View Full Version : Orange Walks
28-06-2025, 05:22 PM
Just witnessed one going through Mussy, hardly a person on the pavement that seemed interested, why do the authorities entertain these weirdos?
28-06-2025, 05:27 PM
Just witnessed one going through Mussy, hardly a person on the pavement that seemed interested, why do the authorities entertain these weirdos?
I used to get angered by everything these walks stood for until I realised that - as offensive as they are - they’re generally a tiny minority of absolute weirdos who prance about being ignored by normal people.
It’s almost so ridiculous it becomes inoffensive?
28-06-2025, 05:30 PM
A guy in the pub said to me, look at the wee bairns being led by the hand following it, what chance have they got? Fair question.
28-06-2025, 05:47 PM
I always say it but it's the last bastion of acceptable bigotry. They stand for nothing. The Catholic Church and Church of Scotland signed the St Andrew's Agreement a couple of years back, an accord of friendship to work together as ecumenical partners (insert Father Jack smilie). The CoS has also recently adopted a new Book of Confessions which, among many other things, dilutes or erases the direct criticisms of 'Popery' as found in the Westminster Confession. They are out of touch and broadly embarrassing even to the mainstream of their own faith.
On a lighter note I saw a video the other day of a march with a band playing 'No Pope of Rome'. A spokesman for the Orange Order reminded us that bands are 'hired hands' and nothing directly to do with the Order. I wonder who they expect to turn up considering the lodges book the bands?
'**** sake Billy, whit's this?'
'****s the problem, William?'
'These boys with flutes and big drums, where's the Queen tribute band I telt ye to get?'
Fat bottomed girls would be an apt soundtrack for the lovely ladies of the lodge right enough.
I always say it but it's the last bastion of acceptable bigotry. They stand for nothing. The Catholic Church and Church of Scotland signed the St Andrew's Agreement a couple of years back, an accord of friendship to work together as ecumenical partners (insert Father Jack smilie). The CoS has also recently adopted a new Book of Confessions which, among many other things, dilutes or erases the direct criticisms of 'Popery' as found in the Westminster Confession. They are out of touch and broadly embarrassing even to the mainstream of their own faith.
On a lighter note I saw a video the other day of a march with a band playing 'No Pope of Rome'. A spokesman for the Orange Order reminded us that bands are 'hired hands' and nothing directly to do with the Order. I always wonder who they expect to turn up consider the lodges book the bands?
'**** sake Billy, whit's this?'
'****s the problem, William?'
'These boys with flutes and big drums, where's the Queen tribute bad I telt ye to get?'
Fat bottomed girls would be an apt soundtrack for the lovely ladies of the lodge right enough.They'll ignore the progress the Christian churches in Scotland have made as their nonsense has nothing to do with Christianity.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Anyone on Fife Jammers Facebook page?
There were a couple of 'get togethers' in Fife today and and the page went wild 😆 100s of comments and no holds barred 😂
Berwickhibby
29-06-2025, 12:22 AM
They marched past my house this morning…made the dug bark …could not be arsed to even look out the window
Lendo
29-06-2025, 07:16 AM
I hadn’t appreciated that they have no exported this ***** to Spain too. Someone should mention to the guy carrying the Spanish flag that their royal family is catholic. Morons.
If anyone can’t read the banner, it says “Benidorm Protestant Boys”
Anyone on Fife Jammers Facebook page?
There were a couple of 'get togethers' in Fife today and and the page went wild [emoji38] 100s of comments and no holds barred [emoji23]
It was the East Grand Lodge parade with bands and members from all over.
Kirkcaldy brought to a stand still for most of the day whilst thousands attended to take part and watch sectarian bile be spouted.
jamie_1875
29-06-2025, 07:33 AM
Being an Edinburgh boy have never really understood it, still don't. I did work experience in Glasgow and remember first question I was asked was what school I went to and it was oh you are one of them then. (Catholic)
Scotland has a problem with sectarianism and always has, it's brushed under the carpet though and I don't see that changing.
29-06-2025, 08:50 AM
I hadn’t appreciated that they have no exported this ***** to Spain too. Someone should mention to the guy carrying the Spanish flag that their royal family is catholic. Morons.
Absolutely laughable
ErinGoBraghHFC
29-06-2025, 01:22 PM
Absolutely laughable
If you think that’s laughable, I believe one of the biggest Orange Walks in the world is now in Turkey. Where the majority aren’t even Christian (practicing or otherwise), never mind Protestant. All hail the Bodrum Billy Boys - I’ve made that up but it could genuinely be what they’re called, **** knows - and their infinite wisdom. Morons.
29-06-2025, 01:37 PM
If you think that’s laughable, I believe one of the biggest Orange Walks in the world is now in Turkey. Where the majority aren’t even Christian (practicing or otherwise), never mind Protestant. All hail the Bodrum Billy Boys - I’ve made that up but it could genuinely be what they’re called, **** knows - and their infinite wisdom. Morons.
A few years back I was in Icmeler in a hotel right opposite the RFC Bar in July..........
On the 12th I said to my then girlfriend, now wife, wait until you see this. She's English so a bit lost when it comes to all this nonsense. It was brilliant. An ever growing crowd of guys in Rangers tops spilling further and further onto the street getting progressively drunker. By about 6pm they were staging a march along the street. No instruments, just the music from the boozer with them pretending to play flutes and bang drums. By 9pm there were a few arguments breaking out, an hour later someone had been bottled, there was a multi person brawl and the Turkish police were wading in. Absolute comedy gold, highlight of my holiday if I'm honest.
Another time I was in Menorca and there was a small open air Mass taking place at a local church. A couple of people with West coast accents walked past showing vague interest and asking what was going on. After a few seconds it clicked and the wife was shrieking 'thur papes, thur ****ing papes. Lits go, lits ****ing get right out o here'. Funny that, 'papes' in Spain. Whatever next?
Total mentalists.
ErinGoBraghHFC
29-06-2025, 01:54 PM
A few years back I was in Icmeler in a hotel right opposite the RFC Bar in July..........
On the 12th I said to my then girlfriend, now wife, wait until you see this. She's English so a bit lost when it comes to all this nonsense. It was brilliant. An ever growing crowd of guys in Rangers tops spilling further and further onto the street getting progressively drunker. By about 6pm they were staging a march along the street. No instruments, just the music from the boozer with them pretending to play flutes and bang drums. By 9pm there were a few arguments breaking out, an hour later someone had been bottled, there was a multi person brawl and the Turkish police were wading in. Absolute comedy gold, highlight of my holiday if I'm honest.
Another time I was in Menorca and there was a small open air Mass taking place at a local church. A couple of people with West coast accents walked past showing vague interest and asking what was going on. After a few seconds it clicked and the wife was shrieking 'thur papes, thur ****ing papes. Lits go, lits ****ing get right out o here'. Funny that, 'papes' in Spain. Whatever next?
Total mentalists.
Catholic Mass in Spain, whodda thunk it eh! ****in weirdos.
He's here!
29-06-2025, 02:11 PM
Many years ago when we stayed in Glasgow I used to work Saturday shifts in an office just off George Square and one of the bigger marches would go by each year. I actually had no idea what it was as we were several floors up and all you could hear was the music, which if I'm honest sounded great! It was a shame to discover what it was associated with.
My knowledge of the Orange Order was a bit sketchy before that. I used to think it was a Freemason thing but since learned they're separate and indeed met Hibs fans who are Masons.
29-06-2025, 02:19 PM
Actual grown ups dressing up as the Homepride Man meets Donald Trump and parading about in public trying to look all staunch and serious [emoji23][emoji23]
Lendo
29-06-2025, 02:20 PM
We were on a stag do in Liverpool and decided to escape the city for the afternoon and instead went drinking in Southport (we thought it would be nicer than Blackpool).
Immediately noticed an usual amount of Rangers tops everywhere we went. Turned out to be the same day as the Southport Lodge meet for their annual march. Such a depressing sight. Hundreds of them spewing their hate, then literally spewing a bit later.
Actual grown ups dressing up as the Homepride Man meets Donald Trump and parading about in public trying to look all staunch and serious [emoji23][emoji23]
Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkThey are supposed to believe in the Bible in a literal sense. Which is why you have cranks in the DUP who think the planet is 6,000 years old and that women should "know their place".
Very much a Taleban like organisation but throw in alcohol and a few accordions they just can't help themselves. I worked for a while in Broxburn in the 80s where the lodge was very strong. Extremely weird humans.
I bet they miss Lizzie now they have Cha, who is a sinner and a bit of a heathen.
bringbackbenny
29-06-2025, 02:36 PM
We were on a stag do in Liverpool and decided to escape the city for the afternoon and instead went drinking in Southport (we thought it would be nicer than Blackpool).
Immediately noticed an usual amount of Rangers tops everywhere we went. Turned out to be the same day as the Southport Lodge meet for their annual march. Such a depressing sight. Hundreds of them spewing their hate, then literally spewing a bit later.
Had very similar experience - staying with my family in Lancaster and we decided to drive to Southport for the day.
Arrived 11am and immediately noticed a few dudes worse for wear and loads of men and women walking around most wearing orange coloured clothing. Went to the funfair and straight away loads of rangers strips, bowler hat brigade etc piling on the rides and arguing amongst themselves. Turned out the wee parade had been earlier in the morning (no doubt to zero onlookers) and it was now a massive bevvy session. The pubs were full and some dodgy looking guys were outside in the street singing the usual 👀.
We left in under an hour, shame as Southport seemed a lovely well kept town.
29-06-2025, 02:48 PM
They are supposed to believe in the Bible in a literal sense. Which is why you have cranks in the DUP who think the planet is 6,000 years old and that women should "know their place".
Very much a Taleban like organisation but throw in alcohol and a few accordions they just can't help themselves. I worked for a while in Broxburn in the 80s where the lodge was very strong. Extremely weird humans.
I bet they miss Lizzie now they have Cha, who is a sinner and a bit of a heathen.
Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkAs kids we used to chuck potatoes at them when they matched about Newcraighall and the Jewel area.
I realise now all these years later what a great decision that was, I do feel some regret about the poor innocent vegetables, but I guess there's always a victims in these situations.
As kids we used to chuck potatoes at them when they matched about Newcraighall and the Jewel area.
I realise now all these years later what a great decision that was, I do feel some regret about the poor innocent vegetables, but I guess there's always a victims in these situations.
Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkI don't remember them in that area. When I first started my apprenticeship (not that kind) I worked on a site that had two joiners from Musselburgh who were out and out OO and huns. Absolutely thick as mince and would take any bait thrown their way. Apoplectic.
Still a handy way for the British Establishment to keep support up for the Crown and create division, as is their want.
29-06-2025, 02:58 PM
I don't remember them in that area. When I first started my apprenticeship (not that kind) I worked on a site that had two joiners from Musselburgh who were out and out OO and huns. Absolutely thick as mince and would take any bait thrown their way. Apoplectic.
Still a handy way for the British Establishment to keep support up for the Crown and create division, as is their want.
Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkLate 60's early 70's definitely around there, we were magdalene without the bus fares and rarely went and far as Niddrie[emoji16]
29-06-2025, 03:03 PM
As kids we used to chuck potatoes at them when they matched about Newcraighall and the Jewel area.
My Granny's Granny used to live on Leith Street and chucked horse **** out her tenement window at them when they walked past.
I obviously never met the woman but I'm sure I'd have liked her.
29-06-2025, 03:11 PM
Can remember playing youth football at Leith Links on same day as a huge Orange event. Prob early to mid 70s. Not sure if still happens. We played in a Dundee Utd or Wolves coloured kit so didn’t get any grief one of the opposition was called Paddy and got a few shouts.
29-06-2025, 03:11 PM
My Granny's Granny used to live on Leith Street and chucked horse **** out her tenement window at them when they walked past.
I obviously never met the woman but I'm sure I'd have liked her.[emoji16] we might have had the same granny[emoji16]
Mine was a highlander with very forthright views, she used to tell us about going from Craigentinny to Leith to give them some stick. That's probably where we got the idea from.to keep up the tradition.
I obviously never met the woman but I'm sure I'd have liked her.That reminds of watching "Just Another Saturday" being filmed in the Pleasance. Castlebrae's annexe for 1st years was Jimmy Clarks and we were up there for the few days the Southside was filling in for Glasgow.
Even a fake Orange band seemed off.
They must be badly misinformed as kids to grow up with all that hatred.
29-06-2025, 03:21 PM
That reminds of watching "Just Another Saturday" being filmed in the Pleasance. Castlebrae's annexe for 1st years was Jimmy Clarks and we were up there for the few days the Southside was filling in for Glasgow.
Even a fake Orange band seemed off.
They must be badly misinformed as kids to grow up with all that hatred.
The big fight when the old boy gets punched through the window was on Brunswick Street just off Easter Road
The big fight when the old boy gets punched through the window was on Brunswick Street just off Easter RoadI think it was deemed "too dangerous" to film in Glasgow - given how backwards it was.
The Tubs
29-06-2025, 03:35 PM
I obviously never met the woman but I'm sure I'd have liked her.
Clearly a woman who planned for important events, unless she kept a horse in the flat.
29-06-2025, 04:50 PM
Had very similar experience - staying with my family in Lancaster and we decided to drive to Southport for the day.
Arrived 11am and immediately noticed a few dudes worse for wear and loads of men and women walking around most wearing orange coloured clothing. Went to the funfair and straight away loads of rangers strips, bowler hat brigade etc piling on the rides and arguing amongst themselves. Turned out the wee parade had been earlier in the morning (no doubt to zero onlookers) and it was now a massive bevvy session. The pubs were full and some dodgy looking guys were outside in the street singing the usual 👀.
We left in under an hour, shame as Southport seemed a lovely well kept town.
I believe Liverpool is one of the biggest lodges outside of Glasgow and Northern Ireland, but for some reason their march is in Southport and it’s a huge sash bash for Hun types down here. Quite often go to Southport for a day out but always wary of checking the dates at this time of year.
Mate is oblivious to all of this stuff and wondered why he managed to get cheap flights to Marmaris on the morning of the 12th so I did warn him he might have a lively first evening.
29-06-2025, 04:53 PM
Total mentalists.
You’ve just reminded me of when we were in Ibiza on the 12th a few years ago and it coincided with a local Catholic festival that actually had a march and flutes playing and whatever. Some hilariously confused faces on show from the usual suspects.
29-06-2025, 05:05 PM
I love Benidorm but accommodating this pish doesn’t do it any favours. I know quite a few have a negative view of the place as it is.
There are still marches in Canada and Australia every year so its been exported pretty much worldwide.
29-06-2025, 06:14 PM
There definitely used to be a lot more orange marches in Edinburgh. Pretty sure there was one down Leith Walk until at least the late 90’s. One of my brothers had a flat on Leith Walk and by a miraculous coincidence happened to air his large green and white saltire flag with a golden harp in the middle whilst the march was going past. Unhappy gammons and the polis unsportingly insisted the flag was taken back inside.
29-06-2025, 07:31 PM
There definitely used to be a lot more orange marches in Edinburgh. Pretty sure there was one down Leith Walk until at least the late 90’s. One of my brothers had a flat on Leith Walk and by a miraculous coincidence happened to air his large green and white saltire flag with a golden harp in the middle whilst the march was going past. Unhappy gammons and the polis unsportingly insisted the flag was taken back inside.
Some of their buses would deliberately go back up Easter Road if Hibs were at home.
Encountered them a couple of times in the 80s, with a bit of 'interaction' between Hibs Fans leaving ER and their weirdly dressed hoardes.
29-06-2025, 07:46 PM
I moved down to a tiny village in Hampshire for a while from 2013-2016. Middle of the South Downs, and a lovely quiet part of the world. One July Saturday i drive into the nearest big town to do grocery shopping (Petersfield) and I get stopped by one of these things! One of a handful of places where there’s even a statue of William of Orange in the town square!
I view them as a game these days. I have a metalcore/deathcore playlist that i create every summer (the heaviest stuff i listen to) and whenever i get caught by one I have a game to see if the car’s sound system and heavy music can stop the ****s playing. So far this year it’s Sylar’s car 3-0 Orange Walks 😂
ErinGoBraghHFC
29-06-2025, 07:57 PM
I moved down to a tiny village in Hampshire for a while from 2013-2016. Middle of the South Downs, and a lovely quiet part of the world. One July Saturday i drive into the nearest big town to do grocery shopping (Petersfield) and I get stopped by one of these things! One of a handful of places where there’s even a statue of William of Orange in the town square!
I view them as a game these days. I have a metalcore/deathcore playlist that i create every summer (the heaviest stuff i listen to) and whenever i get caught by one I have a game to see if the car’s sound system and heavy music can stop the ****s playing. So far this year it’s Sylar’s car 3-0 Orange Walks [emoji23]
Please make this playlist public so we can all join in your game, I’ve plenty opportunities to play round my bit at this time of year. Probably the most opportunities outside of our NI Hibbys on here actually. Keen to stake my claim as champion
29-06-2025, 08:09 PM
Aye it was definitely on the go in the mid 80s when I lived in Easter Road, they used to meet up at Abbeyhill and half of them were completely bladdered by 9 in the morning, I had to step over one of them on the steps at Maryfield. I recall them marching along Montgomery Street and getting bottled from the tenement windows above.
They'd end up at the Links and take over the Percy, it's actually mentioned in the book Trainspotting when they beat up Renton's cousin the the toilets.