• The Referee's Angle

Time for our weekly look at possible refereeing talking points and this week we don't have to look any further than Sunday's clash at Easter Road. The new East Stand didn't have to wait long for it's first bit of controversy and so our Retired Ref might have his work cut out for himself in trying to explain things this week!

OK, so it looks like this is going to be an interesting one with 2 major flashpoints taking centre stage.

Riordan & McGregor

In my opinion, both players were correctly cautioned in this instance. Derek Riordan was cautioned correctly for adopting an aggressive attitude as he does 'square up' to McGregor. McGregor was yellow carded for either the simulation or for adopting an aggressive attitude as well, I know there has been comment regarding a yellow card for both offences but that just doesn't happen. Imagine a player then tackling another player unfairly, he's then confronted by an opponent and 'adopts an aggressive attitude' back towards him..you would not caution the player for the original challenge then send the player off with a second caution. The official stance is that if two offences are committed at the same time you take action on the most serious.

It is standard refereeing practice, and a directive, to book both players from each side when situations like this arise and is a 'must do' when there is confrontation involving players from both teams.

I've since read on the forums that MacGregor should have been sent off at the time of the offence but I'm afraid that there is no opportunity in the laws of the game to send of a player for simulation. There can also be no further punishment to MacGregor as the referee has already dealt with the situation on the field of play.

Consequently, Riordan also has no right of appeal for a caution.

McBride and Lafferty

McBride was correctly ordered off, if you go by the letter of the law in so much as he used the ball to commit the actual offence of violent conduct against another player. I have no doubt at all that Brines had already blown for the offence against Lafferty and clearly saw that McBride used the ball to seek retribution. Absolutely no comparison though if the ball was still in play where you attempt to win a corner, throw in etc by playing it off another player.

Lafferty's reaction was understandable after being hit by the ball but upon looking at it again I don't actually see much violent conduct from him. He gets up and pushes two hands into the chest of McBride but again by the letter of the law this could be construed as violent conduct. This makes me believe that Brines was ready to order off Lafferty for serious foul play (i.e the tackle on Miller), even more so in that it's unusual for officials to keep their yellow card in their back pocket and this is where Brines is reaching for when he whistles for the infringement against Miller.

I think on hindsight that the referee could've pulled both players in and cautioned them both, told them to calm down at half time and behave. Referee's in my opinion have a duty to try and keep players on the park rather than trying to send off as many as they can.

However, I would add that he (Brines) was not helped by both assistants tearing on to the park as this made the situation look worse than it was. I could understand the west stand assistant coming on to help, but I cannot imagine that the East stand assistant sprinting across the pitch would have been part of Brines pre-match instructions.

David Weir's part in it should also have been notified to the referee by the West Stand asst referee as he fails to tell him about the way that Weir grabs hold of McBride immediately after the incident, you'll see that Brines is already dealing with Lafferty and had no way of seeing Weir. This demonstrates poor teamwork and indeed shows a lack of courage from the Asst referee to get involved.

Brines also man-handles Lafferty by the shirt. In my opinion, there was no need whatsoever to do this and I'm surprised at the reaction from him as an experienced official.

**Images courtesy of Alan Rennie \ Hibernian FC**
    Comments 17 Comments
      kev1875 -
      How can you have no doubt the whistle had been blown for Laffertys challenge? I suggest you watch a replay and adjust this because it looks like someone from follow follow has hijacked the front page. If the whistle had blown it was milliseconds before McBride struck the ball. He would have to be a programmed robot to have reactions quick enough to pull out of kicking the ball.
      Mikey -
      it looks like someone from follow follow has hijacked the front page
      Nae need

We've asked for all of RR's articles to be as impartial as possible, with no Hibs bias.

Once again it's great to get an insight into what Brines was thinking. If he was thinking at all
      HFC 0-7 -
      Quote Originally Posted by kev1875 View Post
      How can you have no doubt the whistle had been blown for Laffertys challenge? I suggest you watch a replay and adjust this because it looks like someone from follow follow has hijacked the front page. If the whistle had blown it was milliseconds before McBride struck the ball. He would have to be a programmed robot to have reactions quick enough to pull out of kicking the ball.
      Ok, if the ref hadnt blown the whistle where was McBride kicking the ball, bearing in mond there was no immediate danger, in fact we could have went on the attack. The way he hit that ball it was going into the south stand. You never see anyone clearing the ball on the half way line like that. McBride hit that ball in anger against lafferty. I know its hard to take because of that tube lafferty, but McBride was silly to do that.
      BEEJ -
      "Derek Riordan was cautioned correctly for adopting an aggressive attitude as he does 'square up' to McGregor."

Look again and see who the aggressor is in that confrontation. In what way does Riordan show aggression?

And if the reverse situation had occurred at Ibrox, tell me please what the outcome would have been?

Yeah, definitely a former ref. Pity Brines wasn't retired an' all.
      Retired Ref -
      Quote Originally Posted by BEEJ View Post
      "Derek Riordan was cautioned correctly for adopting an aggressive attitude as he does 'square up' to McGregor."

Look again and see who the aggressor is in that confrontation. In what way does Riordan show aggression?

And if the reverse situation had occurred at Ibrox, tell me please what the outcome would have been?

Yeah, definitely a former ref. Pity Brines wasn't retired an' all.
      As soon as Riordan doesn't back off and stands up to MacGregor then there will be a booking for both players. I'm not privvy to any reports and its possible that the referee thought that the challenge itself warranted a caution, add them both together and you're not going to get away with just a warning.
      On point two it's impossible to make comment on.
      BroxburnHibee -
      These are great articles ref so thanks. I thought Derek was hard done by as he only squared up after McGregors reaction but i can understand why he was booked.

I said to my mate as soon as it happened that McBride was going off (he lost it for a moment - no doubt IMO)

I agree that bookings for both would have been a better way to handle it TBH and would have suited us as well because Lafferty was pish on that wing

down-the-slope -
      I sit very close to incident..and am as sure as its possible to be that McBride deliberately blootered the ball at Lafferty ... if that is considered violent conduct (assuming whistle had gone and paly 'stopped') then an appeal will not succeed. I agree that the number of players that got involved afterwards was poor
      Cropley10 -
      Interesting insight - I wonder then why Brines is alleged to have given Yogi two different reasons for McBrides sending off.

The easiest thing to do was order both of them off. By the RR's take Lafferty committed the first offence and Brines could have been quicker to get control. He didn't and I don't think there would have been outrage if McBride had stayed on and Lafferty sent off.
      greenginger -
      I'm not sure if the whistle had blown before Mcbride kicks the ball. I'm sure the Sky T V boffins could isolate the ref's whistle sound on a slow motion run of the incident.

If the whistle is blown as the ball is struck Mcbride has no case to answer and an appeal will be granted.
      Retired Ref -
      Quote Originally Posted by Cropley10 View Post
      Interesting insight - I wonder then why Brines is alleged to have given Yogi two different reasons for McBrides sending off.

The easiest thing to do was order both of them off. By the RR's take Lafferty committed the first offence and Brines could have been quicker to get control. He didn't and I don't think there would have been outrage if McBride had stayed on and Lafferty sent off.
      Cropley10, once the referee is within the confines of his own dressing room and is able to talk over the incident with his assistants then it gives you the chance to calm down and discuss what happened rationally. With all due respect to Hughes do you think that he calmly asked the referee for his views on the matter, listened intently and then walked off?
      In these incidents you quickly asses incidents and immediately think "right, he's off for that and ooops there's a reaction and your off as well". You keep this in your head, wait for it to calm a little down and then carry out those mental instructions. Brines made those decisions to send off the two players in the instant that they happened, there was no opportunity or he didn't allow himself an opportunity to discuss with his other assistants which perhaps was disappointing.
      Text book refereeing would've been to ensure that Hibs were not allowed to take the first free kick awarded against Lafferty quickly. If he had been more aware he would've seen that Lafferty was still in his moment of madness, stopped Hibs from taking the quick free kick which was still within the zone of Lafferty and calmly walked across to him, had a quiet word, sent him on his way, got into position up the other end of the field of play and then re-started the game. Unfortunately he didn't and although the resultant consequences were correctly administered this point of note should be included in any assessment.
      PeeJay -
      Some good comments on here - I personally think Riordan's booking was soft - he challenged "fairly" for a ball that was still free, he didn't injure McGregor and - from what I could see - Riordan pulled out when he realised he couldn't get the ball. McGregor's reaction was uncalled for - if Riordan had simply walked away he wouldn't have been booked I feel.

After having viewed it several times on the highlights, I think McBride's red is actually OK - he intentionally thumped the ball of Lafferty, it's harsh, but what was McBride thinking? How did that help us as a team? No need for it. Hurt us more than it did them, so a pointless action on his part.
      Jack -
      So what you're saying RR is that ‘squaring up’ with no handbags involved is more serious than ‘simulation’? That’s a bit sad in my eyes in a game where emotions run high and cheating [in all activities] should be discouraged.

If the cheat had been ‘let off’ or had the squaring up been ignored and booked for cheating then surely Riordan should have been excused the manly crime of squaring up too?

… and how does this heinous crime of squaring up [without handbags] not come into play when players ‘adopt an aggressive posture’ towards the referees themselves when disagreeing with a decision – something the Celtc manager said he’d be encouraging his players to do a few months ago?

I’m not suggesting an OF bias here but in all levels of football a card for each side or a levelling up/down is an all too regular sight.

I was conviced there was at least one double yellow during the World Cup but couldn’t find it. I did find this though and it made me laugh!

The fans loved it, some of the players as well, but the ruling German football body DFB was not amused about a referee showing two yellow cards simultaneously during a second division match on the weekend.
      On Sunday, referee Thomas Metzen dug deep into his shirt pockets and threw up his hands with a yellow card in each one to book Mainz 05 player Miroslav Karhan und St Pauli Hamburg's Florian Bruns, reported dpa.

http://en.trend.az/news/world/wnews/1354598.html
      kev1875 -
      Quote Originally Posted by hibs13681 View Post
      Ok, if the ref hadnt blown the whistle where was McBride kicking the ball, bearing in mond there was no immediate danger, in fact we could have went on the attack. The way he hit that ball it was going into the south stand. You never see anyone clearing the ball on the half way line like that. McBride hit that ball in anger against lafferty. I know its hard to take because of that tube lafferty, but McBride was silly to do that.
      Why did the ref change his mind on why he had sent McBride off then? Terrible decision by a terrible referee who bottled it, as have the SFA in their decision not to punish the sex pest for his blatant cheating. In a couple of years im going to attempt to get my son to come and watch Hibs, im not holding out much hope with our corrupt pishy mickey mouse setup.
      HibeeB -
      RR what about Miller's yellow in the same incident? I know we don't know what was said but it must have been to do with the McGregor simulation (cheating). Video evidence clearly shows the simulation and nobody is questioning it, so shouldn't Mr Brines rescind Millers yellow?
      FifeeHibee -
      I thought it was a pish poor result and that Brines leant towards Rangers with his decisions. Quite simple.

Had de Graaf not been so slow at sticking the ball in the net, it might have been a different story. He didn't, Hibs were gubbed, the ref got his wee pat on the back.

Luckily the video back-up will see to it that McGregor and Strangler Weir get their due punishments- and pigs might fly!
      Cropley10 -
      Quote Originally Posted by Retired Ref View Post
      Cropley10, once the referee is within the confines of his own dressing room and is able to talk over the incident with his assistants then it gives you the chance to calm down and discuss what happened rationally. With all due respect to Hughes do you think that he calmly asked the referee for his views on the matter, listened intently and then walked off?
      In these incidents you quickly asses incidents and immediately think "right, he's off for that and ooops there's a reaction and your off as well". You keep this in your head, wait for it to calm a little down and then carry out those mental instructions. Brines made those decisions to send off the two players in the instant that they happened, there was no opportunity or he didn't allow himself an opportunity to discuss with his other assistants which perhaps was disappointing.
      Text book refereeing would've been to ensure that Hibs were not allowed to take the first free kick awarded against Lafferty quickly. If he had been more aware he would've seen that Lafferty was still in his moment of madness, stopped Hibs from taking the quick free kick which was still within the zone of Lafferty and calmly walked across to him, had a quiet word, sent him on his way, got into position up the other end of the field of play and then re-started the game. Unfortunately he didn't and although the resultant consequences were correctly administered this point of note should be included in any assessment.
      I agree - had he booked Lafferty or at least had a word, got control of the game and the player (KL) then the qucik free kick wouldn't have happened and it would have been different. My overall view is that IB is still not a good ref for these sorts of games, too many 'basic' errors IMHO.
      Ants -
      In my opinion the referee bottle it, sent the two of them off, keeps it all square/equal.
      Mcbrides abscence was more notible than Laugherties, Big miss this was the start of the downfall, injuries next then Nish coming on.
  • Advertisements

hibs.net

Click to visit Nimbus Hosting

hibs.net ©2020 All Rights Reserved
- Mobile Leaderboard (320x50) - Leaderboard (728x90)