nonsense
Printable View
The boy Moore looked very good in the play offs hope there is some truth in this one
I'd like us to get Moore and another winger, one thing we've missed for about the last 2/3 seasons is some genuine width in our team.
Will this be the week we start to see a rebuild job? Kind of resigned myself to it being the usual last minute rush after initially being optimistic that there would be a big clear out and a whole new squad being build and quickly
Hibs rumours throwing some mad stuff on about McFadden on a pay as you play deal.
Cannae see it myself
Type of talented fellow who'd win a derby match
A few of the papers today reporting Cairney and Clancy as done deals. Talking to the Michalik boy too this week by the looks of it.
McFadden is struggling for a team by the way and can't see him ending up at a big club.
Why is there any need for a big grandstand announcement. Fenlon does not need to be here when the signings were announced. A quick note on the website by way of update would do the job.
Announcing the signings of Clancy and Cairney is not going to result in a sudden flood of interest and season ticket sales. While it is a start in terms of building a squad and they will hopefully play their parts, Fenlon and the board must come up with others who are of a better pedigree than this in order to improve our first XI and stimulate a bit of interest and excitement as well as making us a bit more competitive in the league in order for us to at the very least be chasing a top 6 spot next season.
If this is to be the standard of our summer signings then I don't think I'll be alone in being under-whelmed and a little concerned about next season.
Nothing unusual at this time of the year in agreeing the deals in principle and then actually completing the signing and fomralities later whn everyone is back.
Hibs, rightly, don't announce, until everything is complete.
I think we can take from all the reports that Cairney and Clancy will be hibs players next year. When they announce them makes no real odds to me.
One of the best players from the First Division and a regular in the team that finished 3rd. It's kind of what we've been asking for so I'd see that as positive.
Hibs are apparantly talking to 3 players agents as the players themselves are on holiday.....not been told who they are but its not mcpake clancy and cairney.....source is my mate kev who works at er
Yip absolutely the bare minimum. If we are working towards a squad of 23 (3 GKs and two players for each outfield position) then based on the players we on the books and not those we may or may not have signed, we have to be looking at something along the lines of the following come the start of the season. If any player is missing from the list it is because IMHO they are not good enough to be part of the squad:-
GKs - Young keeper who played v ICT (sorry forget his name), NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING
Defenders - Hanlon, O Hanlon, NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING
Midfielders - Stevenson, Osbourne, Claros, Booth, Sproule, NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING
Forwards - Doyle, NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING
Of all those actually named, with the exception of Doyle who at least deserves a full season, Booth and maybe Stevenson, I have only named them because we can't afford to get rid of everyone but if by the January window they haven't improved or are not making an impact then they need moved on.
I know based on the above it means we need 14 new players but I really honestly think that is how much attention the squad needs. I am also realistic enough to know we ain't going to sign 14 new players but is it unrealistic to suggest we should sign 8-10 players and promote 4-6 youths? Maybe someone with knowledge of the youth players on the books will be able to answer the latter part.
We won't sign as many as 8 players, imo.
It should be this:
GKs - Paul Grant, Mark Brown, NEW SIGNING
Defenders - Hanlon, O Hanlon, Kujabi, Stephens, Booth, Foster, NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING
Midfielders - Stevenson, Osbourne, Claros, Wotherspoon, Sproule, Stanton, Galbraith, NEW SIGNING
Forwards - Doyle, Stanton, Caldwell, NEW SIGNING
This squad leaves a lot to be desired in its present state, but hopefully a few of these players are off and a couple of the younger ones can be put out on loan to the first division to see if they are ready to play an SPL fixture. Hopefully Galbraith can remain injury free as I rate him quite highly, and hopefully Wotherspoon can rediscover his form.
Far too much loyalty to some of the failures who have worn the green recently IMHO. We can't get rid of them all unfortunately but we certainly shouldn't be keeping all of them either. Agree, as others have said, that squad would be near on relegation certanties next season.
I don't think we get many goals from those forwards with the service from that midfield unless your new midfielder is Iniesta and your new forward is Van Persie.
You have us signing 5 new players. I would like to think we will sign closer to double that.
Would be surprised if there are any more than 6 possibly 7 new faces. Those along with some of the Youngsters being promoted to the 1st team.
Money is tight?
I think we've lost Stack, Doherty, Towell, McPake, Francombe, Murray, Welsh, Soares, O'Connor and Griffiths? As well as punting the likes of Palsson, Agogo, Thornhill and Sodje.
We can go with a smaller squad but still add more than 8 I think.
When you think we have probably signed Cairney and Clancy. We are also talking to Michalik and possibly McPake. We've also been linked with a couple of goalkeepers. That doesn't include any strikers yet and we've lost our starting two.
I think we will see about 10 new players. If we could get rid of the likes of O'Hanlon, Galbraith and Wotherspoon then hopefully we could look at 11 or 12. We need them.
Yeah I cant see us signing too many. It is a bit worrying given the group of players we have at the club, where really only a few of them are anywhere near SPL standard, but with the uncertainty over the TV money etc, we are probably a bit limited in what we can do.
Let's give the man a chance guys. I am more than certain PF has been working very hard to bring players (better than we had) to the club.
And if we do sign an unknown give them a chance before we slate them.
We could support that team we have with 20,000 partizan Hibees each home game and we wouldn't get a point. The current players left are poor and that midfield is brutal. We need a full team signed possibly only Hanlon is any good and he's pretty poor. Major work required 18 days in and zero players signed!
See McPake has retweeted a message of some felly begging him to join the Hibs! That should be the 3 year deal sorted now!!!!
Exactly my thoughts, but don't expect any sympathy for your worries on here as you will get the usual excuses such as holidays and it's the "Hibs way"
The board should have acted much quicker to try and even make us feel a bit better after that final shambles but as usual not even a word, STV have already started kicking us when we are down by jumping on the Fenlon in the stands for the yaks game story yet we have complete and utter silence instead of at least statement of intent from Petrie and co.
An absolute disgrace in my book but of course I hope I'm wrong but as you say, 18 days....
Sorry but read what I actually typed underneath the squad. Hibs are not just going to let loads of players who are under contract here go. That is why I said that young players need to go out and get some good first team experience, preferably in the first division. That would free up squad space and allow for new signings to come in as the likes of Claros and Osbourne have their contracts run down. Never once did I say that this is the squad I want us to have, but at this moment it is the one that we are equipped with. We need at least 3 defenders, 3 midfielders and at least two strikers, a goalkeeper would be a plus too.
But not once did I even remotely suggest that we keep the current squad without any major reshaping or shipping out.
I still think that O'Hanlon could do a job for us, he was superb against Aberdeen at Pittodrie; with a bit of confidence he'd come back to bite us on the arse.
There's a good player in there.
[QUOTE=Salt & Sauzee;3267058]It should be this:
GKs - Paul Grant, Mark Brown, NEW SIGNING
Defenders - Hanlon, O Hanlon, Kujabi, Stephens, Booth, Foster, NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING
Midfielders - Stevenson, Osbourne, Claros, Wotherspoon, Sproule, Stanton, Galbraith, NEW SIGNING
Forwards - Doyle, Stanton, Caldwell, NEW SIGNING
This give me nightmares !!!!
GKs - Paul Grant, Calum Atwell, NEW SIGNING
Defenders - Hanlon, Kujabi, Stephens, Booth, Foster, NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING
Midfielders - Stevenson, Osbourne, Wotherspoon, Sproule, Stanton, NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING
Forwards - Caldwell, NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING, NEW SIGNING
also see jonny hayes has tweeted he is deciding tomorrow where he is going but its not hibs
Hayes has been tweeting a lot and spent a few long days in the glasgow area, and then motherwell before heading back to inverness, maybe it's motherwell,
Some talk on twitter from journos that Hearts have now made him an offer. Not sure if they have the money these days, long since given up trying to work out how they get players but we have seen it so often in recent years when they go for an SPL player up against other clubs they usually get the man. See Ian Black, Darren Barr, Kevin Kyle, Andy Webster, Jamie Hammil, John Sutton, Mendi Touil.
If he doesn't sign for Aberdeen are they not going to look a bit silly? Apart from the infamous Mo Johnstone saga, I can't think of a time a club has basically announced a signing and then not followed it through.
He's not been linked to Hibs anywhere for weeks now so it doesn't look like he'll be coming anywhere near us. Once Hearts get the monopoly money out there is usually only one winner. If they sign players this summer then there is any wiff of wage problems next season then the SPL has to act.
In my view what they have done re wages is almost as bad as RFC. Keep hoping the house of cards will fall but that day never seems to come. Maybe it never will but until they sort themselves out we will always wonder if they are going to be the next Rangers. Just know that even if that jammy shower did go into admin or were liquidated, they will wriggle their way out of it and come relatively unscathed.
Whilst I agree with what you say about Hearts they have got rid of Beattie and Skacel who were probably on about 3.5k a week. Black was also on 2.5k a week. They could offer Hayes 2.5k a week and am guessing us (not saying we have made an offer) and Aberdeen wont offer more than 2k per week. Just the way it works.
He is a great player, would have loved him at Hibs.
Useful player and great on his day but I would think there are better out there. The guy from Crewe for example seems a better option.
We might not end up with better but I'm hopeful we are trying and would not be settling for offering someone like Hayes daft money just to get a player in.
Hibs player met Aberdeen physio guy on holiday and said his first duty back was to give Hayes his medical at Pittodrie.
From another source it is believed he is a pish heid, might not fit in with the PF clean up.
Hearts shouldn't be able to offer 1K a week let alone the 6 or 7 they usually do. Disgrace.
Mentally and physically the way Galbraith plays is absolutley "powderpuff". He's played 63 games for Hibs (wikipedia) and I'd say you'd be pushing it to say he's played well in even a handful.
But, aye you're right, Hibs Football Clubs inadequacies in finding and developing a new generation of talented footballers is because I call a guy, who's had a great opportunity in football, "powderpuff".
Yes appreciate that is the way it works but it still stinks. Would have no problem with it if they had the money through investment, their cup success and consistently having the third best gate receipts but even with all that taken into account they still aren't always able to pay wages on time every month suggesting they don't actually have the money to do all that and service their debts.
Don't get me started on how they have managed to sign Beatie right in the midst of the wages fiasco but I suppose it has been deemed that they are not breaking any rules.
If anyone is worried about the lack of signing news, it should be pointed out that we could have announced any free agent or pre-contract player by now but anyone that we're after/ we've signed, who starts work for us once their contract is up at their current employer can't (or shouldn't) be announced until July 1st, at the earliest.
Therefore, this either means that we've got nothing or that the players we're going for already have deals which are expiring at other clubs; which Cairney and Clancy certainly have.
I hear we are getting that Lithuanian winger back for another look a his fitness. Anyone else heard similar?
Young players are not getting a chance to develop. They are thrown into a poor team who have forgeotten how to play football, they are supported by fans who scream abuse at them every time they make a mistake. Every time a player gets the ball he tries to get rid of it straight away as he's **** scared of making an error.... The attitude has to change in this country otherwise just accept we want to create a team full of hoofers with zero skill but the ability to grind out 0-0 draws!
You forget there is no Reserve League these days where a young lad would come up against seasoned pro's and learn the hard way.
In my day this was drummed into you " If you can do for the reserves you will get your chance "
Don't be so quick to blame the young guys they should be allowed to gain experience - playing competitive football ata better level than youth/under 19..
i have spoken recently to three of our youngsters who were out on loan and they all said basically the same thing - " differnt game playing in 2nd/3rd Div than under 19 football , some as these old guys were tough as old boots "
The new rules will see them punished if they are late with wages or tax payments.
Every time they are close to it though they find the money from Ubig. So long as Ubig, who seem to have changed their minds on giving them more support, are happy to do that then they will escape any action.