View Full Version : Holiday pet peeves

19-06-2025, 03:57 PM
HOLIDAY PET PEEVES

On holiday just now in Majorca and the Mrs thinks I am turning into Victor Meldrew and that I am going to explode any minute and start WW3 over a triviality

Anyway the €46 per couple Tourist Tax I can understand as there does seem to be a lot of building work going on to improve their roads and infrastructure on the Island but my first pet peeve is fellow holiday makers ( usually German ) who commandere two sunbeds and two sumbrellas per couple when there is an obvious shortage of umbrellas in the Hotel 🤬

Any more ?

19-06-2025, 05:08 PM
Rangers and Celtic fans completely decked out in club wear and/or related brands when you’re in the airport or on the plane

The fact you can never seem to go anywhere without some rangers/Celtic jersey appearing in a crowd

Folk clapping when the plane lands

Rude holidaymakers (British or otherwise)

People who can’t get from Scotland to their destination without getting hammered and spoiling the journey for everyone else

Bridge hibs
19-06-2025, 05:16 PM
Airport buses mostly abroad that take you from the terminal to the plane, cramming you into the bus like ****ing sardines 🤬

19-06-2025, 05:18 PM
Folk who rush to the front at the departure gate without waiting to be called ( we all have allocated seats )

Folk from the back who rush to the front when the seat belt release pings when the plane lands blocking the passageway for an orderly disembark ( the back door opens as well )

Folk who take their suitcase onboard ��

19-06-2025, 07:24 PM
Early flights. Used to love them and the 5am couple of pints. Now I'm shambling about the airport with my system being totally unable to cope with beer or more than 1 coffee to wake me up.

19-06-2025, 07:35 PM
Having to come home when the holiday's finished.

:boo hoo:

Bridge hibs
19-06-2025, 08:15 PM
Early flights. Used to love them and the 5am couple of pints. Now I'm shambling about the airport with my system being totally unable to cope with beer or more than 1 coffee to wake me up.

I love the early flights, Im a morning person, my Wife hates them though.

19-06-2025, 09:13 PM
People that go on holiday with the mindset "I'm gonna have a ball and **** anyone else".

Dmas
19-06-2025, 09:15 PM
HOLIDAY PET PEEVES

On holiday just now in Majorca and the Mrs thinks I am turning into Victor Meldrew and that I am going to explode any minute and start WW3 over a triviality

Anyway the €46 per couple Tourist Tax I can understand as there does seem to be a lot of building work going on to improve their roads and infrastructure on the Island but my first pet peeve is fellow holiday makers ( usually German ) who commandere two sunbeds and two sumbrellas per couple when there is an obvious shortage of umbrellas in the Hotel 🤬

Any more ?

I’m going to Majorca next week, been weather watching looks like you have had the weather….scorchio

Bridge hibs
19-06-2025, 09:23 PM
People that go on holiday with the mindset "I'm gonna have a ball and **** anyone else".

Im going to Berlin again in December and Im gonna have a ball so **** everyone else 🤭

19-06-2025, 09:39 PM
The early morning sunbed wars.Ridiculous behaviour. Who can be arsed getting that stressed at 7.30am on holiday? Never done it, never not got a sunbed when getting down at 11am after breakfast and a morning stroll.

20-06-2025, 06:22 AM
I’m going to Majorca next week, been weather watching looks like you have had the weather….scorchio

Been superb beautiful island all the more need to seek protection from the sun and avoid getting burnt

Just about to put my Hibs strip on and go for a walk into the weekly market and see if I can pick up a bargain :greengrin

One hour ahead over here

20-06-2025, 06:56 AM
People bringing their kids up to the adult only rooftop plunge pools and bar. **** off back to the family pool and area downstairs you erses. They don’t get to stay long as it’s well policed but there is signs everywhere so just ****** read them and leave us in peace! 😡

Bridge hibs
20-06-2025, 07:14 AM
People who want to be my friend, **** off and leave me in peace, thats why I go on holiday 😡

Oh and folk on the adult only very peaceful rooftop pool who decide to phone their relatives back home and every **** can hear your conversation as you are so ****ing loud you probably didnt need to use your phone because you were so ****ing loud they could hear you from Manchester 😡

Dmas
20-06-2025, 07:25 AM
People who want to be my friend, **** off and leave me in peace, thats why I go on holiday 😡

Oh and folk on the adult only very peaceful rooftop pool who decide to phone their relatives back home and every **** can hear your conversation as you are so ****ing loud you probably didnt need to use your phone because you were so ****ing loud they could hear you from Manchester 😡

I get this all the time, my mrs is very…sociable let’s say and gets friendly with other maws everywhere we go, last time we where all away she got friendly with a couple and they where nice enough like but the boy kept telling me about keeping fish all day long, sitting by the pool fish, sitting having a drink at night fish jesus! Did learn a lot, still no got any fish though

20-06-2025, 08:59 AM
People who position themselves blocking others from being able to get to the luggage carousel at the airport. A special type of ****.

20-06-2025, 09:24 AM
People who position themselves blocking others from being able to get to the luggage carousel at the airport. A special type of ****.

I didn't think I was going to contribute to this, but you've just triggered me from last year.

Standing at the carousel, an appropriate distance back like a sane person, only for someone to come along and plonk themselves right in front of me... I wasn't just Standing on my phone or looking like I was lost, I was just stood rigidly staring at the carousel awaiting my baggage - that couldn't have been any clearer.

20-06-2025, 10:31 AM
People bringing their kids up to the adult only rooftop plunge pools and bar. **** off back to the family pool and area downstairs you erses. They don’t get to stay long as it’s well policed but there is signs everywhere so just ****** read them and leave us in peace! 😡

We are at the family holiday stage of life just now so it's water parks, all inclusive meals and kids clubs. I love seeing the kids have a good time, I'm enthusiastic and present and enjoy it but I realise it's not for everyone and some people haven't reached that stage yet, don't want to ever be in it or have gone beyond it. It's just common courtesy to respect other peoples holiday. Don't let your kids wander into areas not for them, ask them to be respectful of other peoples space and buy them a set of ****ing earphones for when they are using tablets.

This is maybe one for the wider pet peeves thread but I just can't abide people who disregard rules they don't feel need to apply to them. 'Oh it's just one kid what's the problem?' Well if everyone with one kid thought that then it wouldn't be kid free anymore would it?

20-06-2025, 10:40 AM
I get this all the time, my mrs is very…sociable let’s say and gets friendly with other maws everywhere we go, last time we where all away she got friendly with a couple and they where nice enough like but the boy kept telling me about keeping fish all day long, sitting by the pool fish, sitting having a drink at night fish jesus! Did learn a lot, still no got any fish though

My wife is the same.

Every year we seem to end up in a friendship with some other couple or family. Sitting next to them by the pool, getting invited to go with them for dinner, sitting with them for drinks.......

I'll be polite but I don't want to become best buddies with people I meet on holiday. There was one couple we even had to go and meet when we got back here and after about half an hour of holiday reminiscing it clicked with her that the only thing we had in common was that we had went on holiday to the same hotel. I could have saved her the bother and told her that about 60 seconds after we first met them on the holiday.

The worst was last year when the bairn introduced me to her new pal and the dad sloped over in an orange Rangers away tap and matching shorts. I practically punched the air when he said it was 'a shame' they were flying home the next day. Aye not for me mate.

Jakhog1
20-06-2025, 10:45 AM
The getting wrecked at the airport and on the plane before going anywhere gets me baffled, especially when they have kids in tow, 2 years ago we went to Turkey and the couple of geordies who had a baby and a kid around 10ish with them were paralytic on the plane, just being loud and obnoxious, remember the dad holding the baby and when he stood up he banged the baby's head on the over head locker when departing, the mum, and kids are on the bus ready to go the resort and dad is nowhere to be seen, turns up just as the bus is about to pull off with a bag of booze, the young 10 year old girl was telling her parents to behave and calm down all whilst looking after the wee one and was getting upset, felt so sorry for her and I think the ones that were still on the bus felt relieved that they were not going to our resort as they looked a nightmare.

20-06-2025, 11:58 AM

There’s a few airlines moving from Glasgow to Edinburgh, which is a much easier journey/drop off, but I always have loved the middle of the night drive through to Glasgow airport. Pitch black roads, quiet, the start of the holiday. Always gives me a buzz

20-06-2025, 12:05 PM
The getting wrecked at the airport and on the plane before going anywhere gets me baffled, especially when they have kids in tow, 2 years ago we went to Turkey and the couple of geordies who had a baby and a kid around 10ish with them were paralytic on the plane, just being loud and obnoxious, remember the dad holding the baby and when he stood up he banged the baby's head on the over head locker when departing, the mum, and kids are on the bus ready to go the resort and dad is nowhere to be seen, turns up just as the bus is about to pull off with a bag of booze, the young 10 year old girl was telling her parents to behave and calm down all whilst looking after the wee one and was getting upset, felt so sorry for her and I think the ones that were still on the bus felt relieved that they were not going to our resort as they looked a nightmare.

Last time I had a 2 flight each way journey, the second flight was around 2 hours after the first landed, and there was an issue with immigration systems so everyone was held up with that. Despite the short time, as the second flight was boarded and waiting for the go ahead to push off and get going, a Glaswegian family sat a couple of rows behind us were being obnoxious. Pushing the call button, the mother shrieking down the plane that ‘mah wean needs a pish, he needs to get tae the toilet!’. This was a family with a teenage boy about 15, an 8ish year old girl, and a maybe 3 year old boy. I assumed she meant the youngest. The staff approached her to say that everyone needed to remain seated as we were imminently about to start moving, and the mother is going ape****. It’s clear she and her husband are well oiled, and she lets slip that it’s not the young one, it’s the oldest, who has been in the bar drinking with both his parents between flights! As the staff start to walk away, she shouts to the lad that he should ‘just piss the seat son, that’ll teach them!’.

As soon as we were able to take off seatbelts, a whole family sitting across from them spoke to the staff and got moved to another part of the plane.

20-06-2025, 12:49 PM
There’s a few airlines moving from Glasgow to Edinburgh, which is a much easier journey/drop off, but I always have loved the middle of the night drive through to Glasgow airport. Pitch black roads, quiet, the start of the holiday. Always gives me a buzz

I should of course add that my peeve could be shortened to "old age" :greengrin

20-06-2025, 12:50 PM
I should of course add that my peeve could be shortened to "old age" :greengrin

:greengrin I feel your pain on that one 😂

20-06-2025, 03:29 PM
People that build a tent beside your sunbed

WTF !

https://i.ibb.co/dSN7h7G/IMG-3618.png (https://ibb.co/PR2tStw)

20-06-2025, 03:50 PM

Your first one is brilliant

20-06-2025, 04:30 PM

WTF !

https://i.ibb.co/dSN7h7G/IMG-3618.png (https://ibb.co/PR2tStw)

I hope you tore it down.

Bridge hibs
20-06-2025, 04:32 PM

WTF !

https://i.ibb.co/dSN7h7G/IMG-3618.png (https://ibb.co/PR2tStw)Perfectly situated for a bit of B7 graffiti 😆

20-06-2025, 04:43 PM
I hope you tore it down.

I was away for a beer the German Wifie asked my wife if it was ok ?

She doesn’t do confrontation

We moved

20-06-2025, 06:34 PM
https://youtu.be/XHWIEqOiTw8?feature=shared

Everything Jeremy Clarkson says in this clip. I agree with.

20-06-2025, 10:12 PM
Not necessarily a holiday peeve as it could happen any day here, but it happened on my holiday, so it's a holiday peeve.

On a train from Ventimiglia to Nice. The train is full. Someone decided to use up three spaces for her and her bags. I've questioned her. A few shrugs of the shoulders and the spaces are available for myself and my wife. It's a 1 hour journey and 32°. Nah, nae way we we're going to stand whilst some entitled person got to take up three seats.

20-06-2025, 10:33 PM
Randoms next to you on the plane who fall asleep on you which just happened to me on my, thankfully, short flight to Heathrow

20-06-2025, 11:53 PM
Hotels that don’t have sockets at the bed side to charge your phone

21-06-2025, 12:28 AM

YES!!!!!!!!!!!! Why is this still happening.....?

21-06-2025, 09:28 AM
Drinking at 7.30am because your on your holidays, people who let their kids run amock and do nowt to stop them, they're just kids having fun, NO, they're a pain in the arse.

Thankfully I'm at an age where family holidays are a thing of the past.

21-06-2025, 10:09 AM

Stayed at Balbirnie House for a wedding a few weeks ago.

Room was really crap. £180 for a night. Nae plugs beside the bed. One tiny mirror for her to get ready, with no plug beside that either. Windows couldn’t latch so were banging when open. Bathroom had cracked floor tiles. TV remote had nae back to it.

Really disappointed. Wedding venue aspect of it was really good though.

21-06-2025, 10:38 AM
Mrs BH’s holiday peeves

People who do not shower before entering the pool

Men who do not secure their wedding tackle before entering the pool leaving nothing to the imagination

Strewth ! He’s wearing no strides !

21-06-2025, 10:47 AM
Mrs BH’s holiday peeves

People who do not shower before entering the pool

Men who do not secure their wedding tackle before entering the pool leaving nothing to the imagination

Strewth ! He’s wearing no strides !

Secure it?

21-06-2025, 10:57 AM
Secure it?

Think she means small loose fitting swimming shorts with all their bits hanging oot when they climb out of the pool

I always wear my speedos 😀

Bridge hibs
21-06-2025, 12:30 PM
Butt cracks, yeah we all have them but big fat spotty and hairy butt cracks should have a licence of their own. Getting out of the pool and covering your crack after is fine but wobbling a hundred yards with your shorts at half mast is too much.

The ones lying on their sides and decide to claw away gives me the ****ing boak, Ive tried telling her to wear a one piece instead 🤢

21-06-2025, 04:38 PM
Sat beside Trigger Happy TV today he was telling his mate in London and anyone within 20 feet willing to listen that he had decided to dump his girlfriend as she was mouthing off last night - she was still up in the room and didn’t know it yet

It is just how he rolls (apparently) once he has made up his mind that is it

He went up to his room and I haven’t seen him since

Updates to follow

babahibs
21-06-2025, 06:56 PM
Package holidays.

speedy_gonzales
21-06-2025, 08:46 PM
Audience participation!

I was very happy enjoying the draught Mythos at the back of the taverna watching the ABBA tribute act, I didn't expect my daughter to volunteer me for a dancing dad's stint for Waterloo, dressed in 70's garb and wig.
I certainly didn't expect to be bullied in to a strip to "You can leave your hat on".

It was flipping horrific, for both me and the audience!

22-06-2025, 08:49 AM
Sat beside Trigger Happy TV today he was telling his mate in London and anyone within 20 feet willing to listen that he had decided to dump his girlfriend as she was mouthing off last night - she was still up in the room and didn’t know it yet

It is just how he rolls (apparently) once he has made up his mind that is it

He went up to his room and I haven’t seen him since

Updates to follow

Any news? Have they arrived yet to remove his body?

22-06-2025, 09:18 AM
Audience participation!

I was very happy enjoying the draught Mythos at the back of the taverna watching the ABBA tribute act, I didn't expect my daughter to volunteer me for a dancing dad's stint for Waterloo, dressed in 70's garb and wig.
I certainly didn't expect to be bullied in to a strip to "You can leave your hat on".

It was flipping horrific, for both me and the audience!

Agree though has to be said sounds like your involvement was at the extreme end of it. :greengrin

Bridge hibs
22-06-2025, 09:50 AM
Audience participation!

It was flipping horrific, for both me and the audience!I used to hide when the audience participation used to start, dont get me wrong at times it had been fun but as I got older and fatter I felt kinda more vulnerable particularly with my top off and wobbling about like a jelly on stage beside the more “buff” younger lads.

We used to go to Turkey (Icmiler) and the entertainment team were great and my Daughters had great delight in pointing me out to be a stage victim. I got wise to it one year and as the guys hunted for their prey I hid in the bogs, thinking the coast was clear I came out only to be surrounded by young Turks and was manhandled onto the stage for another jelly belly performance 🥹

22-06-2025, 11:48 AM
I used to hide when the audience participation used to start, dont get me wrong at times it had been fun but as I got older and fatter I felt kinda more vulnerable particularly with my top off and wobbling about like a jelly on stage beside the more “buff” younger lads.

We used to go to Turkey (Icmiler) and the entertainment team were great and my Daughters had great delight in pointing me out to be a stage victim. I got wise to it one year and as the guys hunted for their prey I hid in the bogs, thinking the coast was clear I came out only to be surrounded by young Turks and was manhandled onto the stage for another jelly belly performance 🥹

Holiday or not I would lose it big time if someone tried to manhandle me onto a stage.

22-06-2025, 01:09 PM
Holiday or not I would lose it big time if someone tried to manhandle me onto a stage.

Likewise.

22-06-2025, 01:30 PM
Animation : and cocky kids

12 years ago in the Algarve they had a Portugal’s Got Talent night in the Hotel

Usual mundane attempts one last kid from London steps up doing the Michael Jackson routine to Billie Jean with the foot shuffle moonwalking thing and grabbing his goolies with a high pitched scream at the appropriate moments to rapturous applause the winner all night long ( pardon the pun ) The Smooth Criminal was super confident it was in the bag

The MC steps up ‘ Anymore for anymore ?’ my eight year old slams down his Irn Bru says to me

‘I got this Dad ‘

Goes up on stage whispers to the DJ who puts on Rasputin by Boney M He lapses into this Cossack Dance high stepping dance routine arms folded crouched down knees forward moving up and down kicking out doing forward drops and back drops kicking out had the whole crowd clapping and whooping along in time to the music getting faster and faster spinning and spinning to a fantastic thunderous applause and a standing ovation

Hey ! Hey ! Hey! Hey !

‘ Graeme from Scotland’

The MC declared the winner based on applause

God knows where that came from or the energy totally unexpected and out of character as he is normally really quiet and reserved me and Mrs BH were packed off to bed with a free bottle of wine

He just said the Michael Jackson kid was getting on his nerves and didn’t think he was that good

The power of Irn Bru original recipe

True story

Bridge hibs
22-06-2025, 01:59 PM

Yeah but they didnt drag me by the balls, I think because I have known the guys for many years they just saw me as fair game, not helped obviously by my Daughters and Wife grassing me and encouraging them to get me on the stage

22-06-2025, 03:33 PM
I used to hide when the audience participation used to start, dont get me wrong at times it had been fun but as I got older and fatter I felt kinda more vulnerable particularly with my top off and wobbling about like a jelly on stage beside the more “buff” younger lads.

A few years ago when I was in Tenerife the evening’s entertainment was a magician.

For whatever reason I was the person plucked from the audience, and the magician’s assistant asked me to take my belt off.

Belt was dropped into some sort of collapsing box, a bit of the old “piff paff poof” ensued and before you knew it my belt had been turned into a live snake, which the assistant walks towards me with, encouraging me to drape the snake around my neck.

I’m petrified of snakes and as she moved towards me with it I just kept running away. Not sure whether this made the show utterly hilarious or terrible but there was absolutely no way I was touching a snake. I’ll just keep my phobia, thanks.

Nowadays I’m quite careful to ensure that whatever seat I take at almost anything comes with minimal chance of audience participation as it is REALLY not my thing. I even get annoyed at audiences clapping along, out of time to music now.

22-06-2025, 04:55 PM
Yeah but they didnt drag me by the balls, I think because I have known the guys for many years they just saw me as fair game, not helped obviously by my Daughters and Wife grassing me and encouraging them to get me on the stage

Yes the fact your family were encouraging the staff changes things.

22-06-2025, 04:57 PM
I love getting involved in the entertainment.

23-06-2025, 07:00 AM
My go to Karaoke used to be Unchained Melody, not nowadays, too high a note but back in the days of family holidays we were in Lanzarote in a bar that does Karaoke. So we have a few decent singers and the wife nudges me to get up, I put my name down and waited my turn, before me this woman from Glasgow area and she was extremely good, so up I get and the DJ gave me a wry smile meaning follow that buddy. Well the song was sung spot on with all the big high notes being hit perfectly, I handed him the mic back with the wry smile he gave me as if to say, ****** nailed it mate.

Bridge hibs
23-06-2025, 07:06 AM
My go to Karaoke used to be Unchained Melody, not nowadays, too high a note but back in the days of family holidays we were in Lanzarote in a bar that does Karaoke. So we have a few decent singers and the wife nudges me to get up, I put my name down and waited my turn, before me this woman from Glasgow area and she was extremely good, so up I get and the DJ gave me a wry smile meaning follow that buddy. Well the song was sung spot on with all the big high notes being hit perfectly, I handed him the mic back with the wry smile he gave me as if to say, ****** nailed it mate.

Ive never sung a karaoke song in my puff, I bet Im in the minority on here 😄

23-06-2025, 07:07 AM

That's 2 of us then.

23-06-2025, 07:34 AM
That's 2 of us then.

Three.

23-06-2025, 07:41 AM
Three.

Four

23-06-2025, 07:48 AM
Four

Five

23-06-2025, 08:11 AM

My go to is Bat Out Of Hell

23-06-2025, 08:14 AM
My go to is Bat Out Of Hell

Went to a Wedding once where the Bride and Groom sang Paradise by the dashboard light 😳

Was quite good actually

Different

23-06-2025, 08:41 AM
Talking about getting dragged up on stage - my mate went to one of those Sealife parks in Florida with his then girlfriend. He got singled out from the crowd and was asked to sit in a seat next to the pool, and open his arms and legs. He said the next thing he knew a dolphin jumped on top of him and started to ‘buck’ him for 15 secs to the thrill of the cheering, laughing crowd (I couldnae get the ****ing thing aff me”!). It’s all the more funnier when my mate is quiet and reserved.

23-06-2025, 09:07 AM
Day 3, and still no word on Dom Joly.

Come on, Billy, let us know ffs.

23-06-2025, 10:06 AM

I used to sing in a band many moons ago, I still play guitar and sing but not that often now, do lots of of gigs and present an indie/rock internet radio show 3 Tuesdays of the month.

Bridge hibs
23-06-2025, 10:14 AM
I used to sing in a band many moons ago, I still play guitar and sing but not that often now, do lots of of gigs and present an indie/rock internet radio show 3 Tuesdays of the month.

I play guitar and sing in my own company, I just dont have the balls to do it in front of folk though.

23-06-2025, 11:05 AM
I play guitar and sing in my own company, I just dont have the balls to do it in front of folk though.

That's okay. If you did you'd have to secure them...

24-06-2025, 12:35 PM
Day 3, and still no word on Dom Joly.

Come on, Billy, let us know ffs.

Didn’t see or hear hide nor hair of Dom Joly again unfortunately

The mystery deepens

24-06-2025, 09:25 PM
Getting ill after the flight home.

2 out of the last 3 journeys I've taken have ended up with me full of some lurgy or other.

Last time it completely floored me and it took 3 weeks for me to fully recover.

Bloody planes.

25-06-2025, 06:01 AM
Feeling refreshed revitalised and suntanned on the flight home ready to go again then a hungover party animal sits beside you full with the cold from hell spreading her germs and tissues everywhere 😳

25-06-2025, 06:28 AM

2 out of the last 3 journeys I've taken have ended up with me full of some lurgy or other.

Bloody planes.

With me it's normally the other way round, I'll arrive at my holiday location then get flattened by some plague.

speedy_gonzales
25-06-2025, 06:38 AM

Bloody planes.

I used to get this all the time, something to do with the recirculated air and everyone's natural defences down after they've (mostly?) battered their body with alcohol for a week or two.
I now do a nasal salt rinse before and after the flight, clears the cavities and encourages the sinuses to flush out any germs. You can also get a nasal spray product (first defence?) that does a similar thing.
So far (10+ years) I've been ok after travelling and I hope it continues as I'm flying back from Corfu tomorrow!

Bridge hibs
25-06-2025, 07:17 AM
Even after a relaxing holiday the need to have another holiday to recover from the one you just had

25-06-2025, 09:08 AM
Folk outside restaurants shoving menus in your face or jumping in front of you trying to lure you in. I never go all inclusive, like to eat out a decent restaurant every night and don’t need to be attracted into one by some pest!

Bridge hibs
25-06-2025, 10:06 AM
Timeshare *****, not the ones trying to do their jobs although they are probably in the minority. Its the ***** who constantly pester you despite telling them multiple times to **** off !!

Many years back in Las Americas (my first and last time there) this wee prick from Rotherham constantly followed us down the street to a restaurant, we were with family and my Daughters prob 7 and 10.

The prick then followed us into the restaurant and sat down beside my eldest Daughter, the head of steam started to build up and he crossed the line when he put his arm around my Daughter.

I went into rage and pure protection mode and flew across the table and put him flat onto his arse before dragging him out onto the street with the **** whimpering like a jessie. I can normally bat those things off with humour but he absolutely chose the wrong time, place and person that day.

And no I didnt buy a ****ing timeshare 😡

25-06-2025, 10:14 AM
Similar to the restaurant hawkers and timeshare people, I hate the folk that come round the pool trying to sell you a professional photo package or a spa treatment. They generally don’t take the first “no thanks” and pester you.

The All Inclusive in Turkey that we were at last year made you go to the spa reception desk to get/change your pool towel. This basically so they could pester you to book a spa treatment every day. They would be quite aggressive when you said you didn’t want it.

25-06-2025, 01:26 PM
Folk outside restaurants shoving menus in your face or jumping in front of you trying to lure you in. I never go all inclusive, like to eat out a decent restaurant every night and don’t need to be attracted into one by some pest!

It's possible to go all inclusive and still eat at a decent restaurant every night. I've stayed in a load of all-inclusives and the restaurants they have is one of the first things I look into. The number of, and the quality of menu.

25-06-2025, 01:49 PM
It's possible to go all inclusive and still eat at a decent restaurant every night. I've stayed in a load of all-inclusives and the restaurants they have is one of the first things I look into. The number of, and the quality of menu.

The a la carte restaurants are usually top notch but you have got to be quick

Going on a cruise does ma nut in as they are usually all booked as well as some shows long before the ship departs

That is all us pensioners have to do is sit and study everything 😀

25-06-2025, 02:26 PM

One thing to make sure in advance is that the restaurants are definitely open when you are there. We got caught out last year as it was meant to have 4 al a carte restaurants but one was closed during our stay. No biggie but could be an issue.

I also don’t mind eating somewhere outside the hotel once or twice either, just for a change of scenery.

25-06-2025, 02:37 PM
One thing to make sure in advance is that the restaurants are definitely open when you are there. We got caught out last year as it was meant to have 4 al a carte restaurants but one was closed during our stay. No biggie but could be an issue.

I also don’t mind eating somewhere outside the hotel once or twice either, just for a change of scenery.

Aye we go all inclusive now because of the kids but always pick somewhere with at least a couple of a la carte options and a snack bar or BBQ type thing for another lunch option as well. Generally we end up in the buffet restaurant more often than not because your guaranteed some form of beige the kids will definitely eat but at a decent all inclusive the options are usually pretty varied and plentiful. This year I think we have 2 buffet options, a Chinese, A tapas bar, a pizzeria and a burger bar. That should keep everyone happy.

Even then we always end up going out too. I can't really lie in the sun because I had melanoma so I always go for a 'walk' mid morning which inevitably ends in a beer in a local bar because it has shade and you can't be too careful as I tell my wife. I'll repeat the process in the afternoon sometimes as well, usually taking one of the bairns with me for a game of pool, go karts etc. It's nice to have a change of scenery but I could probably satisfy myself staying in the hotel as well if all the options are open.

25-06-2025, 03:00 PM
Another one from me is people being needlessly picky about hotels.

I totally get it with a summer holiday because you are likely to be spending a lot of time there and using all the facilities but we are trying to plan a city break at the moment with another 2 couples and one person is being so nippy about the hotel. Why does it matter? How long do you actually spend in a hotel when you are away for 2 days in say Rome or Paris? I'm up and out by 9am, 10 latest and not back in until 12-15 hours later. I'm in the 'if it's clean and central/near a transport link to get me to the centre then I'm happy' camp. I'd be happy to spend the rest of my days in a Premier Inn or Travelodge when doing such trips for all the time I spend there.

My work is usually pretty basic with accommodation when travelling but last year I was at an event and was put up in a 5 star job in Dublin. My overriding thought, and remember I wasn't paying, was 'what a waste of money'. I was in the room awake for all of 3 hours over 2 days. Never used any of the leisure facilities and had one drink in the bar. Does anyone go to Dublin to use a hotel pool, drink in a hotel bar all night and eat in a hotel restaurant? Seems a bit of a wasted opportunity to me but each to their own.

Paulie Walnuts
25-06-2025, 04:06 PM
Another one from me is people being needlessly picky about hotels.

I totally get it with a summer holiday because you are likely to be spending a lot of time there and using all the facilities but we are trying to plan a city break at the moment with another 2 couples and one person is being so nippy about the hotel. Why does it matter? How long do you actually spend in a hotel when you are away for 2 days in say Rome or Paris? I'm up and out by 9am, 10 latest and not back in until 12-15 hours later. I'm in the 'if it's clean and central/near a transport link to get me to the centre then I'm happy' camp. I'd be happy to spend the rest of my days in a Premier Inn or Travelodge when doing such trips for all the time I spend there.

My work is usually pretty basic with accommodation when travelling but last year I was at an event and was put up in a 5 star job in Dublin. My overriding thought, and remember I wasn't paying, was 'what a waste of money'. I was in the room awake for all of 3 hours over 2 days. Never used any of the leisure facilities and had one drink in the bar. Does anyone go to Dublin to use a hotel pool, drink in a hotel bar all night and eat in a hotel restaurant? Seems a bit of a wasted opportunity to me but each to their own.

Agree.

I love a nice hotel for a summer holiday, but I couldn’t care less for a city break. As long as it’s clean and close to the centre or at least fairly accessible by public transport to the centre then that’s absolutely fine.

Only thing I would say is that I went to London the other month but had the dog with me. Had to stay in a 5* hotel as it’s only really 5* that allow dogs. Virgin hotel in Shoreditch is really reasonable and despite what I’ve just said, it was quite nice to have a nice hotel :greengrin

25-06-2025, 04:10 PM

Yeah I get that and I wasn’t running down all inclusive customers, it’s just not my thing I like to venture out to decent restaurants.

Paulie Walnuts
25-06-2025, 04:56 PM
Yeah I get that and I wasn’t running down all inclusive customers, it’s just not my thing I like to venture out to decent restaurants.

Likewise.

I’ve done all inclusive twice. Once the food was utterly horrendous and the other time the food was half decent but I still wanted to get out and about every night so never made nearly enough use of it.

25-06-2025, 05:39 PM

I really enjoy trying out various cafes and restaurants when I'm on holiday, quite often a distance from the accomodation.

For me it's part of the experience

27-06-2025, 08:57 AM
Catching COVID on the plane on the way home :confused:

27-06-2025, 09:15 AM

I do too, and I'll always get out and about, but for folk who like their food, there are plenty all-inclusives out there with really good restaurants. You'll pay more to go to those hotels, but that's why the food is better!

I stayed at a place in Antigua (Hammock Cove it was called), the food there was up there with the best restaurants I've eaten at, the wine was great too.

27-06-2025, 05:56 PM
Catching COVID on the plane on the way home :confused:

So I'm not the only one....

27-06-2025, 06:14 PM
So I'm not the only one....

Yip Mrs BH

28-06-2025, 08:32 AM
People on holiday.

28-06-2025, 02:26 PM
People on holiday.

I've been known to comment that public transport is great if it wasn't for other passengers. 🤭

Dmas
29-06-2025, 02:56 PM
Jobo’s in the pool, 5 days I’ve been here 3 floaters 🙄

Bridge hibs
29-06-2025, 03:04 PM
Jobo’s in the pool, 5 days I’ve been here 3 floaters 🙄

Adults only hotel ?

Peanut Shaz
29-06-2025, 04:59 PM
3 days into a holiday in a small 23 bedroom adults only hotel in Croatia. Really quiet and peaceful, pleasantries at breakfast and around the pool then everyone just gets on quietly reading, sleeping, etc. 2 hours ago ‘Kat and Alfie’ arrive. Within 10 minutes a very large parasol which has been up permanently since we arrived because of the current heatwave has been put down, 2 large sunbeds moved which were under the parasols for that very reason. Other terrace furniture moved so they could get the beds where they wanted them and of course all with the loud London accent so everyone could hear. They stay for about 30 minutes, get up and leave, leaving everything behind in their wake. Hopefully they head to the beach tomorrow and the rest of the week.

Dmas
29-06-2025, 06:04 PM
Adults only hotel ?

3 kids to Hawl with me unfortunately

Bridge hibs
29-06-2025, 06:52 PM
3 kids to Hawl with me unfortunately

Ive been to an adult only hotel and Ive seen a **** and a used condom floating in the pool one morning, also went a cheapo to Club Mac in Majorca many years ago and there were ****ty nappies in and around the main pool 🤢