women
FT Scotland 36 Japan 12
Printable View
women
FT Scotland 36 Japan 12
Stuart Hogg becomes Scotland's top try scorer, 25th scored today, good Hibby too. 👏
That Pollard can't kick straight. S Africa could be ahead.
tough on the Australians against Wales, went ahead 28-26 on 78 mins but i just knew they would eventually give away a penalty after the restart FT 29-28 Wales against 14 men for 65 mins(and even 13 as well), i disagree with the Scottish referee in that sending off, wales now beaten Australia 3 times in a row for the first time since 1975, Scotland have beaten the Aussies the last three games as well
still to watch the 2nd half Scotland v Japan, i know the score though :)
France v the all blacks up next at 8pm
Ireland v Argentina tomorrow
pleasing the absolute silence by French fans for the Haka...unlike Ireland last week
New Zealand battered again 40-25 what on earth has happened to them lately, can only put it down to a long season for them i guess, biggest ever win for the French against them
Some performance from France on Saturday night.
England looking good as well. 6 nations should be great next year.
Hello, does anyone know if the Scotland France 6 nation tickets have already been sold? Brother in law is coming over from Italy that week and is looking to go. Looks like the Welsh just put their 6 nations tickets on sale this week.
good bonus try win for Edinburgh @ Dragons 30-14
Glasgow went down 19-18 @ Benetton
Edinburgh 2nd and Glasgow 7th
Another good bonus point win for Edinburgh tonight against a stubborn Benneton side (24-10).
A really strong squad at Edinburgh just now, and some of the younger guys tonight were excellent. Nasty looking injury for Mata early in the first half, and Kinghorn KO'd in the second half. Hopefully not too costly a victory in terms of players!
great win for Edinburgh at Saracens in the European Challenge Cup winning 21-18, nearly blew it right at the end by giving away a totally needless penalty by taking too long, Saracens kicked for the lineout and nearly got the winning try but the ball wasn't grounded properly after going to the TMO.
FT Edinburgh 34 Cardiff Rugby 10, really should have been a heavier defeat for cardiff
Glasgow v Ospreys just starting on Premier Sports
decent game FT Glasgow 38 Ospreys 19
what an embarrassing collapse by Glasgow Warriors, leading 17-14 in the 2nd half then....
52 Try
55 Try
60 Try
67 Try
74 Try
77 Try
FT Exeter 52 Glasgow 17....... a Rout
an improvement on the 42-0 Scoreline last time at Exeter
earlier Edinburgh were leading 20-14 @ London Irish, but the exiles,playing with only 14 the last 23 mins, got a try with just 3 mins remaining after Edinburgh caught offside, then converted to win 21-20
Edinburgh home to CA Brive in the Challenge Cup this evening.
First time back in a stadium since the Autumn Internationals at Murrayfield, and really looking forward to this tonight - even if I am going to be on my tod :greengrin
We were absolutely devastating tonight against an admittedly poor Brive side.
10 tries, 66 unanswered points, and a record attendance for the new stadium. I'll admit I had a fabulous evening and can't wait for the next home game.
The speed on both Edinburgh flanks with Darcy Graham and Freddie Owsley is terrifying...
Glasgow Warriors tough tie v La Rochelle tonight @8pm on BT Sports 2
they need to win this one i think
not for the first time glasgow make a total erky of it, up at La Rochelle try line and one bad pass has them all scrambling back down at their own 22, price kicks out on the full so it's brought back again then finally a La Rochelle try, very poor decision making HT 9-15
brilliant try within 30 seconds of the restart 16-15
46 mins, missed tackle try 16-22
49 mins penalty 16-25
51 mins, pure comedy errors from Glasgow one end to the other 16-32
58 mins 16-35
75 mins try 23-35
78 mins pen 23-38
80 mins try + con 30-38
Montpellier winning means Glasgow now drop to the challenge cup, they're sadly just not good enough to compete with the big boys yet
Six nations back this weekend.
Apart from Italy all the teams are decent so should be a great tournament. Cant see us retaining the championship though. France look great as do Ireland. Scotland look best they have in while and England are always competitive.
Bring it on! Particularly looking forward to Wales France on a Friday night in Cardiff. Wish I was going!
Ireland I think to win it. Scotland could be anywhere from champions to second last!! I think Wales will struggle. When I watch the championship games against the Welsh regions they look very poor. Although when they pull on that red jersey they do become a different animal
France grand slam.
Love the 6 Nations, favourite sporting event of the year.
I can't wait for it to get going. Home game against England is a tough start, but our record recently against them is good. France and England with less than ideal preparation, but England looked strong during the recent Autumn Tests and will be confident going into this. I'd genuinely struggle to pick who I think will win it this year - we look good, but having to go away to Cardiff and Dublin and win is always a tall ask...
While I don't think Italy are going to be anywhere near competitors for the title, they're building a very good young side that could cause a lot more headaches than they perhaps have in previous years.
Good hundred or so Calcutta Cup tickets just went on sale for anyone not going to Hibs v St Mirren…
France deservedly starting as favourites. Playing well and play some of their toughest opponents at home. Scotland have a great fixture list with England and France at home and a trip to Cardiff on a year where Wales look out of sorts - win the first game and the whole tournament opens right up. Ireland are going well but have a poor fixture list, will be up against it to win more than three games. Italy to lose all five as usual.
A big couple of months coming up for Scottish sport - the current Scotland rugby and football teams will probably never have a better chance to win a 6 Nations and qualify for a football world cup than they'll get this year.
Going to be a good day hopefully a Scotland win, terrible weather and I’m out doing Uber at night so plenty money to be made😃
Wales looking completely ordinary here.
17-0 Ireland and Wales have scarcely gone into Ireland’s 22…
Wales getting absolutely pummelled here.
quite astonishing england aren't ahead yet
edit, they are now
only one side in this game
That try came from another not straight throw to the lineout.
Exciting match. England are more lightweight and speedy than they used to be.
Ben O’Keefe has been dreadful today as referee.
England deserve to be ahead but he’s been really poor.
penalty try Scotland and yellow card for the english dude :greengrin
MMmm should we have went for a lineout there instead of taking the three points
20-17
arrrggg hamish watson
penalty reversed, idiot we would have been out of sight i think
just 3 mins remaining, and now scotland give away another penalty ffs
finn russell misses touch
scottish knock-on fgs
they're gonna get a penalty aren't they
yassssssssssss
get a photo of that wee nyaff jones
Makes you sick watching the crowd swigging out of beer cans & football fans can’t even drink alcohol in the concourse
Brilliant result! Well done Scotland. 💪
Hoggy will have his head on the end of a pike by the end of the day. He waltzed off with the Calcutta cup to get some photos with the boys, whilst Annie was standing waiting to present it. :greengrin
Just finished watching it after getting back from Easter Road. Great result and a performance full of heart and effort and no little skill. Thank **** I saw some from one of my teams today.
That was quite unusual actually. Normally they dispense it into a plastic cup when you buy it but there were a few cans in the camera shots yesterday.
What a win that was. England will (rightly, if I'm honest) complain about the lack of a penalty at that third scrum reset, but their try to take the lead came from a line-out that wasn't straight and one of O'Keefe's errors.
A lot of ill-discipline from Scotland at the breakdown and work to be done before going to Cardiff next weekend, but a great start.
Was thoroughly impressed by Ireland yesterday and I suspect France will blow Italy away pretty easily today too.
Italy giving a decent account of themselves here in Paris, but struggling to contain the French as we approach half time.
They're improving year on year with some of the new, young talent coming through their domestic teams and it's showing here.
18-10 France HT.
It's a massive bug bear of mine that line outs and scrum feeds are meant to be straight down the middle but referees and linesmen, who are always standing in line with both the throw in and scrum feed, hardly ever punish a squint feed or throw. Add to this that a large amount of line outs and every single scrum feed is squint and it just makes a mockery of having "contested" line outs and scrums.
Yeah I know that, it just really annoys me. Scrums are a mess to be honest and I think that part of this is that the teams know they don't have to hook, so can just concentrate on pushing knowing the scrum half is just going to throw the ball into their side of the scrum.
Mind you, the size and strength of the players has probably got too much for scrums to be at all successful nowadays.
Rugby is not my favorurite sport, and I’m not all that knowledgeable about it. I do like watching the 6 nations.
For some reason, I got into watching the highlights of 2019s 38-38 draw with England on you tube earlier. What an incredible spectacle, just an impossible unscriptable game. I was wondering how many Scotland rugby fans on here actually watched the whole 80 mins? If you’re anything like me against a big rival and you’re getting humped 31-0 you turn off the tv and go and make the tea :faf: I didn’t watch it that year, I was aware there’d been an exciting finish but hadn’t realized it was quite like that. Amazing.
You know what really annoys me about rugby? The overtime at the end. It just seems so unfair that in a close match the team who are trailing can have unlimited time to maybe win the game just by keeping the ball in play. The clock stops during downtime so it's not as if the full 80 minutes haven't been played, or as near as. Does anyone know the thinking behind this rule and do any other sports have anything like it?
The rule is the ball has to be “dead” - although the 80mins are counted correctly play can’t be stopped while the balls in play.
The advantage rule is the biggest annoyance for me - play goes on forever and then gets drawn back for the kick at goal. The complete opposite of football where it’s over too quickly.
Yes I know the ball has to be dead, that's my point really. It could take another 20 minutes as happened in Wales v France where France got the winning try. Can't be right surely?
Agree about advantage. You just know it's going to be brought back. Football should just scrap the advantage rule as each ref had a different interpretation and always too short.
I quite like the fact that you get a final play when the clock goes red. It adds a bit of excitement for the fans and allows everyone on the pitch to know where they stand and what they need to do. losing team, if they have the ball know that they need to keep it alive at all costs and the winning team know they need to avoid giving a penalty away and try to win the ball back to put it out.
The reality is that what happened in the France Wales game a few years ago was a farce but hardly ever happens. Most games end within the first few seconds of the clock going red and probably 99% end within the first 2mins of the clock going red.
The advantage rule in rugby is good, however I agree that it sometimes lasts too long. I think that there should be some proper guidance for it, i.e. a maximum amount of time it can last, or a maximum amount of metres gained it can last. There was a situation in the game on Saturday where England had the advantage near the half way line and the referee allowed them to advance the ball into the 22, at which point the lost it (knock on or something like that) and he then called it back for the original offence, that's too much for me. Once a team has got more than 10m-15m further forward than where the offence was committed then surely the advantage should be over.
I was watching it with my wife and kids and was all set to turn it off when Scotland were 31-0 down, but they made me keep it on as, according to the optimism of youth, there was still time for a comeback. Then Scotland scored before half time and they all got excited so we kept it on. Then the madness of the second half unfolded and I genuinely couldn't believe what was happening.
I agree
When it’s for a knock on, the advantage is pretty clear, if the non-offending team kick for field position or break the gain line it’s usually advantage over. But for penalty infringements, play can sometimes go on for several minutes before refs pull it back, which to me is unfair.
As you’ve suggested, a certain distance gained, or perhaps a set number of phases (say 6), if the non-offending team haven’t been able to make any headway then pull it back, otherwise advantage should be over.
I'm in a minority but league is back tonight with Sanits v Catalans.
NRL starts next month (though there is Maori v Indeginous game on Saturday morning UK time)
I find myself really nervous about tomorrow's match already.
It would be pure Scotland to beat England last weekend to go to an injury ravaged Welsh side (who were awful last week) and lose...but this is the strongest Scotland team I can recall in a long time - even the strength on the bench is incredible!
First things first though - a testing international-impacted trip for Edinburgh to Leinster (not a happy hunting ground) tonight...can't see us taking anything from it but some fringe players getting a chance may feel they have a point to prove.
I'm buzzing for the game. I was at Murrayfield last weekend and defensively we were outstanding and took our moments. Hopefully we can go and win in Wales for the first time since 2002. If we do... what a tone setter.
Then if we do... what if? Thats why I love sport.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Johnathan Davies seems to be wearing some sort of carpet.
just soooooo Scotland
Started well, then lost the plot.
This could be a yellow??
Nippy referee. Likes his endless advantage. peep peep constantly.
now hopefully not give away a penalty from the restart
shockerooni another penalty advantage
most used words by the commentator today
penalty advantage wales
kick hits the post and Scotland players race out at snails pace
russell yellow card and that'll be that after 67 mins
How Scotland is that... utterly pish
The referee has been woeful
So easy to get up for the game against England but FFS we’ve made Wales look good today.
Russell just why!
I wonder how many minutes of this game have been played during a Wales penalty advantage when everyone in the stadium knows its getting called back.
As much as I try to watch these games, it just seems be a platform for a referee to blether his way through 80mins. Might be a good idea to mute them. Back to the fitba.
That's bollocks. Pointless if you're playing a ref too.
How is it Russell gets binned but the Welsh boy gets nothing for the High Tackle? Joke of a performance by this referee, if I were Townsend I would be calling him out for that
Agreed. 100%
I thought we were poor today, especially in the second half but the referee performance was woeful. I'm getting sick fed up of leaving the rugby discussing piss poor refereeing and **** rule changes.
They need to get back to playing the game and get away from micro managing every single phase of play. Don't even get me started on half the times TMO gets involved.
missed the first 7 mins of France v Ireland, France 10 Ireland 0, now France 10 Ireland 7 after 8 mins
:sauzee:
Really think we were done by the ref yesterday. That yellow for FR was such a ***** decision. Advantage should last 2 phases and penalty advantage should only be applied within 5 meters of the line imo.
When was the last time Scotland lost a 6 Nations game that it wasn't somehow the referee's fault in the eyes of Scotland supporters? It just feels like an easy excuse to fall back on when the team underperforms, as they did yesterday.
The kind of decisions being picked up on are tight calls that get let go constantly both ways in games, because if everything was called there would be next to no actual rugby played.
Scotland lost yesterday purely because they underperformed against a team they were stronger than on paper and really should have been beating. As a neutral viewer the refereeing was largely irrelevant to the outcome of the game.
Dont think the ref had a good game yesterday but the Russell yellow was the right decision. Our big players didn't step up unfortunately and that's why we lost. Russell, Hogg, Watson, Van der Merwe all were poor. Darcy Graham had a good game. First time I've not been down since 1998 and we just **** the bed down there for some reason, even when we should be beating them.
Forza Italia!
a fair assessment :agree: Six Nations 2022: Wales v Scotland - why Townsend's men lost in Cardiff - BBC Sport
It wasn't so much that Scotland lost, it was the way they lost. They played no rugby. The negativity in their play was arresting. They seemed to want to kick and defend their way to victory, they seemed so satisfied about the strength of their much-lauded defence that they didn't think they had to do a whole lot in attack to get the job done, that Wales would implode in the latter stages as England did last weekend.
we were dreadful in the 2nd 40 :agree: much like the u20's the previous night, Scotland played very well but just couldn't get those extra points before HT, 2nd half...crap, did a couple of subs really make all that difference in which way the game was flowing, can we seriously not change things ourselves to make a difference, two days running we threw all the good early work away
Watson our tomorrow as well now (Covid). Hell of an injury list now, Scotland seem to be like Hibs - no luck!
Backed France for the grand slam. Not often I want Scotland beat but today the head wins over the heart.
4 shockingly bad tackles leading up to that try, keep playing like that and we'll get humped.