David Roberts@thesportslawguyDirectors of SPL clubs could be in breach of thier statutory duties by voting #Rangers Newco out of the SPL.
How?
Printable View
David Roberts@thesportslawguyDirectors of SPL clubs could be in breach of thier statutory duties by voting #Rangers Newco out of the SPL.
How?
Absolute pish.
Directors have a statutory duty to act in the best interests of the company. Not allowing Newco in to the SPL (as opposed to voting them out) will probably lose their companies some money in the short-term but voting them in will alienate their customer base and could fatally damage their company's long-term prospects. If a club was profit-oriented then there could conceivably be an argument (but still not a good one), but there would be no such thing as a Scottish football league if profit was the motive.
In any case, the complaint of directors in breach of their statutory duties can only come from the shareholders - there is not a club in Scotland other than Sevco 5088 (if they can be called a club) where the shareholders would raise such a complaint.
An irresponsible comment from a halfwit.
https://twitter.com/bbcallamont/stat...92749879709696
RFC in full self-destruct mode.
Is this still planned? Not sure what the interest would be in a demo against "No to Newco", now that 6 clubs have said they will vote no. Would be good to keep momentum going to ensure Newco do end up in the 3rd though, and not in the first...but is that more for the SFL teams to decide now? Are SFL clubs even getting involved in this?
Ah right; hadn't seen the FB page. cheers
never mind; Winchburgh galaday it is then on Saturday...
Alan McGregor - Rumoured to be rejecting switch to newco
Neil Alexander - Out of contract
Scott Gallacher
Grant Adam
Defenders
Dorin Goian
Kirk Broadfoot
Sasa Papac - out of contract
Lee Wallace - Switching to newco
Steven Whittaker - rejected switch to newco
Carlos Bocanegra - rumoured to be rejecting switch to newco/on verge of signing for Toronto
Ross Perry
Chris Hegary - out of contract
Darren Cole - out of contract
Midfielders
Lee McCulloch - Rumoured to be switching to Newco
Maurice Edu
Steven Davis - rejected switch to newco
Alejandro Bedoya
John Fleck
Jamie Ness - rejected switch to newco
Salim Kerkar - out of contract
Kyle Hutton
Andrew Mitchell
Rhys McCabe - rejected switch to Newco
Robbie Crawford
Lewis MacLeod
Barry McKay
Juan Ortiz
Strikers
Kyle Lafferty - rejected switch to newco
Steven Naismith - rejected switch to newco
David Healy - out of contract
Andrew Little - out of contract
Sone Aluko - rejected switch to newco
Kane Hemmings
Davis away according to stv reporter
Davis away now too according to Twitter :greengrin
Surely this is the ideal time for ALL clubs , SPL, Div 1/2/3 , to STOP THINK AND ACT WISELY to ensure we have a " level playing field" and a fair share of revenue across ALL the clubs .
It is a once in a lifetime opportunity to rid ourselves of the massive problems Scottish football has had over the past ten /fifteen ( possibly longer ) years , let's not balls it up .
It's like big brother on fast forward ..
Alasdair Lamont @BBCAlLamont
McGregor, Davis, Lafferty and Ness all object
***ake at this rate I'll be getting a game for them next season.
Can't understand why any certainly first team player would stay, unless they are a fully committed Rangers fan or a Steven Gerrard style 'shady characters on the phone implying bad things may happen' type situation!
If any of them do stay and stick it out in the Third Division, fair play to them in a way. I remember Di Livio staying with the new Fiorentina (the Florentina Viola due the naming issues currently being experienced by Sevco) for example.
"We don't do walking away" - "We do running away!"
Rats deserting a sinking ship :greengrin
Macgregor away as well according to ssn
Sevco now have next to ZERO value in transferred playing squad. Begs the question why bother TUPE as would be cheaper to start from scratch rather than at existing inflated contracts eg McCulloch @ £20k pw.
This story just keeps on giving:not worth:not worth
SPL = No
SFL = No
Glasgow Boys Clubs League = only option
'All my life's blood is slowly draining away,
And I fell that I'm weaker every day',
http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/index.php?showforum=1
The websites even left now :greengrin
Back now ..... need some entertainment tonight :)
Follow Follow has crashed! lol
Bears den is an absolute hoot...
"Why is everyone surprised? Disappointed, yes.... Surprised, no.
If Davis, Naismith, Lafferty and co have all decided to leave, you can count on the likes of Boca, Goian etc to follow.
The club is going to have to start from the beginning. We are going to be left with a thread bare squad. The only signings we are going to make are jounrey men. This season is not about competing for titles, its about starting all over again.
Rangers will be strong again, but at this stage having a Rangers (In whatever form) in the most important thing."
Penny has dropped with this little genius !
No club, no history, no players, no league no money and ............... NO HOPE
Christ I am beginning to feel a tiny bit sorry or them.....
Great minds think alike I've already started on this as part of the next survey and was going to float it for feedback then invite idea's on how to structure it question wise.
So my draft attached just so that when I float you don't think I'm nicking your ideas. :wink:
http://cl.ly/2k1q1X1B272V3U3S2l3M
Joking aside, everytime i think there luck must be due a turn BANG something else happens.
do we have any young guys we could farm out to get a game ( provided SEVCO get in the SFL ), could be our nursery club.
I like the look of that and 3 leagues of 16 - SPL 1,2 and 3 :aok:
Your next survey should be asking the punishment for Rangers / New Club - and what sanctions should they have - e.g points deduction / Euro ban / Transfer ban / Sir David Murray losing knighthood ( Sir Fred Goodwin lost his about the RBS carry on).
Did have some concerns about this, Something that was said at a meeting I attended!!! :wink:
Basically was that clubs would be premature in stating or prejudging the likely outcome regarding the Rangers situation.
Can't remember the exact words but had me thinking once clubs started stating their intentions.
Was it done deliberately to give them an escape route? ND has been very quiet recently. :dunno:
A more accurate comparison would be if Hibs had developed those players and had decided NOT to sell them at or near top of their value. They could have decided to keep them for the duration of their contracts, gambled on achieving more success and generating more income on the pitch. If that had then failed to any great extent and the players left on Bosmans, then Hibs would have been completely stuffed.
Rangers, for they are the ones in difficulty now, always had the option of selling 4-5 players for (say) £20M, which would have gone a long way to clearing their debt or settling the big tax case. They chose instead to gamble everything on qualifying for the Champions League each year. They did it in some years but not enough to make the finances work, therefore the gamble failed. Why should they then get a free pass because they took the irresponsible decision and lost?
Wow, just had a read over that and to be honest...its great. It looks so simple you dont know why someone has not figured it out before and with the geographical pots etc it would add extra interest in the games.
Out of interest how long did it take you to put that together?
Outdoing themselves on HunMedia:
"Something can't be right and it's the first time I genuinely fear for the club."
Really??????????? :shocked:
:lolrangers:
It's complete nonsense. Only the shareholders could make a complaint, and the clubs ARE the shareholders. Even if (say) Killie made a complaint, the other clubs could defend with the argument that the league's business would have been weakened more by the loss of custom from their own fans leaving.
Did that Saturday in a couple of hours though had been in my head for some time. TBH was the reason I started the site with that in mind until the Rangers story broke.
I have done a sheet explaining the reasoning etc but still needs some work.
Did it based on this years tables but with view to starting 2013/14 as I don't think Sevco will make this years league.
They're absolutely shell-shocked over on Samaritans.com. Quite a number are saying there's something fishy about the regularity and the 'doing it in pairs' approach of their desserting. Probably not, but, you know, there might just be something going on. By the end of the week all the players might re-unite and form the squad of a new 'newco' fronted by all the guys like, Murray, Kennedy and uncle Walter who were in the original bidding process. They'll buy out Green and somehow conive to get Rangers on some sort of even keel, ........................................... nah, what a load of nonsense. I'm even surprised at my own imagination:greengrin
I suspect it is the club drip feeding the names out. Can't imagine it really is a couple of players deciding every other day. I suspect everyone who has already decided they want out is out, but the info will be released slowly, to get the fans desensitised to the process, and give the players more media exposure each to help them in their quest for new clubs...
I think they'll be a great feeder club for some team (hopefully Hibs). All that raw talent after all the big earners have gone. They can keep the likes of Clubfoot though. :greengrin
When I say SPL, I mean ND and not necessarily the SPL clubs.
I was told by an SPL Chairman at the weekend, that a package was being 'negotiated'.
I think the supporter's campaign should shift from 'no Rangers in SPL' which is a done deal, to 'no Rangers in Div 1', before its too late and a deal is done.
I'm thinking there will be no Rangers playing football in league football next season. :thumbsup:
Depends on the angle, really. When people make the financial argument about what SPL clubs will lose out on, when you break it down in terms of extra PATG or season tickets I'd say it's very achievable, particularly with a more realistic chance of a competitive league/shot at Europe. From the SFL3 point of view, if they get Spartans then it's pretty much a like-for-like game, if they get NewHun then it will bring certain issues and almost rule them out of promotion for a year, but at least they will get a decent couple paydays while they're there.
OMG!!!!! Feel the venom..........
http://leggoland2.blogspot.de/
Well, I am involved with an SFL Club in my spare time and we have definitely had discussions along the same lines as Rod's "Sporting integrity is beyond purchase"...
We, the SFL Club - not Hibs, cold make a decent sum if we get two games against Newco, which could be very helpful...changes the landscape over the next few seasons, but it's not the correct thing to do.
We have been told to gear up for an EGM in five days time to push through a vote to allow Newco entry into SFL 1, in return for some compensation. No chance...!
Many other SFL Clubs will think the same and if 8 of the 29 reject Newco to both SFL 1 and 3 then there will be a beauty parade with the likes of Spartans and Cove Rangers.
Certainly, as a Director of a Football Club, I am more concerned about the possibility of Newco still having no financial guarantees and possible administration. I would rather have someone like Spartans who will pay their way honestly.
I doubt Newco will be in Scottish football next season at all...
Prolific and eloquant critic of the Rangers debacle and the succulent lamb syndrome of Weegie journalism, has apparently shot himself in the foot by Twittering a reference to the video of the 'walking away' John Greig/Ibrox disaster statue which has been doing the rounds (it's on this thread somewhere). He tried to apologise saying he was unaware of the significance of the statue but evidence has been found in the form of letters/emails/tweets which indicate that he knew full well what the statue represented. Pity, as his work on the Rangers saga. has been revealing and refreshing.
sadly not.
even if this choob had a point, which he doesn't, I love how he completely forgets to mention that the cute wee teddy bears he luvs so much have been fielding players for over ten years with money due to the tax man. What a fanny!!
Nothing since may 2011 happened, aye you wish:greengrin
with 1st Div clubs already coming out this early and saying no to New Hun Company then it would appear they have little chance of gaining entry to that league. And there's no way they could go to div 2 as that would look a complete sham. HAS to be Div 3!
Maybe a question that has been answered somewhere, but how do these TUPE regulations relate to the contracts that are under investigation by the SPL/SFA/SFL?
If a player agrees to transfer over, does the newco fall into a catch 22 by possibly having a contract to honour that coul be found to be ileagal very shortly?
Margaret Gribbon of PFA Scotland lawyers Bridge Litigation says decision by players taken 'largely on footballing grounds'.She adds: "SPL Football appears highly unlikely and even 1st Division Football cannot be guaranteed in light of comments made today.' @BBCAlLamont 52 minutes ago
Anyone got any idea what these comments are????
Haha this is hilarious!
I'm not sure how I could fail to follow the logic!Quote:
Rangers will have owed HMRC nothing and there would have been no need to place them in administration. And without that period of administration, Rangers would not now be in the process of being liquidated. And as sure as night follows day, that means there would be no NewCo. It is so logical it would be laughable were others not be able to grasp its logic.
I keep on hearing now that this would be a decent 'compromise'.
Do courts 'compromise' with convicted rapists?
This stinks of the SPL chairman driving this. They say they have 'listened' to the fans but they are clearly lying if this is what their up to
This thread in the bears den amused me. Life goes on as normal for some!!
http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/inde...ntry1060157488
Grant Russell@STVGrantSouthampton have confirmed Anderlecht will replace Rangers as participants in their Markus Liebherr Memorial Cup pre-season competition
http://www.saintsfc.co.uk/page/NewsD...823701,00.html