Think they need a new CEO and board to do that. Neilson can get them up but not with the style and play to thrive in the top League. January loan signings saved our first season back up.
Printable View
Well English, after listening to tonight’s podcast on Sportsound, must be going for the longest ever interview duration in his attempt to get the Head of Communications gig at Tynie...
I actually think that TE stance on this has given Budge false hope in the Hearts legal case.
His "its outrageous" "affront to natural justice" "SPFL are entirely in the wrong" style utterances over the last 3 months have basically given her the confidence to assume that these statements are true and not just his opinion.
He sounds to me like the kind of guy that will never actually admit he is wrong - even when they lose arbitration, have to pay costs and play out the season in the Championship, he will keep on it, keep speaking to Budge etc.
What is unknown, obviously, is - When the penny will drop for Ann B?
I see they're now wanting to boycott supporting the national team. How more like Rangers could they be?
This. I don’t think the penny will drop and she will always be in denial!
Her arrogance has been and will be her downfall!
There is still some way to go but hopefully one week into the new season (for some of us anyway) they will be dealt with by the SFA and the appropriate punishment handed out to them and PT!
If you're looking to deliberately spend millions for the sole purpose of avoiding relegation (an uninspiring target in itself) whilst actually being relegated she's the first number to call.
Same principle applies if you're thinking of building a single tier stand, laying a football pitch, starting a court action etc, etc.....
Jumbo Jim back at Hertz to help the Caveman. Can only hope wee Billy Broon turns up too.
Will take a lot of pressure off Ann as well while she is occupied fighting the court case. What court case? They’re a bit slow on the uptake.
Interesting that the hearts have appointed Jumbo Jim instead of a sporting director and they state that one of the reasons is due to the ongoing costs of their legal challenge ! maybe the cash is drying up again and they need the compo rapidly ?
Given his recent ill-health, I’d’ve thought this was the last thing he needs!
She said when she took over that most clubs aren’t run properly and she was going to sort that out. Oops. She’s been so bad and made so many mistakes that it’s almost a case of better the devil you know with them. To them she’s a Jambo though I suspect if she never had Benny factor Anderson smoothing over her mistakes with his cash injections then she might have been viewed differently. In fact because he is there to keep the club afloat they think they are untouchable. If he wasn’t there then she would be gone and they would have to live within in their means. I know that’s impossible for them to understand but they would have had to face actual reality.
Can't be a bad thing for them bringing him in. I've got a lot of time for Jefferies. One of footballs good guys.
Ann 'Contradiction' Budge does it again. We're going to put the appointment of a Sporting Director on hold for now and then appoints an "advisor" who role description sounds awfy like a Sporting Director's.
Why bother making the announcement a few days ago when you could have just waited and said Jeffries is coming in as a temporary Sporting Director? As far as Budge is concerned it's why do it in 1 statement when you can do it in 2?
Is it jambo policy to re-employ everyone they have sacked?
Jumbo Jeffries back at Fartz... Who next? Billy 'I've got a Raith Rovers jacket' Brown?
They'll be digging up graves next. That's an old team they've got going on there. Starting to think they won't come straight back up. Strange times at Fartz FC.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
I'm waiting on them announcing Colin Cameron on a 3 year deal.
I've nothing against Jim Jefferies but I have to wonder what the thinking is with this? It's a strange policy of trying to move forward by continually reaching for the past......
Surely Jeffries will be stuck somewhere in the past?
Yeah it’s a weird one, obviously a very knowledgable guy about Scottish football but how much of that knowledge will still be relevant to modern day football, and the likes of modern scouting methods or sports science. What exactly is he advising the board on? I doubt he’ll be doing much advising and more likely there as a conduit who can translate the pish the board come up with into managerial patter for Robbie.
This has got to be a wind-up, surely.
Budge seems to have no imagination whatsoever when it comes to making appointments at that club.
Why not appoint Billy Brown for this? He's dun 'hings.
Given the time pressures and escalating costs of the ongoing challenge to our relegation we have decided to put our recruitment process on hold for now," the club said. "Such an important appointment deserves our full focus and uninterrupted attention, which, right now, is simply not possible."
They seem blind to the fact that they are solely responsible for the "escalating cots" of legal action and that they'd have plenty of time to give this appointment their full focus if they hadn't embarked on such action.
At 69 and post heart attack I very much doubt he has the time, energy or desire to be a full time Sporting Director.
I do see him being able to talk some sense to the Board though and act as an occasional conduit between the mentalist Budge and her ‘football department’
Let’s be honest she needs as much help as she can get and clearly there are zero people interested in taking any perm Sporting Director role at her car crash club (despite her alleged huge pile of CV’s that months and months and months later she still has not got the time to look at!) so sticking plaster time it is....
Director Of Football Advice has a nice ring to it. Its very different to Director Of Football & you only need tippex the 'Advice" part off his office door sign when he gets the gig full time.
When you look at Budge’s history of appointments and who she’s been rumoured to be looking at... generally speaking it’s from a list of people she’s already met.
Levein repeatedly in different roles, and other coaches that were there when she arrived being shuffled around or linked to the DoF role. Hell she was linked with approaching Dempster, as presumably they’ve met...
The only one that doesn’t fit that mould is Stendel, but I think that came about because the media and fans mentioned him enough to make it seem the ‘smart choice’ otherwise, who has she hired for a significant role that she wouldn’t have already met in her capacity at Hearts?
Poor Neilson, desperate to be his own man. I’d be saying wtf, why is this guy needed as a middle man. Expect more note passing along the home benches at Tynecastle.
Ann hasn’t got a clue on recruitment, you need only look at the length of time to both sack and then replace Levein to know that. Yet another act of distraction and playing to the crowd that runs through everything they are as a club.
No doubt the eventual appointment will be a promised ‘big name’
They really only need to fill the Footballing Advice Director role as well and they're pretty much back to normal.
Any candidates who might work with Jim here? I'll go for his Doppelganger, Peter Griffin. He'd probably have done a better job of the stand as well
Great to see Hibs legend JJ back at Tynecastle.
The Edinburgh clubs are both so different. Hibs being the progressive club, always exploring new and exciting ventures. Hearts, stuck in the past, droning on about derby records years ago under Wallet Mercenary, bringing back Levein, Neilson Jefferies umpteen times, trying desperately to sign Sam bloody Nicholson etc. No wonder the youth are swaying towards Hibs in large numbers. You'd be embarrassed to support that boring little Championship club. Even their colours are boring. They really are the burgundy Volvo 740 of the football world.
Maybe it’s Jim Jeffries The Comedian
Trying to lighten the Mood
JJ is there to take the heat.He knows that so the pocket money will come in handy.
Best flumps manager in my lifetime by some distance. Nice guy too. Back at the club he loves at a ripe old age. Well done him.
Anyway back to the legal challenge thread so I can go back to ridiculing them.
Ian Murray, MP on Scottish News calling for a review of Scottish Football led by fans. The bold Jambo says that the ‘ the COVID crisis has shone a very bright light on the governance of the Scottish game on individual clubs, on fan’s contribution to keeping clubs going and a really good time for Scottish football to reflect on the clubs themselves, the national game from the national team down to grass roots and once and for all do something about it.’
Only one thing has rattled his cage and we all know what that is. :jamboclow
I'm all for a review of Scottish football, but it should start next season.
Hearts new director makes reference to Hibs in first interview.
Well there's a surprise!
If he's another one that's saying there should be a commissioner making the decisions I'd argue the decision to end the league based on ppg was correct, the decision to promote and relegate vs no promotion or relegation was correct and no reconstruction, albeit harsh on 3 clubs, was the best decision for more clubs than reconstruction would have been. It would have been very likely commissioner that a commissioner would have made the same decisions so we would have still had all the same people squealing about the same things and wanting change to the governance.
I'd say having a commissioner would probably lead to more disputes and court cases/arbitration because what we have now is a democractic process rather than an autocracy. No doubt there would be more calls for suspensions/sackings/investigations from the likes of Rangers and Hearts when they don't get their way.
The one thing change that would improve things is the 11-1 vote in the Premiership but that doesn’t suit Celtic and Rangers so probably unlikely to be changed.
Well, obviously!
"I very much admire the businesslike way Hibs have handled this unprecedented crisis. They have been very discrete, approaching players and members of staff in private, without attempting to use undue pressure, and threats of obscure rules, in an effort to get them to lower their wages to help the club see out the rest of the season.
I am particularly impressed with the professional manner in which they have avoided making public statements, which we all know has the danger of allowing emotion to override logic.
Their supporters have stepped up to the plate and bought Season Tickets in large numbers, purely for the love of their club. That, and the donations from HSL, are very admirable."
...are among the many complimentary things about Hibs that he didn't actually say.
'Jefferies admitted that it was “unfortunate” and “sad” that players, coaches and staff at clubs across Scotland have lost their jobs and had to accept wage reductions as a result of the Covid-19 crisis.
But he said: “The onus is still on putting a team on the pitch. Hibs have made massive cuts and they have let staff and coaches go. Maybe the reason they have made the cuts is so they can bring in better players than what they have and improve their team.
“Okay, some players have had to depart. Hearts, Hibs and other clubs have done that. It is easy to have a go at clubs for doing that. How can they do this? How can they do that? They have got a point." '
Herald
Maybe JJ's got a point, IF we are doing it this way, it's surely better and more ethical and business like than stiffing millions of Lithuanian pensioners, the NHS, HMRC and assorted Scottish charities like the Macraes Battalion trust and the Lady Haig poppy fund just to spend it on wages for footballers you couldn't otherwise afford?
Nobody knows what cuts Hbs are making and it's certainly not for him to comment. Why not speak about what Hearts are doing?
And this - "Maybe the reason they have made the cuts is so they can bring in better players than what they have and improve their team." - he's stirring it.
In isolation, no.
I can't disagree with the points he was making. However, why specifically did he feel he had to mention Hibs? If it was a one-off, it wouldn't be so strange, but this is almost a compulsory part of an interview with any new signing at Hearts.
Sign new manager? "He has had a great record, especially against the new Hibs manager"
Sign new player? "The first thing they drummed into me was how important it is to beat Hibs"
Sign new Director? "Yeah, we had to lay off staff, but so did Hibs!"
They cannot help themselves, always have to get wee digs in to Hibs, for such tiny little minds, we take up a lot of space there
Jeffries is just the latest tool being used by Budge's grand deflection operation. Her target audience will lap it up and continue to support her despite her obvious failings, whilst the rest of us should just ignore anything they have to say just now which isn't an apology.
Ian Murray throwing his dummy tit out the pram now. Whatever next? Go ram yer party and yer sad little team.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
JJ quote:
”Hibs have made massive cuts and they have let staff and coaches go. Maybe the reason they have made the cuts is so they can bring in better players than what they have and improve their team.”
All this just to endear yourself to them by reinforcing their siege mentality and talking keek! He has no idea the cuts made at our club. Complete tool and has lost any goodwill from me. Twat!
Just as I thought, suggesting a commissioner. Interview at 44.25. More squealing.
https://youtu.be/H8b9XwPrVQM
I’m absolutely delighted to hear folk having a go at Jeffries as I could never understand the regard and respect some Hibbys had for him. He is a Jambo tosser of the first order.