched onto a Jonathan Gould parry from a Lehmann effort in the box to spark chants of ‘You’re not very good ‘ from the East
Mark Viduka scored a late consolation for Celtic
Martin McIntosh a £250000 signing from Stockport made his HIBS debut
Alan Stubbs played for Celtic
Full game:
https://youtu.be/YFjdxOGO34U
Hibs Colgan Collins Smith McIntosh Hughes Sauzee Lovell McGinlay Lehmann Paatelainen and Miller
Sub Jean
Att 12236
5/3/1994 Scottish League Premier Division
Hibernian 3 v 0 Raith Rovers
Findlay
K Wright 2
https://youtu.be/QeP_ev11LAU
Hibs Leighton McIntyre Mitchell Findlay Tweed McAllister Hamilton Wright Evans and O’Neill
Sub Jackson
Att 6000
5/3/1983 Scottish League Premier Division
Rangers 1 v 1 Hibernian
Jamieson
Willie Jamieson playing at Centre Half gave HIBS an early lead It looked as though we were going to hang on until Gordon Dalziel popped up with a late goal
Rangers lodged an official complaint with the SFA to complain about our brutal tackling Any HIBS fan that was there that day will tell you that the opposite was the case to say nothing about our Supporters Buses having to run the usual gauntlet of bricks and bottles
Hibs Rough Sneddon Turnbull Jamieson Rae McNamara Conroy Rice Irvine Thomson and Harvey
Subs Duncan McKee
Att 11000
5/3/1977 Scottish League Premier Division
Ayr United 1 v 2 Hibernian
Duncan
Higgins
Big Walker McColl headed Ayr into an early lead but strikes from Arthur Duncan and Tony Higgins rescued the points for the Hibees
Hibs McDonald Brownlie Schaedler Bremner Stewart Blackley Fyfe MacLeod Smith Higgins and Duncan
Att 4000
5/3/1969 Scottish League Division One
Hibernian 1 v 2 Rangers
O’Rourke
This was a typical HIBS v Rangers game of the time HIBS totally dominated for 90 minutes Jimmy O ‘Rourke scored a good goal and gave the Rangers defence a torrid time Rangers were awarded the softest of soft penalties which John Greig duly converted
Into the second half and action replay total HIBS domination and possession Willie Johnston then scores a late late goal in injury time Sickening !
Hibs Wilson Duncan Davis Blackley Madsen Stanton Marinello O’Rourke McBride Cormack and Stevenson
Att 29221
5/3/1966 Scottish League Division One
Hamilton Academicals 1 v 2 Hibernian
Grant
King og
Bert McCann gave Hamilton an early lead Colin Grant equalised and the winner was an own goal from Hamilton’s Alan King
Hibs extended their unbeaten run to three games and Colin Grant’s strike was HIBS’ 100th of the season
Hibs Allan Duncan Davis Stanton McNamee Baxter O’Rourke Grant Stein Quinn and Cormack
Att 1000
5/3/1960 Scottish Cup Round 3
East Stirling 0 v 3 Hibernian
J Baker 2
Fox
East Stirling were undergoing a bit of a resurgence as a senior club and 8000 turned up at Firs Park for this Scottish Cup tie but the Second Division side were no match for Hugh Shaw’s men
Hibs Muirhead Grant McClelland Young Plenderleith Baxter MacLeod Johnstone Baker Fox and Ormond
Att 8500
5/3/1949 Scottish Cup Round 4
Hibernian 0 v 2 East Fife
Hopes were high of a decent run in the Cup with four of the Famous Five present in a match played on a heavy pitch
Right on the interval Davidson 44 put East Fife ahead
Into the second half and it was all HIBS with East Fife defending stoutly Smith was denied a penalty when the Referee said he was brought down outside the box Cubby missed an excellent chance in the box to level the tie and you guessed it Fleming 88 of East Fife fired home a long range strike against the run of play to make it 0-2
Another year of pain
HIBS Kerr Govan Cairns Buchanan Kean Ogilvie Reilly Cuthbertson Smith Turnbull and Ormond
Att 25000
5/3/1947 Scottish League Cup Quarter Final Leg 2
Hibernian 1 v 0 Airdrieonians ( Agg 5-4 AET)
Finnigan 115
Hibs would play Rangers in the Semi-Final at Hampden
Hibs Kerr Govan Shaw Howie Aird Kean Smith Finnigan Cuthbertson Turnbull and Ormond
Att: 22661
Birthdays:
Michael Antoine-Curier
Kenny Dalglish
www.fitbastats.com
Is it just me, when the old firm went behind in the game especially in the 60s and 70s they would try anything to get a penalty and invariably get an award by the ref. The John Mcdonald dive was the worst ever.
My dad was going to write to the SFA about the incident but didn't as he feared he would have been struck off the list. The west coast referee bias was known at the time and even later. I worked beside a grade one ref in the late 80's who gave up because of this.
Yes I think it was. It was meant to be highlighting the softness of the penalties they would get in games should have made myself clearer sorry. That John Mcdonald game was the worst refereeing display ever, closely followed by the
The Hibs v Aberdeen game which you can find on YouTube.
Speaking about dodgy penalties what about Pa pulling the Jambos jersey outside the box ( Spanish guy cannae mind his name don’t really care tbh) he staggers on gets shot by a sniper inside the box fa’s doon and Craig Thomson points straight to the spot It’s a penalty! :grr:
Game over!
Another dodgy Ref
6/3/2016 Scottish Cup Quarter Final
Hibernian 1 v 1 Inverness CT
Keatings 54
James Keatings slots home a SDG cross to give HIBS the lead
Mutombo equalised for Caley
Ex Hibees John Hughes and Brian Rice in the Inverness dugout
https://youtu.be/uWPgH-Xrmkg
Hibs Oxley Gray McGregor Fontaine Stevenson Henderson McGeouch Thomson McGinn Keatings and Stokes
Subs Gunnarsson Dagnall
Att 10000
6/3/2010 Scottish League SPL
Hibernian 1 v 0 Kilmarnock
Riordan 78
Derek Riordan curled in a 78th minute free-kick to put HIBS into third in the league
Cammy Bell replaced for Kilmarnock after 10 minutes when he collided with Sol Bamba
Benji missed a 60th minute penalty
The East was out of action for this game
Hibs Stack Wotherspoon Hogg Bamba Murray McBride Stevenson Miller Riordan Gow and Stokes
Subs Benji Hanlon Galbraith
Att 10359
6/3/1993 Scottish Cup Round 5
Hibernian 2 v 0 St Johnstone
Tweed
Wright
Hibs Burridge Orr Mitchell Hunter Tweed MacLeod Lennon Hamilton Wright Jackson and McGinlay
Sub Evans
Att 10785
6/3/1982 Scottish League Premier Division
Partick Thistle 1 v 2 Hibernian
Rae
Paterson
Tony Higgins bagged Thistle’s goal
This was Iain Hendry’s second and last game for HIBS having broken his leg within seconds of his debut against Berwick Rangers
Hibs McArthur Sneddon Schaedler Brazil Paterson McNamara Callachan Murray MacLeod Rae and Duncan
Subs Hendry Flavell
Att 2500
6/3/1976 Scottish Cup Quarter Final
Motherwell 2 v 2 Hibernian
A cracking Cup tie in front of a large travelling support in which an 18 yard drive from Derek Spalding and a goal from Arthur Duncan cancelled out strikes from Willie Pettigrew and Peter Marinello
Hibs McDonald Brownlie Schaedler Spalding Barry Blackley Smith Bremner McGhee Stanton and Duncan
Sub Muir
Att 17500
6/3/1971 Scottish Cup Quarter Final
Hibernian 1 v 0 Dundee
O’Rourke pen
Dundee came to defend sat too deep and paid the price when George Stewart tripped Joe Baker in the box Up stepped Jimmy Jimmy O’Rourke to send Ally Donaldson the wrong way from the spot
The victory was marred by crowd trouble when 20 arrests were made
HIBS Marshall Brownlie Jones Blackley Black Stanton Davidson O’Rourke Baker Cropley and Duncan
Sub Hazel for Duncan
Att 21710
6/3/1968 Scottish League Division One
Airdrieonians 1 v 2 Hibernian
Stein
Black og
Colin Stein scored his 21st goal of the season and Airdrie Centre Half Jim Black scored an own goal for HIBS
Ex Sunderland man Billy McPheat scored for Airdrie
Special mention to Thomson Allan and Alan Cousin who stepped in well for the injured Willie Wilson and John Madsen
Hibs Allan Simpson Davis Stanton Cousin McGraw Marinello O’Rourke Stein Cormack and Stevenson
Att 2200
6/3/1965 Scottish Cup Round 3
Hibernian 2 v 1 Rangers
Hamilton
Baxter
Jock Stein’s last game in charge of HIBS and what a way to go out and very much a case of what if for HIBS fans
He won 62% of his games in charge of HIBS winning the Summer Cup which was a big deal at the time
He would go on to become Scottish Football’s greatest ever Manager
Hibs Wilson Fraser Davis Stanton McNamee Baxter Martin Quinn Scott Hamilton and Cormack
Att 47363
6/3/1954 Scottish League Division One
St Mirren 2 v 1 St Mirren
Turnbull
Moran
Eddie Turnbull opened the scoring with a shot struck so hard the goalie never moved Stewart equalised for Saints Debutant Doug Moran scored the winner for HIBS
Hibs Hamilton MacFarlane Paterson Buchanan Ward Combe McDonald Johnstone Moran Turnbull and Ormond
Att 13000
Q. Doug Moran scored the winning goal in the Scottish Cup Final whilst on loan to which club?
6/3/1948 Scottish Cup Round 4
Hibernian 3 v 1 St Mirren
Combe 11
Linwood 30 42
All the goals came in the first half with Mitchell scoring for Saints
Hibs would face Rangers in the semi-final
Hibs Farm Govan Shaw Kean Howie Buchanan Smith Combe Linwood Cuthbertson and Aitkenhead
Att 38000
Birthdays:
Hakim Sar-Temsoury
www.fitbastats.com
Falkirk for Moran winning cup.