Half time refreshments provided by Bobby and Isa.
Printable View
and yet it's the English FA that have been charged for the booing of the Danish anthem last night(along with the laser incident and one other) the only football authorities to do so this tournament, i think england fans have actually booed every nations anthem, as for the Scotland game at wembley do you think maybe the Scotland fans booing would have been a tad muted if our own national anthem hadn't been booed firstly ? still, at least Scotland fans don't boo every/ANY other countries national anthem, just the one.. strange that
Scotland bood England’s anthem.
England bood Scotland’s anthem.
England bood Germany and last night - possible more I don’t know as not at all the games.
The point is this isn’t just England as Scotland also did it. Folk saying it’s disgraceful when it’s double standards Scottish folk doing it. Scotland have done it previously to England at Hampden also.
On the contrary. I spent a big chunk of my formative years in Yorkshire and until a few years ago regularly worked in London. I have English family and friends all over the country and I remember watching the Scotland v England match at Euro 96 in a pub full of English fans while wearing a Scotland shirt. The only Scotland/England football-related 'bother' I've ever had in all those years was from a couple of drunken boneheads at a wedding in Hampshire. Based on my own experiences I'd be very surprised England fans weren't by and large more supportive of Scotland than we are of England were we ever to be in a position to achieve something.
why did we boo that one ?, i honestly can't recall
aah, just googled, 2010, every days a skool day, i see also the American de facto anthem before star-spangled banner "My country, 'Tis of thee" though i'm sure i've heard that one before and was quite baffled at the time without there being a google back in that day to satisfy my curiosity
I dinnae mind another countries fans booing our anthem.
Nae reason to get upset.
They even cheered at the wee German girl who was greetin after England scored against Germany
Low life’s :greengrin
Tokyo next for these two
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.n...08&oe=60EC9B7D
Never mind the diving. Play should have been called back because there were 2 balls on the park at the same time.
I actually quite like this England squad and Southgate. Like you said, if they win it then they’ll deserve it and I wouldn’t begrudge a single player in that squad their win, something you probably couldn’t have said about England squads of old.
That being said, I still hope they lose. If they win though, I really can’t say I’d be all that bothered.
‘Wholesome’? Hmm, personally I’m not so sure. Plenty of attitudes like this around, which is more prevalent in everyday English political culture than Scottish. I don’t think that’s debatable anymore.
John Redwood MP tweeting ‘Brilliant England win. Great for the UK. Great for the most ignored and understated country in our Union. Even the BBC has to mention England today.’
England can easily plaster over poor diet and culture with the money being thrown around. The amount of astro pitches etc. that have been put around the place compared to in Scotland is crazy.
Poor diet and poverty without adequate facilities for sport and exercise is a recipe for disaster and disease. Gyms are more common now but I don't think astros and pitches are. Prices are not getting cheaper either. Sponsors and broadcasters throwing billions at England obviously makes providing cheap, or free, facilities a much much easier proposition.
Give kids more facilities and more (better) coaching, and probably counselling/pastoral care for free plus generally encouraging more enjoyment in playing sports and you'll easily find and cultivate a sporting culture.
England and Scotland will almost certainly always boo each other's anthems as they are. I wouldn't expect either should boo another nation's anthem though.
I dont mind the stuff about 55 years since a cup final and them being happy about that, what sticks in the throat is them peddling the myth that they are the only country that has suffered through this pandemic and because of this they deserve to win it.
For a country the size of England they have a terrible record in major tournaments only two finals and only a handful of semi finals. They should be up there with Italy and Germany in the Euros.
It will be a bit late being a 8.00pm kick off for Denis Law to be playing golf.