Compare them to a company like AO who I've used a few times now and they've been flawless every time. And cheaper than Currys. The TV I got was cheaper than Currys by £150.
Printable View
Actually it was AO I used to get the TV after the Curry’s fiasco. As you say fast and efficient and even had it in stock when they said they had it in stock!
They also (eventually) honoured their price promise which despite needing a bit of back and forward was all polite enough and they accepted the comparison once I had reminded them of their own wording around such things [emoji1787]
Got another HMRC call this morning telling me there was a warrant out for my arrest due to tax evasion, told the guy if you are about to get arrested they generally don't phone you first, he said well we do, told him I looked forward to speaking to the polis and he said I will get them sent within the next 30 mins if I don't do what they want, I started laughing at that point and told him that the polis wouldn't even show up to a murder in 30 mins, at that point he hung up on me.
Not a pet peeve as such but that's about the 5 or 6th time I've had the same kind of call
The inability to get any proper compost or top soil…this is the crap that came out of a single bag of the ‘screened’ 35l bag of Westland top soil that I was trying to use to level a patch of lawn.
Sadly I’d fired a bag on the lawn before properly checking and then had to spend ages picking out all the crap.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...f6fb1b703e.jpg
Try Caledonian Horticulture - local company to Edinburgh and they do lots of different composts - they also do a specific top dressing mixture too, which is screened and also I think it’s sterilised so there’s no weed seeds in it.
https://caledonianhorticulture.co.uk/product/caledonian-top-dressing-20kg/
Thanks both! Replies much appreciated.
I’ve pinged an angry man email off to Westland today..I’m not normally the formal complaining type but having a big pile of sticks and stones in my lawn has pushed me over the edge [emoji1787]
I was actually coming on to post about the same item though mine wasn’t quite as bad. Was that B&Q you got that from?
I have another gardening one… slugs.
We planted a whole load of the pants at the weekend and most are gone thanks to the slimy wee buggers.
I read that the salt trick is considered to be inhumane but that drowning them in beer is somehow not.
I put out a tray of beer the other night and it was full of them by the morning. I put out three trays of beer last night and two are full, one hasn’t been touched (they obviously don’t like Tiger beer :faf:)
Aye it was B&Q…I had a reply to my complaint where the stated there had been a ‘clearly a screening issue’ and an apology followed by a promise of some vouchers in the post (value not disclosed). While I still raging at the debris now stuck in the lawn I suppose they at least had the gumption to reply and apologise quickly.
As for slugs…I’ll admit that I just go all chemical on them and fire down some of the blue pellets that decimates them rapido. Not pet friendly tho so no good if you have a dog or whatever.
They are probably rather unfriendly full stop but one dose seems to effectively wipe the population out for the year so I bury my green creds for my own human benefit every late spring….
Yeah that’s correct…I checked and mine is defo then banned stuff (did think it wasn’t particularly friendly!)…it’s running low so might have to resort to the eco friendly formula in a year or two [emoji1787]
Not sure if the Ferric Phosphate products are any good or not…is almost certainly not as effective as the old stuff as that was clearly lethal to any slug who went near it…but probably quite a few other things as well despite it being bright blue.
The length of half time at soccer aid...
That well-worn phrase "winning ways".
Scotland will be looking to get back to winning ways tomorrow.
Gimme a break.
Was walking down the street yesterday and some guy collapses and starts having some sort of seizure. Was closest to him so made sure that he wasn't in danger of stopping breathing, someone else phoned an ambulance and another person went into a local office to get a first aider.
Amazing how many people walked on by and even one person with a pram audibly grumbling that they couldn't get by with their pram. The chap had stopped shaking at that point but it was clear that something was up and even though the three of us had it under control, that person sums up a lot that is wrong with people.
Few years back I was on my way to the shop and there was a old man lying on the ground and wasn't moving, I called an ambulance and waited til it got there, few days later I'm in the shop and the owner tells me the old guy has been in and he is doing ok
Said that he had recently had bypass surgery and collapsed on his way to get his paper and that people had actually stepped over him to walk past, some real selfish people on the go, well done on not being one of them!
I tried these things last month - Slug Nematodes, Nemaslug, Free Delivery from Gardening Naturally (gardening-naturally.com)
They certainly seem to have reduced the slug population considerably. The only problem was that you're best to apply them when it's raining - it worked out for me but if anyone had seen me watering a garden of weeds in the pissing rain they'd probably have called the authorities.
Folk who make up an elaborate story about how they have had to rush to another city early morning because of a family crisis and how they won’t be able to be in work for the whole weekend. You then spot them in Edinburgh during the day.
When football goes on over the summer (world Cup excepted).
Give us a break!
Bacon that curls up when you put it under the grill.
Dry cured bacon will lessen the curling up.
Most supermarket bacon is wet cured/brined, it's all that excess moisture dripping out that plays a part in inducing the curling. One of those products were paying a bit more is definitely worth it.
You can also put a couple of snips in the rind using a decent knife or a pair of scissors. That stops the pulling together and curling as well.
Happened to a lassie I used to work beside, took a couple of sick days and was spotted on the news at the poll tax protests in London! Oops! 😀
The absolute state of some public conveniences.
I don't know if it's pïss poor maintenance, lack of cleaning or just the fact we're all manky gits when away from our homes, but the condition of some toilets gives me the boak!
It used to be the case that WC's "abroad" were something to be joked & ridiculed about, but over the last few months when I've had the urge to "go" around Edinburgh and ended up walking out quicker than I went in.
From folk missing the toilet and somehow leaving fecal matter on the seat to those who've successfully dropped the kids off at the pool but failed to flush (usually a distinct lack of toilet paper use too).
Like most per peeves here, I'm taking umbrage at the laziness and ignorance of others.
Edited to slightly change my phrasing. It read as if I was cruising around the city's conveniences 😳
I've got a bacon related question... why when I fry it does loads of gloopy white fat appear in the frying pan, covering the bacon and making it look rank? I've not made it for ages because the thought of the fat knocks me ill.
I was in the ones near Pipe Lane at Porty beach maybe 6 years ago. They still had the "VD and allied diseases " stickers from the 60s on the walls.
At least now, unlike 6/7 year old me, I know that VD doesn't stand for Very Dangerous and that Allied Diseases don't come from Yanks and our other WW2 partners!:greengrin
When you are struggling with something and quite obviously need another pair of hands, yet the other person close by just stands there watching you struggle.
People* that moan that you keep the curtains shut and windows open during the day during hot weather, so then they open the curtains and close the window (spiders get in apparently) but then complain that the bedroom is too hot when you go to bed - or even worse, complain that I'm complaining that the bedroom is too hot.
* by people I mean my other half
Restaurant tables that have one ****-off huge leg in the middle so you've nowhere to put your feet.
Maybe one for the driving thread, though it’s not really driving related.
I went to fill my car up with petrol last night but the fuel cap wouldn’t come off. It was totally stuck. Brute force didn’t work. My car is just over one year old so I phoned the dealership service centre this morning. “Sorry we are only allowed to book a certain number of appointments per week for cars that are still in warranty and we’ve reached the limit for this week and we’ve only one appointment left for next week and it would have to be Thursday. Sorry, it is a manufacturer imposed restriction. You might be better trying the other Kia dealership at Newbridge.”
Tried Newbridge and as an aside, (and despite phoning the number listed as the service department on their website) I was initially told that the service department isn’t allowed to make appointments and I must call their national call centre instead (WTF?)
Anyway, I got the same message from them about there being a limit on in-warranty appointments except it was an even longer wait.
So, I’m stuck with a car with barely enough fuel in it to get to the dealership that I can’t use for over a week.
That's really poor from Kia.
You've maybe tried this but have you checked to see if there is another fuel cap release section in inside of the the boot? Think most Kia's have them, like a wee plastic hatch you open, usually on the side where the fuel cap is? If so, should be able to pop it open from there....
Ant Middleton. I’ve listened to two or three of his audiobooks and I just find him a bit phony. The way he was let go from the SAS: Who Dares Wins and also just a few other things don’t project the image I think he wants to give off.
Looking at the driving pet peeves thread for new posts and finding the same squabble running for days taking over the thread.
When someone young passes away and a friend or family members posts about it on social media to let people know or express condolences and people think it's appropriate to ask 'what happened', 'how did they die' etc etc. **** off, you don't need to know every detail.
Getting injured. Fractured my arm last Friday. It’s fine in a neutral position but I often forget about it and go to move it as normal only to then get a painful reminder it’s still fractured!
Take aways that tie the handles of a plastic bag ridiculously tight, so much so you have to resort to ripping the bag open meaning you can’t reuse the bag.
People who convert squabbles on one thread into a brand new squabble on a totally different thread,
Oh and Magpies. I can't stand the wee buggers.
This used to be an entertaining thread, not so much these days.
Moving house and losing stuff you know you packed.
Having to move things that the wife thinks look pretty before I can do a simple task.
Going to bed, have to move a mountain of cushions etc before I can get into it.
Sitting at the dining table, have to move candlestick and other ornaments before I can sit and use the table
Does my head in!
Or, much, much worse still, when you put your car keys on the table to pick up a few seconds later. Then when you go back and she swears she hasn't seen them, but after what feels like a 10 minute search you find them in her bag.
But she didn't put them there! Right.
my wife’s variant on this is leaving her car keys, house keys, phone, and whatever else is vaguely important, lying in random places around the house - toilet shelf, kitchen counter, table, phone shelf, bedside cabinet, jacket pocket, handbag, couch, and on and on. Then when she can’t find these things as she’s no idea where they’ve been abandoned, she gets all arsey and annoyed because she’s now in a rush and can’t find them
My wife once lost her car keys and we searched fir ages looking for them. Hunted high and low and couldn't find them. Turned up eventually........in the fridge
I put a key hook up in the hall at her request as she kept losing keys. The one place I can guarantee that she will not put her keys is in the ******g key hook!!
Quotes getting broken on the main board
[QUOTE=SaulGoodman;7005409 Quotes getting broken on the main board[/QUOTE]
Agreed
[QUOTE=SaulGoodman;7005409]Quotes getting broken on the main board
[QUOTE=matty_f;7005650Agreed[/QUOTE]
Total nightmare
Women that say their man needs to do more about the house but, when he does, no matter how he does it, it's still wrong.
Hang up the wet clothes from the washing machine? -- Ten minutes later you find they've all mysteriously moved to different parts of the clothes horse, and hung up using pegs.
You fold and put away all the clothes once they're dry? -- They don't go on that shelf, and you haven't folded the socks correctly.
You decide to do a bit of the ironing? -- You don't iron T-Shirts, ya numpty...and why are ye no ironing that Shirt?
Talking of unironed shirts: -- "If you go out and people (that I've never met, and am unlikely to ever meet) see you wearing a crumpled shirt, it reflects badly on me!"
p.s I'm so glad my wife isn't at all like that :wink:
So after all that about getting a slot because of it being under warranty, my partner has just took it in and they've said it isn't actually covered by the warranty and it will cost £119 to just look at it. I'd have taken it somewhere else. Absolute cretins - could they not have told me when I phoned.
https://www.kiaownersclub.co.uk/thre...working.38980/
Doesn't look like an isolated problem. Should absolutely be covered by KIA IMO.