You too? Corstorphine not the for the first time either.
Printable View
Sitting on a Flixbus on the hard shoulder cos it has a puncture 9 miles outside Newcastle, when you should be in the pub getting a few pints down you, in all honesty it's annoying as ****, the word peeve doesn't do it justice. 🤬🤮
1hr 45 minutes so far.
The hun singing Caledonia at an away game. WTF?
Lorraine, wee screech with a face like a used t bag
Folk who don’t go to the last page on the Word Association Thread and then post out of order 😡
I know that it's slagging Hearts but, people constantly mentioning biggly and biggliest on the Main Forum gets on my thruppenny bits a lot more than it should.
In 2024, grown-up people using ridiculous rhymes for basic body parts. Describing the chestal area in terms of 19th century coinage, what, for fear of offending the admins? :dunno: :wink:
Yeh, Trump: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-37483869
Only used about Hearts because they're always on about how big** they are.
Reduced train sizes at peak hours.
Usually the train into town and back is between four and six carriages.... but today it's TWO!
The weekly over use of the term “huge” game.
FFS - if they’re all huge we’ve just lost perspective or the ability to express ourselves
Xmas jumper day at work. Why? So you can dress like a fud to be collectively known as fuds for the day?
Fun is up the mountains or doing something with loved ones not forced into a room to get a quick snap taken for the office intranet.
Office ******s.
Bah humbug
Another one for the forced Christmas fun. I like Christmas, really like it actually, and I also don't mind people having a laugh at my expense or being a bit daft or wearing something stupid for my kids enjoyment but I just can't stand this 'we're having fun, everyone is having fun, it's all so fun, fun, fun'.
I was at a trade show of a buying group my work is in back in October. There was an awards dinner at night. I generally can't stand these 'networking' things anyway especially when they then descend into self congratulatory bull**** but when you factor in the theme for the dinner was Mardi Gras then it becomes unbearable. I looked around the room and of the 2 or 300 people in attendance I struggle to believe a single person was enjoying themselves. Then the head honcho came on stage in rainbow glitter suit, sunglasses and a sequins pork pie hat playing air guitar and you see where the directive for Mardi Gras = fun, fun, fun came from and I found the solitary person who was in their element. It was excruciating. They put on a free bar until midnight but as soon as the main event finished at 10 a couple of the guys from our Irish base and myself ****ed off and paid £7 a pint in the main hotel bar. A bargain when the alternative was free drink but having to endure another couple of hours of that.
People who automatically think because I have some relaxed muscle around my girth I qualify as work Santa, patronising *******s ! 🤬
Thats 10 years in a row Ive done it, no ****ing more !
This is def my last year 🤔
The Christmas lunch day was one of the highlights for most of my working life. Obviously in some jobs there were idiots that you didn't want to have in the same room as you but for the most part they were brilliant.
My peeve nowadays is having to work myself up to eating and drinking far more than I usually do for my day out with the lads, knowing that I'll want to go home straight after our lunch but having to soldier on with a few Buscopan to help along the way.
Anyone else feel that Christmas day closes earlier every year ? In days of yore I always went to the Outlaws and was always up for a good few beers at Porty Legion before tucking into a feast that the lovely ladies had prepared. After that it was music on and a bit of a sing song before being chucked out around 9pm.
The following years chucking out time became earlier and a good signal was when the Mother in Law started cleaning up and switched the immersion on for good measure.
Fast forward to them being deid and us having our own Christmas with our kids but woah it was tiring. They flew the nest and now have their own kids and last year was hectic to say the least and both myself and my Wife were burnt out at 5pm and just ready to chill the **** out.
My old Mother in Law had the right idea, I didnt see it then but I sure as hell see it now 🫨
Spiral staircase, specifically the inside of them, on Saturday I was in a pub with a spiral staircase, was walking down talking to my pals, hadn't even touched a drop yet and forgot that if you are in the inside of a spiral staircase the stairs get smaller the closer you get to the bottom, with about 3 to go I took a full step without looking and took a Jeff Hardy style Swanton Bomb down the stairs, my right leg is currently a colour it shouldn't be
Note to self, pay attention on steps
An early Christmas present to all contributors to this thread.
Attachment 28354
Petrol stations that make it hard to pay. Was at a petrol station tacked onto a supermarket. It was self serve only, there wasn’t a building to go in and pay which is fine. However you couldn’t tap your phone, you had to enter a physical card. I’ve no idea the last time I had a physical card on me. Queued for a while to then find this out as there’s no signage telling you this. Had to drive off and find somewhere else to fill up.
Secret Santa. Thankfully no longer involved now with my own business but the hated the annual office secret Santa pish.
The Pet Peeve contributors Christmas Night out would be a right barrel of laughs [emoji1787]
I don’t mind it all to be honest and sometimes you are dammed if you do and dammed if you don’t.
For every office grinch there is one complaining that no one organised anything for Christmas.
I’ve made my peace with it all…put on the Christmas jumper, turn up, smile politely while calmly waiting for it to be over while trying to avoid the small talk as much as possible without looking like I’m avoiding the small as much as possible [emoji1787]
Checking your bank statement after your Christmas night out at Tynecastle… and it having “Heart of Midlothian” listed on it multiple times, with various amounts next to it.
You shouldn’t feel this violated when you’ve gone and done it of your own free will.
Bus drivers wearing Christmas jumpers, I dont mind the happy smiley ones but the soor faced gits should be wearing Grinch outfits, miserable gits 🤬
Bah ****ing humbug
I'll put a face on and bear it because I don't have any desire to spoil it for people who do enjoy all that stuff.
It's just the people who take it too far that gets me. As an example my work has had a bit of a tough year, people leaving the business, change of ownership etc etc. Add to that mid November through mid December is absolutely manic, everyone is at full tilt. I'd suggested that next Thursday we order in a nice lunch, get some beer and wine and whilst still working we can relax a bit and just enjoy the fruits of our labour. Idea went down quite well until the office fun officer got involved. My email about ordering a pizza or a burger was replied to with a 'remember your Christmas jumpers' then 'oh and why don't we do a secret Santa' then the dreaded 'got some party games planned. Pin the nose on Rudolph anyone? Lol'.
What started as a low key chance to just relax a bit exploded into something nobody asked for. It might be coincidence but half a dozen people who were in have suddenly had meetings come up or remembered appointments they previously couldn't recall.
I'll go. I'll put a face on and do what is expected but frankly the whole thing is ruined for me. Forced fun that no one asked for.
I just don’t go to work “fun” events. I let my colleagues know that I do my best to keep my work life and life outside work quite separate. I get on very well with my colleagues and like them a lot, but they understand it’s nothing personal, just a mechanism to ensure that as soon as I’m clocked out for the day, I’m switched off. Made myself ill from taking a precious high pressure job home in the evenings and making sure I never find myself in that position again.
Very, very rarely ever work from home (usually only ever if there’s an emergency that means I need to be at home) for the very same reason.
Cling Film …….. that’s all.
Same here, for reasons I'll keep to myself, I've hated Christmas since I was a kid but I just grin and bare it hoping I can avoid as much of it as possible. In years gone by I would volunteer to work over Christmas and then take a weeks annual leave before the whole new year thing kicked off.
There was a spell when my boy was still young that I could enjoy some of it through his eyes and that was OK, but now I'm just back to wishing the whole thing was already behind us for another year.
The words -"Love Island Star" or any of these people being classed as "Stars"
People who are ridiculously loud for no reason. I don't mean young kids or whatever, that's understandable, but fully grown adults.
My daughter and I have a daft Saturday morning tradition. Before her swimming lessons we get a hot chocolate and a coffee, different place every week from Starbucks to independent, and we score it out of 10. Anyway today is McDonalds and the place is dead. Only us and a group of 3 adults, they are at a table together and are literally screaming at each other from less than a foot apart. 'Awrite mate', 'AYE NO BAD' 'READY FOR CHRISTMAS' 'AYE MAN BUT ME AND HER ARE A BIT ON AND OFF' 'THAT'S BRUTAL MAN'. Just shut the **** up.
Flat white was a solid if unspectacular 6/10, hot chocolate a disappointing 5 btw.
Yodel and/or any company that uses Yodel to deliver stuff. Got 2 parcels due over a week ago that are still sitting in their distribution centre. Looking at the news and videos online, it doesn't look like I'm getting them anytime soon.
Evri.
Get and email at 1000 - Your parcel is out for delivery, estimated time 1330 - 1430.
Get an email at 1500 - We've had to reshedule your delivery, estimated time 1630 - 1730.
Get an email at 1800 - Sorry we can't deliver your parcel today.
EVERY DAY THIS WEEK :grr:
I'm a fussy hot chocolate person too. My face when I ordered a luxurious Belgian chocolate in spoons one day was a picture - spoons so I wasn't expecting much, maybe a bit of whipped cream and a nice tasting hot drink, not too sweet. I was handed a chocolate lollipop, told to go to the coffee machine and get hot milk and stir!
I only rate the coffees. The bairn is the hot chocolate critic.
Her only 10 so far has been for Aemilla in Portobello. Primarily a pasta shop but in the winter they do these huge hot chocolates with a home made toasted marshmallow on top. From the little bit I got to try it was very good.
Utterly pointless posts on social media. Gotten some relatives a Six By Nico voucher as they have been wanting to try it and one of their adverts popped up on social media about their new menu. I’d love to but your nearest restaurant is in Aberdeen!” and “I would but you’re fully booked on 10th January”. What the **** are they supposed to do with that?
i think the red mist would descend over me Scots Tesco Christmas shoppers furious after driver 'hogs four parking spaces'
https://img-s-msn-com.akamaized.net/...=768&h=511&m=6
People seem to use the trolley enclosure like it's a bus,taxi pick up spot, standing right in front of the trolleys that 90% of the people going into the shop need to use, every time I go I have to say excuse me can you get out the way so I can get a trolley, it's one of my ultimate pet hates, people with no situational awareness or they just don't care
I'm on the Calais - Dover ferry and it's full of French school kids, they've blocked every single exit to the outside by sitting in the doorways. Apart from having to step over them to get out or in, it's causing gusts of wind throughout the whole ship. Why?
Another ferry peeve, why the **** do people switch on their vehicle engines before the ferry has even docked and the doors are still closed?
That's not just ferries, it's everywhere. Get in your car, first thing to do switch the engine on, check your phone, phone some people back, put your seat belt on, etc etc etc., then three or four minutes later drive off. Particularly foul habit in ferries though. :agree:
Dafties who still use their mobile phones when driving, twice this morning we were almost skelped by mindless ********s on their phones. Young lassie too busy staring at her phone drove straight out onto the roundabout along from Musselburgh rugby club, totally oblivious to my wife going round the ****ing thing, I gave the lassie verbals and she apologised by waving with the phone still glued to her hand !!
Further up the road we have turned right from Newcraighall to go onto bypass and another stupid Woman came off the give way road again oblivious to my Wife being on the road and she almost scudded us, phone glued to her ear !!
Selfish ***** like that are liable to kill someone, licence should be suspended for 3 years and they should me made to resit their test if caught 🤬
That you can't get Brannigans roast beef and mustard crisps anymore
Cultural vandalism that they are no longer available.
When I was a bairn if Hibs were away my dad took me to watch his football. After the game in the pub (Leslie's on Ratcliffe Terrace, one of the best) me and another couple of laddies got sat in the back room with cans of coke. Every other week about 6pm I'd get bribed with another can of coke and packet of Brannigans if I didn't tell my mum my dad had another pint and instead backed up the story that we were late home because the bus was early and we just missed it.
Along with Scampi Fries they were a crisp/snack just meant for the pub.
This is going to make me sound either like a weirdo, very pretentious, or somehow a massive Tory but I found crisps when on a long weekend in Tunisia this summer that were raspberry and black pepper flavour. More out of novelty than anything but as it turned out, they were phenomenal.
Can’t get them anywhere at all, searched the web for them.
Brannigans crisps were stupendous as well though.
Seem to remember Tudor making some bizarre sweet flavours of crisps in the 70s, both chocolate and banana flavour spring to mind.
http://www.google.com/search?q=Tudor...hbIP7_SqqA8_32
Not crisp related, but my current pet peeve is Car Insurance renewals. Why do companies increase their second year premiums so much that you're forced to look elsewhere? I don't want to change insurer each year but I have to or face huge increases in premium. It's a real hassle every year, and it gets so I can no longer remember who I'm insured with.
The post-Sunday trend of digging out every refereeing decision that can be found by Celtic/Rangers fans as absolute proof there's an anti-Rangers/anti-Celtic conspiracy. Zero self awareness that the rest of Scottish football looks on in awe as they fail to see how both being treated so favourably all the time has led to this entitlement of expecting to get every decision - it can't work that way when you play each other chaps.
The other day, I had Evri email me:
10am: Your parcel is out for delivery, estimated time 14:00 to 15:00
2.18pm: We're sorry, your parcel has been delayed. We're working to get it on its way on the next working day and we'll let you know once its out for delivery.
4 minutes later, the bell rings and it is the parcel that 4 minutes earlier was delayed and wouldn't be coming until the next day.
Opened it and it was smashed to pieces. Opened it on the bed, little shards of glass everywhere. Do they throw the parcels about?
People who seem oblivious as to what is going on around them.
I was waiting to go and see my bairns school Christmas show today. Queue stretched from the doors all the way round the corner and half way up the street. Some woman walks up, tries the door then looks around as if she is stunned there are other people there. Do you think we are all just standing out here in the cold for a laugh?
People who ask if I'm 1st taxi in the rank when there's 3 taxi's in front of me, do they know how queues work?
I'm sure all couriers suffer from rough handling of packages, but I've witnessed first hand the Evri/Hermes couriers that meet up in the Hermiston Gait B&Q car park on an evening and play some kinda tourettes pass the parcel between themselves. The way they throw them about, I'm surprised the majority of deliveries are not just expensive collections of fragments!
Managed to punch myself in the face two nights ago then got wiped out by an errant dog five minutes later.
Was playing tug of war with my dog. She let go suddenly and I smacked myself in the face, sending my glasses flying. Partner found it very funny.
Got grumpy and took the dog out for a pee before bedtime. Put her on the lead, and took her out the front where there’s a grass verge. A woman was stood on the pavement and my dog started doing some gentle grrrrs - she can be funny with unexpected people in the dark (never, ever more than a gentle grrrrr. She also doesn’t like people who have been drinking or oddly, men in hats).
Decided to head up the grass verge to head away from them (after apologising and explaining) only to be absolutely banjoed. Arse over tit. Turns out that the person was standing there as they’d let their jet black dog off the leash to find a place for a sneaky poo, and after completing the job ran back to its owner taking me out in the process.
My dog starts barking at all the commotion, my partner peeks through the curtains to see what’s happening, sees me on the ground and I head back home to find her borderline hyperventilating with laughter at my misfortune.
Just went straight to bed. Still grumpy about it.
The wind, I dont mind rain, sleet, snow or frost but this wind has just caused havoc, my ****ing hibs gnome is gnome more after being blown off my tool box in side garden, ****ing travesty as I bought Sir David Gray just after the scottish cup final 🤬
Selfish *****.
On the way home from Cupar and a tree had clearly fallen, as there was a small queue of traffic either side of it - blocking both lanes. Everyone out of their cars to be able to shift it enough to open up even one lane - and before the tree is even back down on the ground two cars (a Mini and a BMW) go sailing past, nearly clipping us moving it.
My partner is now in A&E after something's gone in her shoulder and she can't move her arm. Imagine if everyone had been out helping, may have been different. Long night for us now and that's likely her out of her lifting competitions for a bit too.
****ing raging at how lazy some people can be. Person in the Mini at least had the decency to say "thanks guys", guy in the BMW looked like a right prick.
Hindsight is a wonderful thing but the lead car on either side could have straddled the lane to protect the good Samaritans and prevented those selfish types battering on through.
Well done to all those community spirited types though, they all did the right thing for selfless reasons.