View Full Version : Far flung supporters

at last 61
14-06-2025, 02:28 PM
Obviously we have fans almost everywhere but if you stay in England Spain etc, do you have any local supporters club

14-06-2025, 03:01 PM
I live between London and a remote town in the Philippines , Ilagan. Obviously, there is London Hibs. I met a former Hibs casual in Ilagan. He had the Hibs green/black union jack on his jeep. Think Ilagan Hibs formation is on the cards.

14-06-2025, 03:08 PM
I live in Chesterfield these days and I am the Supporters club. Never met another Hibs fan in the "shadow of the Spire."

USA_Hibee
14-06-2025, 03:09 PM
Moving to New York City in a few weeks. Hoping to meet up with some fans there for some games.

MKHIBEE
14-06-2025, 03:26 PM
I live in Bridlington, work with an Aberdeen fan who tells me there is a sizeable hun support in Scarborough. Haven’t met any Hibees yet, seen a scarf at York station one day. My usual company are Leeds, Newcastle or Huddersfield fans

14-06-2025, 03:28 PM
York. I've met one other guy originally from Edinburgh who likes Hibs, but he doesn't go to games or take much of an interest.

14-06-2025, 03:39 PM
There was a Hibs fan down here in Corby who I'm sure was part of the London Hibs club, can't remember his name. We did have a rangers club but thankfully that got knocked down for houses in 2013.

We still have the Irish centre which is basically where alot of Celtic fans watch the games.

Salisbury Hibby
14-06-2025, 03:50 PM
Just me in Salisbury to my knowledge :)

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk

hibstag
14-06-2025, 03:51 PM
I live in Bridlington, work with an Aberdeen fan who tells me there is a sizeable hun support in Scarborough. Haven’t met any Hibees yet, seen a scarf at York station one day. My usual company are Leeds, Newcastle or Huddersfield fans

There is a pub on eastborough in Scarborough that has an orange walk artwork outside,now I've never been in so can't confirm a link directly to rangers supporters but...

BS44
14-06-2025, 03:55 PM
There was a Hibs fan down here in Corby who I'm sure was part of the London Hibs club, can't remember his name. We did have a rangers club but thankfully that got knocked down for houses in 2013.

We still have the Irish centre which is basically where alot of Celtic fans watch the games.

That was Corby Alex.

MKHIBEE
14-06-2025, 04:07 PM
There is a pub on eastborough in Scarborough that has an orange walk artwork outside,now I've never been in so can't confirm a link directly to rangers supporters but...

There is a pub which is known as a rangers pub, I will make enquiries, purely in the interest of avoiding it you understand

14-06-2025, 04:15 PM
Bumped into a Hibby when we qualified in Europe through the arse of the Mali magician.
it was in Praia do Forte, Salvador in Brasil.

Andy Downie (journo of Hibs and Doctor Socrates fame) used to live in Mexico and Săo Paulo.

Back in the day there was a Hibs lister in Saskatchewan.

14-06-2025, 04:16 PM
Sure we have 2 or 3 Hibbies in Vancouver.

14-06-2025, 05:01 PM
These days I live in Herefordshire. I’ve never met a Hibby here.

Sheffhibee
14-06-2025, 06:10 PM
I'm in Sheffield, been here 25 yrs and have seen quite a few Hibs tops over the years, also I've met a surprising number of United and Wednesday fans who have Hibs as their " Scottish" team

plhibs
14-06-2025, 06:15 PM

Golden Last Public House, looks like a charming place:rolleyes:

Green Reaper
14-06-2025, 06:20 PM
Bumped into a Hibby when we qualified in Europe through the arse of the Mali magician.
it was in Praia do Forte, Salvador in Brasil.

Andy Downie (journo of Hibs and Doctor Socrates fame) used to live in Mexico and Săo Paulo.

Back in the day there was a Hibs lister in Saskatchewan.

Andrew now lives in Madrid

BalkanSuperBro
14-06-2025, 06:58 PM
Obviously we have fans almost everywhere but if you stay in England Spain etc, do you have any local supporters club
I'm not called BalkanSuperBro for nothing but the first thing most Serbs ask me is "Rangers or Celtic?" That said they are always surprisingly knowledgeable about Scottish football but my best experience was stopping at a roadside cafe in North Macedonia on my way back from holiday in Greece. A young local guy heard my accent and we started chatting. He was a massive Hibby and couldn't believe it when I whipped out my phone and showed him my pics from the Cup Final and of course SoL. Made my day!!

Fratelli
14-06-2025, 07:50 PM
I'm not called BalkanSuperBro for nothing but the first thing most Serbs ask me is "Rangers or Celtic?" That said they are always suprisingly knowledgeable about Scottish football but my best experience was stopping at a roadside cafe in North Macedonia on my way back from holiday in Greece. A young local guy heard my accent and we started chatting. He was a massive Hibby and couldn't believe it when I whipped out my phone and showed him my pics from the Cup Final and of course SoL. Made my day!!

Hopefully see you soon ‘Bro’ if we draw Partizan Belgrade…

Magnifique
14-06-2025, 08:05 PM
Sure we have 2 or 3 Hibbies in Vancouver.

I believe there is a small gathering of Hibbies in Vancouver. There is certainly a decent size group here in Toronto that meets now and again.

14-06-2025, 08:13 PM
Deepest darkest South Lincs. 4 what I would call proper Hibbies live here. We are the supporters without a club house.

I know I could count on another 6 as Hibs fans/admirers as I've personally groomed them all and they are up for a few games a season at least, or trip abroad if we make Europe [emoji16]

Persevere

Tha Cabbage Kid
14-06-2025, 09:02 PM
I'm the only one in Warsaw I think 🤔

14-06-2025, 09:21 PM
I'm not called BalkanSuperBro for nothing but the first thing most Serbs ask me is "Rangers or Celtic?" That said they are always surprisingly knowledgeable about Scottish football but my best experience was stopping at a roadside cafe in North Macedonia on my way back from holiday in Greece. A young local guy heard my accent and we started chatting. He was a massive Hibby and couldn't believe it when I whipped out my phone and showed him my pics from the Cup Final and of course SoL. Made my day!!
This a great story 👍

EGL2000
14-06-2025, 09:39 PM
Met 2 Hibs boys in Tirana airport this week. Always nice to see that green shirt amongst the crowd!

14-06-2025, 09:48 PM
I `ve just noticed the forum here for Hibs fans living overseas has gone . I think the guy who set it up and did a lot to keep it going is sadly no longer with us . Internet means that fans can see games online so don`t look for pubs showing our games or maybe can travel more often to see matches in person . Or fans watch Hibs on Hibs TV from comfort of their houses so don`t meet fellow Hibbies in pubs . The great videos of Hibbies celebrating our cup win in Australia suggest there may be some groups of fans who get together there despite time zone challenges . Hopefully there are still Hibbies meeting up in Dublin and elsewhere in Ireland . Wonder what happened to young Irish journalist who used to do reports and interviews at our games about a decade ago . He would have been a great asset for our 150th year celebrations . Have always been surprised that club don`t reach out more to overseas support . In countries like Spain and Poland that includes supporters who became Hibs fans while living in Scotland before returning to their countries of birth .

14-06-2025, 10:20 PM
I `ve just noticed the forum here for Hibs fans living overseas has gone . I think the guy who set it up and did a lot to keep it going is sadly no longer with us . Internet means that fans can see games online so don`t look for pubs showing our games or maybe can travel more often to see matches in person . Or fans watch Hibs on Hibs TV from comfort of their houses so don`t meet fellow Hibbies in pubs . The great videos of Hibbies celebrating our cup win in Australia suggest there may be some groups of fans who get together there despite time zone challenges . Hopefully there are still Hibbies meeting up in Dublin and elsewhere in Ireland . Wonder what happened to young Irish journalist who used to do reports and interviews at our games about a decade ago . He would have been a great asset for our 150th year celebrations . Have always been surprised that club don`t reach out more to overseas support . In countries like Spain and Poland that includes supporters who became Hibs fans while living in Scotland before returning to their countries of birth .

Hibees Reunited would be a great idea take a game that’s less likely to sell out and promote it as a pilgrammage .

4WAW
14-06-2025, 10:50 PM

Nah yer no, there's at least one more. :flag:

15-06-2025, 01:26 AM
The Australia Branch of the Hibernian FC Supporters Asociation was founded in 1987, and is still going strong, and we appear to have picked up New Zealanders along the way.

Jimmy O’Rourke travelled to Oz for our 20 th anniversary celebrations in 2007, for functions in Perth, Melbourne and Sydney.

Members of our group from all over Oz and New Zealand are meeting up in Surfers Paradise, Queensland in August this year to celebrate Hibs 150th anniversary.

15-06-2025, 02:10 AM
The Australia Branch of the Hibernian FC Supporters Asociation was founded in 1987, and is still going strong, and we appear to have picked up New Zealanders along the way.

Jimmy O’Rourke travelled to Oz for our 20 th anniversary celebrations in 2007, for functions in Perth, Melbourne and Sydney.

Members of our group from all over Oz and New Zealand are meeting up in Surfers Paradise, Queensland in August this year to celebrate Hibs 150th anniversary.

Are you head of the branch? Was looking through some old programmes eailer and noticed someone called Fred was head secretary, this was from 92/93 season.

15-06-2025, 03:33 AM
Are you head of the branch? Was looking through some old programmes eailer and noticed someone called Fred was head secretary, this was from 92/93 season.

Nae head of the branch, but if it was 92/3 and they referred to a Fred, was probably me as I don’t think we had another Fred back then.

Probably named as the ‘contact’ person back then.

15-06-2025, 03:43 AM
Nae head of the branch, but if it was 92/3 and they referred to a Fred, was probably me as I don’t think we had another Fred back then.

Probably named as the ‘contact’ person back then.

Didn't want to post the full name but aye says to contact Fred at PO box 142, ingleburn, Sydney so just put two and two together and thought it might have been you.

Ceebs
15-06-2025, 04:42 AM
Couple of us in South Korea 🇳🇬

15-06-2025, 05:36 AM
There’s a Hibby in Fuerteventura who runs a bar called Little Havana.

15-06-2025, 06:05 AM

Until we draw Legia on Wednesday…

15-06-2025, 06:40 AM
Didn't want to post the full name but aye says to contact Fred at PO box 142, ingleburn, Sydney so just put two and two together and thought it might have been you.

Aye that was the old address…prior to email and now our Facebook group page.

Having a reputation as a pedant, it would however be remiss of me to point out it was PO Box412.

Hibs1969
15-06-2025, 06:45 AM
Regional New South Wales calling. To my knowledge there are 3 Hibs fans in this area, namely me, my son and my daughter in-law. My 2 young grand-daughters are obviously Hibs fans too but they don’t quite know it yet. I’ve seen a car knocking about here with the reg plate HIBEES so there’s clearly someone else local who follows us but I haven’t met him/her yet.

I managed to get home late last year for a visit but the only game I got along to was the 3-3 draw with Aberdeen at ER when Rocky pulled off the late, late show to turn the season around. Not a bad game to see after a while away.

15-06-2025, 08:08 AM
Regional New South Wales calling. To my knowledge there are 3 Hibs fans in this area, namely me, my son and my daughter in-law. My 2 young grand-daughters are obviously Hibs fans too but they don’t quite know it yet. I’ve seen a car knocking about here with the reg plate HIBEES so there’s clearly someone else local who follows us but I haven’t met him/her yet.

I managed to get home late last year for a visit but the only game I got along to was the 3-3 draw with Aberdeen at ER when Rocky pulled off the late, late show to turn the season around. Not a bad game to see after a while away.

You won’t see the Hibees number plates HIBEES. again I think, as the owner…Peter from Lavington recently moved to warmer climes on the Sunshine Coast.

He posts on here as OzHibs I think.

We have a very active group Facebook page..so if you want to communicate with other like minded souls just go to Facebook and seek out.

Australian and NZ Hibs supporters.

ozhibs
15-06-2025, 08:15 AM
You won’t see the Hibees number plates HIBEES. again I think, as the owner…Peter from Lavington recently moved to warmer climes on the Sunshine Coast.

We have a very active group Facebook page..so if you want to communicate with other like minded souls just go to Facebook and seek out.

I hate to admit it but I now have a maroon number plate, I will eventually get a green personalised one

scm70nyd1973
15-06-2025, 08:35 AM

I was living in NZ for 8 years Auckland North Shore)and had the rego HIBEE5(still do) as I couldn’t get HIBEES.

One night I was driving home on the Motorway and saw the said plate - a bit creepy but I followed the car and it ended up stopping in Mairangi Bay just outside the Paper Moon boozer where my daughter worked.

I spoke to the guy who was a Kiwi but it was his partner’s car and she was a Hibby frae Leith. They lived about 300 yards from me.

Anyone who wants to buy my rego off me at a cut price then send me a PM - I’m in Estepona now and don’t have much use for it 😬☹️.

scm70nyd1973
15-06-2025, 08:42 AM
This was quite amusing

https://share.icloud.com/photos/0d1PIFnf_BNgjY8JgtCGJ2AEw

15-06-2025, 08:45 AM
I was living in NZ for 8 years Auckland North Shore)and had the rego HIBEE5(still do) as I couldn’t get HIBEES.

One night I was driving home on the Motorway and saw the said plate - a bit creepy but I followed the car and it ended up stopping in Mairangi Bay just outside the Paper Moon boozer where my daughter worked.

I spoke to the guy who was a Kiwi but it was his partner’s car and she was a Hibby frae Leith. They lived about 300 yards from me.

Anyone who wants to buy my rego off me at a cut price then send me a PM - I’m in Estepona now and don’t have much use for it ��☹️.

I had the personalised rego HIBEES in NSW when first issued circa 1985.

Photograph actually appeared in the Evening News.

Cost of registration renewal with personalised plates back then was horrendous compared to what it is today and my missus made the executive decision that they had to go.

scm70nyd1973
15-06-2025, 08:50 AM
I had the personalised rego HIBEES in NSW when first issued circa 1985.

Photograph actually appeared in the Evening News.

Cost of registration renewal with personalised plates back then was horrendous compared to what it is today and my missus made the executive decision that they had to go.

Bet you were sick having to let that go 😬☹️

If you ever move to NZ then let me know and I’ll sell you mine on the cheap - mibbies a few Steinlagers would do it !

15-06-2025, 08:53 AM
I `ve just noticed the forum here for Hibs fans living overseas has gone . I think the guy who set it up and did a lot to keep it going is sadly no longer with us

The Forum is still there but nobody posts on it any more

https://www.hibs.net/forumdisplay.php?58-Overseas-Hibs-Supporters

Falkirk Hibby
15-06-2025, 08:59 AM
I've been in Letchworth Garden City, Hertfordshire since 2014 (really need to update my username). First day in my new job, found out the guy working behind me was a Hibby originally from Leith. Then found the other scottish footy fan that was also a Hibby as his wife was from Leith. Spotted a few Hibs shirts in the surrounding towns of Baldock, Hitchin and Stevenage. Never seen any fans of other clubs, so Herts is GREEN 💚

15-06-2025, 09:15 AM
The Forum is still there but nobody posts on it any more

https://www.hibs.net/forumdisplay.php?58-Overseas-Hibs-Supporters

I stuck this into my browser as I couldn’t see it on .net. Seems only members can assess it

scm70nyd1973
15-06-2025, 09:15 AM
I've been in Letchworth Garden City, Hertfordshire since 2014 (really need to update my username). First day in my new job, found out the guy working behind me was a Hibby originally from Leith. Then found the other scottish footy fan that was also a Hibby as his wife was from Leith. Spotted a few Hibs shirts in the surrounding towns of Baldock, Hitchin and Stevenage. Never seen any fans of other clubs, so Herts is GREEN 💚

So basically Leithworth Garden City formally known as Letchworth Garden City 👍

15-06-2025, 09:54 AM
I stuck this into my browser as I couldn’t see it on .net. Seems only members can assess it

Yeah you're right. I think you have to ask an Admin for access.

15-06-2025, 10:15 AM
Still a handful of us here in Wellington, NZ.

I’m sure there must be some others not in our group.

15-06-2025, 10:27 AM
Golden Last Public House, looks like a charming place:rolleyes:

I was in Scarborough for a gig a couple of years back and was there Thursday-Sunday. First time I’d been since 2010 and the town had sadly gone downhill quite a bit since then. I saw that hun boozer and steered well clear. But what struck me was the number of ex-military guys who frequented a lot of the drinking establishments. I know we have ex-services guys on here but I don’t think I’m being too judgemental in suggesting that a lot of those individuals tend to have hun/loyalist leanings. In saying all that there were also a few really nice places throughout the town that were more than decent and welcoming.

MKHIBEE
15-06-2025, 10:31 AM
If you ever see any youngsters in Kampala, Uganda , running around in Hibs tops you can thank me for that, and, no, they are not my offspring! They were “won” by the kids when I was over there seeing where my charity donations went

hhibs
15-06-2025, 10:38 AM

There is indeed.

Quite few Hibees appear at Marks place throughout the year and,a few resident Hibees too.

15-06-2025, 10:43 AM
There is indeed.

Quite few Hibees appear at Marks place throughout the year and,a few resident Hibees too.

I’ve never been to Fuerteventura but looks quite lovely. We always go to Tenerife at least once a year in winter but its getting a bit Brits Abroad now - although I do love the place. We were thinking of giving Fuerteventura a go next winter. I’m assuming you’d highly recommend? Apologies for the holiday hijack.

hhibs
15-06-2025, 10:50 AM
I’ve never been to Fuerteventura but looks quite lovely. We always go to Tenerife at least once a year in winter but its getting a bit Brits Abroad now - although I do love the place. We were thinking of giving Fuerteventura a go next winter. I’m assuming you’d highly recommend? Apologies for the holiday hijack.

You can pretty well have any type of holiday you like,different place/resort offer different experiences.
It is a big island with a smallish population but has lots of choice for a great holiday.

There are the Brits abroad too but it fairly easy to get to more local experience

15-06-2025, 10:51 AM
You can pretty well have any type of holiday you like,different place/resort offer different experiences.
It is a big island with a smallish population but has lots of choice for a great holiday

Excellent. Thanks for that and its definitely a contender to drag us away from Tenerife 👍

15-06-2025, 11:00 AM

And i've been in it many a time

21-05-16
15-06-2025, 11:09 AM
Any Hibs fans living in Denmark?

15-06-2025, 11:13 AM
There is indeed.

What resort

Hibs1969
15-06-2025, 11:23 AM

In Peter’s absence I’ll keep the flag flying in this part of NSW then…..

15-06-2025, 12:12 PM
I'm the only Hibs fan in my town in northern Sweden. There's a Rangers fan, Dundee utd fan, Brighton fan and QPR fan then everyone other swede is Man utd, Liverpool or Arsenal.

NthCarolinaHibs
15-06-2025, 01:31 PM
What resort

Caleta de Fuste..🇳🇬 ⚽ 🇳🇬

drummondst34
15-06-2025, 01:46 PM
One here from Leamington Spa, Warwickshire.

I make it to 2-3 games a season, depending on work, trains running, or overnight bus.
Leave Leamington on the 5.40 am, and via Brum, and return ,on the 18.50 from
Waverley, getting to Leamington 00.25 am Sunday morning.

I believe there is a local postman, who goes most weeks, and there is another local Hibee,
I see occasionally. Moved from Corstorphine, to England in 1967.

Drummondst34:aok:

hhibs
15-06-2025, 03:26 PM
What resort

A few around the Island but ones I tend to see are from around Caleta,a few of us are getting on a bit ,there were certainly more in the 2000's.

Brexit has also impacted the long stayers ,big time. (90 days in !80 days rule)

jst1875
15-06-2025, 03:32 PM

Mark, in caleta de fuste

jst1875
15-06-2025, 03:35 PM
Fuerteventura... Corralejo, as far as I'm aware I'm the only resident hibby in the resort 🇳🇬🇳🇬

babahibs
15-06-2025, 05:48 PM
I've got a mate from Chile, Ohiggins fan but I've done a good job with him and he's now very much Hibs daft.

He was on holiday last year travelling round Europe and his no.1 priority was to visit Edinburgh for a game at Easter Road, I took him to the Dundee draw at the start of the season, he absolutely loved it.

He cuts about his home city of Rancagua with his Hibs gear on all the time, last time i spoke to him he was talking about setting up an official supporters club, said he'd converted a couple of his mates.

15-06-2025, 06:56 PM
One here from Leamington Spa, Warwickshire.

I make it to 2-3 games a season, depending on work, trains running, or overnight bus.
Leave Leamington on the 5.40 am, and via Brum, and return ,on the 18.50 from
Waverley, getting to Leamington 00.25 am Sunday morning.

I believe there is a local postman, who goes most weeks, and there is another local Hibee,
I see occasionally. Moved from Corstorphine, to England in 1967.

Drummondst34:aok:
The 18:52 from Waverley to Birmingham is also the home of the Lancashire Hibs so you’ll have to keep an eye out next time!

I only get to 4-5 games a season but there are some seriously dedicated folks who do most games (several post on here)

Basildon Hibs
16-06-2025, 01:33 AM
Excellent. Thanks for that and its definitely a contender to drag us away from Tenerife 👍

Try Lanzarote. Far better than Tenerife.

16-06-2025, 02:04 AM
I'm in Bolivia right now. Doubt there's a Hibs supporter's club around here! There is a solitary Irish bar in this city, where you're greeted by the 3 lions staring you in the face on entry!

at last 61
16-06-2025, 08:13 PM
My son did voluntary working Tanzania,and took a lot of Hibs tops over with him, loads of Inverness strips as well, don't ask 😁