Move to Germany, we get 14 months paid for both parents with 1 parent able to take a maximum of 12 months.
Printable View
Ordered food on BK app. Supposed to be £18.96 and charged £29.44. They've added tax onto the bill which isn't something you normally see in UK as normally the price you see is the price you pay.
No idea. Literally just says the word tax on the receipt and charged a fiver. Was supposed to get a free Chicken Royal but been charged for that too.
Went online and their chat not working so says to email them. The email address they give isn't recognised though...
Was that the cafe next to the chippy, if so I think it was all sold and there doesn’t look like any more let’s for shops yet, even my optician has packed up, he was there for a very long time as well.
Have you tried the cafe at Drylaw shops next door to Baynes bakers.
With the option of shared parental leave that doesn't sound wildly different to what is generally on offer here. It sounds like it's structured a bit differently so the onus is on a more even split of the time as opposed to what would effectively require the Mum to gift some of their time to the Dad to balance out the time off.
There's a middle ground somewhere between 6 months (Abrdn? Aegon?) and 2 weeks I suppose!
People who ask about a game in a holiday destination.
If you are so keen to watch St mirren v hibs don't go on holiday!
When my daughter was born, I was able to get 6 weeks paid leave, which I could take as I liked over a 12 month period, as long as at least 1 week was taken when she was born. That was definitely at the better end of the scale. Some guys I knew having a child at the same time weren’t taking any parental leave, as they were only entitled to 2 weeks at the same pay rate as statutory sick pay, and they couldn’t afford the drop in wages.
Not so much a pet peeve but an irrational irritation.
Popped in to IKEA last night and was sitting down with my meatballs (as you do) when a mini drama unfolded in the pick-up area below.
A couple of ladies (maybe mother/daughter) were trying to load a stupid amount of flat pack boxes in to their family sized car.
They were trying every permutation, seats forward, seats back, seats down.
For a good 20 minutes I thought I was watching the latest Olympic sport of car loading Tetris.
Eventually, a couple of young lads in high Viz vests came along and started to assist.
Even when I left they were still trying to shoe-horn every last piece of Leksvik furniture the store had in to this mid-size SUV.
16 hours later, I've just realised I need to know if they were successful!
Bluebottles… annoying pesky flies buzzing everywhere just now.
When your wife asks if you can just get food for her too when you go up to the buffet at a party. You look like a greedy gannet piling all the food on to the plate.
On a food theme... ordered breakfast, watching the app tracker, courier leaves the restaurant and goes the wrong way... track them to Macdonalds where they sit for almost 10 mins, they leave then stop a couple of times, tracker then shows them nearing my street (eventually!)... suddenly it changes to delivered, as I'm at the door ready for the delivery I pop my head out and the street's empty.
Aaarrghhh!
People that send work emails with stupid fonts.
There are multiple business fonts available. Don't use Comic Sans, Eurostile or Verdana please.
Comic Sans is obviously ridiculous and Eurostile is too graphic-designy for email, but why Verdana? It's pretty vanilla and to me looks similar to the kind of fonts I'd expect to see in email. The only thing that stands out at all to me is that it's a bit wider spaced.
Trying to keep track of the Olympic Games is it 1, 2, BBCiPlayer or the red button ???
This is probably more than a Pet Peeve, but it’s a bit like the “no ball games” sings you see everywhere that piss me off.
Myself and my 3 year old son were passing by a council ran 4G pitch today. We went in through the open gates, found a ball lying in a corner and had a play on the pitch. Can’t have been any longer than 15 minutes.
We get off the pitch and head in to the library, which is attached to the council ran gym (Biggar High School building). The lady behind the desk says “you’ve to pay to go on the pitch”.
I could understand it if it were busy - us and another 2 laddies who were playing down the far end, and I do know these things need funding. Equally it was 22 players not paying I’d agree with her.
The pitch spends most of its life locked and inaccessible, we have an obesity epidemic and children are spending less and less time outdoors playing football and other sports, the pitch is there, just open the frickin gates and let folk play on it!
People with BO.
On the bus home from the game and there is a guy who is absolutely howling. There is surely no way these people don't realise they smell that bad.
I worked with a guy years ago who reeked. I had the excruciating job of sitting in a meeting with him to discuss it. He admitted he knew he stank but just didn't care.
It's shocking. I live near Porty High and the pitches have been closed all summer. Last year, someone had cut a hole in the fence and younwould always see it being used, often with dads and kids who had got in. No damage done, nothing. Now, since the fence has been fixed it's inaccessible unless you cam climb the fence. Folk moan about things like childhood obesity and Scottish teams being crap and the lack of players coming through. There are facilities, they just lie idle most of the time. It's a ridiculous waste of space.
Exactly this.
The used to lock the gates at Bangholm playing fields after putting a ****ing terrible 3G pitch there when I was at school, it didn’t stop anyone playing on the pitches (me and my mates) or climbing the fences and smashing up the dugouts.
The padlock made **** all difference.
When you contact a company for support via their live chat and you either enter your issue/question on the initial screen or to the chatbot and then get transferred to an actual person but you then have to explain the issue again - why can't they just read what you've said earlier?
Don't normally buy them but fancied a cup-a-soup. Most folk will have them for lunch. If that's the case, why only four in the box?
Ticks!!!
This year seems particularly bad. I trimmed one side of a hedge and cut the grass then jumped in the shower. 2 wee buggers on my body and I wasn't even in long grass.
That used to annoy me but most shops own brand cup a soups are 5 in a box and there is not a great deal of difference taste wise, in fact Tesco mushroom cup soup is better than the Bachelors Cup-a-soup Mushroom, imho of course. I ended up getting a wee soup maker for work, freshly made soup in 19 minutes (couple of minutes prep time too) cannae beat it!
Folk at work who message you on Teams with
“Hi are you free just now for 5 mins?”
You answer “yes” right away and then they don’t reply.
You call them and no answer.
Half an hour later they call you by which point you are not free for 5 mins
Human behind the chat screen here, you’ve no idea how many people write nonsense in those boxes or how unhelpful some automated questions are towards the actual job, it’s easier to just double check the problem or just repeat, in my place the chats don’t transfer over either so if you have been speaking to a different department about an issue and been sent to me I don’t see the previous conversation I just get a new chat as fresh with the possibility of account details if I’m especially lucky
Tradesmen - I'm totally renovating a house just now. Tradesmen are the reason I have a meltdown most days. The ones who are good are great, faultless and have kept my belief that this job will be done ,but are few and far between. The rest are driving me nuts. It's like wading through toffee on a daily basis.
There’s either too many dunkers or not enough dairylee in a dairylee dunker. Ratio isn’t right at all.
The amount of people in my street getting garage conversions. I live in a new(ish) build estate where most of the houses have/had a built-in garage. We bought the house from the original owners in 2021 and asked if they had ever considered converting the garage and they said they hadn't but one neighbour had it done, so speak to them if we wanted to know more. We didn't bother as it was a longer-term thing if we had kids, etc. So, in 2021 there was one house out of c.35 with their garage converted - out of about 35. Now, we are in the minority that still have the garage.
It seems like one gets done, and the next one starts a few weeks later. Its the noise, loads of tradesmens' vans blocking the road, etc. with very little respite from it. On the plus side, it'll be stopping soon as there will be hardly any left to get done.
Same here Jay. I've got builders in who knocked a hole in the wall for a new patio sliding door and window. Unless the boss is there it's impossible to communicate with any of the workers because they speak neither German or English and the boss is never available. A job that the boss said would take 3 days is now running into it's 4th week. The company that put the window in were on the ball but had the same problem as me with the builders who should have been doing the preparation and after work. My main problem is taking time off work to be home for appointments that they never turn up for. When they do turn up, then it's for an hour at a time and then without telling us they'll be there.
I've had loads not turning up or not send me quotes, my hall wall has been damaged as they removed and old bath as has my door. Empty promises are the norm. None of them work a full day, about 4 hours is then average, and today I've found a soaking floor where they've removed a radiator and not capped it. I've been trying to get a kitchen fitted since June , the painter comes and goes as he pleases and we won't even dicuss trying to get flooring down :LOL:
I ended up booking a few days in tenerife next month for my sanity. But on the flip side the good ones have been outstanding. I had one crew come in who spoke very little English so we communicated with our phones, their work was faultless and they put in a 12 hour shift to get the work done.
Two totally unrelated and not Italian people have said ciao to me on the phone this week
Corporate stingey-ness. Anyone else?
Few examples.
1 - took this job up in February, got given a new Ipad, which is great but relatively useless. In fact it sits on my desk out of battery unless I'm going to be going away for work and I take it with me instead of the laptop. I like to use 3 screens when I'm working so asked IT to send me an extra screen and one of the Lenovo docking stations which they said I wasn't eligible for with no explanation.
2 - on starting the job I bought a desk, chair etc through my company credit card which then got queried, even though I'm a designated home worker and my boss had ok'd me to go ahead and buy these things.
3 - my credit card is limited to £750, so if I go away for a week and have to book flights plus 3 hotels the card is often maxed out and I have to then pay my own money and claim it back. This has happened a few times, just increase the ****ing limit!
4 - flights: I use Easyjet which obviously sting you at every turn, to get an extra cabin bag I have to buy the package that gives you speedy boarding and lets you choose your seat. I got asked why I'd paid more to book a seat and get speedy boarding, despite having been told to do this by my boss.
5 - got told if I was travelling by car for a day or more I should be providing/buying lunch on my own dime for the first day of travel as I would be getting my own if I were at home anyway.
6 - doing a trip south in a few weeks for which I am hiring a car - company policy on trips of 100 miles or more - which I don't mind at all. However this trip is going to by near enough 1000 miles in a week by the time I'm home, also going to be away for 3 or 4 nights depending on how tired I am. When I asked for something nicer than the bottom level of car enterprise offer this got refused. For context I had a Corsa on hire last week for a day trip and after 3 hours (out of 5 total that day) I had numb bum and was stiff as a board.
Just **** off and pay the money.
:faf::faf:
Some of those are bonkers.
My current work are not without their faults but they are pretty good about stuff like that. Drinks and/or food when meeting customers, fuel, other transport costs, food when away etc is almost never queried and the company cards have limits of £7K on them so very unlikely you will max it out or be stuck. A previous job once made me pay back £4.50 because I got onion rings and chips with a burger when away for the night and that was classed as two meals:rolleyes:
We have just been taken over by a bigger company though so who knows if things will be tightened up a bit.
Imbalanced cancellation policies. I was meant to have our boiler service this morning sometime between 8 and 12. We were at the Scotland game last night and with getting in late we considered on Wednesday afternoon that we might reschedule it. However, we couldn’t as you weren’t allowed to reschedule within 48 hours of the appointment.
So no sign of the guy, then at 11.30 I got a text saying “your boiler service has been rescheduled to Monday 16th September”. No apology. No explanation. So they can reschedule right up to half an hour before the end of the window they are meant to arrive in but we can’t?
When you get a couple of ex footballers on a podcast and they all fall about laughing at something totally banal as if it's the funniest thing in the world. They really must live in a bubble with no access to outside humour. It seems particulalry bad among guys from the west of Scotland with Charlie Mulgrew seeming to be the chosen one for 'the banter'.
'So we're in the changing room before training right? You know how it is right? And big Charlie comes in and you know what he's like right? A total character so he is. So he's like I'm going to get wee Lenny today and well you know what Lenny's like right? Lenny loved the berry Powerade, the red one right? But he can't stand the blue one, typical Lenny ha ha ha. So Charlie takes his water bottle, cause it's no see through right? So you can't see what's in it. And it's got blue stuff in it so he looks like he's swapped it with Lenny's. So we're all pissing oursleves going no way man, no way has he just done that. And Charlie is sitting there with a straight face and well Lenny spots it right away so he's like what's going on here but he eventually takes a drink and says nothing, says nothing. Then wee Gordon walks in and he's like what's going on here and everybody is just sitting there saying nothing wondering when Lenny is going to kick off. But then the gaffer reaches for his bottle and takes a drink and spits it out everywhere. Turns out big Charlie knows Gordon can't stand the red stuff either and it's his bottle he's swapped all along, a pure double bluff so it was. So Gordon is raging, he's shouting and throwing things about and big Charlie with a totally straight face is like did you enjoy your drink gaffer? Well that does it right? We're all laughing, Wee Aiden is just about choking he's laughing that much. The only one not really laughing was big Georgie Samaras but big Sammy was strange like that, he seemed to have a brain or something. But that was Charlie, you had to be on your guard every day.'
Booking taxis. What’s the point? They never turn up. Booked a taxi last night to take us to the airport. Booked for 10.45am this morning. Still not here.
Same the last several times we’ve taken a taxi to the airport.
Taxi was hours late for my wedding.
Don’t get me started on the apps for the taxi companies. All of them send you on an infinite loop when trying to log in. Put in password and they say it’s wrong. You put in your details for “forgot my password” and they say - you don’t have an account. So you go to create a new account it stops you as it says you already have an account.
Gett - the drivers accept, get close then cancel.
I rarely take taxis these days, but I had to book one to the airport a few months ago.
The whole “getting a taxi” business is miles worse than it was 10 years ago - when you could just phone up any one of a number of numbers with reasonable notice and one would arrive, allowing for peak times when you’d expect it to be a bit less predictable.
Empty ranks, crap apps, phones that aren’t answered seems to be the way to go.
I’m assuming Uber (who I refuse to use) have just f***** the whole thing up and it’s now a race to the bottom with crap service everywhere?
Restaurant’s adding an optional service charge onto the bill.
This happened to me earlier this evening (Tony Macaroni). To be honest, I normally give 10% unless the service has been poor. Also, I’ve got a bad habit of just looking at the total and, if it seems about right, settle up and tip cash, if I’m carrying it, or tell them to add 10% tip to the bill. Tonight, for some reason, I thought it was a bit steep, so decided to check the bill. The first thing I noticed was a 10% service charge. Service had been very good and I would have given 10% but it would have been 20%, had I not looked closely. Lesson learned.
I booked an Uber to get to Edinburgh airport flight connecting at Gatwick to Cancun. It arrived 5 minutes early. I was infuriated. Those minutes are used for items needed right up until leaving such as toothbrushes and straighteners. He waited though so still tipped him and gave a high rating.
City Cabs’ (cr)app is one of the ones that had me on an infinite loop.
Anyway, when we eventually got a taxi we said to the driver and he said that most black cab drivers will refuse a fare to the airport now since the contract for the airport rank went to a private hire company. Partly out of principle, but mostly because they will struggle to get a fare for the way back,
He actually said you’d be better getting a private hire for an airport run.
Not really sure how they struggle to get a fare back, they can still pick up if someone books them on the app. I landed on Thursday went to taxi area, ordered cab on City Cabs app and he was there within minutes. He said they sit just a few minutes away. Any how it’s your Pet Peeve and that’s fair enough 👍
How some people pronounce the h in vehicle.
Watching a film, “Damaged” on prime video. Set in Edinburgh, it’s been pretty **** but not bad for a long weekend film that you can switch your brain off and watch.
Towards the end the Scottish detective is chasing down a suspect on the M90 towards the queensferry crossing. He says over the radio “I’m in pursuit on the Livingston Highway”
.. the Livingston Highway? Ruined the movie for me.
Watching “The Boys” on Amazon Prime at the moment. Really enjoying it but the Cockney cop guys accent keeps slipping.
Why not get an actual Cockney/English actor to play him?
Just irritating.
Think your being generous with that review.
Could have been half decent but defo wasn’t. Quickly descended into farce topped off by that awful closing CGI scene where somehow we were meant to think a serial killer getting away was a great cheeky chappie moment.
But since it’s the peeve thread I’ll chuck in a couple of ones from this movie that came straight out the how it make a movie for dummies book that so many bad movies use.
The protagonists always have easy access to guns. Even if the movie is based in Scotland somehow the detective and the visiting consultant from the US have a side arm whenever needed.
The dodgy character has to visit a strip club at some point.
The main character (normally a detective of some sort) has to have had a traumatic life event happen to them (dead child, wife/husband lost to cancer or whatever)
Same character also needs to attend work the next day after losing another close friend, relative or whoever and / or must get straight back to work after a horror accident by ripping their drip out of their arm and leaving hospital.
Nothing bad can happen without then an immediate need for whisky.
This movie pretty much had it all when it came to these and probably a few more I’ve forgotten!
The constant need for some to be right about absolutely everything. See main board for details
Pet peeve: people who don't clear up after their dogs. Holyrood Park is disgusting at the moment.
Naw that was The Winter King
https://i.ibb.co/FBx1XtS/IMG-2887.png
private image host
How people usually from down south pronounce ‘ drawing ‘ drawring :rolleyes: