View Full Version : Open Goal with JC35
09-06-2025, 09:56 AM
Just seen a clip, full show released at 5pm tonight. Cummings is completely bonkers, should be some watch/listen.
HendoDelivered
09-06-2025, 10:05 AM
Aye buzzin for this one, should be a belter with plenty Hibs content. Long time coming for him on the show, Si been trying to get him for years to go on it but he’s been abroad for a while now.
09-06-2025, 10:10 AM
Going to be an all-timer I reckon
Murphys Touch
09-06-2025, 05:58 PM
Sums Butcher up shouting “are you sure” at Cummings who was cocky enough to say I’m going to score
“I’m no now, **** me” great delivery of the story but got to be an element of truth that it planted a seed of doubt.
Fair play to Cumdog….following him on Instagram, what a life he’s created for himself
09-06-2025, 06:20 PM
I'm sure this will be a good watch, maybe check it out later.
09-06-2025, 07:39 PM
He’s off his head isn’t he 🤣
Some of his stories were cracking me up, the jockey moment was priceless 😂
Gaffer1875
09-06-2025, 09:14 PM
Describes the night after winning the SC was wild and he ‘woke up in a skip’ [emoji23][emoji1303]
09-06-2025, 09:26 PM
The story about waking up with the fear in Steve Evans spare room :rotflmao::rotflmao::rotflmao:
HendoDelivered
09-06-2025, 09:32 PM
Brilliant 😂😂😂
18Craig75
09-06-2025, 09:34 PM
Absolutely howling about the Sean Mackie story. Said he’d give him £100 to sing Penny Arcade during his initiation when Lennon was manager 😂😂.
09-06-2025, 10:00 PM
Sums Butcher up shouting “are you sure” at Cummings who was cocky enough to say I’m going to score
“I’m no now, **** me” great delivery of the story but got to be an element of truth that it planted a seed of doubt.
Fair play to Cumdog….following him on Instagram, what a life he’s created for himself
Just at that story now, what a character JC is.
09-06-2025, 10:14 PM
Thinking Conrad Logan was the chef 😂
09-06-2025, 10:17 PM
“Stubby doesnae watch penalties. Never seen it. Still doesnae know” 😂😂😂
Boy is different ****ing class. No idea how anyone could dislike the guy.
09-06-2025, 10:26 PM
Like the story of him breaking up a fight between an Aussie player and Messi just so he could feel Messi 😂
09-06-2025, 10:26 PM
His Lennon impression is hilarious.
Absolutely brilliant.
We need to get him back. Imagine the dressing room 🤣🤣🤣
Niffy
10-06-2025, 02:24 AM
Who's the guy on the right ? I could only watch the first half of it because of his love in for JC
10-06-2025, 04:54 AM
Needs subtitles
Hilarious
Well worth a watch
10-06-2025, 04:55 AM
Who's the guy on the right ? I could only watch the first half of it because of his love in for JC
Slaney a mate of the host Si Ferry
10-06-2025, 05:24 AM
Sean Mackie 😂
10-06-2025, 06:21 AM
Unwatchable. "Mate, mate,mate!"
10-06-2025, 07:03 AM
Yep, some of the stories were funny but - as always with all of these Open Goal episodes - it gets to the unwatchable stage by halfway.
10-06-2025, 07:25 AM
Disnae half love Rangers
10-06-2025, 08:22 AM
Disnae half love Rangers
It’s a Hesrts Rangers thing 😳
10-06-2025, 08:30 AM
Watching this is right up there on my todo list - JC is a diamond of the lunatic variety
10-06-2025, 09:01 AM
Just watched it absolutely hysterical. What a character
10-06-2025, 10:05 AM
I don’t often watch open goal, but that was sensational. Genuinely funny.
10-06-2025, 10:14 AM
He talks a load of sheite from the first minute to the last, its funny but its complete bollox all the way through.:wink:
And the bit at the end where he says he made the most at every team he was at is funny.:greengrin
10-06-2025, 11:30 AM
Insufferable pish, off after 2mins.
I assume none of those idiots are capable of anything resembling English?
Murphys Touch
10-06-2025, 11:50 AM
Arguably Scotland's biggest podcast/youtube channel (certainly with football).
"Pish", "Idiots" and unable to "resemble English".
Maybe just not to your taste (or fully mine) but just say that?
I do struggle with the overly casual nature of it at times, and I miss when it was just Si Ferry doing the 1 on 1s, but that was worth persevering with for some of the stories and just hearing how he'd been doing.
I think there is something in knowing what you're getting with Cummings. I reckon his Mrs (Josh Doig's sister) has been really good for him. If he was living in Terrigal too that place is beautiful but tiny with only one prominent beachside bar.
Fair play to him. I thought he was leaving the Indian team (who average 35k a game, not quite 50,60 like he said but they do get them and it's still huge) but it sounded like he'd be staying.
10-06-2025, 01:44 PM
It was the antithesis of the Hibs Observer podcast where Patrick McPartlin interviewed David Gray that I listened to this morning, and enjoyed very much, but this hour or so of relentless nonsense from Cummings was certainly entertaining. Some laugh out loud anecdotes and one liners.
The image of Conrad Logan as a jockey is a hard one to get out my mind.
TelaStella
10-06-2025, 02:18 PM
… A Scottish football podcast where a Dundonian and Glaswegian interview a player from Edinburgh? Strangest comment ever.
10-06-2025, 02:33 PM
I actually like it’s not the normal interviews and it’s very laid back
Young lads just having a laugh with their pals.
10-06-2025, 03:41 PM
… A Scottish football podcast where a Dundonian and Glaswegian interview a player from Edinburgh? Strangest comment ever.
Is it? I'm from Edinburgh and can speak without saying 'mate' or swearing every 2 seconds.
If that is entertainment for a lot of football fans, then they are welcome to it. I prefer content that I can actually understand.
10-06-2025, 03:45 PM
Is it? I'm from Edinburgh and can speak without saying 'mate' or swearing every 2 seconds.
If that is entertainment for a lot of football fans, then they are welcome to it. I prefer content that I can actually understand.
:agree: I honestly thought it was just me, I switched off after I heard "mate" for the 35th time.
WeAreHibs
10-06-2025, 03:46 PM
Different strokes MATE
10-06-2025, 03:52 PM
"Oi you little tart"
Gloucester Hibs
10-06-2025, 04:40 PM
“are you sure?!?!” 😂
10-06-2025, 04:49 PM
I actually like it’s not the normal interviews and it’s very laid back
Young lads just having a laugh with their pals.
Thanks. Saved me bothering with it.
10-06-2025, 04:51 PM
They speak like a good proportion of working class lads to be fair.
10-06-2025, 04:56 PM
Amazes me how keen people are to mock regional or class-specific accents.
10-06-2025, 05:37 PM
Amazes me how keen people are to mock regional or class-specific accents.
Who is mocking their accent?
It's the incessant 'mate', swearing and shouting that supposedly passes for content that I'm getting at.
Clearly, I'm an old fart if the majority like that sort of crap
10-06-2025, 05:43 PM
Different strokes MATE
Best Sly Stone reference today :greengrin
s2hart
10-06-2025, 05:45 PM
Best Sly Stone reference today :greengrin
RIP Sly.
10-06-2025, 05:51 PM
If that is entertainment for a lot of football fans, then they are welcome to it. I prefer content that I can actually understand.The former I agree with but I'm gonna be honest and say I've no ****ing chance of the latter :greengrin
Sent from my Pixel 9a using Tapatalk
10-06-2025, 05:52 PM
I particularly enjoy the excessively forced laughter and the rolling about in hysterics at slightly amusing anecdotes.
10-06-2025, 06:08 PM
Just watched it. Funny and pretty interesting at points to be fair.
HIBS NUTS
10-06-2025, 06:29 PM
The first few minutes were terrible, but after that the stories were really good.
Start from 5 minutes in.👍
10-06-2025, 07:32 PM
The first few minutes were terrible, but after that the stories were really good.
Was about to post the same thing - thought there was no way I can listen to this if this is what it’s going to be like for the entirety, but it does settle down a bit into a more accessible listen.
10-06-2025, 07:51 PM
Cheers, thank you. I may give that go.
Billy Bunter 07
10-06-2025, 10:17 PM
Who is mocking their accent?
It's the incessant 'mate', swearing and shouting that supposedly passes for content that I'm getting at.
Clearly, I'm an old fart if the majority like that sort of crap
Sounds like snobbery to me.
10-06-2025, 10:29 PM
I like Cummings, some of his stories were funny.
But I had to switch it off halfway through. It was verging on unlistenable.
That's not snobbery, it's just an opinion on this episode (although a lot of the Open Goal stuff is equally as difficult a listen).
10-06-2025, 11:26 PM
Cummings seems to have a bit of Gary O'Connor exaggeration when he tells a story
Also, did he say he took out £1,000 to gamble and turned it into £60,000?!
Some really good stories in there though
10-06-2025, 11:54 PM
Si Ferry looks permanently confused.
11-06-2025, 05:19 AM
😂 If that was the case, I'd be the only sob to come out of Craigmillar.
I'll head back to the sanctuary of the PM board and leave you common people to it.
11-06-2025, 06:07 AM
Cheers, thank you. I may give that go.
I would do the stories are in the main very funny. According to Jason everyone loved him whether that view is shared by all the people he says that about is likely open to question 😄
11-06-2025, 06:19 AM
Don’t mind open goal. Generally have funny and interesting guests on each week. Even the regulars such as Halliday, Ferguson and McFadden are good to listen to.
Slaney can be a bit of a slaver with his overuse of the words incredible, unbelievable and amazing all the time but on the whole I find it an enjoyable listen with some good laughs along the way.
Niffy
11-06-2025, 07:56 AM
Slaney a mate of the host Si Ferry
He's like the mate every group has that copies everything the group "leader" says and does and swans over him.
11-06-2025, 04:13 PM
Jimmy Stokes 😂
What a player
11-06-2025, 05:08 PM
That was tremendous
SickBoy32
11-06-2025, 06:40 PM
That was brilliant - you canny help but love JC, big game player🏆
11-06-2025, 06:41 PM
His American style Lennon impersonation and referring to Hallidays hair as "junkies carpet " was worth all the "mates"
The Baldmans Comb
11-06-2025, 09:52 PM
A highly embarrassing load of complete drivel and it was hard to believe this was a grown man writhing around the sofa with his pretend belly laughs and touchy feely wrestling.
Not Cummings as he is a highly likeable radge who knows how to exaggerate his daft stories to maximum affect but whoever the other creature was as presumably he is an ex player.
Si Ferry remains a very clever guy who gets stories out of guests they would never dream of going mainstream with but he doesn't half share his money with so many gormless goons.
12-06-2025, 04:56 AM
Jimmy Stokes 😂
What a player
you can just imagine he’s made that up and now Stokes will be like wtf?
12-06-2025, 10:11 AM
His American style Lennon impersonation and referring to Hallidays hair as "junkies carpet " was worth all the "mates"
The Lennon impersonations had me laughing out loud tbf. When he said he got on it in Paris, though, you can imagine Shearer, Ferdinand and the rest nursing a single pint and thinking "are you not supposed to be a pro?"
Were the toffee apple references also to Halliday's hair? Didn't quite get that bit.
Si Ferry's moustache is a hard watch, but much of this really was quite funny. JC's stories may be a little fanciful, but you get a good sense of his character and he seems to be in a good place.
Murphys Touch
12-06-2025, 02:43 PM
The Lennon impersonations had me laughing out loud tbf. When he said he got on it in Paris, though, you can imagine Shearer, Ferdinand and the rest nursing a single pint and thinking "are you not supposed to be a pro?"
Were the toffee apple references also to Halliday's hair? Didn't quite get that bit.
Si Ferry's moustache is a hard watch, but much of this really was quite funny. JC's stories may be a little fanciful, but you get a good sense of his character and he seems to be in a good place.
Shearer is a massive bevy merchant. One week following him on Instagram will confirm that. As is Lennon....players are allowed to drink (especially in off season!)
12-06-2025, 05:22 PM
Shearer is a massive bevy merchant. One week following him on Instagram will confirm that. As is Lennon....players are allowed to drink (especially in off season!)
Fair enough.
Never met the guy but I did have a very raucous night in Shearer's Bar at St James Park.
speedy_gonzales
12-06-2025, 05:40 PM
It's a phrase oft used to describe someone with messy/tangled hair (did you brush your hair with a toffee apple?).
jakedance
12-06-2025, 06:06 PM
I’ve always liked Ferry’s one on one interviews. He gets it tight on here sometimes but he’s actually a good interviewer that’s gets some great stories out of people. Some of the interviews with people like Yogi and Halliday are a great listen.
12-06-2025, 07:29 PM
I’ve always liked Ferry’s one on one interviews. He gets it tight on here sometimes but he’s actually a good interviewer that’s gets some great stories out of people. Some of the interviews with people like Yogi and Halliday are a great listen.
Agree think his one to ones are good not so much the guys in a pub vibe all talking over each other
13-06-2025, 10:28 AM
Cummings is some boy eh
Some amount of stories 😂
Loved the recap of the Grado training ground video, had to go back and watch after. An all timer.
He's always been a character, i'm sure that's rubbed up plenty people the wrong way through the years but he's done extremely well for himself.
13-06-2025, 10:58 AM
What kinda money do players playing in India make? Is it more, less or the same as playing in Scotland.
A quick Google states he's on roughly 9.5k a week in India. Would presume that would be our highest earner.
13-06-2025, 06:40 PM
Lennon will be joining them for a chat next, Monday 5pm.
s2hart
13-06-2025, 07:28 PM
What has happened to his international career? I presume since he moved to India he hasn't been considered for Australia. Hard to think he played in the last world Cup!
HendoDelivered
14-06-2025, 10:58 PM
Lennon will be joining them for a chat next, Monday 5pm.
Time at Hibs will be a good listen I think!
14-06-2025, 11:09 PM
Time at Hibs will be a good listen I think!
Aye it should be, not sure how much they'll talk about Hibs though with the Celtic love-in.
14-06-2025, 11:30 PM
Just had toasted cheese on toast for the first time in years. The power of social media cannot be underestimated.
15-06-2025, 10:28 AM
Slaney was acting a bit weird like a flirty schoolboy but the interview was pretty good fun. I would’ve preferred a few more stories from hks time in Australia though. I don’t think they even mentioned he scored 3 in a grand final which is a pretty big deal!
hibstag
15-06-2025, 11:08 AM
Had the misfortune of attending the hydro last year, absolute car crash of a event, I'm surprised it survived,
Did they mention Tomas Graverson at all...
15-06-2025, 11:13 AM
Would be much better if the two presenters didn’t think they were the main event. Makes it borderline unwatchable.
15-06-2025, 11:23 AM
I used to like Open Goal, but find it a hard watch with Slaney on it. Not sure what Si Ferry thinks he adds to the show?
That said, I'll try and watch the one with Cummings in it. Got to be worth persevering with for the Cumdug.
16-06-2025, 07:58 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ucZEia_dTPw
Not much Hibs chat as expected, 1 hour 30 minutes in we get a bit of Hibs talk.
About 5 minutes talking about his time at Hibs.
17-06-2025, 03:44 AM
I've found myself going around the house and saying to my wife in that posh, old English accent....'are you sure? Are you suuure? Are you suuuuuuuuuuuure?!'