I see they’ve released a police harassment statement.
Printable View
I see they’ve released a police harassment statement.
Surely they're not going to start harassing the polis as well?, it's bad enough harassing Hibs fans who are just sitting in the area they've paid to sit in.
Got to keep up with their pals at the green brigade’s narrative.
So the undoubted evolution of fan culture “should be applauded” by all?
surely they could go about things with a wee bit more humility?
https://www.hibs.net/blob:https://ww...8-8ef71659f620
Someone needs to tell them that the Green Brigade won't **** them.
All Ultra groups surely should know this has been coming? Probaly a better idea to just go to games in small groups if your part of this scene and dont get involved with all the side nonsense of being part of the group.
They are bleating about them being arrested. I must’ve missed on video them kicking the crap out of some boy who was already knocked out cold.
They are a bunch of little rodents who claim to be persecuted yet behave like criminals.
Can’t tell if this has been timed well by showing solidarity with those affected outside parkhead yesterday, or timed badly making them look a bit like arse sookers.
According to their statement the police actions are going to alienate supporters and kill the Scottish game.
I doubt that will happen as the majority of us don’t go to games in a big group with our faces covered so we will be ok. If they mean it will alienate the ‘ultras’ and make them stay away then I’d see that as a bonus.
Why does a group that makes up a tiny percentage of our support need to issue statements as if they are speaking for all of us?
I think Block Seven blatant opposition to the “Get yourself seen” road safety campaign deserves a stern seeing to by the Polis. Could also have them up for a Darwin Award if they play their cards right throw in a few mishandled pyros who knows …
Only saw one with his face covered at Celtic Park. Police are employing the same tactics that are used abroad to control the ultras. The police are no doubt trying to stop pyros getting into grounds There are small clubs even in the lower leagues that wee kids are forming ultra groups.The police will know who are the leaders of the groups in the big clubs so a bit of dialogue between police and the ultras might stop issues arising.i think the ultras will be with us for a few years yet.
It’s not even just that. At Celtic park they tried to remove our own fans from an area for their own gain. No respect for anyone. I always used to think we were a club so all Hibs fans were good lads/lasses but Christ this ultras movement is causing problems.
We’ve got it all wrong in the UK. Myself and Spaceman (another poster on here) went to Werder v Hoffenheim and the “ultras” were respectful and the experience was 10x what we get with ours away.
Poorly written and posted some 40mins after the Green Brigade. Misjudged this one, trying to cosy up, be under no illusions that GB do not give a **** about B7 nor will have any sort of bond their, quite the opposite.
Was very close to what happened at Celtic Park. The knew where they were meant to be up behind the pillar it was well publicised when the tickets were put on sale. They saw a row of seats which were left empty for safety reasons and thought it was fair game to move into those. I agree that they need to show other fans respect and they should not he trying to take over other fans seats. They get preferential treatment for tickets to away games if they don't behave this should he removed from them.
The young lad that lead them in (I say young maybe 30?) made a gesture to his followers to take the section and the wee guys that don’t know better tried their best.
What I don’t get is what Hibs don’t take them to task? Kensell is gone what are they afraid of?
Re the preferential treatment remember they are all Hibs First and managed to get in before it closed…the rest are “hangers on”
I don’t know what was more embarrassing at Celtic Park, B7 or Maeda trying to cause a rivalry
https://x.com/blocksevenhibs/status/...184954/photo/1
Our small group of laddies have obvious delusions of grandeur.
They number about 50 in total but according to their statement Police harrassment will alienate them and kill the Scottish game. Who knew?
Appear to have been asked to support their pals in the west with a statement.
Release more statements than Sevco.
Just read the Green Brigade statement and it is very well written compared to the Block 7 one. Still delusional drivel but well written drivel.
The GB refused to be searched, show ID or stop covering their faces so remained kettled by the Police during the OF game and were subsequently reported to the PF for failing to comply with lawful requirements. Believe the same fate befell the Union Bears but they were allowed to attend the match after complying with the law.
Police 2-0 Wee Bawbags
Match stats 100% possession for the Police
A very poor showing from the ultras
Oblivion beckons
Uniformed
Little
Tadgers
Run
Away
I note Celtic have issued a short lip service statement to help placate their complaining customers/rebels/supporters ... meanwhile the money keeps rolling into Celtic PLC. They mus hate the boil on their erse that is the GB so no way they speak to the Police about Kettlegate unless it's to thank them for dealing with the wee fannies.
I’m sure it’s just hangers on of the police causing issues.
It's funny that they think they are important.
Mon the polis.
The young team are creating a terrific atmosphere at away games this season. Much credit to them.
I agree.
In terms of engaging the whole crowd and getting everyone going they have improved massively. Much more inclined to go with the support rather than fight against it. I love the fact that every verse of Glory Glory gets an airing every week now.
Their statement is a bit all over the place. As mentioned above one of the games they refer to saw pretty graphic images of 2 members/hangers on kicking **** out a guy who was already prone on the ground do the rounds on social media so maybe not the best example if the aim is to garner support and sympathy. They've also used imagery of them battling away at St Mirren in their own promo videos so they aren't shying away from the fact they engage in activity that is anti social and illegal. However the constant Police attention, which is often intimidating and heavy handed, must be a drag when it is happening every week, even at times when it isn't merited. I do agree there is an element of hypocrisy as well with the Police using snoods to cover their own face (and I've seen Police covering their numbers on their epaulettes to avoid identification as well) whilst demanding these guys consent to being identified for public safety. That surely has to work both ways?
I suppose it's one those catch 22s. If the group keep getting caught up in disagreements with other fans, violence and other anti social behaviour then the Police will keep at them and if the Police keep at them they will keep lashing out.
Who would have thought a large group of folk all dressed the same in their pathetic "uniform" with their faces covered and having a history of carrying pyro, over crowding inside stadiums and causing trouble in the streets would be a target for the police! The two Glasgow mobs were running through shoppers in the city centre the last time they played each other.
They literally walk around with a sign saying who they are and then complain that they are being unfairly targeted. Thick as mince!
Meanwhile everyone else who wears normal clothes and behaves normally doesn't even get a look from the Police. Go figure!
The thing that annoys me is that I recognise the need for people like them to help make the atmosphere better, but the way these Ultra groups behave at times is so embarrassingly cringey that I can't help wish they didn't exist majority of the time. Too many of them watched Green Street/Football Factory and think they're back in the casual era and behave like wee fannies.
I would have no issues with the club working with them to create a dedicated singing/Ultra section (possibly near the front as it seems where they all want to be) of our away sections and say to them "here you go, here is 200 tickets" or whatever amount it is so we can stop this nonsense where they just steal people's seats and then force the issue onto other people. If I take my kids or go with my elderly family members I don't want to turn up and see there's folk in balaclava's in our seats telling me to go find somewhere else, only to have the same conversation with who evers seats I take. Even worse do I want to spend 15 minutes trying to get them to move only to sit amongst their peers anyway for 90 minutes?
Yep, whats stopping them from wearing “normal” clothes and hibs scarfs, surely that doesnt prevent them from singing hibs songs and jumping around. Or is that too normal for them that wearing all black and balaclavas makes you sound louder and creates a better atmosphere.
After all its about creating noise isnt it ?
Don't know if it's more hilarious or worrying that a bunch of grown men on here care that much about what a bunch of teenagers are wearing at the football
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Police harassment like telling them to go to the seats they paid for at Celtic Park and not trying to kick Hibs fans out of theirs?
I’ve no doubt they bring some of the grief on themselves, although generally not seen too many problems in away grounds with them this season.
There is a more general point to be made about the treatment of football supporters by police though.
I'm not a huge fan of B7 myself but some of the takes on here are absolutely baffling, "mon the polis" etc. Weird, yes the laddies go about things the wrong way at times, but without them ER would be an absolute morgue. (Same goes for Celtic Park/Ibrox etc.)
If you think the "polis" don't have it in for football fans then unfortunately you've never ventured far from your seat at Easter Road.
That lot have targeted football fans in anyway possible for the last 20-30 years. Football fans have been treated abysmally by them.
Really don't believe this would be the case at all. I think they've made it worse. We had a decent atmosphere at ER before they turned up but instead, we've got a group singing a bunch of repetitive, monotonous droning songs; to add to that, you can barely hear them.
I can’t recall any statements being released from the CCS or other casual groups back in the day when getting their collars felt or being escorted to stadiums and monitored. Kind of went with the territory.
I dare say the statement writing is just seen as all part of the game for the ultras scene.
The problem they have here is that while folk will read it, nobody other than ultra members will be that interested in their perceived plight.
I've had a thing popping up on facebook every so often. Hibs u23 v Celtic u23, 6x6, 2 mins - Celtic win
What a cringe. Their delusions of self importance is hilarious. As mentioned above, they’re know for their antisocial behaviour and regularly breaking the law whilst deliberately concealing their identities. Why on earth are they surprised when the police decide to do something about it?
We had a decent atmosphere before hand as we had another group doing what block 7 are doing, they decided to pack it in, then Block 7 turned up. (Albeit they done it with no fighting amongst fans/other groups of clubs)
The club didn't put on Tifo's etc before Block 7 turned up, another group who obviously stayed out of trouble done it all.
I agree Block 7 don't cover themselves in glory but I'd take the side of them before Police Scotland that's for sure.
That's nonsense though isn't it? I've sat in the East upper toward the south stand/away stand and in the west lower past the dugout and before the dugout and on each occasion I've never once had a problem hearing them generate noise.
If a drum bothers you I'd suggest staying in the hoose.
The idea that the Since1875 group that preceded Block 7 never had any bother with the police is a myth as well.
I know a couple of guys who used to be involved and the harassment from the Police was one of their biggest reasons for giving it up. Was fine when there were younger but when they were trying to settle down with a wife/girlfriend and forge a career it became more problematic.
I'm sure many on here will remember their 'Identify This' banner at the LC semi final v St Johnstone in response to the implementation of facial recognition tech at stadiums.
Yup, remember it well.
The block 7 lads are still young and they'll eventually run into the same issues some of the Since1875 guys ran into and wrap it.
Football fans are vilified by Police everywhere in this country and down south, so I'm unsure why anyone would ever take their side over our own.
I go to the football to watch the game and catch up with my mates, not listen to someone with no musical talent bang a drum for 90 minutes.
It’s a common theme on forums or social media where people are told to give up their season tickets and stop going but why should we?
The guys that control these people don’t even look at the pitch so clearly have no interest in watching the game, maybe they should stop coming and go the park with their drums.
Do all Europeans have problems drumming, or is it just a Scottish thing? When you go to games in Brazil, it's often better than the football.
You can always rely on PB to offer a sensible and balanced perspective. I don’t profess to know anything about ultra culture, but it seems very much a product of societal times, with the growing corporotization (not a real word but should be) of the game and the ubiquity of control and surveillance in social
and public life.
I’m not ‘pro’ but knee-jerk ‘old gitism’ doesn’t appeal either, and its astonishing that many people on this thread were probably old punks, ravers, casuals etc and may this have knowledge about how youth is prone to both 1) acting a bit daft from time to time, and 2) being victims of over the top media demonization and state persecution.
This sort of young guys against older fans or young fans against the polis has been going on for as long as I can remember and I'm now 61. I'm not a fan of the drum, but other than that I think it's just what young guys do at football games. The police want to control them and the young guys want to rebel, it has been happening as long as football has been played.
I'm not a big fan of the so-called 'Ultras Culture', and the drum gives me a headache, but I think it's a bit unfair to say they only sing monotonous songs that nobody knows.
They've definitely been making an effort to sing more traditional songs, or join in when they start elsewhere. That was evident at Celtc Park.
It's not quite my idea of an 'atmosphere' at games but I suppose I'm just an old duffer from a bygone era. ;-)
So you are aware of the huge issues with Ultra's over in eastern European countries where fans of opposite clubs attempt to hack each other with machetes and large blades/snooker cues/baseball bats?
It's the young lads in Edinburgh who are banging a drum who should be jailed though.
Nonsense.
There's folk on this acting as though the Police are in the right to continuously herd them like cattle when they get off trains/buses, smack them with batons and spray them with CS gas.
As mentioned earlier in this thread, they aren't the first group from Hibs to be treated this way(Won't be the last either) and you've got folk going on as if the young lads are career criminals. They'll make mistakes and later on in life will look back and laugh.
Nothing to do with atmosphere, endlessly banging a drum or two for the whole game ruins the atmosphere, I’m allowed an opinion and that’s mine.
I’m yet to meet anyone in person who actually likes the drum, a few on social media right enough but none in person.
They mentioned it happening on there statement that they put on twitter.
I'm glad you feel that you haven't been the target of police in the however many years you've been going to football, that doesn't meant to say that thousands of others who attend every week aren't in a different position.
It happens.
Well if block 7 say it in their extremely well written statement, then it must be true and completely unwarranted, just like the 2 poor souls being charged with a breach of the peace and being issued football banning orders despite no wrongdoing. Im sure the fiscal loves running with cases with no evidence.
With so many people filming every police encounter these days there’s surely plenty of footage of this unproved attack by police.
Like many others on here I’ve been to countless football games over the years, home and away, and I’ve never had the slightest issue with police or witnessed any other fans who weren’t being an ******** have an issue (the odd annoying hold back at FT is as far as it goes). It’s miraculous how adhering to the law and not wearing a balaclavas / setting of pyro keeps you off their radar.
CCS and other casual groups were too busy chasing each other, rolling about on the ground and actually being seriously hastled by the Police to release statements.
Block 7, Green Brigade etc just seem really soft and whiny in comparison and most of the current cops look tiny and are awfae polite.
Fitba neds and cops are both so impotent now compared to their predecessors. They just bore each other to death and then issue statements about it.
Legal designated area for pyro as in the U.S. Anyone covering their face should not be allowed entry to the ground. Any abuse of pyro e.g. throwing smoke bombs on the pitch from the designated area and it’s closed for the next match.
Reading some comments about monotonous drum beats and lack of talent. Not sure if the drummer changes from week to week, but some weeks the drumming has been from somebody with some real rhythm and drumming ability, and I think this should be acknowledged:rockin:.
In terms of having Block Seven people in your seats that would be out of order.
I have to say in the last 18 months we've had people in our seats twice at away games refusing to move - both times at Tynecastle. Neither of those occasions was it members of Block seven. I should add that both times they eventually moved, although it did take some aggressive persuasion to get them to **** off. A real bug bear that some people think this is ok and that away games are a free for all.
And lucky you. Experienced it plenty times in the past and unfortunately expect plenty more to experience it for years to come. Block seven and their contemporaries might not always help themselves but the skewed policing nature at football games is absolutely a real thing.
Over reacting? The reply was to a poster who said the police should be cracking down on Ultra behaviour in this country as it may escalate to the type of behaviour led by ultras in different countries.
Its not exactly going to escalate to the issues caused in different countries now is it?
To give a bit of kudos to them the atmosphere at recent games I've been at and watched on the TV has been much improved. There's clearly been a lot of learning that they aren't going to win favour with the club or other fans if they choose to make it their own little party with 50 of them singing songs only they know.
The recent renditions of GGTTH have been brilliant and they've taken the other fans at games along with them.
Saying ER would be a morgue without them is just bollocks though, the atmosphere takes care of itself and fans are more likely to sing and get involved with better performances on the pitch. It was the case before any of these singing sections/ultras groups and will be the same if and when these things go out of fashion.
If you cause problems - like pre-meditated attacks on supporters like at St Mirren where they stashed objects to throw at them - then you will receive attention from the Police. I don't want to see people kettled and ID'd as has happened recently but dare I say it comes with territory of carrying illegal fireworks and fighting other fans.
Numerous examples of them causing bother over the last couple of years, so I'd say they are reaping what they sow.
Just this. There were great times at ER before we had groups self appoint themselves as the people to start songs.
Even at the times the atmosphere wasn’t great, it’s because it’s reflective of what’s on the pitch. What difference does adding drums and songs for which the majority of can’t be joined in with? Everyone’s still sitting pissed off at the football anyway, it’s just there’s extra unrelated noise as well.
So by removing block 7 you'd be happy to sit in silence in a doom and gloom atmosphere when things aren't going great? Sound's riveting.
I'd rather 10 drums blasting away while were playing crap than to sit and let others bring me down regardless of how well or badly were doing.
I'm not sure why you'd rather sit in a boring/negative atmosphere while things are going badly rather than letting some lads attempt to produce some positivity/atmosphere from the stands.
Yes overreacting. You accused a poster of wanting people jailed for banging a drum - nothing of the sort was said, but you carry on making up nonsense.
You also suggested another wanted to do away with any kind of atmosphere - just an FYI, but B7 aren’t the sole arbitrators of creating an atmosphere, and plenty atmosphere existed before B7 and any other singing section existed.
Removing B7 means we’d be sitting in silence in a room and gloom atmosphere? Aye ok :rolleyes: They weren’t at Villa Park but the Hibs fans seemed to generate a decent atmosphere just fine without them.
Do you actually go to Easter Road for the football or to support Block 7? You’re acting like a fanboy who can’t stand to see any criticism of their beloved boyband, and seem more interested in them singing/drumming than why most people are there.
But since you think the stadium will be a boring/negative atmosphere if B7 aren’t drumming, I assume you’ll not be attending if the drumming ever stops