They’ll owe it to themselves once they inevitably lose.
Printable View
Sorry if mentioned...
Has anyone mentioned that it may only be the prem that is played at all next season?
Costs of tests will be offset by tv. Televising more games due to closed doors will also be v expensive. But there will be v little demand for the lower league product.
Just a thought...
It’s a very real danger that Hearts face.
To be honest, if some of the predictions of no fans in before 2021 come true then there will be a couple of prem clubs go bust as well. Hearts would stand to benefit from that but they are likely to go first.
Wonder when the Premiership teams will get their 1st trunch of TV money, next season.
Also less live games with the new TV deal, so clubs maybe able to steam games to their fans, at 3pm on a Saturday
Far from ideal, but at least they’ll be able to get some revenue in, apart from season tickets
I think Hearts should take expensive legal action initiated by Budge, and then get an expensive CEO to replace her in their main decision making. Because money is no object and the FOH donations have to be squandered somehow. I would recommend Gordon Smith due to his ‘vast knowledge of the game.’
I’m literally thinking of the most stupid things they could possibly do and I pretty much expect them to do it. Their depths of desperation and stupidity knows no bottom.
Great thread Diclonius - this was your post on 25th October 2019. Who would have thought that we would have had so much fun at The Hertz expense. It's made the Covid-19 era a bit more enjoyable. Diclonius, I'm sure you could not have envisaged the events that were to unfold.
Maybe she could persuade them to set up some sort of group to give money to whose sole purpose would be to give Mrs doctor Budge the money in exchange for shares?
Unless of course something better comes along to spend the money on.
Jumbos will lose an absolute FORTUNE next season. How they deserve this!
Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk
Statement issued by Budge....delusional and hypocritical in equal measure.
Can’t wait to see what over-inflated wages they’ll be paying in the lower league
AB speaks!
As you can imagine, I am bitterly disappointed, although sadly not surprised, that there is insufficient support from Premiership clubs to expand the Top League of Scottish Football to avoid unfairly penalising any club as a consequence of the Covid-19 pandemic. This is the only option available to avoid the unfair treatment of a number of fellow members of the SPFL but it was yesterday dismissed.
Why was expansion of the top league dismissed?
There were a number of reasons offered as to why this could not receive support, including a view stated by a number of club representatives that this was, effectively, a distraction, and all of our efforts needed to be focused on the bigger issue of how we get football back playing as quickly as possible.
Firstly, this is incredibly sanctimonious, suggesting as it does that those of us involved in looking at this issue are failing to recognise what “the real issues” are. Or perhaps it suggests that we are all incapable of considering more than one challenge at a time. Speaking for myself, I am pretty good at multi-tasking.
Secondly, to say we will look at this question at some point in the future, when we have dealt with the current crisis, is totally missing the point. The briefing notes accompanying the recent SPFL Resolution stated “We have received several suggestions promoting League restructuring, perhaps around an enlarged 2020/21 Premiership. Such restructuring might offer the opportunity for relegation for Season 2019/20 to be avoided for all Clubs.” It went on further to state that “…in the event that the resolution proposed to Clubs is approved, your Board is committed to using the months of April and May 2020 to consult over a possible League restructuring in time for Season 2020/21 around an expanded Premiership model.” The clue is surely in the dates!
The suggestion was also made at yesterday’s meeting that the only reason that this is even being discussed is because it is one of the larger clubs, namely Hearts, that will be affected. Not only is that statement hugely disrespectful to those other clubs in the same position, it flies in the face of the view expressed by so many that no club, however large or small, should be disproportionately disadvantaged because of this crisis situation.
I have stated from the outset, and very few clubs disagree, that it is fundamentally wrong that any club should be unfairly penalised by exceptional decisions that have had to be taken to deal with the current crisis. I would stand by that view, regardless of Hearts own position. I have principles, which govern my behaviour and I could easily take offence at the implication that I am only taking an interest because it is Hearts. This may be how others behave. It is not, however, how I behave!
If something is wrong, it is wrong and we should all be doing our utmost to correct that wrong. To pour more financial hardship on specific clubs, given what we are all going through both now and for the foreseeable future, is both outrageous and shameful. We should be standing together to help clubs to survive and to save jobs. This decision simply flies in the face of all of this.
Fundamentally, the main reason clubs are not prepared to consider a restructure is because of the Sky contract. It is well known that Sky would have to agree to a restructure. Without any discussion with Sky, there is a totally incomprehensible assumption that we would be unable to navigate successfully through any such negotiation. What does that say about the strength or otherwise of our “partnership”? Perhaps more tellingly, what does it say about the confidence our clubs have in the ability of the SPFL to negotiate? The message is clear. This could be difficult so let’s not bother trying. It’s too risky!
What of the Task Force?
The Task Force was set up as a sub-committee of the Board following the afore-mentioned SPFL resolution, to look at whether a possible restructuring around an expanded top league could avoid relegation.
Over recent weeks, the Task Force has been working diligently and cooperatively to try to reach agreement on how the other Divisions might be structured assuming an enlarged top tier. Much has been said, for example, about the opportunity this might present to remove the current “play everyone 4 times” problem that drives so many supporters away from attending games. When we do return to play we will all need our fans more than ever and this was a genuine opportunity to show that we do listen to them and we do genuinely want to improve the fan experience, thereby encouraging them to come back to our stadiums. The Task Force was also very aware that SPFL players had voiced their support for reconstruction through a PFA survey, hoping this could be implemented for the start of next season. This was a real chance to make a difference for the better, for so many stakeholders. Alas, another opportunity missed!
While discussions were by no means concluded, there was a genuine optimism that agreement could be reached. This was fed back to the Premiership clubs at yesterday’s meeting. No matter what the Task Force was able to agree, however, it was always going to fail if the Premiership Division would not agree to enlarge the top tier. Yesterday, it was made very clear that a number of clubs were not prepared to do so and nor were they prepared or interested in discussing the matter further.
While I have no more wish than the next person to waste my time, the total disregard for the members of the Board sub-committee and the efforts they had put in was quite staggering. I intimated at the start of the meeting that I had prepared a paper, which I planned to send to them following the meeting, which outlined my arguments in writing as to why the Premier Clubs should agree to expand the League. They were determined, however, to take “a vote” as they didn’t want this topic to carry forward to the next meeting. This is so appallingly disrespectful to everyone on the Task Force.
In summary:
It goes without saying that all clubs are absolutely entitled to determine their own position as they see fit, taking into account the interests of their individual club and what they perceive to be in the best interests of Scottish Football. I have no issue whatsoever, with Clubs taking the stand that they believe is right.
I, too, of course, have the same right of opinion and I firmly believe the wrong decision has been taken and for many of the wrong reasons.
There is absolutely no question in my opinion that self-interest played a part in the discussions yesterday, as did previous history. The current decision-makers and influencers comprise a mix of “new faces” and “old faces” in the Premiership meetings. While this brings lots of positives, it means there is a wide range of experience and understanding in terms of the issues, the people and indeed the politics involved in Scottish Football. We all too often hear people talking about why things won’t work because “We’ve been here before and agreement is impossible”. If we are ever going to make any meaningful changes to improve Scottish Football, we have to find a way of forgetting what has gone in the past. We must also stop hiding behind what the current rules say and be prepared to take a pragmatic, fleet-of-foot approach to dealing with change.
Fear has also played a part here. We are all confronting a huge number of issues and lack of clarity over the future. Clubs are worried. They do not want to do anything that might in any way impact a major income stream. The value of the Sky contract is being held out as being under major threat if any changes to the league are made. Personally, I do not accept that this is the huge problem it is being assumed to be.
The Task Force had discussed solutions that would have seen no club disproportionately disadvantaged due to the global pandemic, whilst giving all clubs the best chance of survival and improving Scottish Football for players and for supporters, at a time when we are going to need them more than ever. Sadly, any progress made, has now been lost.
I had hoped that we could have agreed a sensible, pragmatic approach that would have seen a positive outcome for Scottish Football as a whole. Our objective should have been to stand together to protect each other. This would have demonstrated genuine leadership for the first time in many weeks. We are long-overdue a demonstration that those of us in senior positions in Scottish Football are prepared to stand up and be counted, and are prepared to put our heads above the parapet and fight for what is right. Wouldn’t it be good to have some positive news coming out of Scottish Football?
Finally, may I take the opportunity to thank you all for your unwavering commitment to the club and for the messages of support since yesterday’s announcement.
Please also be reassured that while the Premiership has not yet been called, should it be so, with Hearts expelled as a result, we will be taking further advice on what options are open to us and to other clubs in the same position, to formally challenge this outcome.
“ There is absolutely no question in my opinion that self-interest played a part in the discussions yesterday, as did previous history.”
So she’s moaning about self interest of others? What a ****ing ridiculous thing to say. She’s the one that went into this demanding a temporary reconstruction for one season and one season only to save her club. She was never acting for the greater good of Scottish Football.
Also saying that Hearts would be “expelled”. Naw, it’s relegation. Plain and simple. The last bit about challenging the decision if the leagues called is pure desperation. She previously confirmed she wouldn’t pursue legal action.
That statement from Budge is truly the most vain, blinkered and ignorant thing I've ever read. What an incredibly deluded and narcissistic response.
Just how I like 'em, desperate beyond measure.
Slavering old windbag!
Utter p**h from the wind bag.
Nobody outside of hearts gives a hoot ya slavering old goat, now off you pop
No doubt Chuckys bitch English will be hanging onto every word and become her mouthpiece again. What a shameful statement.
"Speaking for myself, I am pretty good at multi-tasking."
Hahaha aye OK then Dr.
She clearly doesn’t understand that if you continually slag off other clubs,as she has done in the last month,they will not move an inch to help you.
Rambling nonsense. Can picture the increased foaming at the mouth as the statement drones on...
She is right about being good at multi-tasking. Simultaneously managed to run her club into the ground, whilst not ordering seats for a stand and keeping her ex-manager and his assistant on the payroll. Impressive.
Self delusional, infantile, narcissistic, utter tripe
she only had one objective, to save Hearts from relegation and she didn’t even have the dignity to acknowledge it, good riddance to her and the rest of her rotten club
Waffle waffle waffle pish waffle
**** off, just **** off. Budge, Deans, Levein, Stendel, Kiwidug***** just **** right off. You are part of the most despicable club in Scotland, no mean feat when the Hun sadly play here. You accuse everyone else of acting with self interest, blindly ignoring the fact that is exactly what you have been doing with this reconstruction farce. You even went so far as saying it was temporary, for one season, designed purely to save the worst performing team over the last 18 months.
You, Mrs Budge are the main reason hearts are in this position. You have presided over Craig Levein being in charge as DOF and then manager, then DOF and manager and then back to DOF (shared with McPhee). You have wasted millions in a vanity project in the new (unfinished) main stand. You wasted another million in a new pitch and then destroyed it with another vanity project for the festival.
You told everyone that there were too many clubs in Scotland and then when it suited YOU tried to get another 2 in. Reconstruction may be a good thing for Scottish football but 14 teams to save your ego ain't the way forward. Please.do everyone a favour and try to find a wee bit of dignity, accept your fate and try to build a team and a club. That is if you don't go into administration as you are so badly run
Just wow, over on manypointsback they believe that they are going to mount a legal challenge crowd funded by the fans and PT and Stranrae will be joining in. Its comedy gold.
How can they formally challenge a vote by member clubs? And are there not all sorts of issues surrounding them going down the legal route? It would cost them a fortune and waste a whole lot of time. I reckon she’s just posturing. Not once has she taken any responsibility for the position Hearts find themselves in.
That's some statement, fair play, she has written that herself. Far to long, lacks clear structure and it just rambling with a veiled threat at the bottom for legal action. Expelled the new relegation, comical stuff, the Jambos have been the worst team for a whole year.
Presumably they can’t take legal action against the SPFL unless they resign or else they would be suing themselves.They can’t sue the other clubs individually as it would never get to court.
Did i read some thinly veiled attacks at Hibs there or was i reading to much into it.
Slavering old bag.
So all the clubs were acting in their own self interest apart from Hearts who were acting for the greater good of Scottish football.
Aye nae bother Queen Anne of relegation!
Ahh superb Ann!!! The statement didn’t disappoint for one sentence...
Opened badly and just got worse and worse.
Not once did she even hint at the fact that it was her awful ‘guidance’ at the club that had left them open to such a conclusion. Starting with an apology would have been the best option rather than the hilarious multi tasking comment.
Occasionally she might have strayed into the territory of actually explaining why a temporary reconstruction would have been good for the whole of Scottish football....but then hey that might just have shown that actually it wasn’t and she was just talking pish!
But all and all a superb statement that had me grinning ear to ear throughout so thanks Ann, cannae wait for the next one [emoji2957][emoji2957]
Oh dear, she feels her all important task force and opinion has been slighted. What a shame.
If St Mirren were bottom of the League they'd have been relegated weeks ago and Budge would not have given a monkeys.
Sanctimonious to a fault.
I’m no spring chicken myself but she is an arrogant, deluded, self-centered, old female version of the bovine species. Och, why am I trying to be polite ....... she’s a silly old ***.
An absolute refusal to address the issue, the worst team in the league who are at the bottom when the season ends gets relegated.
She's utterly disrespectful of the views of the many other board members who don't agree with her particular style of football leadership and its consequences.
Hopefully they stick with her pig headed approach, it's got them to where they are today and boy have they spent way more than they had to for the privilege.
Happy days.
What rubbish Ann, these were your own words just 3 weeks ago,
"As a consequence of that phone call I was asked if I would join forces with the SPFL, which I opted to do, on the understanding that I was looking for a temporary resolution to a unique situation. I didn't want to get involved in months-long discussions trying to solve a problem that people haven't been able to solve for years.
TE: You want a quick fix?
AB; I do, to reflect a completely abnormal situation. Let's put something in place that will address that instead of trying to find a solution to a problem that many people have been looking at for 10 years. I don't want to go there."
Is anyone ever going to challenge her on her own hypocrisy? She very explicitly said she didn't want to get involved in trying to make changes which couldn't be agreed on before then criticises the same arguement from other clubs.
She's completely lost it.
The irony now is they are saddled, and I mean saddled, with the most horrid debt they could EVER wish.
Could you ask it for a nicer club?
Take that you cheap skate waaaank potz
Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk
She's been in charge at PBS for 6 years now & AFAIK she has never once suggested or proposed reconstruction. Now Hearts are going down it's suddenly hugely important & vital for the good of Scottish football that we have league reconstruction. If she had been a long term proponent of changing the leagues I'm sure she would have received a more favourable response. As it is the other members of the SPFL, along with every neutral fan see her proposal for what it is, narrow self interest with lashings of cant & hypocrisy.
The "self interest" line she's pulling all the time is starting to grind my gears. The hypocrisy is astonishing
OK Ann so lets try and find a creative way to keep Hearts up. There is no way this season can be played so, in the spirit of putting together bonkers proposals, lets take the last 8 games from last season and add them to this season to make a 38 game table.
If we take Hearts last 8 games from last season they amassed an impressive 4 points. Add that to this seasons total and they would be on 27 points (the same as Hamilton now) and would leap from Hamilton as they would have scored 1 more goal.
Now add on Hamiltons last 8 games. Hamilton achieved 6 points from their last 8 games which would give them a total of 33 points and put them back above the Gorgie Giants.
Ah, but Hearts finished in the top 6 and Hamilton played in the bottom 6 so it was easier Hamilton to pick up points I hear you say.
So, lets "null and void" Hamilton's games from the bottom 6. That leaves Hearts above Hamilton by one goal scored. In the interest of sporting integrity, as I know this is so important to Dr Budge and governs her every decision, lets say Hearts and Hamilton could play a retrospective play off. It just so happens the 9th last game last season for was Hamilton v Hearts. Hamilton strolled to 1-0 victory.
So using my bizarre logic, the table would look like this
Hearts - Played 39 - Points 27
Hamilton - Played 39 - Points 36*
*bottom 6 fixtures null and void so revised points total 30.
Budge, yer teams is getting relegated, not expelled, because they are brutal! How much did you spend to ahieve 27 points from your last 39 leauge games?
Enjoy life in the Championship, you deserve it.
She says no club should be disproportionately disadvantaged because of this crisis situation.
There is the problem for me.
Its because of this situation they are looking to be disproportionately advantaged alot more by using it to avoid a relegation that was nearly certain and putting that cost onto other clubs.
Let it be clear, hearts relegation is deserved and they’re acting poorly here.
I wonder if she will carry on trying for reconstruction for season 21/22. Obviously the need for "improvement" will not go away.
Ann, the bottom line is that the clubs have decided to do things a certain way. It's a members' organisation and the members vote to make decisions. If you don't like it then just take your team and do one.
That Ann Budge statement is an absolute belter. Self-pity, hubris, bragging and bitterness - lots and lots of bitterness.
Brilliantly, she also admits in her statement that she turned up at the meeting with nothing. She had said herself that her task force should complete its work in two to three weeks max... three weeks later, and she doesn’t have a proposal for the clubs to discuss, but instead promises that she will email them after the meeting with her arguments as to why she thinks reconstruction is a good idea.
I imagine LD and a few others felt embarrassed on her behalf at that point. Total amateur hour.
Hilarious. She is so, so bitter and cannot see that it’s all her own fault.
The role Budge has played in Hearts demise is now so evident. She really doesn't understand how to run a football club. The fact Hearts have had massive anonymous financial backing makes this situation more amusing.
If the last month or so has been anything to go by Mrs Budge you and your club have shown exactly what you are all about.
SELF PRESERVATION.
Your statement this evening has shown this and your one and only aim is about not being relegated following years of your mismanagement.
All clubs will suffer, yes, some more than others, yes, but let’s face it, it was never going to happen so sit down and STFU.
Time to move on and let the top clubs gather their thoughts and plan for the hardship of the coming months. And by this I mean the distribution of the funds to the SPL.
I look forward to your next instalment of drivel and roll on the day your clubs fate is finally sealed.
This is the bit for me where she's having a go at us and the Dons. Dave Cormack, and Ron Gordon are the newbies, not sure who she'd say the old faces are, pick anyone from the rest. She ostracised herself when she follow followed her big cousins.
"There is absolutely no question in my opinion that self-interest played a part in the discussions yesterday, as did previous history. The current decision-makers and influencers comprise a mix of “new faces” and “old faces” in the Premiership meetings."
Ann should just shut her gob, she is starting to sound like the bitter and twisted wrinkly old baw sack that everyone thinks she is
The Men’s and Women’s international teams have joined forces to make a substantial contribution to NHS charities. The donation is made up of personal donations and commercial appearance fees that were due to the squads. Men’s captain Andy Robertson said: “I am proud that we can demonstrate our solidarity with the wonderful NHS staff in Scotland and across the UK. On behalf of the men’s national team, I say ‘thank you’ to you all.” Rachel Corsie, Women’s team captain said “Like Andy and the men’s team, we realised that any money that was due to us through the privilege of playing for our country would be better put together and used to help the country’s fight against COVID-19 and especially to support the incredible efforts of our NHS staff at the front line and those supporting them. On behalf of the women’s national team we are proud to contribute in our own small way and proud of our NHS in Scotland.”
https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/news/sc...oes/?rid=14258
How dare they interrupt the constant bleating of Budge’s HMFC to tell us about the good things that are happening in these bleak times.
Exactly.
Surely even her own support must think she’s a self important ******** of a Woman. She’s her own image in her napper ahead of her own club and has done for the past couple of months.
I hope they don’t though and they fund an appeal to be laughed out of court and Scottish football.
Anyone mind someone getting expelled at secondary and them going back to primary? Suddenly I like this idea of them being "expelled".
Basically, if you are promoting Dundee Utd then you have to relegate someone...if there is no reconstruction then Hearts go down...Budge didnt need a 1000 word statement to get that fact!Bring on the legals..
Do they want to lose another fight and more money ?
As others have said can’t wait to see her reconstruction plans next season - she can multi-task and run a team in the Championship.
Why doesn’t she just release her grand plans for reconstruction if they are so good ? All I’ve seen is a few league numbers and not much else.
If they don’t get promoted 1st time as league winners or in playoffs going to get interesting down Tynie way.
The SPFL is a democracy.
All the clubs have to adhere to the votes.
They knew what they were voting for in the vote to end the season.
Hearts didnt get away with being the worst team in the league.
The vote was to end the season on average points. With promotion and relegation for top and bottom clubs.
The courts wouldn’t entertain involvement.
There’s no crime.
Someone really should remove the exclamation mark button from her keyboard, unless it’s already been worn out.
On day one after the task force was created she went on the radio and said Celtic shouldn’t be awarded the title.
Going public with an opinion that would always be unpopular with the biggest and most powerful club in the country was a terrible start and it seemed to go downhill from there. The fact she came out and said she was misquoted despite it being a live interview damaged her credibility even further.
From the moment the task force was created she should have been on a charm offensive, if she couldn’t keep rangers and Celtic happy she should have stayed off the radio for that interview.
That’s what’s played out in public, if she got that so spectacularly wrong, and going by that unbelievably arrogant statement tonight, I expect her negotiation skills weren’t much better behind closed doors either.
She was able to bully the players as she had leverage, she wasn’t able to exert any influence in this meeting and she was completely out of her depth. What she’s described in that statement isn’t new news, if she went into the task force with her eyes shut thinking she knows better than everyone then it’s not surprising she’s made such an arse of it.
Where to begin with that crock of horse ****. Sudden, out of the blue and in the middle of a crisis, restructuring the leagues is a huge missed opportunity to improve the game. What ? Everyone else is driven by self interest, but not Hearts. Then the less than veiled threat at the end to take the matter further - perhaps through legal recourse - despite the SPFL following the process in which Hearts were participants. It's pathetic and shameful.
She knew from the outset that getting 11 clubs to agree to ANY form of restructure (especially at this time) was a lost cause. Spouting off at clubs before the task force was even set up and now blaming everyone else for Hearts predicament - with ZERO recognition of their own failings as a club - are the ramblings of desperation.
She's is deep **** and she knows it.
So, 6 weeks ago she was favouring a ‘slight’ reconstruction (later clarified as temporary) that would have seen top flight expanded by two clubs.
In tonight’s statement she says she wanted to change the current situation where clubs play each other 4 times a season - a much more thorough change.
These two are not compatible. She really is useless.
That statement is beyond belief. Totally delusional and unwilling to admit that Hearts are in the position they are in because of her leadership. They have consistently been the worst club in the Premier League and as such deserve to go down. Still blowing her own trumpet regarding multi-tasking and her morality. Shows how far her grip on reality has slipped. If she had any decency she would resign and hand the reins over to someone who knows what they are doing.
And not spoken to the tv company to gauge their thoughts other than saying she would challenge them.
Only current source of income and this daftie is wants to go picking a fight with them and start making demands to a new contract that’s not seen a ball kicked yet.
Incredible.