Give someone else's mobile number. Or make one up. Unless they need to call you as part of the quotation process, there's no need of them to have your number.
Printable View
Men who dye their hair, why? You just look ridiculous.
I always think men who just embrace going bald or turning grey look so much better than those who try to hide it.
I've got an increasing amount of grey hair. Every haircut sees a greater smattering of grey as it grows back in. So what? I'm approaching 40 and most men will have to deal with going bald or grey. Embrace it and find a style that suits. You can tell the difference between someone who has retained their natural colour and a dye job a mile away. It looks ridiculous 99% of the time and about as natural as Kim Kardashian.
I used to dye my hair but that was mainly for reasons associated with theatre productions versus vanity. Helps with a brother hair dresser.. . While I was always going silver, I was genuinely looking forward to getting that distinguished look. Hadnt noticed the crown receding and being baldy at the back but not front and sides Having two daughters accelerated the process.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
It’s an interesting wee side discussion for sure.
Seems perfectly acceptable and normal for women to dye their hair anytime they want and of course many many do on a regular basis. Fancy highlights when they are younger and defo grey cover when they are older (I’d wager the vast majority of women in the 40’s and 50’s cover their grey).
But for men it’s oddly taboo. Not that I’d ever consider it really but not sure I have too much of a problem with dudes that might want to.
One thing I do agree 100% on is the balding thing. Once it gets to a certain stage then the absolute best thing to do is just shave it off. Any pretendy efforts with long thin hair trying to make up for the lack of coverage just looks gawd awful and a thousand times worse than a simple buzz cut.
Used to be a guy in my local in Liverpool nicknamed Cherry Blossom. He put black shoe polish on his whole forehead to disguise his baldness.😂
That certain stage maybe needs to be advertised better.
Years ago I was in the gents at the Firkin Footlights, clocked a guy in the corner of my eye with a substantially receding hairline, I was just about to turn to him with an "alright mate" when I realised Mr five-heid was actually me 🤣
The mirror had a 90° return so I seen a side of me I hadn't before.
Came home that night and gave myself a #1 all over, couple of weeks later I was just bic'ing it, the scalp soon gets used to it. I wouldn't say I've ever been terribly vain but 18 years later I reckon I'm more presentable now than I was then.
Much prefer guys like you that embrace their baldness, nothing worse than seeing the comb overs or the Mick Miller(comedian) look. Beards are another thing, some guys really suit them and others, well just don't, I attempted one during lockdown, with the salt n pepper hair, I just looked like an old drunk, definitely better clean shaven.
YouTube!! I subscribe to a few channels from people with similar crafting interest as myself. Recently the number of adverts interruptions is making watching almost unwatchable.
I do the same and it’s becoming really annoying, particularly if the ad is loud, it wakes you up. I quite often listen to space videos from a guy called John Michael Godier and he has a relaxing voice. You are just nodding off when suddenly some guy starts screaming at you trying to flog a weight loss regime or get rich quick scheme
The number of ads you can’t skip after 5 seconds is increasing too.
Hang on, 50-minute ads? WTF?
If you're using a laptop/desktop, then this browser extension is the answer: https://ublockorigin.com/
For a mobile device it's a bit more of a pain, you'd probably need to install a different browser that supports extensions (and I'm not sure if it's possible at all on iOS). Don't use YouTube much so I've never tried to block the ads on my phone.
Yeah, some of the adverts are essentially a whole programme. I had one that was Alan Ball & Ray Parlour interviewing David James that was 50 minutes long. Admittedly those length of adverts aren’t that common, but closer to 15 minutes of some random “influencer” doing a cooking interview are more common. It’s not so much an issue when watching as can skip after 5 seconds. Just frustrating when listening to something when going to sleep and after a couple of minutes you have to physically skip the advert.
People who ask you how to do something, then don’t listen and mess up the task before saying I can’t do it that way.
The way TV shows the view through binoculars as two circles rips my knitting and last night they showed the view through a camera lens as a circle(I'm aware of fisheye lenses, it wasn't one). Why is it so difficult to show the view that you would see through those devises. Another one is when they green screen content on to a laptop that a presenter is using.
I had a situation where somebody was being passed from pillar to post at work. I got landed with him and I just couldn’t believe his inability to follow instructions. I even put together a document with screenshots of everything he needed to do but he would still do something completely different. I went on a Teams call with him and he shared his screen and he was insistent something in the document wasn’t there. I could see it on his screen share! In fact his cursor was hovering over it.
He asked me how to do something on a system he had used for months, so I showed him. Next day I asked him to something on that same system. “What’s that? I’ve never used that, never heard of it”. Er… it’s what you asked me a question on yesterday.
Guy at my work who is utterly useless, despite being paid a very high salary. and management fail to see it.
This seems to be partly because he's an accomplished bull****ter and partly because the management don't seem to care.
Have you tried UBlock Origin? That will take the ads away for you. After they sold YouTube to Google the ads became ridiculous, 20sec ads without skipping, then double ads, now there are triple ads with no skipping, I got a double 20 second ad with no skipping on a 30 second video and lost the plot and downloaded the ad blocker, wish I'd done it years ago. Google have tried their best to ruin the best video platform there is on the internet
Don't suppose you are a Bobby Duke fan? He is my favourite crafter/artists on YouTube unfortunately his contents is irregular and usually months apart but they are worth waiting on, he is a bit silly but produces some amazing art.
Was in the supermarket earlier. Randomly fancied some Tooty Frutie sweets as not had them in years. Couldn’t find them, just found out that they were discontinued in 2019. Oh well!
You won't be able to use uBlock on your tv. If it's an Android tv then you might be able to use a sideloaded app (eg the one described here: https://techweez.com/2020/07/16/how-...id-tv-forever/).
Sideloading is a bit of a pain and you'd need to do some research to make sure the app is legit.
Amateur football teams doing big social media announcements and interviews when they sign a player. It was bad enough when Highland and Lowland League teams started doing it but at least there is a contract and potentially a monetary transaction there. Grown men spouting the same cliches they have read from professionals is a total cringe.
Granton Star are pleased to announce the signing of Gogs Brown. Gogs said 'when I found out the gaffer wanted me here there was nowhere else I wanted to be. We sat down and it was an easy deal to do'. Manager Rab Scott added 'Gogs is exactly the type of player we are looking for. He'll make training at least once a week and always pays his subs on time. We faced stiff competition from a rival who offered him 2 post game pints and 1st dibs on the dart board but I have to praise the chairman for sanctioning an extra lager shandy to get the deal done.'
Likewise with goal and Man of the Match announcements. Someone I used to work with has been reposting a whole load of social media posts from her son's boys team of fancy announcements of her son scoring goals and getting MotM, similar to how pro teams would. OTT if you ask me!
Variations in clothing sizes. I've been ordering summer clothes just now for my honeymoon in Dec/Jan as they won't be in the shops nearer the time.
I generally wear a 38 or 40 inch waist. I ordered a 40 inch waist shorts from one retailer, they are too small, so exchanged for a 42 inch waist. Got a 42 inch waist in shorts from somewhere else and they are huge. Just received a pair of 40 inch trousers and they won't even get anywhere near closing - probably more like a 34 inch waist!
They were all different retailers, so fair enough there is some differentiation between them (the trousers are taking the P though).
However, I got a shirt in M&S in XXL. Perfect fit. Ordered a couple of other shirts from there in XXL and one was like a tent on me and the other I was bursting out of.
Customers who truly believe “the customer is always right” even when they are wrong.
Brilliant, I know exactly what you mean, I knew a few guys who played with amateur teams and I used to see the same, we are pleased to announce Jimbo Jones has rejoined us after 2 seasons away, he will add some much needed steel to the defence, Jimbo was just released from Saughton after an almost 2 year stretch for sheep bothering🤣
Ps players name has been changed to save his embarrassment
Folk that give their kids phones or tablets to watch cartoons on trains without headsets. Either interact with your spawn or buy a ****ing headset. All you're doing is teaching them to be ignorant *****.
Had this in a restaurant in Tarbert earlier this year. We had our two kids and the in laws with us, having a lovely time and the kids loved being part of a meal out. It’s something we haven’t done that much as a family due to covid and money, so a bit of a novelty.
A family came in with 3 kids, 3 tablets and one set of headphones. It was ridiculous.
The fortnightly task of sorting out the recycle crates after the bin men have mixed them up with the neighbour's and left a load of stuff still in them which has ended up strewn all over the street.
Oh we have numbers on them, it's the way they chuck a green crate of ours in with a blue crate of theirs then throw them in to the pavement so everything they left spills out all over the road.
And don't get me started on the time the guy stopped for a fag straight after breaking the handle off my food bin and stood and watched while I tried to fix it on again. I told him not to worry and just enjoy his fag. He must have thought it was me who reported them (it was another neighbour) as the next time a council gadgie was trailing them so everything was neatly sorted and in its proper place. Then back to normal the next time. I've actually put all this on the bin strikes thread already, what a saddo 😂
Many years back I got a pair of work boots from our jobsworth storeman, he actually had a gauge he used to check the treads, if the soles on your boots werent worn enough he chucked them back at you
I had a mate who worked in the pits and he gave me an old pair that I could exchange, soles were completely worn
To my joy I was handed a brand new pair by the prick storeman only to find out the sole on the left boot was 1.5” higher than the right boot, what a **** !! Took me 1 year to realise I didnt actually have a ****ing limp !! 🤬
🤣
Its amazing how thrifty some companies were back in the day. I mean they were meant to be very pro health and safety but ffs, dungarees/overalls had to be held on by literally a single thread before I could get a new pair, safety gloves had to have a minimum of 3 fingers left as 4 fingers are “workable” and boots either had to be flapping at the front or soles as smooth as a babys erse, 3mm tread was acceptable 🤣
i used to work for a multi-billion pound company, who would throw money at things when it suited, yet at the same time, if someone went to ask for a new notepad (think the cheapest kind you can get), every page back and front would be inspected before another one would be provided. I even saw a few people get knocked back for one when they’d used all the pages but there was still some space left on a few of those pages, so get back and use them properly 😂
Wonder if it was the same place I worked, to be honest I think it was more down to the jobsworth that was issuing. I think it was a bog standard boring role that he manufactured into his own so he could brown nose to the management and he received plaudits as more money probably went into the management Christmas sesh fund
My mrs volunteering me for stuff and then taking the huff when it's pointed out that she shouldn't be doing it. Goes in one ear and out the other mind as still getting volunteered for **** after 20years
Whenever Im on annual leave and planning on doing absolutely zilch and my Wife always has plans for me to do the garden, the laundry, the cooking, tidy the house and all the other ****ing DIY jobs, I go back to work for a ****ing break 🤬
When she is on annual leave (we try to take leave at different times 🤣) she does a bit of polishing and then goes for a kip, ****ing hard life 🤬
I turned up to drop my kid off at football only to discover I'd been "volunteered" to become a coach
Aha yes in my gaff it’s the dreaded ‘list’.
This is a non physical list of items that exists only in her head. It appears to be a randomised collection of exactly the type of things you have mentioned above. Some large, some small, some never to be deciphered and defo one that no matter how many jobs are done can never be completed….(“you still haven’t got round to some of those things that have been on THE LIST for ages”)
But regular as clockwork come the weekend or a few days off work out it comes.
“Soo great you are off for a few days…you can get some things done on THE LIST”
To be fair though the frequent response is along the lines of
“Oh I would love to dear but with Hibs on Sat and golf on Sunday I might not get all of it done”
Which of course then relies on which way the wind is blowing to determine if we get an understanding nod of the head or an argument [emoji1787][emoji1787]
I'm sure my wife has an alarm that goes off as soon as my erse gets within a couple of centimetres of the couch.
I do all the ironing, all the cooking, the shopping and deal with things like emptying the bins. I also have the kids on my own a Monday, Wednesday, Thursday evening and all day Sunday. That means bathing, changing, homework, dinner etc etc. I'm no dinosaur, they are my kids and I like doing it.
Guaranteed though that when I get them all sorted, get the dishes done, tidy the place up etc the second I make a coffee and sit myself down at 10.05, she'll walk in a minute later and give it 'oh someone's had a good night whilst I've been working'. If I was to say the same when I get in at half 5 and find her watching Pointless then it would be world war 3.
Absolutley feel your pain mate, that must be a Wifes trait, I bet there are many other poor souls on here who can share our pain 🤣
Many years ago I would randomly phone my Wife from work, just to check in and tell her Im safe and erm, that I love her 🥹 All I could hear in the background were groans and moans !! That wasnt her doing housework or yoga, lazy ****ing git was playing Resident Evil, bloody addicted to it she was 🤬
Chorizo. My wife and daughter love it. I can’t stand it or the smell.
Yep. That’s all sounds incredibly familiar.
Our dog’s recovering from surgery, I’ve spent the last three nights at up not quite all night with him, but not far off, as his recovery has been erratic. You’re lucky if I’ve managed three hours sleep each night.
Nevertheles, I’ve got up early to give him his medication and sat with him while everyone else has slept.
Tonight, i recorded the podcast and got moaned at because “we’ve spent the last two hours with him so it’s your turn”.
Stupidly obtuse rules with no common sense applied.
My work has supplied polystyrene products for years. With the legislation change in Scotland that is no longer possible. It's something we are wholly supportive of and we have spent a lot of time and money over the last couple of years preparing for this, sourcing alternative products and pushing them so people had made the transition before it became law.
Inevitably though we have been left with a small surplus of polystyrene stock which can't be sold. I had arranged to hand this over FOC to a couple of local foodbanks and homeless charities for them to use. I checked this with the relevant bodies andwas told last week this is also forbidden under the new law and both us and the end user would be liable for a fine if such a move happened. Utterly mental. We now have a few boxes of polystyrene that will end up in landfill unused rather than them ending up in exactly the same place having been used for a good cause.
I both understand and support the law but in this instance it's not a commercial transaction and seems madness. This isn't new manufactured product, it's not product that would otherwise not end up in landfill, it's existing stock that is headed there anyway.
People who don’t clear their tables in cafes where there is a facility to clear your own table and take your tray to a rack, thereby leaving tables much easier to turn around.
People that say “delete if not allowed” before posting something that is exactly what that page is meant for. I see it all the time and it bugs me so much. Just read one now about someone asking for recipe advice on a recipes page. Why the **** would that not be allowed?
The word proven as in not proven or proven liar.
The word should be proved. Either that or it should be acceptable to say the goalposts have been moven.
Inconsistency's fine if it makes the language better in any way, but proven must be the worst of what were originally Scottish words to make it big. Compare its ugliness to the majesty of glaikit or bourach. Just a horrible, pointless word! :grr::panic:
And it reminds me of a hun left back from ye olde days.
Folk that clearly don’t want to be in the job they’re in so just decide to be plain rude to customers.
I was in on a Ryanair flight on Monday and when one of the cabin crew went on the tannoy she mumbled and must have had the intercom thing miles away from her mouth as you couldn’t make out anything she was saying.
They then came round with the hot food trolley and when the Italian woman in front of us very politely asked for a Sprite, the same cabin crew member as above visibly and dramatically rolled her eyes, had a look of disgust in her face and replied “this is the hot food trolley and not the drinks trolley as previously stated if you bothered to listen” with special emphasis on “as previously stated” in a condescending tone.
To be fair it was the highlight of our trip so far and me, my wife, the Italian woman and the two people next to her couldn’t stop peeing ourselves laughing.
Wonder if this was the same member of cabin crew who was in my work last week. She was obviously heading to the airport as she was in full uniform and dolled up to the nines. She was very rude to us and generally just difficult. When she left I said to my colleagues "I pity whoever is on her flight today if that's how she's going to behave". Not a good advert for them at all.
That reminds me of the joke about the guy trying to chat up the stewardess in the airport. Unsure of what airline she works for he throws out a few airlines logos like BA's "the world's favourite airline" to see if she reacts. At first she is unmoved, but eventually she snaps and tells him to to shut the **** up and **** off somewhere else.
It's at this point he thinks to himself 'of course, she's Ryanair'.
I realise there are exceptions to this, as they're not necessarily all this bad, but....
Taxi Drivers.
The constant annoyance of them double parking in awkward places is one thing, but there are some (actually a lot) of them that seem to think the rules of the road, safety and etiquette just don't apply to them.
Typical example of this today as I was driving across a traffic light controlled junction in Giffnock, in quite busy traffic, and a taxi driver decide to join the main stream of traffic from our right, despite the fact that he quite obviously had a red light.
Once he'd done this, he then decided he wanted into the inside line, which I was already in, and tried to drive in front of me while I was driving about 20mph. I slammed on the brakes, and sounded my horn to let him know I was already there (though he'd have to have been blind not to see me).... at which point he went in to a total meltdown at me, blasting his horn and shouting abuse.
This is my worst experience yet of bad driving by taxi drivers but it's far from being the being the only time it's ever happened.
Getting pre booked taxis to turn up these days is my pet peeve. It’s been happening loads recently. Worst was last week when I had booked a black cab days in advance to take me to my own wedding. Didn’t turn up, so had to frantically find an alternative as the company wouldn’t answer the phone. Then I get a message that it’s turned up and where was I as it has been waiting for a few mins - almost an hour after it was booked for. Just back from honeymoon and I’ve noticed the buggers have charged me for it too. They’ll be getting an arsey phone call from me on Monday.
Same thing happened for my wedding.
Booked a taxi for me, best man, my parents and my grandad to head to the church. Boy was nowhere to be seen at the pick up time, gave it 15 minutes then called to chase. Women on the phone said he would be there. Still no sign for 10 minutes so called again. Guy this time said he'll be there but if it was so important then I 'should have given myself plenty time'. I did mate but when your company is at least 25 minutes late it eats into that time.
Driver eventually showed 5 minutes later, no apology. He then had the cheek to get nippy about 'what a time we were taking' because we had to help my 89 year old grandad into the back.
I'd always been a big supporter of black cabs because I always felt it was more professional and a better service than the alternatives. Since then though I have been far more inclined to make Uber or the private hires my first call.
Adults who clap their hands like a 5 year old and say "yaaaay".