This is a legitimate world title fight. 2 warriors in there.
Printable View
This is a legitimate world title fight. 2 warriors in there.
Baranchyk throws three hooks they all miss and the commentator says three great hooks!
Good round for josh.
This is great experience for JT
Avoid a knockdown and he should win... Depends on the judging of the early rounds though.
And the new........
Why no belt?
That was fun, the Japanese are Barry people, good night out, Taylor still won at a canter for me, did even need to unleash the inner radge and go for it
Superb!
Just watched all 2 minutes of Wilder Breazeale
Wilder May be the least skilled of the top HWs but that right hand of his is dynamite
He has to fight AJ next
Cracking performance from Josh Taylor last night. He is a proper boxer with all the skills and he’s hard as nails. He looks unbeatable at the moment.
Amazing night again at the Hydro for the WBSS, with the only drawback being the ***** overpriced lager on sale (Fosters bleugh!)
Josh is going to take some stopping in this division. Really hoping the final is in an iconic venue like Madison Square Garden or suchlike, would be an amazing trip.
Anyone will be watching Joshua fight on a Sunday morning?
Alarm set here for 4 am.
First fight for AJ outside the UK.
My bad.
Thought it is this weekend.
I’m not having that decision. Taylor lost that imo. Hopefully the main event is taken out of the judges hands.
Impressive from Smith. He’s a major player in an ultra competitive division.
Joshua is looking very one dimensional so far
Wow. AJ didn’t have the heart to take that fight to Ruiz. Shocking performance from AJ
Unreal. He’ll have a rematch now, but AJ will need a completely different game plan for that
Looks to me like Joshua made the same mistake Lewis did all those years ago against Rahman. He was totally gassed very early and maybe didn't take his opponent, and thus his training, seriously enough. All he has spoken about in the build up to this fight is future plans, what's next and so on.
Didnt watch the fight but was it really a shock as being reported? I've always thought AJ was overhyped with a glass chin just waiting for someone to knock him out.
I think it's harsh to suggest AJ has a glass chin. He's taken some huge shots from monstrous punchers like Klitschko and Povetkin and steered his way through those fights. I think that's also a huge disservice to Ruiz. He didn't beat AJ with a couple of big punches; he consistently showed quicker hands, beat him to the punch, counterpunched beautifully and got his tactics spot on.
On the general point of AJ being overrated then yes I'd agree with that. I've argued on here for some time that Tyson Fury is a better boxer than Joshua and I've always stood by that. I like Joshua and I was impressed by the maturity he showed against Parker but he's limited. I think he needs to go away and look at everything he does, including his trainer and promoter, and work out what he does if he can't land those big punches. I mentioned Lennox Lewis earlier in the thread and he did exactly that. After he lost to Oliver McCall he sought out Emanuel Steward who developed his defence, developed his jab and Steward elevated him from good heavyweight to all time great. I don't think it would do Joshua any harm to consider a change of scenery and a step out of his comfort zone.
It's certainly a huge shock. In the build up, nobody in the media I heard speak countenanced a Ruiz win. He was a stand in opponent and, let's be honest, is in very poor physical shape for a pro boxer, particularly one in a world title fight. Massive upset, though I don't know what the bookies odds were.
You have to wonder how such a defeat will affect Joshua mentally in the remainder of his career. Losing is one thing; taking a good hiding from someone like Ruiz is quite another. He wouldn't be human if it doesn't leave mental scars.
Can't say I'm shocked.
Just watched it, Dillian Whyte will tear up that bum Ruiz.
The thing that jumps out is that there are 4 or 5 top heavyweights capable of beating each other in that division. Its about time all the talk stopped and these fights were made.
he's taken huge shots yes and they've stunned him. Nobody had taken advantage though and put him away. One thing he certainly seemed to have (up to now) was the ability to come back and win. I thought the referee nursed him through the Parker fight, pulling them apart anytime Parker got close.
Exactly like Lewis v Rahman 1 when Lennox was too busy filming Oceans 11 in the weeks before the fight, AJ was too busy swanning around Miami with Rory McIlroy instead of taking the fight seriously.
Mon the fatties! Turned out to be the best thing to happen to Lennox but not sure we’ll say the same for AJ. He’s nowhere near the boxer Lennox was.
Maybe this will stop them avoiding fights when the fans want them to try build the hype for 2 years. The funniest thing is Wilder probably lost the most by AJ getting skelped.
10/10 to Fast Eddie though. His interview after the fight was spot on.
AJ totally underestimated Ruiz, he turned up and expected to be able to pick a round to win in, and paid the price for doing so.
I don't think Ruiz is a better boxer than AJ, but the old adage that hard work beats talent when talent doesn't work hard couldn't be more apt than in this case.
I would expect AJ to comfortably win the rematch, with the caveat that Ruiz will have a puncher's chance, as he did on Sunday morning.
Ruiz more than deserved the win, and if you knew nothing about either fighter you'd think he was at least one level above AJ on that fight alone, but I think a fully focused and motivated AJ would beat Ruiz more often than not.
I think more respect has to be paid to the quality of Ruiz’s chin. He took a savage shot and it seemed to galvanise him. Clearly the last thing AJ expected as he dived in looking for the finish when he should’ve got back behind his jab and waited for another opening.
If anything I’d say Wilder’s savage KO the other week played on Joshuas mind more than anything. AJ paid the price for diving in looking for the finish, that shot he took to the top of the head / above the ear in the 3rd round changed the fight and he never recovered - this happens in heavyweight boxing.
Fully expect AJ to regroup and win the rematch by doing what he should have done in the first place, keeping the distance long, using his reach, peppering Ruiz with the jab, grinding him down. Instead he tried to trade with a seasoned hooker who was the smaller target , bad move
GGG looked devastating on the offence last night. Those overhand rights and then the massive left hook to finish it were savage.
On the other side he did take a few more shots than usual and I wonder if age is maybe just catching up with him.
I think it's exactly that, age catching up, I thought he won the first fight with Canelo and lost the second, don't think he'd win a 3rd either, real shame it didn't happen a few years back but think Golden Boy knew this and have been cute with the timings of them
Just saw a few clips of Tyson Furys press conference and media workout.
He looks in very impressive shape, the transformation is really quite amazing. He looks a lot better than the Wilder fight which was a remarkable weight loss in itself.
A fully fit Tyson Fury is the best heavyweight on the planet imo. It’s so rare for a heavyweight to have the boxing skills he possesses. It’s whether he’ll get another chance is the big question, no one will want to fight him. He’ll be the mandatory opponent for a title if he wins, but that means nothing these days.
I didn’t realise until I heard just now on BT that Connor Law had passed away. Sad news at just 26 and a decent prospect unbeaten in 13 pro fights.
couple of fights live on BBC scotland channel @ 10:50 pm tonight
IBO womens super welterweight title fight, Scotlands Hannah Rankin taking on sarah curran from USA
and Livingstons Martin Taylor v Ahmed abrahim, Scottish super-lightweight title fight
Championship Boxing: Hannah Rankin v Sarah Curran
Alison Walker introduces live coverage of the IBO women's world super-welterweight title fight as Scotland's Hannah Rankin takes on Sarah Curran from the USA.
Plus, action from Ahmed Ibrahim v Martin Taylor in the Scottish super-lightweight title fight. Commentary is by Alex Arthur and Nick Halling.
Warrington v Galahad up on BT Sport now - could be a good one
well done Hannah Rankin, Scotland's first women's boxing world champion
:not worth:saltireflag
Deserved win for Josh Warrington
Gypsy King rocking the stars and bars, quality :thumbsup:
Thought Warrington just edged Galahad but I was impressed by the challenger, I expected it to be easier for Warrington who was awesome last time out.
Comfortable for Fury but that's what it was all about, building a name for himself in America. Done what he had to do and you don't have to have a long memory to see what happens if you aren't right for a 'routine' fight.
Decent fight between Cheeseman and Conway on the now.
Ends in a draw. I thought Cheeseman probably edged it, but Cheeseman doesn’t help himself with that head down walking forward style. I like him, but he’s pretty limited, I doubt he’ll go further than British level despite his bravery.
Lee McGregor did well again tonight, looking forward to him and Kash Farooq hopefully fighting at the end of the year, would be a great fight
Anyone staying up for Artem Lobov v Paul Malignaggi in the bare knuckle fight? Premier Sports at 4am. I usually have no interest in UFC, MMA and this stuff but the build up has been bonkers. Pauli has dropped the nice guy persona and come across as a complete ****.
I woke up early so watched it, I had PM winning fairly comfortably to be honest, then I keep hearing in bare knuckle boxing judges give points for aggression, so seems as long as you are the aggressor you get points even if you aren't connecting, pretty pish sport
Not sure he’ll have made that much cash out of it TBH. I think he just got caught up in the trash talk around the McGregor/Mayweather circus. Think he showed his true colours in the build up, basically just a mouthy wee **** bag but fair play for walking the walk. And as I said earlier, I had him winning the fight.
Decent fight coming up on IFL.TV youtube - Edinburgh's Lewis Paulin v Ryan Walsh.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-qx44Sg94jg
Anyone watching this circus from Saudi Arabia tonight? Hughie Fury huffing and puffing at the moment against a guy who was a decent fighter in his day but is well past his best.
Well that was suitably farcical.
Khan fight is a good laugh.
About 4 punches and the same amount of head locks.
Khan wins this once Billy has lasted long enough to make it look like a contest.
Total shambles. Khan getting paid millions to fight bums
Khan made 7 million last night
To be honest it’s the exact type of fight I’d be taking if I was approaching retirement. Get that cash in the bank
The sad thing is Khan is still trying to convince himself (and the boxing
punters) that a fight with Pacquiao is possible next - it’ll never happen.
We shall see FB! :rolleyes:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/boxing/49001043
On holiday, anyone recommend a good streaming site.
Chisora going beast mode.
Some knockout by Chisora. Spilka looked in a really bad way there.
Allan v Price next could be an interesting match up.
Brutal knock out by Chisora, can't help but like the maniac
Price boxed well there.
Only Del Boy has been worth PPV so far, mon the body snatcher
This Colombian looks pretty useful.
Good win for Whyte. Don’t know where the judges got 115-112 from. Wasn’t that close a fight in my opinion.
Whyte did well improving by every fight, the fact he's been WBC no 1 over 600 days is a farce, him V wilder is who ever lands first imo
Ooft Dillian Whyte reported to have failed a drugs test pre Rivas fight.
Career could well be over as this would be his 2nd strike.
Now being reported as a failed test for steroids. What a ****ing idiot.
I’m a fan of Fast Eddie but there’s something not right. AJ signs up to VADA then puts in a bizarrely subdued performance, now this. After all he said after the Miller positive test, he can’t defend Whyte surely.
Good interview with Eddie here, statement from Whyte will reveal more tomorrow it seems.
https://youtu.be/vBhfGRV7D4Y