Do people still sign those, couldn't you the tell last time I did.
Printable View
I got the card a few months ago. I had to sign it as I ordered foreign currency with it and the shop wanted the signed payment card when I picked it up.
I also booked a new year dinner at the hotel we will be staying at using my travel credit card as the hotel wouldn’t just add it to our bill without the credit card being on record. For some reason they’ve said they will need to check the signature of the card against photo ID when we get there, so I tried to sign that too today.
Was out for a run earlier on tight country roads. I didn’t have a problem jumping off the road each time a car was coming, yet not one single driver gave me a wave of acknowledgement. I get it’s their right of way, but surely it’s just manners to give a quick wave of acknowledgement. I certainly do when driving.
'It's not what is under the tree/on the table but who's around it.'
I like the sentiment of this but it's obviously something people have read and are just parroting it whether it is relevant to them or not. I've read this from people, apparently without irony, on the same social media feeds that have spent weeks telling everyone how much they have spent on Christmas, how many presents they have to wrap and the obligatory picture of a pile of presents almost touching the roof. One person I know posted said quote then followed it up about 10 seconds later with a post telling everyone her daughter had received a trip to Disney World for Christmas that was costing 'well over £7000 but she's worth it'. Beyond parody.
And while I'm in a ranting mood.
The ****ing queues of traffic and crowds at Fort Kinnaird today. Just why? Hasn't everyone had enough over the last few weeks.
I was out a walk about 8.30 this morning and traffic was already building, just wandered out again now and it's bedlam. No one looks like they are enjoying themselves or getting any joy from proceedings. Bairns getting dragged about in tears, parents looking flustered and drivers all blaring horns as they cut each other off at the roundabouts.
Looks utterly miserable for all concerned and I daresay the shop workers aren't having much fun either.
I've not been a parent all that long in the grand scheme of things and I can't get my head around it either.
I love Christmas and want my kids to enjoy it but so much of it can't have a monetary value put on it. Telling people what you spent is just vulgar in any topic really but especially when it comes to your kids Christmas at a time when so many are toiling.
Its not about being desperate for a big mac, its been the same for almost every shop up the Fort no matter if its Mcdonalds, M&S or Greggs. We thought we would take a short cut from the Wisp to back of B&Q when we picked the dog up as headed to Musselburgh, mistake, complete grid lock from rear of B&Q to roundabout at Fort. Took us 45 mins from there to Musselburgh
Kids don't even understand/appreciate the value anyway, so its so obviousthat its not about them. Of course they'll love a trip to disneyland but the general value of things is, rightly, lost. I don't think I know anyone with kids who doesn't have a Christmas morning anecdote of their kids doing something which shows they don't care for value - playing with the box instead of the toy, playing with the cheapest toy etc. My favourite from this year is my best friend's nephew - he ran past his pile of presents in the morning to see if Santa had eaten his mince pie that was left out as that was more important.
I'm sure I'll fall for similar traps in the coming years - but you'll not see post on Facebook about the £ spent! :greengrin
Christmas
People at work wearing Christmas Jumpers... which should be a Capital punishment
The endless playing of Christmas songs you've heard a million times before.
The same crappy movies they show every Christmas (Home Alone, The Great Escape, Scrooge....).
Visiting the relatives and having to buy them all a bl**dy present.
Hoping your relatives have accidentally included the receipt in the present they bought you,
Wrapping Paper...
Having to pretend you actually like your relatives horrible children... ''oh (s)he's lovely', 'my how you've grown'
Being forced to sit round a table, eating Turkey and Brussels Sprouts and pulling Christmas Crackers.
Christmas Cracker, including the crappy jokes and stupid paper hats
Being told for the 87th time you really need to put your paper hat on cos "it's Christmas".
Boxing day sales wit their pretendy bargains
Cliff Richard
Did I mention Brussels Sprouts?
Bah Humbug!!!!
People who say "oh we should meet up between Xmas and New year". Which means never is good for them.
The woman on the bus who announces the name of the next stop. I was getting used to her saying "Leer month Terrace " , and then this morning she hit me with "South Fawrt Street".
See also people (usually family) who you only see at funerals who give it the 'we really must arrange to meet up under happier circumstances'.
Aye you have been saying that for 15 years now and it's never happened so let's just erase that from the small talk
Folk who ask you a question, but it’s only to be able to talk about themselves
“how was your weekend?” Seems like a pleasant enquiry, but your answer is ignored as they’re only wanting to get your attention to ram their stuff down your throat
how was your weekend?
Pretty awful actually, my dad was rushed into hospital and is severely ill.
Oh right, well guess what, I’ve lost 2 lb, and I spent £80 on a new heater for when I’m working from home
Folk who decide not to get in a lift because it is too full but don’t wait until the lift has moved on to press the button again.
Was ridiculous this morning in the hotel I’m in. The same idiot kept pressing the button several times.
Prime juice.
There was quite literally a scrum broke out in Asda the other day when some got put on the shelf. Grown men punching **** out each other for a bottle of artificially sweetened cocunut water full of nasty additives.
Genius marketing from them. Withhold supply, create an illusion of scarcity and there are enough morons around to make it work.
I was popping to Aldi yesterday for a few bits to make a cheesecake and was worried about what I'd encounter as I thought they were the exclusive stockists... they'd either sold out, never received any stock, or the buzz just didn't hit Fife because there was no ruckus, or prime juice, to be seen.
I agree with everything you say- but I can see me ending up buying a bottle once the novelty wears off just to understand what the hype was about... marketing doing their job I suppose as I'm otherwise nowhere near that product range.
Asda have had it for a while but it sells out within seconds of reaching the shelves. My wife works in Asda and gets multiple texts a week asking her to stash some away for people. If I had been on the ball we could have amde a fortune on eBay.
It's the kind of thing I get with kids and teenagers. 12 year old and the coolest guy on the playground because you have a bottle of Prime. It's just odd with adults.
This "doting dad" seems to have completely chucked it. Never heard of it either btw.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/w...prime-28848031
People complaining about Easter eggs being sold in shops, or news outlets pandering to the complaints at least. Why is it on the sky news twitter feed that some radges on twitter have their panties in a twist because the Christmas chocolate shelf is now filled with Easter eggs?
Wtf is it?
When I was a kid is was coca cola Italia 90 balls or coke and Fanta spinners, this kinda stuff has always went on but the advent of the internet has made it way worse
Fannies that leave their bins out to be collected when it's windy as **** knowing that their ***** will be blown everywhere and give zero ****s to collecting it when they decide it's ok to close the lid or upright their bin!!!
Just speaking with my Daughter about Prime. Was telling her about this story I linked, she knew already. Turns out the owner of Wakey Wines mentioned in the article has a big-ish Tik Tok following. Posts a lot of promo videos not just about Prime but also the "free" candy he offered (aka advertising) to the doting dad who I now assume is in on the promo vids.
If you live in Edinburgh it seems the trick is to put it out the next day as the bin men always seem to be running a day behind schedule!
The food waste team seem reliable though in that they always turn up on time and launch the empty bins as far and wide as they can from their previous locations!
How busy the pool is in January. I much prefer it in December when I’m the only one there :greengrin
And on that theme:
People who can’t follow the lane arrow system in a pool. It’s not difficult.
Couples who go to lane swimming together and insist on swimming up the lane side by side.
People who swim with a full face of make up on.
Can you guess where I’ve been tonight? :greengrin
Folk that wear pyjamas in inappropriate settings. The classic was students going into the Co-Op near my last house in their pyjamas during the day.
I’ve been on holiday and there’s been a family rocking up to breakfast in the hotel every morning in their PJs. I can just about accept their young child being in his storm trooper PJs but the teenagers and the parents is a bit much. The mum’s PJ shorts would quite often be rolled up further than I want to see whilst I’m eating! “There’s a lot of jelly in this belly” is what her PJ top said!
To add to overdrives one about jammies: Oodies.
Nae class whatsoever.
I like men in football tops. Age is a just number decided by people hundreds of years ago , why let that dictate what you can and can't wear?
Not something that bothers me and just makes me decide on my holiday buddies 🤣
I was in Turkey many years ago and went a walk along the prom as the rangers v hearts was advert in pub to show game, I am tattooed (hibs) but wasnt wearing a hibs top but on hearing my accent this big bear of a rangers fan in full red white and blue thought I was one of them and proceded to sit beside me as we waited for the game to start. He then noticed my tattoos and I thought the atmosphere would change but to be honest, as far as that lot go he was actually a good laugh, better so when a celtc fan joined our company 🤣
I'm wondering if there's any barbers out there that don't feel like their part of a money laundering operation.
People who only post negative reviews on TripAdvisor. I'd say TripAdvisor in general but thought I'd be more specific.
I was looking at a restaurant on there the other day (trying to harvest a bit info before a works meeting). Of the 200 something reviews the vast majority were excellent or very good. Only 2 were terrible. One was to do with a booking mishap so the people never even ate at the restaurant, annoying for the person involved but one bad review doesn't suggest it's a regular occurrence. The other was from a guy who slammed the food, service, atmosphere, prices etc etc. I had a browse and he has left 18 reviews in a 3 year period, every single one 1 or 2 stars.
Now he might just be terribly unlucky but my gut instinct is he is one of those people who actively enjoys complaining and it enhances rather than detracts from any experience. I'm convinced these people exist. Every one of his reviews ended with 'there are better restaurants, pubs, cafes 5 minutes walks away at a fraction of the price'. Well why not tell us about those then with some positive reviews? Surely places that are multiple times the quality at a fraction of the price are well worth a 5 star review. Where is the fun in that though?
When I go to have my cereal in the morning and theres neither enough to fill my bowl or half fill my bowl, sorta inbetweeny portion 🤬
It's all the crushed stuff at the end of the cereal box that don't even resemble cereal, can't think how to describe it, just bits floating in your bowl :greengrin
I attended a customer care/people first seminar thing nearly 30 years ago.
Two things I learned, first was under promise-over deliver and if you disappoint one customer they will tell 10 people but impress 10 customers and you'll be lucky if they share that with one other person (technically, that's three things I was taught 🤔).
Another Trip Advisor annoyance, brilliant reviews for a hotel, accommodation, pool, apartments, food etc, all the usual stuff and then you get the saddo that puts in a real **** bit of advice followed by the customary photos of a human hair on the carpet, a wee bit of dust on the balcony, wee mark or tear on the wallpaper, just **** off and enjoy your holiday 🤬
I was in Italy many years back, carpets in the lobbys were a bit dated, decor was a bit dated, room was a bit dated but comfortable and functional.
The large bathroom had the usual bath with shower and I noticed halfway up the wall there were ants coming out of a wee hole, walking up to the top and into another hole, it was kind off hypnotising. Yeah I suppose not everyones cup of tea and some would have freaked out but the ants were just at work and that was the only area they ‘frequented’ even my Wife just shrugged her shoulders and she hates insects
The facilities were ample, the food was ample and to be honest, all we wanted was a nice comfortable and quiet hotel with decent facilities and it didnt disappoint, ants n all
Secrets. Was planning to make a press release relating to my work tomorrow and have been working on it for a month, low and behold it's all over today's press.
The ones that get me are the people who complain about things that could have been sorted with a simple request or word to a member of staff.
My only real requirement for hotels, particularly on city breaks, is that they are clean. I like to get out and about on a break and it's really only somewhere to get my head down for a few hours. If the TV isn't 50", the carpet is a bit frayed and the wallpaper is a bit dated then my general reaction is 'so what'.
Whrn you are in McDonalds or Taco Bell or something ordering from the touchscreens and the printer is out of paper so you dont have any evidence of what you've ordered or worse you miss your number coming up on the screen.
This leads to great panic in my life. McDonalds staff seem to trust you but at Taco Bell once I had to negotiate for ages to get what I'd ordered without any proof of having done so.
I was genuinely confused by this. I think it just shows how long it has been since I was in a McDonalds (never been in a Taco Bell, thought they were American!). I just googled this and right enough big touchscreens you order from, modern technology eh! God this is a revelation, I have so many questions! Do you have to use them or is there still a counter you can go to to order food? If not does it mean you cannot order food from McDonalds if you only have cash? Do drive throughs have them order do you still speak? :confused:
you still speak at the drive thru, although the rate so e of them get it wrong might be better just swapping it for a touchscreen!
in the burgerking in Livingston centre, I’ve heard the staff saying on multiple occasions to customers that all orders must be placed using the screens, and refusing to take orders at the counter… their loss I suppose
The new McDonalds set up was obviously devised by someone who has never worked on the front line in their life.
I went about 15 years not going to McDonalds, roughly between exiting my teens and having kids of my own. Going back all those years they had a heated servery with all the popular items ready to go, you ordered, paid and within about a minute your food was with you. Now they have those touch screen things, you get your number, a load of people sare standing about seemingly doing not a lot, a few folk are in the back running about daft, food sporadically comes down a chute thing, the doing not a lot people try to put it into some semblance of order, a whole load of bleeping and ringing goes on constantly and 15 minutes later you finally get presented with some food. It's a total mess but I bet the wastage stats look great on a spreadsheet.
People having conversations on the stairs at ER.
If you think that is exciting, I was at the McDonalds in Copenhagen recently and they cook all the food upstairs then send it down to the ground floor where the tills are on an electronic pulley system in bags, which then drops the bag to a server who then shouts out the order no. Quite mesmerising to watch.
My Wife uses Trip Advisor all the time and to be honest we have been in many holidays over the years and have never been let down. If you can see past the obvious trolls/attention seeking posts and find a balance. Holidays are tailored to individuals needs, what we enjoy others may not and that could be from comfort, staff pleasantness, food, accommodation etc
Whats the chances of our next one being **** now 🤣
Luggage going missing when you are flying and the whole process around reclaiming it.
Flew back from Thailand earlier in the week via Paris. Got a text from Air France upon landing at Edinburgh to say one of the checked bags never made the flight. Nothing about the second bag. Waited at the belt and neither of the bags were there. The missing baggage desk was closed and everyone from Swissport (AF’s handling agent) had gone home. Someone from Border Control advised to scan a QR code and fill in the resultant form. This required describing the cases against the tracking number but were unsure which cases had been assigned to which tracking number.
Got a text and email the next morning to say the other case to the one they messaged about upon landing was on that morning’s Paris-Edinburgh flight. It arrived at the house the following afternoon and we then realised that of course, we chose the wrong tracking number against each bag but nevertheless they had delivered it. Great. Except having the wrong description against the tracking number for the other one now seems to be causing great issue.
There’s no phone number to phone either, just an online portal that isn’t updated timeously!
Bit of a random one but when you watch news reports or features from care homes and there always seems to be someone signing Vera Lynn or other songs from WWII. Why?
My Grandad is 90 this year, he was 12 when WWII ended. He's got no more interest in Vera Lynn than someone who is 9 this year. He likes jazz as well as the likes of Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Matt Monro and Tony Bennett. He'd listen to a bit of Elvis, The Beatles or similar too.
You'd have to be pushing 100 for the likes of Vera Lynn, The Andrews Sisters or Tommy Dorsey to be your era.
I guess everyone needs a hobby but people who stand feeding seagulls...
Not seagulls but when I was in Thailand recently, some birds flew into the semi-open area where breakfast was served. A woman started feeding them bread which then encouraged more birds to fly in! Just stop it or someone is going to get something nasty in their coffee or eggs.
It's just bizarre.
I think WWII is still so influential in the way Britain defines itself that there's a weird desire to cling onto it even as it passes from living memory. There will be folk in their late 70s/early 80s in care homes now, they'll have been 25-30 in 1970. They'll be wanting a bit of Led Zeppelin, T-Rex, Roxy Music and Queen not someone bleating about 'we'll meet again'.
Counter argument - there will be people in care homes in their 90s who were children during the war. Someone born in 1930 would be 92 now. For these people, Vera Lynn will have been very much the sound of their youth. My mum died in a care home in 2019, she loved Vera Lynn and her songs, and hearing them sung always brightened her day.
Give it 10 years, then I'll agree with your pet peeve.
Tbf I'm probably a bit bias because both my grandparents had no time for the whole 'blitz spirit' thing.
As I said above my grandad is 90 this year so was just a boy
even when the war finished, even back in the 40s I don't think kids liked the same music as their parents. My Granny would have been 94 this year and whilst my grandad is a man for the crooners she was pure jazz. Peggy Lee, Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald, Miles Davis, Sarah Vaughan and Ray Charles were the staples whenever you visited. She did say seeing Sinatra in London was one of the best nights of her life mind you. She met my Grandad in the Palais as is classic Edinburgh and they were hugely into their dancing and fashion. I always got the impression the war was something they just wanted to forget as it had tainted a chunk of their childhood.
I think the politics of my Granny's dad in particular played a part in that too. He served in the RAF and was proud to have done his bit but as a man proud of both his Irish and working class roots he despised Churchill with a passion and never saw any glory in the war. Her Mother lost 2 brothers, both merchant Navy, at sea in the war as well. Her family was raised in abject poverty, she lost a sister in infancy at least in part, because the family couldn't afford to have a doctor visit. She had no time for reminiscing about the 'good old days'. Her view was it was hard being working class then and it's hard now. She wasn't bitter, she just didn't have rose tinted specs for a golden era that never existed in her universe.
Anyway I've taken this off topic enough.
I give up my time and play for a care home in Glenrothes and to be honest Elvis, Buddy Holly, Cliff Richard and Sinatra are the most requested and danced (well shuffled) tracks. Motown and 50s RnB also popular …. Trying to recall if I have ever played Vera Lynn.
Edit…oh and Dean Martin
The new McDonalds advert. They are trying too hard to come up with a Budweiser “wazup” type of advert that everyone copies. There’s more to making and advert than simply using the Ferris Bueller “Oh Yeah” song and folk raising their eyebrows.
Companies that don’t marry up their data. I go to Specsavers for my eye tests. I went to their North Bridge branch for my eye test three visits ago as it was handy for my work. I then went to their Leith branch during covid as it was handy for where I lived. I moved house last year and my eye test was due a few months ago so I went to their Gyle branch.
Despite the fact that a cheeky assistant made an observation that I was buying a pair of glasses less this time compared to last time so they obviously have me linked to my visits to their Leith branch, I’m getting texts from their Leith and North Bridge branches saying I’m overdue my eye test.
I stopped using Specsavers for very similar reasons. Had 5 communications from them in 6 weeks, letters, texts and emails, all telling me if I didn’t get my appointment sorted they’d have my contact lenses stopped. Every time I went into the store to be told there had been a mistake and I didn’t need it yet (which I knew). Each time they blamed it on their head office system being different from the store system, when I asked them to get the systems updated to the same dates, the store staff just shrugged and told me to phone the head office to sort it. They weren’t pleased when I pointed out it was their system and their head office, and it was up to them to sort it, not me. Ended up just not going back and going to a different opticians, who despite being a bit more expensive are much more attentive and seem to give a toss.
Recently had a dental check up. One tooth requiring a filling (urgent in my opinion). I thought it, as it used to be, might be done at the same appointment. I’m stunned to be told the earliest appointment is ten weeks later.:paranoid:
Tried to book my car in to check out two unwelcome noises coming from the rear of my car. Earliest available date is six weeks away.
Was in a big Tesco store which had about 20 checkouts……. only one was manned, yet there were long queues waiting to use the self checkout area.
That’s progress for you.
The new fad for plastic free six packs of beer, where the cans are stuck together with a blob of glue. Tried to separate one tonight and it ripped a hole in the side. Got sprayed rather than a drink..
The dentist thing annoys me. I was at the dentist a couple of weeks ago. I need a filling. “I’m afraid I’m leaving in a weeks time and we don’t know when the new dentist is starting. Maybe sometime in February or March. So you’ll need to wait for us to call you with an appointment”
To be fair, they phoned last week to say the new dentist is starting early Feb but they said that the dentist will have to see me to check it out first before I make an appointment for the filling.
Why? Does he not trust the previous dentist’s view that I need a filling?
I had a dentist appointment booked for today at 5, got a call on Monday to change it to 12 with another dentist as my dentist has flu. No problem, it happens. Got another call yesterday lunchtime to ask me to change to 10, bit of a pain but still no huge issue. Then a call at 6 yesterday evening saying that the other dentists now can't see me and they have booked me in for the next available appointment with my own dentist. On March 8th!
I would accept this if it was NHS but I'm paying these ****ers a direct debit every month for the privilege of having a check up, scale and polish. They must be hundreds, if not thousands of pounds up on me over the years and their service is consistently crap.
That’s the other thing, I’m with Denplan and like you I pay a monthly DD. I’ve not needed anything other than check ups and scale and polishes done for years so they’ve probably made their money on me.
My dad goes to the same dentist. He’s subsequently found out the new dentist will only be working two days a week. That is really crap service!